Only one DUB has won a Hurling AI medal!!

used to want Mayo to win

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 273 - 09/08/2013 14:39:27    1457535

Technically the one Dub won an All Ireland probably isn't true. In the initial stages of GAA clubs who won respective championships represented their counties.....Dublin won in 1889 with Kickhams so surely there must have been a few native Dubs in that team!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 09/08/2013 14:39:49    1457537

i think it says more about dublin hurling in the present day that out of a match day 32 all but 3 are dublin born and bred.
hurling never had a tradition in dublin and like building a support base you have to start from the beggining.
we had all sorts of ex county players in the 90tys on dublin panels that did dublin hurling no good at all.
hard work coaching and years of it since the millenium has yielded a much bigger reward and dublin are now leinster champions and in an all ireland semi final against a traditional powerhouse and yet the bookies cant split them and most pundits are the same way.
just shows how far dublin has come in a short space of time

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/08/2013 14:44:37    1457545

51longago giving out about silly arguments. You could not make it up :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 09/08/2013 14:46:09    1457549

beal

1457272 Hurling dub "Union jack waving Dubs" :-)

Not your greatest moment in history surely, and naturally you don't like to be reminded. Clearly the origin of the sobriquet "Jackeen" rankles; but you can't deny that it was well deserved. Flag-waving in honour of an oppressive foreign overlord was not your finest hour. And nothing will change that. You can't undo the past.
From a county with one of the worst contributions in the Tan War.Bottled that like you do the football and everything else.. ……….
The disgraceful, malicious, unsubstantiated and false assertion that Mayo didn't play its part in the War of Independence must be refuted and rejected in the strongest possible terms. This "gratuitous insult" is more a reflection of your own sad lack of knowledge than anything resembling truth. The heroic story of Mayo's involvement in the '98 Rebellion along with our county's suffering in an Gorta Mor and how we led the way in the land war is well known.
During the War of Independence too, Mayo people were steadfast in allegiance to the Republic proclaimed in 1916 and established by the will of the people in 1919.The role of the people and the north, south, east and west Mayo Brigades has never been called into question. The most notable among hundreds of "incidents "took place at Foxford, Islandeady, Tourmakeady, Kilmeena and Carrowkennedy (Westport). You must be aware of the contribution Tom Maguire from Cross, the Irish Republican, who held the rank of commandant-general in the Western Command of the Irish Republican Army and led the South Mayo flying column. Surely you've heard of Ernie O'Malley from Castlebar ,Irish Republican Army officer during the War of Independence and a commander of the anti-Treaty IRA during the Irish Civil War.
You appear to be ignorant of the role of Mayo men and women during the formative years of our country. Perhaps the following resources may help to fill in the gaps: The flame and the Candle by Dominic Price; Remembering Mayo's Fallen Heroes by Michael Feeney; The Battle of Tourmakeady by Capt. Donal Buckley; and The Men will Talk to Me, Mayo Interviews by Cormac O'Malley. Documentaries have also been produced which might further enlighten you, including The Rebel Doctor about Kathleen Lynn from Mulranny,
My own favourite reading on the period in question is Dilseacht, the Story of Comdt.Gen. Tom Maguire, which recounts the great man's struggle for Ireland's freedom and democracy, and penned by none less than the late lamented Ruairi O'Bradaigh.
Whatever about the undeniable failure to deliver at Croke Park in the many Septembers since 1951, the story of Mayo is a proud one, despite all the suffering, pain and sacrifice we have endured. It is a testament to the resilience, determination, character and spirit of Mayo people that regardless of all our setbacks, heartbreak and disappointment in football, that we have never lost faith in ourselves and belief in one another. And if Mayo fails to deliver again this year, the quest will continue. It's not in our nature to quit, to shirk responsibility, to run away, to hide or to be found wanting. And these characteristics we share with the majority of others with Irish blood coursing through their veins……..

Oh God... C'mon Tyrone..

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 09/08/2013 14:51:58    1457558

beal,

Dont forget 'The Races of Castlebar' in 1798 and yer cringeworthy song of that era that the rare Connaught man that lifts a cup in Croker dupes the crowd into believing is some sort of fact 'The men of the West'.......ehh yeah, ye were all very brave after the French landed to take the lead!

The difference with the west in 1798 is that where you had risings in Dublin, Kildare, Wicklow, Carlow and Wexford, also Antrim and Down, we all did it on our own......Mayo 'waited' for the Gen Humbert and Co. so dont be singing those false songs lad cos ye aint foolong anyone up in these parts!!

Seeing as you are a great lad for the books, try Pakenhams 'The Year of Liberty' quote: "The westbound mailcoach was siezed in Lucan, its non arrival through the provincial towns to be the signal to those in the countryside that the rebellion in the Capital had begun, to then take their own area and march on Dublin to deliver the Coup de Grace......but, all along the road to Galway nothing stirred!"

Dont talk to me about the west lad! Even Galways attempt at rebellion on easter week has been erased out of the history books because it was nothing more than a sectarian land grab and cattle raid!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/08/2013 15:01:13    1457569

Snufalufagus

1457569 beal,

Dont forget 'The Races of Castlebar' in 1798 and yer cringeworthy song of that era that the rare Connaught man that lifts a cup in Croker dupes the crowd into believing is some sort of fact 'The men of the West'.......ehh yeah, ye were all very brave after the French landed to take the lead!

