Venue for U21HC final

Benny benny

1987 them match was over they questioned the extra time they had played the match at the venue.

the others were a strike against the county board and while i didnt agree with the strike the SENIOR players felt they had their reasons.

Important thing is PLAYERS !!!!!!!!!!!

This is management deciding for the PLAYERS

Im not having it its a disgrace simple as that its just a disgrace to jeopradise the opportunity in front of these players.

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 28/08/2013 17:50:44    1470402

I can understand where Antrim are coming from, but is it really that big a deal? I too think it should be played at Croker, but when you play in so few all-ireland finals, why would you throw a strop over the venue when you actually make it to one?

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 28/08/2013 17:54:52    1470405

Lets be practical its a six hour journey from the Glen Of Antrim. The match is fixed for 5.00pm and that means Antrim folk with Children will not be hone until the early hours of Sunday. By their action Croke Park are encouraging Antrim parents to break Child Protection guidelines and even a long distance lorry driver would not be legally allowed to drive them hours.

Isolatedantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 31 - 28/08/2013 18:02:27    1470411

This is absolutely ridiculous, and I cant actually believe that he has come out with it. And given the lack of flexibility shown by Antrim to the New York hurling team a few years ago, this is quite hypocritical.

Somoene mentioned the throw in time for the game, well why don't Antrim request that this be changed to an earlier time rather than throw their toys out of the pram?

I'll of course still be sheering them on in the final, and am delighted at what they've achieved, but they should be putting all their energies into preparing the players and enjoying the build up rather than making threats

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 28/08/2013 18:35:37    1470440

I give full support to our manager Ryan and I am not one bit embarrassed about him presenting a view. I also won't let the whole discussion take the gloss off what is an outstanding achievement. Everyone is entitled to an opinion on this subject and perhaps there is food for thought for the future. However we are not in a position to demand anything.

The couple of points I would make are:- 1) I know there are a big number of people trying to work out the practicalities of commuting the young and old Gaels down the country to this match for a challenging throw in time. It is not within everyone's budget to have a stay over. 3) I feel the powers that be are missing a unique opportunity to give a boost to our national game in the mid to Northern part of the country. 3) It is every players dream to step out onto Croke Park.

We ask no favours and off the back of the tremendous sportsmanship afforded to us by the Wexford players we will approach the final with goodwill and a desire to win.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 321 - 28/08/2013 19:14:28    1470474

It's a dangers game this. If a manger of a county can object and threaten not to field just because he does not agree with the venue. You'll have everyone at it next. Antrim won alot of admirers with their win over Wexford in the semi final which was played in THURLES. Now with this utter nonsense they are losing them. The rubbish the manager (who had so much faith in his team he booked his holidays in America the weekend of the final) has come out with is awful and shown no respect to his players. Antrim have done superbly to make the All Ireland Hurling U/21 Final. We down in Clare know how wonderful that achievement is. It's your first ever appearance and we have only been there twice before ourselves. We certainly won't be underestimating Antrim, why would we? We want to win only our third ever U/21 All Ireland.

I personally think Croke Park would be brilliant for the match but you talk about fair. Would it be fair to ask Clare supporters to go to Dublin twice in a period of 7 days? Really? Some fans even said Clare should go to Ulster? That's absolutely nonsense why?

Thurles is the venue ok that's in Munster I know that. But did Clare object in 2009 when they had to go up to Croke Park to play an All Ireland Final against Kilkenny in a Leinster venue. Despite the fact the Kilkenny players were very used to playing there. Did we threaten to not play? No it was our first All Ireland U/21 and we would have played it in super value car park.

All that matters is the game and the winning and losing of it. Antrim supporters should make sure they get behind the players and support them. None of this rubbish about venues. Thurles it is and Thurles it was before you ever played a semi final. There will be a good crowd there and hopefully you'll bring a good crowd from Antrim. I'm sure for a one off like this you'll see no problem making the effort. It's a one off Final lads cop on

BannerBoy2013 (Clare) - Posts: 325 - 28/08/2013 19:42:31    1470490

This is an idle threat. The game will go ahead in Thurles. The Antrim county board will not be objecting to the venue. Kevin Ryan is giving his opinion after a meeting on Monday. He used the word 'we'. I assume he means the squad but can't be sure about that.

In my opinion he is dead right to give his opinion on this. Thurles does not have to be the venue. Loads of other venues have been used for the under 21 final. If it suited the GAA, they would move it.

