This thread is comedy gold.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 06/08/2013 21:34:16    1454901

Hurlingdub.
So you have a cubs badge and all , for all I know you could be willie frazer:D

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 06/08/2013 21:37:54    1454907

I won't comment on the political views made in this thread as that's best left for another forum.

However, regarding the perceived Ulster football bias, the fact of the matter is that although Tyrone and Donegal were very deserving winners of each of their All Ireland titles in the last decade, they brought along with it an air of arrogance and boastfulness from their supporters that rubs people up the wrong way. Supporters of Tyrone and Donegal have looked down on other counties who don't adopt the same styles as them. In the words of Jack O'Connor they have been "nouveau riche and full of it" as a result of their only very recent success. One prime example of this which springs to mind was Brendan Devenney's comments last autumn on RTE radio after Donegal won the All Ireland that, in his honest opinion, all 15 of the starting Donegal team should make up the 2012 All-Star team. Suffice to say no Kerry man ever said something similar after one of their many All Ireland victories.

Another reason for the bias, in my opinion, arises from the fact that supporters of all Ulster counties latch on to whoever the dominant county is within the province when they proceed to the All Ireland series. For example, Armagh, Tyrone, Derry, etc. folk taking sheer joy and delight in Donegal winning an AI as if it were their own. This only fuels the North v South FOOTBALL divide and is very regrettable to be perfectly honest.

All of this inevitably leads to exaggerated comments and views towards Ulster teams and reactions such as what is happening now after Donegal's defeat at the week-end.

Blue.Steel (Longford) - Posts: 138 - 06/08/2013 21:38:31    1454908

TheRightStuff

Interesting thread. There is an element of anti-Ulster attitudes in the southern Irish media and political establishment. But as a proud Ulsterman myself living in the south part of the border,I certainly don't take any of the nonsense being spewed out by the establishment media seriously. Nor do I take it personally. I refer to both politics and sport in that. I hate mixing the two, but sometimes they become inseparable given the nature of the island. There is a reason for the anti-northern elements in the southern establishment, but I'm not here to give history lessons and I'm not going to do other people's research for them.

It seems the anti-northern agenda has extended its roots into sport now as well as politics with the vilification of all things Ulster GAA. We play rubbish, aggressive cynical football, blah blah blah. That's the perception of it by those in the south, but I can't help but feel that Ulster dominance of the GAA in recent times with Armagh, Donegal and Tyrone winning 5 AI titles collectively has given the southern establishment yet another opening to criticise the north. Let them at it, why would or indeed why should we feel aggrieved about what they say? There is certainly no need to feel inferior to the "holier than thou" attitudes. Uladh Abú! Keep er lit!

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 06/08/2013 21:43:05    1454919

Well said The Right Stuff

Let's call a spade a spade here... I never witnessed any of the abuse hurled towards my beloved province until the beginning of the last decade when Ulster counties started winning All Ireland's again. As far as I'm concerned this anti Ulster abuse originated with one man and one man only - a panellist on the Sunday Game and later presenter of the Sunday Game who invented the term 'Puke Football' when Ulster counties dared to defeat his own county in All Ireland semi finals and finals...the rest of southern society ran with this terminology over time as this individual was given a platform every Sunday to air his bigoted anti Ulster tirade as supposed crimes against football. I don't blame Irish society for picking up on this media brainwashing with the national broadcaster being used as the medium for its transmission but I am disappointed that Irish society was not able to decipher the facts from the opinions of one individual. That is what really gauls me the most. The last straw for me was on Sunday in Croke Park with a Mayo woman sitting directly behind me roaring encouragement to her team with the words 'C'mon Mayo, we play real football - not cynical football like those northern boys'. Needless to say I gave her an earful but I have to ask myself is it time for me to reevaluate my sense of Irishness and what it means to be Irish in the context of continual racist abuse (for that is what it is) by people who I thought I shared nationality with...!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 06/08/2013 21:43:09    1454920

:-) I shall withdraw from this nonsense. Grow up boys. Joes' da is a fkn Shinner MLA. Hardly going to be leading the charge for some partitionist attack on Tyrone. Majority of GAA people dislike Tyrone for the same reason Joes does.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 06/08/2013 21:43:11    1454921

AfricanGael
County: UK

seanie_boy

AfricanGael
County: UK

TheRightStuff

"Sean Canavagh didn't do anything that other players wouldn't do"

Which part of fair play do you not understand rightstuff. I mean its just unbelievable that you would say something like that.
------------------------------------------------------
Which part of reality do you not get?Nearly every player and manager who has commented on it has said they would do just like Cavanagh!