The difference with the west in 1798 is that where you had risings in Dublin, Kildare, Wicklow, Carlow and Wexford, also Antrim and Down, we all did it on our own......Mayo 'waited' for the Gen Humbert and Co. so dont be singing those false songs lad cos ye aint foolong anyone up in these parts!!

Seeing as you are a great lad for the books, try Pakenhams 'The Year of Liberty' quote: "The westbound mailcoach was siezed in Lucan, its non arrival through the provincial towns to be the signal to those in the countryside that the rebellion in the Capital had begun, to then take their own area and march on Dublin to deliver the Coup de Grace......but, all along the road to Galway nothing stirred!"

Dont talk to me about the west lad! Even Galways attempt at rebellion on easter week has been erased out of the history books because it was nothing more than a sectarian land grab and cattle raid!

Oh God...C'mon Kerry!

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 09/08/2013 15:05:45    1457579

harsh on the men of Galway

seem to remember some sort of shoot out in Oranmore?

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 273 - 09/08/2013 15:26:07    1457620

SNUF…. maybe it's just me but I'd be very wary of my historical sources, especially when they come from someone with Earl or Lord attached to their name. But if you are happy to accept Lord Longford's version of things ,then fire head.
We've been through this before. Let me remind you once again about the true story of Mayo's involvement in the 98 Rebellion. I'm sure the Galway posters are more than able to relate their own county's contribution at Aughrim, Knockdoe etc. On 22 August 1798, a French expedition of 1,000 men under the leadership of General Humbert landed at Kilcummin, north of Killala and close to the Ceide Fields, cradle of Celtic civilisation in Ireland thousands of years before a Viking longboat stumbled upon at the mouth of the Liffey. Over 3,000 local Irish recruits joined the French, many armed only with pikes and pitchforks. They arrived at Castlebar to face the British garrison and with the rebels in pursuit, the Crown forces fled. Although chased for just a mile or two, the British did not stop until they got to Tuam, while some fled as far as Athlone in the panic. The event has come down in history as the "Races of Castlebar".
Sadly it all ended in tragedy at Ballinamuck, Co. Longford, on 8 September, where the French were taken prisoners of war and the Irish were slaughtered mercilessly. A wave of ruthless repression followed in Mayo. Father Andrew Conroy, parish priest of Addergoole (Lahardane) and Father Manus Sweeney of Newport were hanged for their support of the French. The 'Maid of Erin' monument was unveiled in Ballina for the centennial commemoration of the rebellion in 1898 by Maud Gonne MacBride.
So Snuf let's not belittle or try to erase the part played by the Men of the West! It's most unfair of you, allegedly a student of history, to belittle the part played in history by Irishmen and women in our country' struggles. The study of History is about unearthing the true story of the past. Presenting a biased version in your hectoring tone is unhelpful. Remember, an agenda- led, triumphalist or gloating approach to the study of the past is narrow, misguided and can be dangerous………..

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 09/08/2013 17:38:03    1457776

The study of History is about unearthing the true story of the past. Presenting a biased version in your hectoring tone is unhelpful. Remember, an agenda- led, triumphalist or gloating approach to the study of the past is narrow, misguided and can be dangerous………..
beal
-------------

Well said beal!....no stand in the miror looking in at yourself and repeat it!
You looked for a reaction using the very tools you describe above and you got it!....and you didnt like it!

By the way, well done on the history lesson, telling me things I already know!
Note: At no instance did I say those events did not take place....'for they did'....what I did say is that ye waited until the French came to lead ye before ye got involved, unlike the rest of us here in Leinster and Ulster who rose up in our own areas 'alone'!!

So read what Im saying first 'exactly' before you try to question me or give me a history lesson lad!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/08/2013 18:50:41    1457835

Forgive us Dubs if we are enjoying the success of the Dublin Hurling team. Its been a long time coming. Yes not all of the players are native Dubs but most of the panel are, these guys have for the most part developed by the Dublin clubs. We are proud of our county and what they have achieved. Other counties have better pedigrees there's no denying that but does that mean that we should give up and not bother. Did we get help from outside the county , of course we did, it would have been stupid not to.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 09/08/2013 21:08:24    1457925

SNUF…here in Leinster and Ulster who rose up in our own areas 'alone'!!
As spmccann succinctly puts it: Did we get help from outside the county , of course we did, it would have been stupid not to.
Similarly when Tone began to consider the military options he realised the crucial importance of help from France. Unfortunately that help was delayed due to Napoleon's exploits in Egypt and when the small French Force arrived they were defeated by the superior government forces. To attempt a rising without the promised French help was foolhardy and doomed to fail. As you are well aware the Rising around Dublin lacked leadership and was patchy. In Antrim McCracken was soon defeated and in Down Munro only held out for three days before being captured. The valiant efforts in the south-east were in vain, primarily due to the government's network of informers.
The valiant failure of '98 and the exploits of the men of the west, east, North-east and south-east served to inspire successive future generations of Irishmen and women to assert their demands for freedom, independence and nationhood.
Best regards,
beal.

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 09/08/2013 21:44:30    1457947