Ulster Comments are Sick

This jacknoff fella must be from some place like Ballsbridge and is on a wind-up. This persona he is putting on is like the publican character in 'The Savage Eye'.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 06/08/2013 21:05:58    1454852

RTE and Independent news corps stranglehold of the media in this country, against Ulster counties and Sinn Fein is disgraceful.

It very much reminds me of Ruper Murdoch in Britain, and also of the great James Bond film "Tomorrow Never Dies" where Bond (our own Pierce Brosnan) takes on media baron Elliot Carver, head of the Carver Media Group Network who engineers news events including murder, so his media corp can report it first and control the world.

Heros like Sean Cavanagh, Jim McGuinness , Mickey Harte and Gerry Adams are the real James Bonds in this tale. A film could be made about Ulsters media struggle post GFA 98.

jacknoff (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 06/08/2013 21:06:49    1454853

Yep I am from the south but I have family from the north and a gra for how the people up there have flown the GAA flag in the face of the kind of abuse the people living in the republic can only imagine. And yet there persists this lazy underhandedness towards our brothers and sisters from Ulster. It is shameful and comes through in the consistent bashing of Ulster football. Having said that there is a definite style of football in each province. And thank god for that as it makes the All-Ireland awesome!

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 273 - 06/08/2013 21:09:40    1454855

No Jacknoff McGuinness destroyed Gallagher on the Frontline special. Anyway back to thread. I am not anti Ulster and have gone on record as saying Tyrone's victories in 2005 and 2008 were really impressive. I also think people when criticising Armagh in their glory years failed to acknowledge their adeptness at playing the diagonal ball into tehir forwards on a consistent basis. Every county has WUMs and the more of a siege mentality you put up the more ridiculed you become. Sure a Cavan guy on another thread was slagging us last week saying we had no support, our type of football was gone and to use his/her words 'ain't coming back' and failed to acknowledge our 2 u21 all-ireland in 3 years yet pontificated about Cavan's 3 consecutive Ulster u21s as truly revolutionary. Of course Cavan are going well but downing another county particularly a county like Galway which has a decent record in all aspects of football will get to people.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 06/08/2013 21:11:01    1454856

Nonsense. Get another chip for the other shoulder. Every time someone criticises an Ulster team doesn't make them a Unionist! You do know Brolly's background :-) Anyway, I am a republican - Provo - and I never considered anyone from any part of the country to be immune from Dublin dislike :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 06/08/2013 21:12:44    1454858

jacknoff, didnt mcguinness go after gallagher himself in that debate? Personally, I am just happy that gallagher was shown for the fraud he was, and thankfully he wasnt able to spoof his way into the presidential seat of the country, regardless of where he is from. Imagine, a failed developer earning a wage as president - frightening that it nearly happened...

Anyway, back to the topic

jacknoff
4 Ulster teams got to the QFs yet all we get is ridicule, despite it being by far the strongest province.

You beat london to get there mate. If the connacht draw wasnt so lop-sided you would have been playing galway, and would probably have lost. Fair enough you got there, but let's keep it real here.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/08/2013 21:13:16    1454860

Keyser Söze you share your name with a fictional character in the 1995 film The Usual Suspects, a brutal thug. I wonder is that a coincidence.

Being from the backarse of Cork you would not understand Ulsters struggle or media persecution .

But I tell you will soon see struggle when Dublin hurlers dump yous out in the semi finals, just like your footballers. Yous understand struggle at least, even with the 2nd biggest population all yous do is struggle in both codes. Cork is another establishment county.

jacknoff (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 06/08/2013 21:13:55    1454862

Keep the head up TheRightStuff, these lads who are constantly
mouthing off about Ulster are cowards pure and simple, they
are afraid of Ulster, you know the type of them, they sh@#e
themselves when they hear an Ulster accent! Let them write
what they want, there is no merit in it, and we don't have to
read it! Donegal will be back and Tyrone are going nowhere!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 06/08/2013 21:14:49    1454865

Heros like Sean Cavanagh, Jim McGuinness , Mickey Harte and Gerry Adams are the real James Bonds in this tale. A film could be made about Ulsters media struggle post GFA 98.

Christ!
Just stop putting so many men behind the ball ffs!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/08/2013 21:15:40    1454866

Good stuff Ta32. Keepin well. Up Tir Eoghain!!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 06/08/2013 21:15:48    1454867

AfricanGael
County: UK

TheRightStuff

"Sean Canavagh didn't do anything that other players wouldn't do"

Which part of fair play do you not understand rightstuff. I mean its just unbelievable that you would say something like that.
------------------------------------------------------
Which part of reality do you not get?Nearly every player and manager who has commented on it has said they would do just like Cavanagh!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 06/08/2013 21:19:23    1454874

I wouldn't be concerned by half the tripe written on 'social networking' sites or at the bottom of most articles etc.

The majority of that crap is nothing but trolling, the truth is that people don't have a personal grudge towards Ulster at all, far from it.

I will admit however to at times not being a fan of the style of the Tryone, Armagh or Donegal AI winning teams however (and how would I be? I've seen Kerry suffer time and again at the hands of this style).

All 3 teams reached the pinnacle of Gaelic football by innovating primarily through advances in defence and physicality.

While also bringing innovations to attack some of the unaesthetic elements pioneered.

