Harte questions Dublin - Kerry hysteria

Dublin v Kerry match , for me for atmosphere and drama had it all. doesn't mean that from a coaching point of view it was brilliant, both defences were poor at times which is obvious when you look at the scoreline. but for character and giving it everything I (obviously blinkered) thought it was brilliant.
Part of sport is paying your entrance fee and being entertained and everyone watching that match at least got that.

Though this forum to be honest is becoming a joke of us against them all the time lately and people looking to find reasons where they feel they have been hard done by. you would come away from it feeling drained, where its supposed to be a sports forum.
Very few actual discussions about starting 15s or match ups for matches,

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 06/09/2013 21:03:59    1476877

Ya joxer Kevin mac was going for a point when he got his goal hardly a classic at least donnacha ment his:-| and o'donahues peno was the best penalty I've seen taken in years and against the so called best keeper in Ireland.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/09/2013 21:17:57    1476889

I suspect Kevin Mac was being modest! Five great goals and a dodgy penalty. Only joking :-), it was well taken.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 06/09/2013 21:24:51    1476891

McDanger:

Kicked with the instep of the left foot!.....As McStay said "floated over the keeper"!!.....therefore, gracefully kicked into the goals!!

He was going for 'GOAL' otherwise he would have kicked it with the top of his foot not the instep!!!!.....and a lot earlier too!!!!

Methinks it was such a class goal taken with such grace and coolness and had such dire consequences for the opposition that people choose to refuse to believe he was going for goal and want to make out it was a point he was going for and that the goal was some sort of accident!!

Its this refusal folks have to believe he was going for goal because of his grace and ice coolness and makes it all the more sweet!.....let alone the fact that it was McDanger against Kerry 'AGAIN'!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 06/09/2013 21:35:26    1476895

Terrible that people cant just enjoy a great game without endlessly picking holes... What do ye want? 0-8 - 0-6 borefests?

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 06/09/2013 21:56:47    1476919

If teams decide to attack first and foremost then there is always going to be space to be exploited by both forward lines.Both teams went out with attacking game plans and so there was more space to be exploited.Its very easy to defend well when you have 12 men parked inside the half off the field you are defending.Even the best defensive systems wouldn't have prevented alot of the scores in Sundays game.

It was a great game and instead of complaining about the game getting so much praise perhaps Mickey should be happy that Gaelic Football has been getting so much positive coverage as he was continually complaining about negativity in the GAA media towards Gaelic Football.

Although there is obviously no right or wrong way to play any sport and every teams should do whatever they can in order to win, I think if you asked football fans would they prefer if teams played with positivity like both Kerry and Dublin did on Sunday or negatively like numerous other counties I think we know the answer most would give.

Personally I would have it as one of the 5 best games I have seen along with Mayo Dublin in 06 the 2005 and 2008 All ireland finals and Tyrone Armagh Semi final in 2005, the Mayo Dublin game last years was top class aswell.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 06/09/2013 22:02:13    1476924

KingdomBoy1

Ya joxer Kevin mac was going for a point when he got his goal hardly a classic at least donnacha ment his:-| and o'donahues peno was the best penalty I've seen taken in years and against the so called best keeper in Ireland.
------
Yeah but like I said it wasn't a penalty in the first place. Brilliantly taken ok and yes unquestionably against the best goalkeeper of our generation. We're lucky to still have him after Maher's attempt to decapitate him.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 07/09/2013 09:09:30    1476930

JimmyK

Terrible that people cant just enjoy a great game without endlessly picking holes... What do ye want? 0-8 - 0-6 borefests?

You miss the point Jimmy. I thought it was a hugely enjoyable game, it had nearly everything, great scoretaking, drama, Gooch at his sublime best etc etc. What it didn't have was great defending, which is as much part of the game as anything else.

