It's hard to believe it's 10 years since Pat uttered those famous words. Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 24/08/2013 12:03:07 1466919 Link 0 |
Thanks for that super glue, I was thinking its been at least two days since someone started an anti-Tyrone thread, now watch them flock in their droves. brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 24/08/2013 12:14:04 1466927 Link 0 |
Happy birthday puke football XXX realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8818 - 24/08/2013 12:27:41 1466935 Link 0 |
It was more streetwise football than puke football. Tyrone were well able to play football as well as implement their blanket defence. More than that as their 3 Sam Maguires shows it was winning football and they had plenty of quality players. Was probably a bit of a shock to Gaelic football that a team should actually prevent a free-flowing team from scoring as a means of winning rather than try to outplay them on the scoreboard. Tomorrow will not be easy for us, mark my words. GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8214 - 24/08/2013 12:29:37 1466936 Link 0 |
brendtheredhand Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 24/08/2013 12:34:40 1466940 Link 0 |
We all love open football with lots of scores and goalmouth excitement.However I salute Mickey Harte and Tyrone for the way they weighed up their chances of beating the superpowers in the game with the playing resources available to them and devised a game plan,completely within the rules,to outwit and outscore their opponents.It was enthralling watching them outmanoeuvre the mighty Kerry on quite a few occasions when the spoils really mattered.Now I'm a great fan of Kerry football and it should be some game with themselves and Dublin.Kerry really are the aristocrats of the game and that makes Tyrone and Mickey Harte's achievements all the more noteworthy,hats off to Tyrone. ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 24/08/2013 12:44:16 1466945 Link 0 |
As the article said...just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they're not after you. tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 24/08/2013 13:04:26 1466959 Link 0 |
Brendtheredhand, this is what comes to mind when I think of you and Tyrone... ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1747 - 24/08/2013 13:18:53 1466970 Link 0 |
Ye they did what they had to do to win an all Ire , if that meant sticking a finger in someone's eye or. Whatever ,it didn't matter to them,they knew they couldn't play a clean open football style because they simply never had it in them. 51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 24/08/2013 13:21:41 1466973 Link 0 |
It was effective anyway! They were involved in some classic games with Kerry, Armagh and Dubs. Not a great admirer but might not like Dubs either if I was not a Dub! hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 24/08/2013 13:29:17 1466981 Link 0 |
Never had a problem with so called puke football. They mixed cynical fouling with wonderful skill and had the players to do both. Feck the begrudgers. TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8487 - 24/08/2013 13:46:22 1466986 Link 0 |
Yawn... Read this for a more balanced opinion of the issue! TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 24/08/2013 14:04:20 1466992 Link 0 |
Kerry men still taking of Puke football Mickey must have them worried down in the Kingdom , Tyrone may have played one game of puke football against the Kingdom while the Kingdom got away with playing Fluke football for many years resulting in some very handy Sams oh if only winning Ulster was a easy as Munster ... fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 24/08/2013 14:26:03 1466999 Link 0 |
Fault for what ahsure,being successful? brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 24/08/2013 15:38:11 1467022 Link 0 |
And we're off again, Tyrone you have my sympathy surely enough is enough of this? arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4958 - 24/08/2013 15:50:36 1467028 Link 0 |
Tyrones blanket defence was within the rules, no problem there. joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 24/08/2013 15:55:45 1467033 Link 0 |
Would be issues such as you refer to joncarter that put me off them, rather than style of play which is same as most of the leading contenders. hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 24/08/2013 15:57:43 1467035 Link 0 |
joncarter, Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 24/08/2013 16:09:11 1467040 Link 0 |
Ye they did what they had to do to win an all Ire , if that meant sticking a finger in someone's eye or. Whatever ,it didn't matter to them,they knew they couldn't play a clean open football style because they simply never had it in them. MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 24/08/2013 16:56:24 1467078 Link 0 |
To the two other Mayo fans who posted in this topic, I'm just kidding with my last post, obviously. MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 24/08/2013 17:00:00 1467079 Link 0 |