----------------------------------------------------------

Players stick together seanie so I wouldnt expect them to say any different, and they don't want to rock the boat any more. But the reality is 99.9% of players would not do what Sean Cavanagh did. For a great player he has flaws and admits that himself. I wont even mention the diving. But a top top player, no question about that.

haha thats comedy gold right there

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1428 - 06/08/2013 21:44:43    1454925

jacknoff, where did you see that Cork has the 2nd highest population? I would have thought a republican like yourself would have known that we have only the fourth highest population, after Dublin, Antrim and Down.Please don't tell me you are not recognising Antrim and Down. As for our "struggles", wouldn't Cavan just love to be having "struggles" like us? And who are the other "establishment counties", would you have a list.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 06/08/2013 21:47:39    1454930

The first county in ireland to raise it , the last county in ireland to remove it
Reminds me of the french during world war 2 . Dont you just love the dubs :D

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 06/08/2013 21:51:58    1454940

I think there has been an increase in general disdain for Ulster people in general in the last 15 years too. I don't think it is because of the end of the troubles but more to do with the Celtic tiger. The prosperity bred a certain type of sneering,selfish,cynical self important being who see themselves as intellectually and culturally superior and much more cosmopolitan than the average Bogger/Nordie/Skanger or whichever group they choose to look down their noses at on a particular day.When for example an Ulster GAA team are able to take on and beat the top teams it causes all sorts of resentment for these people and they are all too happy to find a way to denegrate or cheapen these achievements.
Take for example this term "nordie" which has come into everyday language in the last few years. On the face of it its harmless enough and if I heard it used or was described as a nordie every now and again I wouldn't be too bothered. However I never hear of Easties, Westies or Southies. Its use has become very negative and I find it quite insulting in the way most people use it. An example being that guy Eoin who was on Today FM with Ray Foley. Alright, Nordie was a joke for a while, but every day he was referred to as Nordie, rather than his first name. They sang it over and over at him every day. It wasn't too long before it really became quite demeaning. He wasn't a person like everyone else but some peculiar being from the wild northern parts of the island to be laughed at. I was at a concert last year in Dublin, The Stone Roses. I was talking to a mate when some smart ass decided to sing that Nordie song behind my back. I walked back to him and asked him to repeat it to my face and he slithered away. I have read here the last few days where people from the South have been called West Brits and Free Staters etc. by morons from my part of the world, and I find that equally disgusting. People must remember every place has their share of idiots of low intelligence who can only make their life seem important by trying to put down people who are different to them.
I have travelled the length and breadth of this country and the vast majority of people in every county are the salt of the earth. People here have a common decency and honesty and the ability to laugh at themselves, be they catholic, protestant or whatever from wherever. I think this was handed down the generations from decent, hard working proud Irish men and women It would be a shame if we lost this unique character in generations to come because of the increasing selfish, intolerant culture we are faced with everyday in the modern world. All I would ask of people is to think a little more before they make comment on people from a particular area. Maybe some of these people should visit the North for a while and you will realise most people are good decent people and there are also a few idiots...just like everywhere else.

johnboy7 (Tyrone) - Posts: 79 - 06/08/2013 21:52:13    1454942

I don't dislike Tyrone, hurlingdub. In fact I love 'em. They wind up Kerry something awful.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 06/08/2013 21:53:44    1454946

In fairness to the Ulster posters on here, I agree with them that there is a certain amount of dislike towards Ulster teams around the country. Just to give my two cents as to way I think that is

1. Clannish mentality- They way in which less successful Ulster counties try and get off on the success of Tyrone and Armagh in the past and now Donegal at the moment is pathetic. Inter- county GAA is exactly that "inter county".There are no friends whether they're your neighbours or not. Ulsterman that posts on this is a poster boy for these types and I have met many like him on my travels. Never have I met someone from Meath or Kildare who try and basque in Dublins glory, or someone from sligo doing the same for Mayo and I no first hand that Limerick people don't take any pleasure in seeing Kerry or Cork win AIs.

