This applies to the province of Ulster but I suppose it's mainly Donegal and Tyrone (due to success of late). I actually think what has been written on social networking sites about Ulster football and Ulster people falls nothing short of complete and utter bigotry. It's low and extremely insulting from a GAA perspective. Ulster football is the most competitive in Ireland for the past 20 years like it or not with 5 sides winning Sam. I don't class certain posters on this site as GAA people at all ie: 51 long ago who claims he got more satisfaction with Donegals demise rather than Mayo and their victory. Comments from southern media about Tyrone and Armagh that were made in the past decade have been disgusting to say the least. The 'six counties' have had a horrible past and are among the best GAA fans/people in the country, the final in 03 was the only time I've ever heard our anthem respected to the end. I even started to notice Cavan getting slated and they have 5 SAMs along with almost 40 Anglo celts. This doesn't apply to the masses of people but nevertheless it's out their big time. As a province , we love our football but the slander is not on. Some of the abuse Jim has got is also shocking , for those begrudges who don't know Jim , he's a gentleman , a football man and was a credit to the GAA even in defeat. Horan even said that Donegal were terrific winners and losers. There is banter and then there is complete ignorance. Time to kop on guys. Tyrone no doubt will get publicly abused until and if they get knocked out because they are from Ulster. The GAA banter page on FB should be closed down also. Sean Canavagh didn't do anything that other players wouldn't do yet is ridiculed ( ironically started by brolly) There are good and bad people /players/supporters in every single county in Ireland , why then is it the Ulster sides are always to blame ? No doubt , it will be classed as me being paranoid and defended by those who think Ulster counties have ruined the game
TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 06/08/2013 19:20:27
I try not to take a lot of them too seriously. It doesn't take a genius to know that a lot of the brave keyboard warriors on here are only kids! Either that or they have the minds of children! Sad that Ulster football gets under their skins so much!
wile_man_sir (Donegal) - Posts: 150 - 06/08/2013 20:07:40
Don't let them get to you TheRightStuff.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 06/08/2013 20:09:12
I think Donegal wans should hold back on their TV licence fee and just buy the Derry Journal
fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 06/08/2013 20:12:12
Yeah, I would try and turn the other cheek mate, you don't to go too far down that Ulsterman road. It's a dark place.
But look, Emmet Bolton deliberately foot-blocked a Tyrone player and Connolly subsequently saved the penalty. Could have been a huge turning point in the game but Tyrone deservedly won. I can only imagine what would've been said if a Tyrone player committed the same foul. It is double standards but any right thinking person recognises it. Don't mind the keyboard warriors looking for the lowest common denominator.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 06/08/2013 20:13:41
RTE's anti Ulster agenda never helps matters.
Its the same in politics, they are a mouthpiece for Fianna Fail and Fianna Gael,and ridicule and attack Sinn Fein at every opportunity. The establishment have vile hatred of Ulster and Sinn Fein, which in recent years has sadly came into our fine sport the GAA also. Due to RTE , The Independent etc, telling the sheep of the general public what to think.
It disgusts me to the core, you'll also find these cowards never say this stuff in real life to the people they abuse
jacknoff (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 06/08/2013 20:20:40
Fair points TheRightStuff, however, regarding HS you have to separate the genuine GAA fans from all corners of the country who are up for a reasonable debate from the WUM's who are just looking for a reaction. Don't let them affect your attitude towards a certain county/province/whatever.
Hank_Scorpio (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 06/08/2013 20:21:54
Oh dear. This thread is nearly as pathetic as when Armagh were claiming they were getting "racist" abuse from those notorious Laois supremacists.
KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 06/08/2013 20:28:07
Bring the troubles into it is a disgrace
I've already told Admin what I think about that
You don't see many civil war comments on here and rightly so.....
omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 06/08/2013 20:30:29
The rightstuff.donegal . Well said pal , I am for one sick of it , tyrone put manners on teams for nearl A decade and got cruxified for , jimmy mcguiness a absolute gentleman was vilified After the game against dublin , but came back in 2012 and brought sam to thr hills . It is down right pig ignorant and blatant west brit driven dribble , well I have something For ye anti- ulster brigade . Tyrone are back !! Donegal will be back and we will Put manners on ye once more . People were good to have a pop at ulsterman I stood toe 2 toe with him on here with dellboy because he was 100per cent right. On everything hr said on the way ulster gaels were being treated .
ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 06/08/2013 20:38:03
Well said the right stuff :- there is a very anti- northern (ulster) stance across the media.
In RTE news/weather they generally stop at Dundalk with their coverage. When RTE talk about Ireland they mean the 26 counties...(..The Sunday indepentent and Independant are written on the whole by very anti - northern stance. I work in the south , pay my taxes to a Dublin government - but over the last 15yrs there has been a growing resentum toward us in the north. When the troubles were in full flow - we were ok, but since the peace process there has been a change of attitudes especially in the media..... We don't call it northen ireland but the amount of times it is refered on the national broadcaster is unbeliable.....
in realtion to the Ulster gaa - the term puke football was an insult to far...
cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 06/08/2013 20:38:59
4 Ulster teams got to the QFs yet all we get is ridicule, despite it being by far the strongest province.
The only way to change this is to change the establishment ie RTE , Independent news corp and their stranglehold on the people of this country, many of whom just repeat what they read and hear in the media since they are too weak minded to make up their own opinion.
