Mayo V Tyrone

The main reason Tyrone lost is that we don't have the quality in the forwards any more. This is the most average Tyrone team ever to be in a semi final, and they achieved above their station even to get there. The quality isn't there anymore, apart from a couple of ould lads. Mayo were always going to come back into the game and Tyrone needed to have a few more scores on the board to withstand that. That said, the ref was a man on a mission. Of course he favoured Mayo. Quotes from Monday's Irish News:

"... the bulk of the referee's decisions went against the Red Hands".

He's only human, Tyrone are the new antichrist, and you wonder how much of an appetite there was in high-up GAA circles to have even the possibility of an All Ireland winning team who doesn't speak to the national broadcaster. I understand how Mickey Harte would never speak to them again, but Tyrone should send someone else out to mend bridges. As it is, they can say what they like, knowing they won't be challenged on it.

Mayo had 4 or 5 yellows to Tyrone's 2. Mayo should have had another when one bloke would have had a second yellow. Ricey dropped his knee on an Armagh guy 10 years ago and they still chat about it. But Mayo midfielder hit Colm Cav in face, then dropped both knees onto him and then, when confronted by our goalie, fell clutching his face even though he hadn't been touched. So there you had a red card, a follow-up yellow card and then playacting trying to get a man sent off, all in the one incident by the same guy; the same guy who was being spoken of as the new Jack O'Shea. But unlike Seán Cavanagh's tackle, not a word about it on RTÉ! Why not?

Mayo's "disallowed goal should have been a free out in the first place, for a push. Mayo awarded a non-existent penalty. Tyrone denied a possible penalty of their own. Mayo's first three frees gifts from the ref. O'Neill fouled early on and ref refused to take action. Mayo 1-8 I think from frees; Tyrone 3 from frees.

I would have wished Mayo well but the amount of rubbish I listened to from Mayo fans has made me change my mind. The ould Dub fan will give you loads of verbals throughout but then shake your hand afterwards. And a Kerry fan, while not often that friendly to us riff raff, rarely says a word out of place. After Kerry hammered us last year, and we were heading out the ground, I was amazed that not one person started a chant of "cheerio, cheerio". Fair play! Also Kerry fans are very objective - they know their football better than any other fans and never wreck your head with stupid socceroo comments about the game of the sort I had to listen to on Sunday. I remember asking a Kerry fan, after Donaghy lit up their 06 campaign in a manner that would have had statues being out up to him in most other counties, how he rated this new boy Donaghy. I always remember his response: "ah sure, we'll give him time and we'll see how he turns out" (!) Very measured and no hysteria.

But if Tyrone had some decent forwards (O'Neill is wrecked with injuries and won't be back), they'd have still had a good chance. As it was, they played a lot better than most Tyrone fans expected, but until they change their media strategy and get some decent forwards who can win physical battles, Tyrone will remain a semi final team at best.

If Dublin beat Kerry, Mayo could beat Dublin in the final. Kerry not as pacey as Dublin but if Kerry somehow live with Dublin's second half pace, I'd have a suspicion that Mayo might mess up again. Kerry would smell blood and they'd not want to be beaten by Mayo.
My prediction is Kerry will win if they get to the final.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 27/08/2013 12:31:33    1469171

Essmac, I think the ref was soft for us alright but overall we deserved our victory. I've seen Tyrone over the years, twice in 2005, Ulster Final replay when the ref screwed ye and in that epic All Ireland semi-final against Armagh, by miles the best game I was ever at. I think Sean Cavanagh is the best all-round player I've ever seen and a leader. I saw him in Croker in a qualifier ye lost to Meath when he scored a class class goal into the Hill end goal. Ignore all the sh*%e said about him in the past weeks, he's a winner and so have Tyrone been and great to watch and Mickey Hart is a great manager and ambassador for the GAA. Ye've a good minor team coming through so it's looking bright for ye.

As for us, who knows? We've been here many times and not closed the deal. Yet ! Don't tar us all with the one brush cos a few young fellas full of beer and bravado ruined your day. The vast majority of us are sound.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8112 - 27/08/2013 13:18:31    1469229

Yew_tree,

Couldn't agree more.
I was at the quarter finals Kerry v Cavan and Mayo v Donegal and in the Davin Stand. I couldn't believe the "Cheerio cheerio" chants by some of the Mayo supporters towards the Donegal people leaving with 10 minutes to go. All were not young lads either. Just bandwagon supporters who couldn't name their team.
These lads usually turn up near the end of the Championship. I heard Mayo people shouting at them to shut up too, fair play to them.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 27/08/2013 15:42:43    1469403

To Tír Eoghain posters, for those of ye who start a post by graciously saying that Maigh Eo were better and deserved to win, best not to follow it (and it is a small minority) with a list of dodgy reffing decisions and infer that ye would have won if only for those, as it tends to contradict your opening statement and make the post look a bit silly ;)

Ye did get the browner end of the stick, but in all fairness the difference was epitomized in that pre half time 3 point burst. No dubious decisions there. Injuries were unfortunate but that happens to all counties, and Maigh Eo had Freeman to step up to the plate when COC went off. (I will admit that, until Sunday, I didn't think he could produce performances like that outside the likes of Markievicz or McHale Park; I stand corrected.). Watching the subs that come on, there is quite a bit of depth there.

