Mayo V Tyrone

very interesting to note...a full programme of league games played in tyrone last weekend with all of the county squad lining out with their clubs...contrast this with Mayo, when the only fixtures down for a decision were a secondary cup competition,and county players at best togged out on the sideline...many of the county players clubs were not involved in any fixtures at all...mayo are taking their eye off the ball bigtime,and a giddy atmosphere pervading the county...seems like another big fall is coming!...Indeed Tyrone have run off a programme of 10 league games for each club so far with mayo only managing 4...contrast this with tyrone having played 6 championship games and mayo 4...what have mayo players been doing this past few months..certainly not playing much football!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 12/08/2013 20:55:26    1460066

Mayo WILL beat Tyrone!!!!!

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 12/08/2013 21:02:30    1460077

mayotyroneman

very interesting to note...a full programme of league games played in tyrone last weekend with all of the county squad lining out with their clubs...contrast this with Mayo, when the only fixtures down for a decision were a secondary cup competition,and county players at best togged out on the sideline...many of the county players clubs were not involved in any fixtures at all...mayo are taking their eye off the ball bigtime,and a giddy atmosphere pervading the county...seems like another big fall is coming!...Indeed Tyrone have run off a programme of 10 league games for each club so far with mayo only managing 4...contrast this with tyrone having played 6 championship games and mayo 4...what have mayo players been doing this past few months..certainly not playing much football!

Thats one way of looking at it, lol. Another way is senior championship is at q/f stage and will be played sunday after the homecoming.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 12/08/2013 21:10:27    1460085

Indeed Tyrone have run off a programme of 10 league games for each club so far with mayo only managing 4...contrast this with tyrone having played 6 championship games and mayo 4...what have mayo players been doing this past few months..certainly not playing much football!

You could also argue that Mayo will be well rested and fresh for the game. But if the Tyrone players do play for their respective clubs and stay injury free, then they are in a good spot re match practice.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3854 - 12/08/2013 21:13:23    1460089

Tyrone have never shied away from playing bread and butter games even though they can be a nasty side to them especially some numpty wanting to make a name for himself by taking out a county player thankfully it seems we have a clean bill of heath fingers crossed .

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 12/08/2013 21:13:38    1460091

Tir Conaill Abu

Had the displeasure of being beside two very arrogant and drunk Tyrone fans in Donegal Town on Saturday night and to listen to the absolute drivel that was coming out of their cake holes has me hoping and praying for a Mayo win. We couldn't put it up to Mayo in the quarters, Tyrone will, but I'd love to see Mayo wipe the floor with Tyrone, dominate them physically, run through them and humiliate them like they did us in the quarters.

According to these "experts" "Mickey Harte didn't want to win against Donegal in Ulster as he was waiting to get them in Croke Park, Donegal fluked their way to an AI, James Horan is completely unable to control the hype getting to Mayo, Tyrone players man for man with possibly the exception of AOS are far superior footballers, we'll show these southern boys we haven't gone away, blah blah blah"

Come on Mayo, time to put this arrogance to bed!!!
---------------------------------------------
In fairness to you Tir Conaill Abu I don't like that oul chat coming from people either,be they Tyrone or otherwise.If it was a bit of craic between lads thats alright but when it goes too far its sickening.So sorry ye had to listen to that but I hope like your fellow county man,Martin Mc Hugh, you might change your mind to shout "come on Tyrone" when we take to the field against Mayo.If not,I'm sorry that a pair of sickeners in a bar turned ye off.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 12/08/2013 21:58:26    1460125

The fella who said a full 2 weeks fixtures of league games will help tyrone is really barking up the wrong tree, boys are match fit now and sharp dont need any club league games that arent gonna bring them anywhere. Was watching omagh v killyclougher the other night and was gasping every time ronan o'neill went near a challenge. Hopefully we come out of this weekend with no injuries. I understand the boys on the bench wanting game time when they know they wont get on, must be extremely frustrainf. On positive though conan grugan and tiernan mc cann were very good. Conan definately midfielder for the future

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 13/08/2013 08:45:24    1460142

mayotyroneman, mayo have done the same thing all year as regards club games clashing with county games. So how are we getting giddy and taking our eye off the ball? We are doing exactly what we done before the other games - preparing. The fact is the training games within the squad are of a far higher quality than any two clubs could muster. Plus, our championship is already at the quarter final stages.
The only people who seem to be getting giddy is yourselves from what I've been seeing and reading. 'Man for man tyrone are a better outfit than mayo?' Why dont ye actually play man for man then? You do realise you have scraped through the qualifiers right? Game 5, no more, no less.

