Harte questions Dublin - Kerry hysteria

Its time we got rid of Brolly and Spillane, thats what all this boils down to. Everyone knows that teams play with different styles and thats what makes the whole thing interesting. Just like in any other sport....Boxing, Soccer, Rugby etc, their are different styles of approach, and sure thats ok. Its the commentators on RTE who act like military dictators, the ruling class, lecturing every county that they must play a certain way and that really is a load of nonsense when you think about it.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 06/09/2013 15:03:10    1476632

Mickey Harte is a man when he speaks in a room you would listen. He has shown undoubting Mental Strength in the past through GAA & personnal obstacles

If you read the Article once again he makes his point perfectly clear without taking away from yeah what was a very entertaining game.

The premiership is the best league in the world yes? But goals are few. because if u wana survive tacically you have to defend. Its much easier keep a goal out than bag one.

Cynical fouling tight defences only means to me that the cream really rises to the top & the forward who takes on his man & shoots will be the hero. Therefore aligning myself with The laois mans point there is no correct way to play the game.

I can see why Tyrone wants to stay in DIV 1 & compete for each All Ireland. I think Mickey Harte should get a mention he got to a league final & Champ Semi with a very ordinary team. he clearly showed that setup well anybody can compete.

I beleive james Horan like his teams attacking formula something he will reconsider next year when defending his All Ireland status. because he is now in a position to morph his team Tyrone/Dublin jeckel/hyde

That to me would be truely a great manager!

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 06/09/2013 15:08:28    1476639

htaem, 1991 series between Dubs and Meath is more often cited as being the greatest of all time, and Dubs did not win that!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 06/09/2013 15:08:47    1476640

That is fair enough ultan. However the point still stands - there are better ways. This often gets built up into an anti-north thing but it really isnt. Take the example of greece winning the euros. Fair play to them they did it and it was a great achievement. But did they get the same media coverage and praise that spain got when they won it? Nowhere near it. Therein lies the true answer - people enjoy watching attacking teams, therefore they will get more praise. Simple as that. That is the case in every front, so why should gaa be any different? If teams want to get 15 men behind the ball then that is there decision - but they cant expect to be looked upon in the same light a team who have 15 different scorers. No bias, just the natural reaction to the styles implemented.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/09/2013 15:11:06    1476643

Micky is not having a go at either Dublin or Kerry, he is having a go at the analysis after the game and how they see what they want

I don't think anyone can disagree with the points he made

tonto21 (Donegal) - Posts: 181 - 06/09/2013 15:14:15    1476647

hurlingdub I would agree we were pretty terrible come championship time this year after a decent league but what would you have us do open out and play a really attacking game? What would be the outcome of that?

Ultan. (Fermanagh) - Posts: 78 - 06/09/2013 15:15:45    1476649

hurlingdub

The last game in 91 certainly was one of the great games, but I suppose there was always going to be an incredible amount of attention towards that game because it was a 3rd replay.

Anyway, all I'm saying is that very often you'll hear Dubs claiming that the games v Kerry in 77 and now 13 were both the best ever, now I'm not exactly giving out about that because they are 2 of the best ever. I just don't think you can pin any one or two games down as definitely the best of all time, it's purely subjective thing, we all have our opinions on it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/09/2013 15:20:50    1476653

The simple reality is that If Mayo lose another all Ireland the Mayo supporters won't be satisfied that they played lovely attacking football
I disagree with people like theMaster who only see attacking football as good
Defending is an art, naive defending that the Dubs have done in nearly all games may well catch up with them when they meet Mayo
If this mayo team gets a lead it won't cough it up
The dubs supporters won't be satisfied that they were involved in a so called classic if the lose the all Ireland either

It's hyperbole, it's immature thinking, it's hankering back to a notional game that the mythical purist would approve of.

Edenburt15 (Cavan) - Posts: 723 - 06/09/2013 15:23:25    1476657

That is fair enough ultan. However the point still stands - there are better ways. This often gets built up into an anti-north thing but it really isnt. Take the example of greece winning the euros. Fair play to them they did it and it was a great achievement. But did they get the same media coverage and praise that spain got when they won it? Nowhere near it. Therein lies the true answer - people enjoy watching attacking teams, therefore they will get more praise. Simple as that. That is the case in every front, so why should gaa be any different? If teams want to get 15 men behind the ball then that is there decision - but they cant expect to be looked upon in the same light a team who have 15 different scorers. No bias, just the natural reaction to the styles implemented.
Or you could argue Master that Spain are a bigger name in world football than Greece, one of the 'establishment' so to speak and therefore will generate more publicity as a result, transpose that into modern day inter-county GAA and it kind of has a familiar ring to it does it not. Personally I couldn't say that Spains method of winning Euro 2008 excited me any more that Greece did in 2004, much like Dublin winning on Sunday compared to Donegals triumph in 2012, winning is winning and when Mayo despatch Dublin in 2 weeks time how many people, especially Dubs, will still be purring about what we saw on Sunday?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 06/09/2013 15:23:35    1476658

Harte is 100% right. It takes lazy analysis to claim that this game was somehow much better than other high profile games of recent seasons.