The only way to change this as I see is to continue to vote Sinn Fein and very soon they will be in government, North and South. The bigotry will stop then hopefully. Typically the anti Ulster stuff is from Fianna Gael members, pundits, who are in privileged media positions. The Blueshirts are traitors to this fine country of 32 counties. Micheal Collins would be disgusted at their behaviour, a true Gael.
jacknoff (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 06/08/2013 20:44:56
This is a pathetic thread with some ridiculous posts... There has been stupid posts from small minority of people from all over as no matter where you are there is idiots. Ulster Football is very competitive but 06/08/2013 19:20:27 TheRightStuff This applies to the province of Ulster but I suppose it's mainly Donegal and Tyrone (due to success of late). I actually think what has been written on social networking sites about Ulster football and Ulster people falls nothing short of complete and utter bigotry. It's low and extremely insulting from a GAA perspective. Ulster football is the most competitive in Ireland for the past 20 years like it or not with 5 sides winning Sam. I don't class certain posters on this site as GAA people at all ie: 51 long ago who claims he got more satisfaction with Donegals demise rather than Mayo and their victory. Comments from southern media about Tyrone and Armagh that were made in the past decade have been disgusting to say the least. The 'six counties' have had a horrible past and are among the best GAA fans/people in the country, the final in 03 was the only time I've ever heard our anthem respected to the end. I even started to notice Cavan getting slated and they have 5 SAMs along with almost 40 Anglo celts. This doesn't apply to the masses of people but nevertheless it's out their big time. As a province , we love our football but the slander is not on. Some of the abuse Jim has got is also shocking , for those begrudges who don't know Jim , he's a gentleman , a football man and was a credit to the GAA even in defeat. Horan even said that Donegal were terrific winners and losers. There is banter and then there is complete ignorance. Time to kop on guys. Tyrone no doubt will get publicly abused until and if they get knocked out because they are from Ulster. The GAA banter page on FB should be closed down also. Sean Canavagh didn't do anything that other players wouldn't do yet is ridiculed ( ironically started by brolly) There are good and bad people /players/supporters in every single county in Ireland , why then is it the Ulster sides are always to blame ? No doubt , it will be classed as me being paranoid and defended by those who think Ulster counties have ruined the game No not bigotry at all. Some inadequate posts by idiots "knocking/abusing"(take your pick) people from northern counties but many idiots from north have made similar idiotic posts about southern irish people. Same can be said about words said in person as well as the online crap. No Tyrone will not get abused/slagged etc until they are knocked out because they are an Ulster side. Nothing like that at all. I personally knock Tyrone as I don't like Mickey Harte, I dislike their brand of football but I respect them for their ability to be as strong as they have been under aforementioned M Harte. No the banter page on FB should not be shut down unless there is reasons like legal issues etc which mean it must be shut down. If you or others dislike the FB banter page then dislike it and report anything you feel should be to the relevant authorities. No Ulster sides are not always for blame and if anyone thinks that is true then they must be paranoid and need to get out more. 06/08/2013 20:07:40 wile_man_sir I try not to take a lot of them too seriously. It doesn't take a genius to know that a lot of the brave keyboard warriors on here are only kids! Either that or they have the minds of children! Sad that Ulster football gets under their skins so much! yeah that appears to be the case. This site(forum part anyway) gets a lot of criticism from other forums for childish nature of posters amongst other reasons
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 06/08/2013 20:49:02
06/08/2013 20:20:40 jacknoff RTE's anti Ulster agenda never helps matters. Its the same in politics, they are a mouthpiece for Fianna Fail and Fianna Gael,and ridicule and attack Sinn Fein at every opportunity. The establishment have vile hatred of Ulster and Sinn Fein, which in recent years has sadly came into our fine sport the GAA also. Due to RTE , The Independent etc, telling the sheep of the general public what to think. It disgusts me to the core, you'll also find these cowards never say this stuff in real life to the people they abuse RTE does not have any kind of anti provincial agenda. Certainly not same in politics either. Not mouthpiece of any party(just not allowed under legislation). SF is not ridiculed nor attacked at every opportunity. how are they/ What "establishment" has a "vile hatred" of Ulster. Nonsense. Please tell me how this is true??
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 06/08/2013 20:49:19
I could care less, theres eejits in every county. I have no problem with someone slagging us about Ulster stuff, we won Sam last year and we did it playing good football so I'm very proud of that and I almost enjoy the spiteful begrudgers - everyone loved Donegal when they were party boys! Tyrone have won Sam 3 times in the last decade and could do it this year again, I'd laugh myself silly at the lads trying to take pot shots.
SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 06/08/2013 20:50:17
You've gone off the deep end there jacknoff. This is a football thread.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 06/08/2013 20:50:41
Sickeners the lot of them.Hows it goin Ta32? Haven't seen you or Dell in ages.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 06/08/2013 20:53:06
Seanieboy. Hows she cutting , good to hear from ye , dells the best busy man these days Hope you are well my man :D tir eoghain abu
ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 06/08/2013 20:57:58
The treatment of Martin McGuinness and Sean Gallagher two Ulstermen by RTE during the presidential elections is an example of many. Establishment presenters attacked these candidates and basically destroyed the hope of either becoming President live on air. The fine from the brodcasting standards commission was not enough.
They've got their men Higgins and Kenny in power. Alot of good it done the country? Half the young people are in Australia, half the countrys GAA players. It done RTE and D4 good though another payrise on their massive inflated wages by their government pals.
Tyrone are being persecuted in media now they are in the semi finals. If it was Cavan, Monaghan or Donegal it would be the same. Its pure racism and its disgusting, I will not pay the license fee anymore.
jacknoff (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 06/08/2013 20:58:57
TheRightStuff County: Donegal Posts: 323
"Sean Canavagh didn't do anything that other players wouldn't do"
Which part of fair play do you not understand rightstuff. I mean its just unbelievable that you would say something like that.
AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 06/08/2013 21:02:10