First visit to Croke Park supporting your county.

As a 9 year old v Dublin in the 1978 League Final. I remember seeing the great Tony Hanahoe, me in awe thinking there's that man from the telly. Mayo didn't get on the telly for footballing reasons back then thanks to the brilliant Rossie team stopping us getting out of Connacht year after year!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7927 - 03/09/2013 16:13:03    1474240

Jasus yous are all kids. Making me feel old. 1974. Meath v Dublin remember it well. Canal end. With my father. Its the final he kept telling me. I just couldn't wait to see the cup my county was going to get. I had seen photographs of my dad and jack Quinn with this cup that was nearly as big as me from 1967 . But unfortunately it was not to be. That young boy had to wait another 12 years when he brought his by now elderly father to the hogan and to watch us getting that long overdue victory with tears in both our eyes . Greattimes .
Hon the Royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/09/2013 16:33:31    1474266

brendtheredhand

My one abiding memory of that game was the incessant rain and gloom.

It matched the county mood that day, such high hopes dashed. I suppose you could say that the darkness in football and other aspects of Tyrone life remained for thirty years.

lamhliathroid1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 25 - 03/09/2013 18:15:09    1474365

1927 when we slaughtered the mighty kingdom

Kildare 0-05

Kerry 0-03

ahhh feels like it was only 86 years ago :)

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 03/09/2013 19:09:24    1474416

As a sprightly young lad I made my way to Croke park in the ould cortina for the Galway/Roscommon league final, amazing memories during that barren spell for Galway football.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1666 - 03/09/2013 19:31:06    1474434

My first time at Croke Park was also in the rain and gloom of the 1973 semi-final versus Cork. Further defeats followed in league semi-finals against Kerry and Dublin before losing to Dublin in the 1984 semi-final. It was 13 years later in 1986 before I saw Tyrone win at Croke Park and thats why I do not take Tyrone's current standing for granted.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 03/09/2013 20:36:32    1474496

My first time at Croke Park was also in the rain and gloom of the 1973 semi-final versus Cork. Further defeats followed in league semi-finals against Kerry and Dublin before losing to Dublin in the 1984 semi-final. It was 13 years later in 1986 before I saw Tyrone win at Croke Park and thats why I do not take Tyrone's current standing for granted.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 03/09/2013 20:41:26    1474504

probably like a Syrian refugee feels like now, trying to cross the boarder in the 70s in a car full of long haired Horslips loving wrangler wearing DMs in a yellow Datsun 120y hoping not to run into a Brit Army or RUC CP as non of us had a valid driving licence or insurance stopping off for a drink in Castlebellinham and a fill of red diesel then stopping off at the chapel in Drumcondra for a wee prayer thats all I can remember

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 03/09/2013 20:53:12    1474519

Byanthon me must have been in the same car lol great memories

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 03/09/2013 21:01:15    1474529

Sunday 22nd September 1957. Louth 1-09 Cork 1-07. I remember it like yesterday.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 03/09/2013 21:54:24    1474594

1990 nfl final meath v down , we (meath) won by 2-07 to 0-11. not a vintage display but a league title secured. my firdt chsp season in croker was 1991 was at 9 of the 10 games we played in croker that year missed the final cause no ticket, needless to say i caught the bug from there on. iv inly missed 2 championship games since meath v laois in 1996 and meath v cork in 2007 both on holidays abroad.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 822 - 04/09/2013 15:00:34    1475071

OLLIE
County: Louth

1474594 Sunday 22nd September 1957. Louth 1-09 Cork 1-07. I remember it like yesterday

Did Joey Maher play for Louth that day?

lamhliathroid1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 25 - 04/09/2013 15:24:26    1475102

It was so long ago 38 years in fact that I had to ask my father if my recollections were in deed correct , he brought me to leinster final v Meath 1974 , I remember the auld dears selling fruit , getting off in north strand and walking up by the canal , couldnt get my head round why I was lifted over the turnstile ? Ha , sitting just beside the Tunnel the Artane boys band warmed up and it was the most incredible noise as tunnel amplified the sound . Ball thrown in and honestly the boy feel in love and has been ever since

