Only one DUB has won a Hurling AI medal!!

Stmunnsriver,
Cause the thread had Dub in it of course.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 08/08/2013 19:28:51    1456979

"Union jack waving Dubs" :-)

From a county with one of the worst contributions in the Tan War. Bottled that like you do the football and everything else.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 08/08/2013 20:20:16    1457039

51longago
Ye dont care about hurling?
I feel immense sympathy for you that you do not care about hurling but I'm sure you do not represent the majority of the county. Mayo may not have much hurling tradition but that is equally the gaa's fault. Dublin hurling is important as it sets a precedent that with investment and hard work hurling can be brought to a football dominant area. Mayo given ten years and football clubs recognizing that hurling is as much a GAA sport as football may well be a success story.
Whether you will like the sport or not is your perogative. the most important thing is that every young boy and girl that comes to a GAA club will get a taste for both codes.
Maybe in 20 years time a MAYO man will be lifting the Liam Mc Carthy. By that time of course Dublin will have taken over (wink)

Fishermantom (Limerick) - Posts: 569 - 08/08/2013 21:31:45    1457110

Fishermantom, 51's sole interest is to indulge his hatred of Dublin.

I see that neither he nor some of his fellow county men have responded to my equally gratuitous insult.

And apologies to the decent Mayo people here. Just proving a point.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 09/08/2013 10:42:35    1457234

only one true Blue Dub
I'm not Dub bashing here. Love you're style of football and delighted to see a fresh face in the hurling stakes. I smiled when I saw the " Only one true Blus Dub" bit. It reminded me of a funny comment I heard that I'd thought I'd share with you.
Definition of a culchie ; A Dublin young wans oul fella !!!

lehitinwudya (Cavan) - Posts: 48 - 09/08/2013 10:54:40    1457247

Stmunnsriver
County: Wexford

if they dont care about hurling in mayo why are lads from there so keen to talk about dublin hurling

coming from you of all people stumustrriver,given your attitude to wexford hurling,i can only laugh.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 09/08/2013 10:55:09    1457248

Hurlindub , when theres an agenda theres an agenda , these guys sit probing for anything newspaper or online to deflect from own counties lack of of achievements and best way to do that is to attack other counties , jealousy is a horrible trait , as for union jack waving Dub,s thats from the GAA kindergarten of insults , really is that the best you could come up ,, with your childminder will be very disappointed .
One should never hide from your history , yes we've been successfull on the back of our country cousins , still are , as so many are still working away in clubs ( happily and unpaid ) , but were building something and its getting results , they DONT like you messing with the Status quo , so money money money , population , no history , , biased refs under orders , no fans but if they do turn up not real fans basically anything to tarnish latest achievements ,
Small minded bigots with an agenda ,one all ireland winning Dub just hope we can change that , for now thank you to the country lads who rather than sitting and becoming cynical old wanne be,s they got of their ass and put the blue jersey on and gave us a couple of all irelands , cheers lads history book looks mighty fine to me .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 09/08/2013 11:08:27    1457257

Lads does it really matter where players were born. If you take that approach then Leitrim would have no players and one of Londons panel from 2013 would be available to them. Andy Moran was born in Castlebar and was raised in Ballaghadereen which at the time of the creation of the GAA was in Mayo and have thus remained in Mayo for GAA purposes.

As for the Dub hurlers the best of luck to them. Great to see so many "new" teams challanging incl. Dublin. Are most of the current team either born in Dublin or there from an early age?

ExiledinDublin (Mayo) - Posts: 131 - 09/08/2013 11:15:50    1457268

Hurling dub "Union jack waving Dubs" :-)

Not your greatest moment in history surely, and naturally you don't like to be reminded. Clearly the origin of the sobriquet "Jackeen" rankles; but you can't deny that it was well deserved. Flag-waving in honour of an oppressive foreign overlord was not your finest hour. And nothing will change that. You can't undo the past.
From a county with one of the worst contributions in the Tan War.Bottled that like you do the football and everything else.. ……….
The disgraceful, malicious, unsubstantiated and false assertion that Mayo didn't play its part in the War of Independence must be refuted and rejected in the strongest possible terms. This "gratuitous insult" is more a reflection of your own sad lack of knowledge than anything resembling truth. The heroic story of Mayo's involvement in the '98 Rebellion along with our county's suffering in an Gorta Mor and how we led the way in the land war is well known.
During the War of Independence too, Mayo people were steadfast in allegiance to the Republic proclaimed in 1916 and established by the will of the people in 1919.The role of the people and the north, south, east and west Mayo Brigades has never been called into question. The most notable among hundreds of "incidents "took place at Foxford, Islandeady, Tourmakeady, Kilmeena and Carrowkennedy (Westport). You must be aware of the contribution Tom Maguire from Cross, the Irish Republican, who held the rank of commandant-general in the Western Command of the Irish Republican Army and led the South Mayo flying column. Surely you've heard of Ernie O'Malley from Castlebar ,Irish Republican Army officer during the War of Independence and a commander of the anti-Treaty IRA during the Irish Civil War.
You appear to be ignorant of the role of Mayo men and women during the formative years of our country. Perhaps the following resources may help to fill in the gaps: The flame and the Candle by Dominic Price; Remembering Mayo's Fallen Heroes by Michael Feeney; The Battle of Tourmakeady by Capt. Donal Buckley; and The Men will Talk to Me, Mayo Interviews by Cormac O'Malley. Documentaries have also been produced which might further enlighten you, including The Rebel Doctor about Kathleen Lynn from Mulranny,
My own favourite reading on the period in question is Dilseacht, the Story of Comdt.Gen. Tom Maguire, which recounts the great man's struggle for Ireland's freedom and democracy, and penned by none less than the late lamented Ruairi O'Bradaigh.
Whatever about the undeniable failure to deliver at Croke Park in the many Septembers since 1951, the story of Mayo is a proud one, despite all the suffering, pain and sacrifice we have endured. It is a testament to the resilience, determination, character and spirit of Mayo people that regardless of all our setbacks, heartbreak and disappointment in football, that we have never lost faith in ourselves and belief in one another. And if Mayo fails to deliver again this year, the quest will continue. It's not in our nature to quit, to shirk responsibility, to run away, to hide or to be found wanting. And these characteristics we share with the majority of others with Irish blood coursing through their veins……..