People were asking why did not object for the semi-final which was also played in Thurles? I do not know that. They are not objecting now either though. Why did Kevin Ryan not give his opinion on playing Wexford in Thurles in a similar vein? He probably was not asked. He possibly felt similarly (ie that it was unfair), however, he knew that nobody would listen as they have been regularly hammered at this grade over the years.Now that they have a win, it is a good time to give his opinion on what he perceives as unfair as now people will listen.

Is it unfair that that Antrim play all their Ulster games in Casement? Probably yes. Down and Derry folk are best suited to give an opinion on this.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 28/08/2013 20:30:40    1470522

I think Kevin Ryan's point of view could have been expressed in a less dramatic way - yes, the venue should probably be changed if we are being totally practical about it but the venue was already fixed for Thurles so let's go and enjoy it. Look the result was massive for Antrim and we should be looking forward to giving our all and enjoying the final. If we are serious about building on hurling then from next year we should really make the county teams a priority focussing on venues, re-scheduling club matches etc but in a less knee-jerk way. By the way I cant believe that the board would not travel down the night before and put the team up in a hotel, it's the least these lads deserve!

delboy1 (Antrim) - Posts: 7 - 28/08/2013 21:50:05    1470601

Why is the idea of the final being played in Ulster absolute nonsense Bannerboy? What's wrong with Clones for instance? A fine pitch and stadium that could easily accomadate the likely attendance.
Is it because Clones is too far from Clare?

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 29/08/2013 11:04:34    1470728

Must apologise to the Antrim County Board. Seems the boycott idea is Ryan's own baby.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 29/08/2013 11:13:21    1470736

I have already said that a boycott should never be part of thinking within the GAA BUT there are one or two posters castigating Antrim and whose memories are very short; Cork created a lot of bad feeling within the Association with their various strikes over the years. Now it is 250 odd miles from North Antrim to Thurles and people, especially children and older people, would be travelling for the guts of 12 hours there and back; it would be well after midnight before they got home. Croke Park could bring the game forward to 3.00 and maybe as a gesture, given the distance and circumstances, make a financial donation to the Antrim team to help with overnight accomodation costs. If people are fair and genuinely want to see hurling in Antrim and Ulster move on they must realise that geography goes against our sides and our hurling people can feel very isolated from the rest of the country. It is not to much to ask that from time to time the GAA recognise this. What good would it do to see an exhausted Antrim side travel on the day for hours then take a 20 point hammering in front of 15000 Clare fans. How could that be construed as fair or does anyone within Croke Park or the established counties care? Talk of a boycott is ridiculous but a bit of understanding and fairness about genuine concerns wouldn't go amiss; is that too much to ask?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9837 - 29/08/2013 13:16:18    1470828

Why should Clare consider playing in Ulster? I mean the very reason Antrim are up in arms is apparently Thurles is too far for them and their players and supporters to travel to. It's a Munster venue. These are the reasons they are speaking out. Now the cheek of them to suggest ULSTER for the final. Would that not then be a problem for the Clare players and Clare supports making the long journey up to the North? 6 days after already making their way up to Dublin to the Senior Final. Why is it so wrong to be played in Thurles yet it's perfectly ok to play it in Ulster?? On yer bike lads. Play it where it's been allocated or in the middle of the country. NO WAY should it be moved to Ulster. Why don't we all moan till we get the venue we want hay? People are forgetting this is an ALL IRELAND FINAL we are talking about.

The cheek to say the Antrim supporters will struggle to make it down on a Saturday to Thurles for a ONE OFF GAME. It's an ALL IRELAND FINAL for the love of god. Just make the effort for a one off game. You could witness your ounce win an All Ireland lads, that's surely worth the effort.

BannerBoy2013 (Clare) - Posts: 325 - 29/08/2013 13:32:48    1470840

Not too much at all Ulsterman

Very well written piece.

It was composed and tempered and did not insinuate any north/south divide/hostilities. Leads me to ask; are you ill?

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 29/08/2013 14:02:37    1470869

BannerBoy2013
County: Clare

Why should Clare consider playing in Ulster?

Focussing on the word consider, because it would be sporting of you to do so. You will most likely win anyway. You have an excellent team. Kilkenny did a few years ago when they gave up home advantage to Westmeath.

