Handshake Premier League Style

The handshake is a load of sh**.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/08/2013 16:03:09    1458736

it just didn't look right

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 11/08/2013 16:05:58    1458737

a sly remark or dirty dig wont be long ending it.....

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 11/08/2013 16:16:33    1458747

Agreed wayno

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/08/2013 16:18:28    1458754

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

hill16no1man
Dublin
12/08/2013
15:26

Handshake

yesterday saw the gaa start something new of the whole teams lining up and go along in a line shaking hands. was wondering what do people think of this? for me its copying soccer and I wouldnt be for it at all. I dont see what was wrong with the tradition of going in and shaking the players hand you were marking

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 12/08/2013 15:38:29    1459702

Waste of utter space!

Since the GAA has man to man marking (well at the start anyway) you shake your opponents hand and then try and beat 7 bells out of him!

The handshake at the end is the important one not before hand.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 12/08/2013 15:45:15    1459713

dubbydave.

1458636 what about our younger viewers will it not help and show the level of respect players have towards each other ????

If anything it might confuse them, Dave.
"But Da them men punching each other , were they not shaking hands 5 mins ago"
Just watch the match the match son.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 12/08/2013 15:55:12    1459728

what fool in the gaa decided to try that, totally pointles

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2980 - 12/08/2013 16:00:57    1459742

Didnt like the look at it myself...whats next....each team walk out side be side together. Marty Morrisery announcing the teams and then say "We will be back with the first half after this break and its LIVE!"

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11589 - 12/08/2013 16:01:13    1459744

We shouldn't get into this ritualised box ticking exercise. It's a joke, UEFA, FIFA and all these crowds have all these ads and handshaking, respect the ref. It's all hollow and makes no impact..

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 12/08/2013 16:25:48    1459773

ormondbannerman
County: Clare

If you want to shake hands with the player you are marking/anyone else on the opposition wait until the game is over. Try do your best to beat/trick/win against your opponents and then shake hands afterwards.
None of that shaking hands stuff should be done prior to the match

wow haha i wold have had the house on you being all for it ormond your full od surprises pal haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/08/2013 16:29:30    1459779

maybe we should start a facebook page of some sort and send amessage to the gaa to not continue with it

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/08/2013 16:30:15    1459783

Why a handshake? What about a nice hug. Everyone loves a good hug. And them maybe they can date each others sisters, and go on group dates, and buy each other birthday presents? OMG! GAA BFF! Best. Idea. Ever.

Totally.

(Turning sarcasm off now Captain)

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 12/08/2013 16:32:19    1459787

what are they u8's - looked awful. Ban it straight away. You shake your direct oponents hand before the throw it and more important, you shake it afterwards.
The handshake after the game is FAR more important that some ritual before the game that means nothing, just wastes time, is another distraction to the players and just looks terrible.
What next - players walking out side by side and reading a pledge like they tried with soccor internationals.

DeRoyals (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 12/08/2013 16:35:29    1459796

I personally thought it was embarrassing and awkward, why imitate soccer.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 12/08/2013 21:22:19    1460101

Don't like it.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 12/08/2013 21:42:24    1460114

Didn't like it. as mlcollins said it looked embarrassing and awkward, there's no need for it, handshakes and the end of the game when its all said and done has always been the way and it should stay that way. The only person you should shake hands at the start of the game is your marker and if not a handshake a good old fashioned shoulder to shoulder also works.

pkrebel (Cork) - Posts: 35 - 12/08/2013 21:59:13    1460127

What if it comes to light that a player has been curting another players woman?? itll be a John Terry/Wayne Bridge saga all over again- I don't think the GAA is ready for such scandal!

sam09 (Tyrone) - Posts: 339 - 13/08/2013 08:21:41    1460129

A handshake after a fierce battle betwen two opposing players is a mark of respect, for both players be they a loser or the victor. Lining up and shaking hands? forget it. Its bad enough after you've lost final and had to stand in the pouring freezing rain and listen to the winning captain telling you "ye'll be back....."

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 13/08/2013 08:44:00    1460140

hurlingdub
Players shake hands anyway. Why imitate them yokes? They shake hands and then bite one another!

Am I the only one that picked up on this?!

I hate this attitude of 'you are only copying someone else'. So what? Why does that lessen the value of it? Would people be complaining if hawkeye won their team a game? 'Is this tennis we are playing lads?' Teams should shake hands, it promotes fair play and sets a good example.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/08/2013 09:15:49    1460161