Tyrone are an average team. They could well beat us on the day, but they are still average, and if they went on to win sam this year I would say they were probably the worst team to do so in recent memory.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/08/2013 09:31:34    1460178

Nice one master,its nice to see that humility and good sportsmanship is alive and well in Mayo.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/08/2013 09:59:07    1460193

would agree with The Master's comments. Tyrone were stuffed by what turned out to be a poor donegal team. and last couple of matches have been very lucky to get through. now before anyone says its all about getting through, i agree, but they are easily the 4th best team remaining in the championship.

brownstownlad (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 13/08/2013 10:14:10    1460199

brownstownlad

Have to disagree with you regards Tyrone being stuffed by a poor Donegal team. That was Donegals best performance this year, they hassled, harried and pressurized Tyrone that day and still it was only the two goals that were the difference. Had Morgan not collapsed under the weight of his own head then it would have been much closer.

Tyrone have a decent team, but a decent team will only take you so far so you need to apply drive and a win at all costs mentality to achieve success. Mickey Harte has instilled this in the newer breed of Tyrone player, the older ones have had it for years and that is why they are in the semi's. I still don't think however that it will be enough to see them make the final and expect Mayo to win by 3 - 4 points.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 13/08/2013 10:32:25    1460208

Keep the compliments coming lads its better than any work out for these lads to be called average. In God we trust , In Mickey we Believe , Total Faith! ,

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 13/08/2013 10:40:23    1460217

I honestly can't see anything but a Mayo win. They remind me of ourselves last year. We comfortably came through the province (Tyrone match aside) and in all honesty should have been more comfortable winners at the quarter and semi final stages. If anything, Mayo are playing at an intensity and level above what we managed last year. I think that Tyrone will do a better job of bottling up the middle column than we did but Mayo are so relentless that it is virtually impossible to contain them for a full 70 minutes. They will get through at least once or twice, and in Cillian O'Connor they now have the ruthless goal finisher that perhaps they were lacking previously.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10011 - 13/08/2013 10:45:37    1460220

brend, you talk about humility after the nonsense that the tyrone lads are pushing on here? If you actually showed some you might get some back, ever considered that? Maybe extend the olive branch instead of demanding it? At least I am displaying some honesty on the subject.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/08/2013 10:50:25    1460224

I fancy Tyrone for this in a classic "I have a feeling" way. The spanking Mayo handed Donegal was never a help. Better off winning close games to build momentum. That was an example of peaking way too early. Add to that the fact that no matter how good their form is, they are always on the brink of the wheels coming off. It's as if the county care too much now. What other county has seen their team lose that many finals? There's a definite psyche out/ head melt waiting to happen in every Mayo footballer. "Surely this is our year, surely we can't lose again". It's a tough place to be mentally for any team.

Consider this, it's the 59th minute and Cavanagh shimmies and suddenly Mayo find themselves a couple of points down coming into the final 10 mins. Suddenly they remember last year. Suddenly they start to panic. How can this be happening again? Those 10 minutes flash by in a series of dogged blocks, drags and fouls and its over. Would you really be that surprised?

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 273 - 13/08/2013 10:58:15    1460234

There is a hell of a lot of football to be played in this game in order to win it. I think anyone from Mayo who thinks otherwise is setting themselves up for one hell of a disappointment. Similarly in the Dublin game, I think you would be insane to rule out a kerry team that didnt take the second half of the cavan game that seriously at all. We will see, but it is no forgone conclusion

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3854 - 13/08/2013 11:03:54    1460241

emmomac, what will happen is o'connor will kick the resulting frees over the bar... By all means, haul them down at every opportunity...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/08/2013 11:07:03    1460247

If Mayo turn up in the form of the qt final then I can only see one winner Mayo , however not as easy as it seems , every kick going over , every ball going to hand when things click like that its rare to see it repeated , Tyrone will compete at midfield which will be key to deciding game , best two midfielders playing going up against each other is going to be some sight ,
If midfield goes 50 - 50 it comes down to the forwards and I feel this is were mayo have the edge , dillion o conor moran are experienced enough to get the vital scores ,
But as regards going to the bookies wiouldnt be confident enough to part with cash , too close for that .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/08/2013 11:25:55    1460271

I'd like to see Mayo win just because they take fantastic scores. I know Donegal were missing key players but some of the Mayo scoring in that match was excellent. If Dublin get over Kerry it would have the makings of a classic final. Although Mayo have been a bogey team against Dublin in recent years. Theres still a lot of football to be played. It could be a Kerry vs Tyrone final yet.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 13/08/2013 11:27:55    1460272

So in one statement master you have managed to denigrate a counties proud footballing legacy and relegate potential winners,unlikely IMO, to the status of also rans before the event. Do you work for RTE?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/08/2013 11:31:40    1460276