Each to his own, but I enjoy watching a great defensive performance as much as a great attacking performance. It doesn't have the fireworks but for the true purist good defending is an integral part of Gaelic games & should be celebrated not denigrated as happens too often on these pages.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/09/2013 09:31:39    1476933

But joxer it was a penalty the ref obviously saw it as a penalty and gave it , and James put the clux totally the wrong way, and if mahers little tap nearly took his head off maybe he should go away and take up soccer (less physical) but il agree with you that cluxton is a decent keeper for sure but I think Robert hennely will get the goalkeeping allstar this year if he has a good final, he has been the best keeper this championship by a mile . And snuff mac was going for a point I just watched it again, deffo miss kick.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/09/2013 09:42:17    1476937

Mayo wont be bothered if we are part of the worst All Ireland final ever on a scoreline of 2 points to 1 as long as we win. It was a great game to watch but you cant expect every county to play in this manner. If a county has the 6 best defenders in the country do you expect them to not play to their strengths and go all out attack or try and minimise the other team scoring. Mickey Harte is probably the main reason our game has evolved so much in the last decade. Hurling could do with a

Rusheens (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 07/09/2013 09:42:33    1476938

Mayo wont be bothered if we are part of the worst All Ireland final ever on a scoreline of 2 points to 1 as long as we win. It was a great game to watch but you cant expect every county to play in this manner. If a county has the 6 best defenders in the country do you expect them to not play to their strengths and go all out attack or try and minimise the other team scoring. Mickey Harte is probably the main reason our game has evolved so much in the last decade. Hurling could do with a tactician like Mickey Harte. It looks a great game to watch but to the trained eye its very basis like football used to be.

Rusheens (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 07/09/2013 09:44:25    1476940

Mickey Harte is spot on with his remarks about the so called impartial analysts of RTE.He was not being unfairly critical of the game,it was a decent game by anybody's standards but it had plenty moments that were comparable to incidents in Tyrone games this year for which we faced an unprecedented barrage of criticism and abuse and it is this double standard that Mickey is pointing out.Joe Brolly did attempt to point out the cynical incidents on the show but Pat Spillane cut him of and accused him of "nitpicking",so that stopped that discussion before it got started.There was plenty dragging and pulling,men taking piggy backs on other mens backs,dirty tripping and fouling and all the rest of it.Defending was out the window for most of the game also.I said in a different post that the two teams had obviously decided to let each other attack and the winner would be the team that picked off their scoring chances the better,reminded me on a basketball game at times.I sat watching the game with a friend and I lost count of how many times we both exclaimed,"where's the defenders"! That might be what some people believe to be easy on the eyes so to speak, but I prefer to see a game that has both good defending and attacking.In fact from the 3 all Irelands that we have been so proud of our boys for winning,one of the most abiding memories for me is the way Conor Gormley ran in and put himself on the line and blocked Armaghs Stevie Mc Donnell's shot on goal in the dying minutes of the 2003 final.I see it still all the time when I think of great moments in my countys recent football success.What a brilliant piece of defending by Conor,it was a committed and brave move.Defenders are truly unsung heroes many times in football and thats why I love to see good defending in a game.Brolly is definitely on the wind up with his remarks recently about Colm Cooper also,he was quiet on that issue too when it was proved that Colm could play half forward very well thank you.Then Pat can see no wrong in anything Kerry does so you wouldn't expect him to be pointing out their shirt pulling the last day out.The refereeing was a joke too,if the Dubs had lost that game by a point or two there would have been uproar for him giving a penalty that never was.He also gave Kerry a side line ball that clearly should have been Dublins and the sneaky way he blew Mc Caffrey up for over carrying seemed like some kind of joke and was simply not on! Referees from countys that have a great rivalry with another county should never be the referee in games of this magnitude involving that county if possible.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/09/2013 10:03:29    1476947

cavanman47

Joxer

Well yeah but if he's right then why are there two footballing teams left in the championship and no park the bus merchants.

There were only 2 real "Park the bus" teams in this years championship. Laois v Donegal and they did so because they'd have been massacred otherwise. And Kerry up until Sunday - and the won all their games until Sunday. .