The same happened after the mayo Dublin game if 06.

Neither that game, or last Sundays, were at the same level of performance of the Tyrone Armagh trilogy of 2005. But due to the more open nature if them (which could be interpreted as poor defending) get more praise from "experts"

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5305 - 06/09/2013 15:27:55    1476666

htaem, to be honest, I find it hard to tell whether a game is great or not if Dubs are involved! Looking back though I do remember the Kerry 70s games, including league; Meath in a fair few games; Cork in 1883, Tyrone drawn game in 2005; Mayo in 2006 as 'classics'. And I will remember 2011 and last Sunday in same way I'm sure.

Ultan, I loved watching Fermanagh the year they got to the semi final. They were really exciting to watch. It really does come down to what way a manager decides to play.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 06/09/2013 15:30:03    1476669

hurlingdub

htaem, to be honest, I find it hard to tell whether a game is great or not if Dubs are involved! Looking back though I do remember the Kerry 70s games, including league; Meath in a fair few games; Cork in 1883, Tyrone drawn game in 2005; Mayo in 2006 as 'classics'. And I will remember 2011 and last Sunday in same way I'm sure.

Ultan, I loved watching Fermanagh the year they got to the semi final. They were really exciting to watch. It really does come down to what way a manager decides to play.

Jaysus man, you've seen it all!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 06/09/2013 15:34:56    1476675

Exactly hurlingdub but we were defensive in 04 as well. The Cavan game you mention looked bad because we played so badly not because of the system we played. Look at Armaghs 1st round against Cavan. They went out played really attacking football got beat and got slated for it.

Ultan. (Fermanagh) - Posts: 78 - 06/09/2013 15:39:15    1476679

brendtheredhand

You are right "winning is winning" and the end justifies the means and all that. But last sundays game "warts an' all" was a visual feast, while most of everything else for the last fews years has been lets face it a dogs dinner.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4956 - 06/09/2013 15:39:40    1476680

hurlingdub

Jaysus you were watching games a year before Gaa was even formed??? I can't compete with that you win hurlingdub :-)

Ah no I get what you're saying, I never claim that Meath games were the best ever either, personally I don't like throwing bouquets at Meath football anyway when talking to someone from outside the county because then I find they just do the same with their own county and you just end up in a school yard style argument over who's better.......which is fine if you're winding lads up but it gets a bit boring after a while.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/09/2013 15:42:17    1476683

arock

brendtheredhand

You are right "winning is winning" and the end justifies the means and all that. But last sundays game "warts an' all" was a visual feast, while most of everything else for the last fews years has been lets face it a dogs dinner.
Honestly arock, anyone who didn't enjoy what they saw on Sunday must be dead from the neck up. The arugument here is not about the undoubted quality on offer, it is simply about bringing some BALANCE to the argumant, thats all.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 06/09/2013 15:43:50    1476686

You could argue that last Sunday was a dogs dinner hence the scoring and bad defending

Great to watch but a lot to work on

Edenburt15 (Cavan) - Posts: 723 - 06/09/2013 15:45:58    1476687

Personally I thought it was a brilliant game, regardless of the defending. Dublin tightened up a lot anyway - they only conceded 6 points in the last 40 minutes I think - only 4 of which were from play. I can understand Harte in relation to the cynicism being glossed over but I think most neutrals thought the Cavanagh rant was over the top.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 06/09/2013 15:58:57    1476696

Mickey Harte is right.Bad defending by both sides.A lot of off the ball stuff and overcarrying of the ball.Media love the dubs.

kerryexileusa (USA) - Posts: 1 - 06/09/2013 16:29:18    1476729

brendtheredhand

Pukes? I'm not familiar with that term Damo, perhaps you might want to elaborate on that for us mere GAA mortals?
Its called tongue in cheek puke football - pure traditional football , being funny , but then again if I have to explain........

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 06/09/2013 16:29:42    1476731