I'll tell you one thing though- like last year in Páirc Mhic Gearailt, when the game was slipping away from ye, and ye had every right to be exhausted after a punishing work rate in the 1st half, ye never gave up to the end, and were doughty opponents fighting for every scrap. Lots of decent players for the future, but one thing that might be a cause of concern is SC may be around next year but at his age the engine won't be as relentless.

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 27/08/2013 15:58:15    1469429

I watched the full game again on the rte player, and it is a fair assessment that Mayo deserved their win, they won pulling up. BUT

The sooner the GAA sort out the inconsistencies in refereeing the better. This goes away beyond the game last weekend. It is not good enough for players to burst themselves all year to be let down by a ref trying to balance out some crass decisions earlier in the game, or to allow a team on the back foot back into the fray with some soft frees.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3852 - 27/08/2013 16:16:05    1469449

nothing wrong with a hearty rendition of "cheerio"

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 273 - 27/08/2013 16:30:57    1469458

Donegalman, he was giving tyrone a few soft decisions also, particularly in the 2nd half. The only difference was they kicked them wide.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/08/2013 16:36:35    1469469

Tyrone got the majority of bad decisions and Mayo were the better team resulting in a Mayo win. Simple as that really

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 273 - 27/08/2013 16:48:03    1469476

PS I unfortunately missed a portion of the 2nd half so read all the comments here until yesterday afternoon then watched Sunday Game. I genuinely laughed out loud at the 'foot-block'. If the defender's leg had been any further away from the forward's foot he'd have been standing on the south bank of the canal :)

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 27/08/2013 16:54:13    1469488

an tseabhac, I have to agree with the views you have expressed on this game, they are very fair. I cant for the life of me understand people calling it a footblock - his foot was planted on the ground for a start! The guy kicked the ball off his shin, that isnt a footblock.

One decision that I agree was debatable was the one with cavanagh on s o'shea where he flicked the ball out of his hand. On the other hand he was hanging off the back of o'shea for a considerable amount of time before he managed to actually get to the ball.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/08/2013 17:07:01    1469501

Donegalman, do you mean you saw all the game on the RTE player on your UPC or Skybox or something like it? I can only get the Sunday Game highlights on the online player. I'm hoping someone copies the whole game, plus analysis from their Skybox to YouTube.

I think RTE must have sold the rights for all the match to be shown online. I know Premium Sports offer a delayed coverage in the US on a subscription service, maybe that's why they won't show the complete game online after the game? If RTE were smart they'd offer anyone going to the games an option to pay a fiver and a code to watch all the game and analysis on the RTE Player.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8112 - 27/08/2013 18:39:23    1469599

Donegalman, he was giving tyrone a few soft decisions also, particularly in the 2nd half. The only difference was they kicked them wide.

Absolutely,

The point is about refereeing inconsistencies in general, and it is something that will have to be addressed in a serious way. It is leaving the post match debate about technicalities rather than the game itself.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3852 - 27/08/2013 18:45:11    1469602

Once again we are talking about poor refereeing instead of the match itself.
Will the GAA do anything to address refereeing? Not a chance.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 27/08/2013 18:51:52    1469605

Would of loved if A o Shea was asked why he dived to the ground holding his face when he wasn't touched there and clearly cheating, Why didn't Brolly say that was despicable and embarrassing and something that kids shouldn't be seeing from role models.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 27/08/2013 19:07:51    1469616

People seem to have forgotten that Deegan cost us last year's All-Ireland. Remember the foul on O'Connor that wsnt blown,next thing Clarke is taking the ball out of net for second time....game over. Even Donegal's own Martin Carney said it should've been a free. True O'Connor clocked one of the Donegal lads when he didn't get his free and was lucky not to have seen red.

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 27/08/2013 19:16:37    1469622

AthCliath, he didnt dive at all, he did hold his face though, but then there isnt a game that goes by where someone doesnt do the same...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/08/2013 19:16:53    1469624

Master , surely you wouldn't see any of the Dublin lads at that carry on.

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 27/08/2013 19:24:47    1469630

Back from hols. Sure this talk was all over.
A comprehensive victory for mayo. Tyrone need to ask why their manager is continuing with a failed system?
Get back to football basics
On a brighter note 3 teams left in race for sam and not a nordie amongst them. Good times. Good times.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 27/08/2013 19:31:13    1469635

AthCliath, he didnt dive at all, he did hold his face though, but then there isnt a game that goes by where someone doesnt do the same...

Oh come on, I'm a big fan of O'Shea but how was this not a dive? If A Tyrone player did it lol...

http://balls.ie/gaa/gif-be-embarrassed-aidan-oshea/

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 27/08/2013 19:37:22    1469640

yes i think ulster football could be taking a back seat for a couple of years at least, and this is not a jibe just an opinion

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 27/08/2013 19:40:07    1469641