A balance is needed. The 2 most attacking teams are not left in the championship! The 2 most balanced teams probably are.

Armagh were the most attacking team this year. Look how that went.

Kerry had their games won by half time by playing attacking football. They'd almost lost them by full time by playing defensive football.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 07/09/2013 10:59:11    1476966

MuckrossHead

JimmyK

You miss the point Jimmy. I thought it was a hugely enjoyable game, it had nearly everything, great scoretaking, drama, Gooch at his sublime best etc etc. What it didn't have was great defending, which is as much part of the game as anything else.
------
I disagree and it just seems like lazy analysis to me. People look at the scoreline and say, ah poor defending. There were some spells of great defending. Dublin held a brilliant Kerry forward line to just 7 points in the last 50 mins of that game with I think just 5 from play. You don't get those stats by defending poorly. I thought the Dublin backs were immense in the second half when they reshuffled. Yes they were all over the place for the first 20 but once they settled they were top class for 2/3rds of that game.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 07/09/2013 11:46:23    1476993

MuckrossHead

1476933 JimmyK

Each to his own, but I enjoy watching a great defensive performance as much as a great attacking performance. It doesn't have the fireworks but for the true purist good defending is an integral part of Gaelic games & should be celebrated not denigrated as happens too often on these pages.

what that translates as Muckross , im gonna stick up for my teams tactics that won us an allireland. :)
Each to their own and good luck to managers who try different formations to win matches.
but people are giving out when its a bore fest and now managers giving out because an open game is being lauded.
Mickey has backed hurling pundits recently for sticking up for their game and not always looking for the faults.
Now he gives out because the negative parts of a game last Sunday weren't hightlighted and football was being talked about as one of the greatest games .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 07/09/2013 12:05:04    1477001

Htaem

god

You make a fair and legit point, when the Dubs win a classic then "it's the best ever", but it just boils down to simple maths really. There's 6 million + people in the 32 counties and 1 million + are from Dublin so obviously they're going to claim that it was the best game ever.....
-----
Who are 'they'? A Meath man, O'Rourke claimed it was the best game ever, a Derry man seconded it and the Kerry man appeared to agree. In commentary a Mayo man said it was a fantastic game. Stephen Alkin called it the game of the decade. Most non-Dubs appear to agree.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 07/09/2013 12:34:31    1477009

Most non-Dubs appear to agree

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 07/09/2013 12:43:21    1477012

Mickey Harte is never happy. He has consistently bemoaned the International Rules because he believes it doesn't promote our Gaelic Games enough (possibly a valid argument). Yet here we have a game that has had people all over the country talking about Gaelic Football in nothing but positive terms and he has to drag it down because he feels had done by. Grow up!

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 07/09/2013 12:49:10    1477017

Ok so last night on Seo Spoirt Michael O Muircheartaigh said it was the best game he'd seen since 1948 , as far as I know he's one of the most respected voices on the game ? Ger Loughnane admitted to being a hurling snob who rarely watches a full game of football added it was brilliant for speeds pace skill etc , added to all the other respected voices which are many its been put up there as one of the greatest games ever , on the other side of the fence we M Harte need I say any more .
Personally I haven't seen enough games to know if it was the best , but Ive seen enough and attended enough to know it was special .
Ps for all the I love the defence part of the game , it reminds me so much of the fella who walks down the road with a dog , but tells everyone shes got a great sense of humour .yep not everyone goes on looks ,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 07/09/2013 12:53:42    1477018

07/09/2013 12:49:10
jimski

Mickey Harte is never happy. He has consistently bemoaned the International Rules because he believes it doesn't promote our Gaelic Games enough (possibly a valid argument). Yet here we have a game that has had people all over the country talking about Gaelic Football in nothing but positive terms and he has to drag it down because he feels had done by. Grow up!

Jimski great point , a legend of the game M Harte what hes achieved ,but no class , a total constant moan regarding everything bar Tyrone .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 07/09/2013 12:57:35    1477023