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/09/2013 15:48:09    1475124

1984 All Ireland semi final,Tyrone v Dublin.I was 7 at the time and the whole family headed off at 7 o'clock in the morning.Dublin were defending champions at the time and I was so looking forward to seeing Barney Rock,Brian Mullins and Tommy Drumm.Tyrone had the legendary Frank McGuigan in full forward who was fresh from his 11 point haul in the Ulster final but there was to be no repeat performance from him.We were seated in the lower Hogan along with all of Tyrone it seemed.I can remember looking at the Hill and being amazed by the colour and noise and the running battles with the Garda lol.
Dublin won by 9 points in the end but it was a fantastic experience at the time and ignited a passion in me for big GAA days.

orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 04/09/2013 15:50:16    1475127

1991 Leinster Football Semi-Final, Offaly v Meath.
Meath were just out of their epic 4-game battle with Dublin.
2-13 to 0-7 to Meath, it finished that day.
An insignificant game in the greater scheme of things, but one I'll never forget.
The result was a very disappointing experience for a young lad of 8.
You don't think of other days ahead at that point in time.
I still have a vague recollection of the optimism I felt on the way up, on what seemed like a never-ending journey to Dublin.
How times change!

OffalyBigBall (Offaly) - Posts: 635 - 04/09/2013 16:00:08    1475140

1970 leinster final offaly v meath.i was so happy at half time.offaly were running away with it.sadly for me meath came back in to it and won a thriller..2.22 to 5.12 as far as i rememeber..80 min game.mickey fay and tony brennan were the chief destroyers of offaly i think.offaly won 2 in a row after that so it was prob a good learning curve for that group of players

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 04/09/2013 16:09:12    1475151

I think the first time I was in Croker was Meath v Kildare 97 when I was 9 (the 3rd game) but the mystery still remains because I really can't remember exactly the first time I was there. Supposedly there were sightings of me at Croker for both the Carlow and Dublin games in 96 but I have absolutely no recollections of either.

Anyway if I'd have known the amount of triumph and despair you can experience in that great stadium before I went the first time I may never have went at all, even when Meath were a top team they still tortured their fans occasionally!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/09/2013 16:19:31    1475163

I had been to Croker for games involving the local club, Clann na nGael, in the late eighties when they reached 4 AI finals in a row and managed to lose all 4, but my first game following my county didn't come until 2003 (at that stage we hadn't played in HQ for 11 or 12 years) when we played Kerry in an All Ireland Quarter Final. It was a double header with Galway v Donegal being played beforehand and I remember a bit of a panic trying to get myself a ticket. The bus to the game, the scatter of pints in the Big Tree before the game, I remember almost getting vertigo we were that high up the Upper Hogsn. It was remarkably hard to follow the game at that height with a couple of beers on board at the age of 18. Kerry led by 11 points at half time, but Ros staged a second half revival, scoring 3 goals, to give Kerry an uncomfortable finish, who eventually won out by 4 points. Most of the Galway and Donegal fans stayed on for our game and I can remember the strange feeling of Galway flags (and Donegal ones for that matter) being waved to greet the Roscommon scores in the second half! The long bus journey back to Athlone, toilet breaks every 20 mins, and straight to a nightclub when we got back. I've been back to Croker many many times since, but that'll always be the most memorable day I had there.

Unless Roscommon win an All Ireland......

decky (Roscommon) - Posts: 384 - 04/09/2013 16:55:03    1475188

lamhliathroid1

OLLIE
County: Louth

1474594 Sunday 22nd September 1957. Louth 1-09 Cork 1-07. I remember it like yesterday

Did Joey Maher play for Louth that day?

He did indeed in the handball.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 04/09/2013 17:10:31    1475202

85 v the jacks. Was only eight yrs , Brogans goal is all i remember from the actual games.The occasion was brilliant , uncles hone from England for the game, the pubs and the banter and the start of all the trips 88,89,92,93,96,97,99,04,06,11,12 semi s and niw the quaters and this will be the eighth final including replay , sick of the sight of the place at this stage.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 04/09/2013 17:29:39    1475226