Cavan Senior Championship

Not affiliated to either club but do think it's unfair that they had to play each other in the quarter finals. The 4 teams who came through the previous rounds undefeated should be rewarded by playing a team who came through the back door route. The current format needs to be looked at.

Total_Football (Cavan) - Posts: 69 - 16/09/2013 19:47:19    1483253

Nice to meet you, Eatmyfish.
Mullahoran will be hard beaten once they get to this stage of championship. Especially if yiz get Crosserlough or winners of Lacken/Ballinagh.

BreffniBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 278 - 16/09/2013 19:50:30    1483256

Checked this evening and it was not because a player was lying on the ground, the lines man O'Rourke I don't know his first name told Maggie the ball had not entered the field of play and could be re-taken by Castlerahan.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 16/09/2013 20:36:58    1483289

BreffniBlue

Mullahoran will be hard beaten once they get to this stage of championship. Especially if yiz get Crosserlough or winners of Lacken/Ballinagh.

Nice to meet you too.

Small matter of getting past that club from Cavan town first, what are they call Gaels or something like that!!! :-)

EatMyFish (Cavan) - Posts: 205 - 17/09/2013 12:12:26    1483503

I suppose if chesty the good player that he is can do what he does best and now that their corner forward is back in the panel I expect this will be a close match. If the gales give away silly frees from the 40 Mullahoran will win but if they keep their composure play football the gaels will win. My prediction however is a gales win by 3 points. I expect the players that will be sent off may well decide this match's outcome.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 17/09/2013 12:44:30    1483535

Was a nemitral at lavey v crosserlough game haven't been beaten by them week before.Have to say the full back line were very tight in both games unfair for poster to say pearce Smith best player thje lavey no.2 marked close so much so that crosserlough moved him to half forwards, I don't know what has happened to lavey not being able to score for all their possession. THE GAELS WILL WIN NO DOUBT

T

rebel13 (Cavan) - Posts: 3 - 17/09/2013 13:12:43    1483576

seanorinn

1483289 Checked this evening and it was not because a player was lying on the ground, the lines man O'Rourke I don't know his first name told Maggie the ball had not entered the field of play and could be re-taken by Castlerahan.

Thanks for clearing that up , thought it might have been the case . Seems a strange one to me and harsh on Ramor who were against the clock at the time . Should at least have been a throw up IMO

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 17/09/2013 14:01:43    1483626

Hardtimes

It's in the rule book once it does not enter the filed of play it must be retaken.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 17/09/2013 14:43:28    1483673

Don't know the exact rule on this that's why I said IMO . However it seems bizarre to reward a team for failing to execute a basic skill . Ramor were against the clock at the time and IMO the ball should have been thrown up on the basis that the kick had taken too long to be taken properly . Also Ramor were out of position , reasonably expecting the kick to go their way . Bit of common sense .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 17/09/2013 16:37:03    1483741

Apologies for a previous post regarding Senior Semi Final draw in mix up in communication, here is the correct position regarding same.
Senior Championship Semi-Finals

1. Saturday 28th September at 8pm in Kingspan Breffni Park.

2. Sunday 29th September at 7pm in Kingspan Breffni Park.

The draw for the Hotel Kilmore Senior Championship semi-finals will take place at half time at the Killeshandra v Drung replay in Kingspan Breffni Park on Saturday 21st September.

neilarmstron9 (Cavan) - Posts: 110 - 17/09/2013 17:06:27    1483789

Ballinagh v Lacken on saturday, anyone giving Lacken a chance?

EatMyFish (Cavan) - Posts: 205 - 17/09/2013 17:57:07    1483853

EatMyFish

Lacken were poor at the beginning but seemed to have turned the corner I will go with Lacken for this match but neither will win the chamionship

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 17/09/2013 20:41:28    1484004

seanorinn

EatMyFish

Lacken were poor at the beginning but seemed to have turned the corner I will go with Lacken for this match but neither will win the chamionship

I can't see any result other then a Ballinagh win. Lacken couldn't beat Killygarry in 120 minutes of football. Ballinagh by 4

EatMyFish (Cavan) - Posts: 205 - 17/09/2013 21:59:33    1484079

Can anyone stop the Gaels now? I hope Castlerahan or Ballinagh can.

EatMyFish (Cavan) - Posts: 205 - 21/09/2013 11:02:24    1486145

anyone in brefni last night? how do the geals look?
have to say i taught if they won last night they would go all the way. they have been here before and they know how to win chmpionships and this is something that none of the remaining teams have. not one of the best geals teams but maybe they are peaking for the right time.

asdfg (Cavan) - Posts: 320 - 21/09/2013 11:19:29    1486155

BreffniBlue

Good man BreffniBlue least your as consistant as you were with your Gaels/Kingscourt prediction..Paddypower would love guys like you

dirtybag (Cavan) - Posts: 242 - 21/09/2013 12:05:34    1486179

Lads does this mean Seanie is back living in Cavan now? Some drive from Kildare for Club training.

Villatown (Leitrim) - Posts: 902 - 21/09/2013 14:23:30    1486242

Due to work commitments seanie had to move to Cavan town. nobody could fault him for that. He can still play county football for Kildare unless he sought an inter county transfer. Loads of players are playing club football in one county and county football with another, for example keating. Scoring 1.01 in a senior club quarter final is a good return from any player.

Aiddel (Cavan) - Posts: 20 - 21/09/2013 15:10:50    1486256

Aiddel

Due to work commitments seanie had to move to Cavan town. nobody could fault him for that. He can still play county football for Kildare unless he sought an inter county transfer. Loads of players are playing club football in one county and county football with another, for example keating. Scoring 1.01 in a senior club quarter final is a good return from any player.

Has he played yet for Kildare?

EatMyFish (Cavan) - Posts: 205 - 21/09/2013 17:28:20    1486342

Just seen Ballinagh beat Lacken, fair play to them. Id fancy them to beat Crosserlough or Castlerahan in the semi, probably be unlucky and draw the Gaels and that would be to tough an assignment. Why wasnt Anthony Gaynor playing?

qwert (Cavan) - Posts: 31 - 21/09/2013 18:10:55    1486375