2. Bitterness- A favourite catchhprase of a lot of Ulster GAA folk is that "shur Kerry only won 36 AIs because they had a handy route through Munster" While there is an element of truth in this it still stinks of bitterness. Kerry may have got an easier ride into the last 4 historically but there was still an Ulster team at the same stage every year and the record still stands at Kerry 36 Ulster 17.

Its for those reasons that I find myself rooting against Ulster teams even though I admire there physicality, passion and the determination of characters like Mickey Harte and JIm Mc to change the course of history and knock Kerry of there purch.

Timzil (Limerick) - Posts: 5 - 06/08/2013 21:55:20    1454951

The anti Tyrone Donegal posts on here have really shocked me. There seems to be alot of bitterness which is completly unecessary. I assume its stemmed from folk being jealous which is really sad. Its great to see other counties win AI outside traditional strong counties. I have no gripe with Kerry but some posters it seems would like Kerry winning every year as if they are the savious of Gaelic football. Like any successful side they are well able to be cynical as well. Nothing wrong with that imo but they don't seem to get the abuse that is reserved for the northern teams. Just seems unfair to me.

07_LK_1973 (Limerick) - Posts: 115 - 06/08/2013 21:57:33    1454954

Players that are still in the game won't criticize Sean because they know in their own mind that they would do it and might have to in their next outing!Its easy for us on here and people like Brolly to say what he has cos he knows he will never be in that position again.Its lads being honest unlike Brolly and some of you on here.Just listen to the way Spillane and O' Rourke totally refuted nearly everything Brolly said in his tirade.Thanks again Pat,can't believe he said it and can't beleive I'm thanking him for it :)

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 06/08/2013 21:58:27    1454957

Jacknoff it's fine Gael not FIanna gael. And you're from Cavan?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/08/2013 09:03:43    1454983

Let he who is without sin cast the first stone.
Everyone and every player outside of Ulster have Halo's

lehitinwudya (Cavan) - Posts: 48 - 07/08/2013 09:27:04    1454998

African Gael you are naive my friend if you think that 99 % of players would not do the same thing.You have players saying they would do it and none to my mind that have come out saying they woudn't, so where do you get the idea that most would not do it? Every single person I have asked about this,some lads still playing,have said they would do it.Some do add that they wouldn't feel great about it but they would do it for their team.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/08/2013 09:35:51    1455000

seanie_boy
African Gael you are naive my friend if you think that 99 % of players would not do the same thing.

That might be true seanie, but 99% of players wouldnt plot to go over and punch an opponent in the face one after another at the half-time interval... Surprise surprise, that man happens to be one of the opposition's best and most influential players. You are talking like tyrone only carried out one cynical act in the entire game.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/08/2013 10:04:39    1455032

seanie_boy
African Gael you are naive my friend if you think that 99 % of players would not do the same thing.

That might be true seanie, but 99% of players wouldnt plot to go over and punch an opponent in the face one after another at the half-time interval... Surprise surprise, that man happens to be one of the opposition's best and most influential players. You are talking like tyrone only carried out one cynical act in the entire game.
------------------------------------------------------------
So now it was a plot,premeditated no doubt with Mickey Hartes approval.You are talking crazy now man.That whole thing was the same oul kind of jostling and pushing that goes on all the time.No big deal until its Tyrone players involved then its outrageous.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/08/2013 10:21:44    1455050

No im not 'talking crazy'. You can see penrose and gormley walking in a difference direction side by side a good 6-7 yards away from mone, then both turn and move towards mone at the same time, one tries to take the umpires attention while the other hits him. Gormley also hits him himself. It is blatently calculated and syncronised - you are trying to deny what is caught on camera.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/08/2013 10:32:09    1455065