- More intense tackling
- Physical conditioning
- Pressuring ball carriers
- Redundancy of the kick pass
- lateral hand passing
- Blanket defences
- Short kickouts
- and yes plenty of gamesmenship (which all teams now do, but Armagh and Tryone brought to a new level)

This year we see for the first time in over a decade some of the 'traditional' counties (incidentally not Kerry who are playing putrid crap) pushing the boundaries forward again by creating teams geared towards all out offence, the public will always gravitate towards loving this type of football.

As Donegal people said the whole time throughout 2011, the public may hate this form of football (note: not Donegal or Ulster itself) but we won't care if we win Sam.
Now we have reams of people like yourself coming on here cribbing about Ulster bias, as if the likes of me or anyone else in the 'South' give a toss whether you are a Clare man or a Donegal man. Let me tell you I don't, I couldn't care less.

Face up to the fact that Donegal deservedly won an All Ireland last year, but did so by grounding teams into the dust through intense, raw football and sheer desire that will never come close to the beauty that Dublin and Mayo produced last weekend. Don't be bitter that the purists are already brimming with excitement at the prospect of labouring and cynical Tyrone and Kerry teams being swept aside in a few weeks time to set up a shootout between the two new super powers of Gaelic football.

DucksandDrakes (Kerry) - Posts: 3 - 06/08/2013 21:20:52    1454876

Hurlingdub.
A republican you are not, stop spouting and sit back in your chair

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 06/08/2013 21:21:23    1454877

In the interest of a decent debate can people who actually profess that this 'anti northern bigotry' exists in the media and southern social circles care to give a few examples? It seems people are throwing this line around like confetti and its used as a euphemism that i've yet to see anyone on here substantiate? If it exists fair enough, but show where.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1660 - 06/08/2013 21:22:27    1454879

I also find it funny when the likes of Ulsterman and others come on with there ''everyone is anti Ulster'' of ''the media in the South are anti Ulster'' who was criticising Ulster teams most this weekend? Was that RTE bias? of the Southern media? Whats also funny is how they over look the much more bias BBC coverage and the bias Ulster journals like Brolly, McHugh etc

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 06/08/2013 21:23:09    1454880

THEMASTER

Cavan did indeed beat London to get their after 5 previous hard fought matches against Ulster sides, and an outsanding victoyr over Derry.

How can you criticize Cavan for beating London to reach the QFs?

Who did Mayo beat in the Connaught final again? ......Oh yes our pals London. Shows how weak your province is when they got to the final. Their best player Mulvey wouldnt make our side, hes a Cavanman.

jacknoff (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 06/08/2013 21:26:35    1454884

Seany16.
Dont insult peoples intelligent !!! Its there blatant , deliberate , nasty , and racism
To the highest calibre . What planet have you been on

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 06/08/2013 21:29:25    1454893

06/08/2013 20:58:57
jacknoff
The treatment of Martin McGuinness and Sean Gallagher two Ulstermen by RTE during the presidential elections is an example of many. Establishment presenters attacked these candidates and basically destroyed the hope of either becoming President live on air.
The fine from the brodcasting standards commission was not enough.
They've got their men Higgins and Kenny in power. Alot of good it done the country? Half the young people are in Australia, half the countrys GAA players. It done RTE and D4 good though another payrise on their massive inflated wages by their government pals.
Tyrone are being persecuted in media now they are in the semi finals. If it was Cavan, Monaghan or Donegal it would be the same. Its pure racism and its disgusting, I will not pay the license fee anymore.
Jeez man so much wrong in this post.
Going so off topic but ....
M McG and SG are Ulsterman but their treatment was due to their actions and policies and nothing due to where theyre from..
You are ridiculous and no this is not racism nor disgusting and if you feel like that. If you feel like that then done pay the License fee

06/08/2013 21:06:49
jacknoff
RTE and Independent news corps stranglehold of the media in this country, against Ulster counties and Sinn Fein is disgraceful.

It very much reminds me of Ruper Murdoch in Britain, and also of the great James Bond film "Tomorrow Never Dies" where Bond (our own Pierce Brosnan) takes on media baron Elliot Carver, head of the Carver Media Group Network who engineers news events including murder, so his media corp can report it first and control the world.

ridiculous post.
Nothing against Ulster counties in media you must be paranoid...
Who is ruper?
You seriously need to read up on facts and get out of this weird world that by some of your posts in this thread you are living in

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 06/08/2013 21:29:59    1454894

seanie_boy

AfricanGael
County: UK

TheRightStuff

"Sean Canavagh didn't do anything that other players wouldn't do"

Which part of fair play do you not understand rightstuff. I mean its just unbelievable that you would say something like that.
------------------------------------------------------
Which part of reality do you not get?Nearly every player and manager who has commented on it has said they would do just like Cavanagh!

----------------------------------------------------------

Players stick together seanie so I wouldnt expect them to say any different, and they don't want to rock the boat any more. But the reality is 99.9% of players would not do what Sean Cavanagh did. For a great player he has flaws and admits that himself. I wont even mention the diving. But a top top player, no question about that.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 06/08/2013 21:31:39    1454896

Oh I have certs for it Ta my friend :-) This conflation of politics and football by Ulsterman and others is juvenile. I don't like Tyrone. Never did. I do like Armagh and Donegal. So I suppose I should be signing up with Willie Frazer :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 06/08/2013 21:33:29    1454900