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 09/08/2013 11:22:22    1457272

i genuinely hope that dublin win the hurling this year, and def not the football. the only problem i can see coming, if dublin do win the hurling, is the smugness that will appear from old snuffy, but that is a small price to suffer so the true hurling fans from the capital can enjoy their hurling day in the sun. UPP THE DUBS (hurling only)

pig.ignorant (Derry) - Posts: 655 - 09/08/2013 11:32:00    1457281

Of the panel, three players: Corcoran, O'Dwyer and O'Brien are non-Dubs. Rest are all born and bred and played all their hurling here.

No-one is denying that hurling was brought to the city by people from other counties - mainly Munster as it happens. Hurling had died out in county Dublin over a hundred years earlier by the time the GAA was founded. The city itself saw its population vastly expand overe the same time so obviously a huge number of people living in Dublin were born in other counties or their parents were.

Three of my four grandparents were non Dubs: Kilkenny, Tipp and Limerick. It was the Tipp grandfather who brought hurling into the family and he played for Dublin the 20s. Although his wife who was born in Dublin and her brothers were involved in GAA so it was not all one-sided! By the way I am not so sure that no Dubs won All Irelands in the earlier periods. Harry Boland played for Dublin and only missed winning an All Ireland by a year or two. I doubt he was the only Dub on teams then.

Anyway, whatever our antecedents my family are now into third generation Dubs. We have only allegiance. Same as Keaney and Ryan and others whose family backgrounds are similar.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 09/08/2013 11:34:22    1457285

Good man Beal :-) See how annoying it is when people make unsubstantiated rants?

BTW, it is you who clearly does not know the origin of Jackeen. It has nothing to do with the Union Jack and it being waved by Dubs. Goes back to the 1600s and refers to what would best be described as a 'spiv'. Only ones waving union jacks for royal visits were local unionists and members of the crown forces, quite a number of them from the west as it happened.

As for historical sources, I could take all day listing references to Dublin's role in the events of those times. But as I said, my point was purely to illustrate the silliness of you attacking Dublin GAA teams by erroneous outdated "historical" references.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 09/08/2013 11:39:38    1457295

Would you stop it needs Dublin badly the same 3 three teams have been winning it since the get go it's been boring as hell and so predictable ffs, it took the Dubs this year to give other team belief that Kilkenny were beatable. Only for us the hurling championship would be a borefest.

Why Dublin? Why not Clare, Limerick, Wexford, Laois or even Kerry? Why do you say it would be a borefest? Limerick, Clare and Cork have had just as good games this year

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 09/08/2013 11:42:05    1457297

51; Donal Vaughan Cork born player moved to Mayo in his teens, Andy Moran born and bred in Roscommon , the O Shea's were born in Westmeath then moved to Galway then ended up in Mayo in there teens. I couldn't careless to be honest cause every county is the same but Mayo poster are always going about where players are born so I like to remind them of there players birthplace.

Did Donal Vaughan play with Cork? Andy Moran with Roscommon? The O Sheas with Westmeath or Galway?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 09/08/2013 11:44:47    1457301

Dead right moomoo, and just to back up your argument, Donaghy never played a game under Mickey Harte either!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8819 - 09/08/2013 12:12:12    1457326

Hurling Dub…..Still trying to rewrite history?.: "By the way I am not so sure that no Dubs won All Irelands in the earlier periods."
Not clear on what you mean by outdated , erroneous historical references. Just because you don't like the historical record does not render it erroneous. When does history become "outdated" ??? No need to tell me about Dublins role in our country's history,It is not an issue here. I'm quite familiar with it and would expect no less from our nation's capital city.
The suggested bibliography was simply supplied to improve and increase your selective and sketchy knowledge of Irish history outside of the Pale. I suppose some of the flag wavers were not native Dubs, sure isn't the place full of misguided culchies!

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 09/08/2013 12:25:08    1457339

realdub

Dead right moomoo, and just to back up your argument, Donaghy never played a game under Mickey Harte either!

That would be because he was born in Tralee but dont let that get in the of your argument...

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 09/08/2013 13:47:58    1457454

Must be a slow day at the office when the turf cutters need to being the union jack into(for some weird reason) the "debate"

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 09/08/2013 14:10:43    1457487

wow. this thread has it all!. begrudgery, insults, cringe worthy history lessons, bigotry

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 273 - 09/08/2013 14:32:18    1457519

Excuse me, Donnie Vaughan has lived in Mayo since he was seven years of age and actually lived in Kerry from aged two to seven.

Andy Moran again i repeat has played football with his native town since he was a nipper who play their football in Mayo, Roscommon does not come into it , a change in the border line during colonial times did not budge the GAA it shouldn't budge you either, it was Mayo and always will be Mayo to the native.

Aidan o se was three years old and Seamie was six when they moved to Mayo.

Is there a reason the Clondalkin dub is allowed to tell blatant lies? Does he think hes in a holding cell and has to revert to type under examination?

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 09/08/2013 14:36:16    1457527