As you said yourself, it is a one off game.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 29/08/2013 14:06:43    1470871

Parnell Park would be a good compromise for both sets of supporters. Antrim teams have performed & won here in the past & there would surely be plenty of neutrals in attendance.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 29/08/2013 14:13:42    1470880

I was at the Limerick v Clare All-Ireland semi - final, Limerick brought the majority of the support, yes i would love the final in Newry/Armagh give the game a massive boost up here, but it would be unfair to the Clare supporters to ask them to do this, - it would also result in a massive fall -off in support for Clare,

This hasn't happened before, Thurles was a good venue for a Cork, Galway. Limerick Kilkenny etc - its a central location, but in reality to go from Belfast to Thurles is a far journey, from Ballycastle/ and the Glens add another 1-1.5 hours to that journey,.... this hasn't being taken into account....

it like asking Kerry to play Armagh in all -Ireland U-21 Football Final in Clones at 5pm.......
yes having the game in Ulster would be great - but that isn't going to happen, but Tullamore, Portlaose etc is more sensible.... just common sense is lacking here!!!!!!

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 29/08/2013 14:20:17    1470886

Gees Bannerboy what an attitude you have! Makes me want to shout for Cork in the final. You can use your own argument against yourself, why can't Clare make the effort to go to Clones for a one off game? Apparently you realise what a marvellous achiement it is to get there.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 29/08/2013 14:29:00    1470896

Antrim PRO Brendan Mulgrew explained in the Irish News: "We have been in touch and made correspondence with Central Council. We are aware of the ruling that was made in 2010 when Galway were playing Tipperary, but that ruling was made when no Ulster side had ever progressed to the final.

"I'd like to see it held in an Ulster venue. That would encourage what we would hope to be thousands of supporters to make the trip to the game. Pairc Esler, Breffni Park or even Parnell Park would be welcome alternatives."

Two aspects to this fiasco IMO:

1. I agree with Ulsterman in that Croke Park and the strong hurling counties have to try and accomodate those who wish to progress hurling within their counties in a meaningful way, especially those of us far removed from hurling strongholds. The insincere platitudes and BS arent funny any more and actually very tiring to those of us who love our national game.

2. Antrim also have to understand that there are more counties in the north than them and that if they want fair play from Croke Park and the strong hurling counties then they too must apply the same rules to Armagh Down Derry Donegal etc... They cant complain about unfairness when they expect and get all championship matches at home (Ulster Council not interested in hurling so they let Antrim do as they please ie Ulster Senior Final 2013), go straight into most finals, take part in both the Leinster and Ulster hurling championships. Its strange now their PRO likes the look of other Ulster venues now but seem to overlook them when fellow Ulster teams are involved.

You cant have it both way lads - move the match on condition Antrim, oops Ulster Council move the hurling championship matches around Ulster in the future which will have a positive effect in the rest of the counties and may actually make the Senior, U21 and Minor championhips exciting

Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 29/08/2013 14:31:12    1470901

BennyBunny

"Focussing on the word consider, because it would be sporting of you to do so. You will most likely win anyway. You have an excellent team. Kilkenny did a few years ago when they gave up home advantage to Westmeath.

As you said yourself, it is a one off game."

You're not answering my question Benny Bunny, why should Antrim complain about it being in Thurles MUNSTER for the reasons it's to far for supporters and players. YET then ask Clare to go to ULSTER????????? Is that not by their "own reasoning" too far for Clare players and supporters?

You say it's sporting and compared it to Westmeath and Kilkenny?? A little but different there buddy Westmeath isn't that far from Kilkenny to be fair. I think Clare to Ulster might just be a little further :-) and this is an ALL IRELAND FINAL!!!!!

Do you think it's fair for Clare supporters to have to travel up to Dublin on Sunday and then the North the following Saturday? It's all opinions after all but I don't thinks that's fair if Antrim want to talk about fairness.

Thurles is called the home of hurling by many, it should be an honour to line out there in an All Ireland Final IMO. Maybe common sense would say Croke Park but that's up to the powers that be.

We are a sporting county a Benny Bunny, sure we gave Offaly a replay in 1998 All Ireland Semi Final when it wasn't our fault at all and subsequently lost an All Ireland. Unsporting we never can be called.

BannerBoy2013 (Clare) - Posts: 325 - 29/08/2013 14:37:58    1470906

Condorman

Gees Bannerboy what an attitude you have! Makes me want to shout for Cork in the final. You can use your own argument against yourself, why can't Clare make the effort to go to Clones for a one off game? Apparently you realise what a marvellous achiement it is to get there.

What's wrong with what I'm saying Condorman? I'm saying play the game in Dublin if you like, play it in super value car park if you like but why is it ok for Clare to go to Ulster but not ok for Antrim to go to Munster? I just don't get that. They make no sense, they say Thurles is too far from Ulster for supporters and players but yet Ulster isn't too far from Clare?

Help me with that please?

And shout for who you want in the final there's no attitude from me.

BannerBoy2013 (Clare) - Posts: 325 - 29/08/2013 14:44:36    1470911