Mayo V Tyrone

Oh stop flattering me Jackeen! On a more serious note I honestly believe Tyrone are on the receiving end of an awful tirade of constant abuse and it has to stop. I do believe, and some will disagree with me, that geography and stereotyping of Ulster teams plays a very big part in this; Donegal got a massive dose of it as did Armagh. I recall when Clare won a few All Ireland hurling titles in the 90's they got a very unfair reputation as 'dirty, cynical' side and it stuck. Tyrone are no worse or better cynically than most of the top teams but it seems far easier and convenient to stick the boot into them.... I mean you know what those unruly Nordies are like.......and how many of you nodded and agreed with that statement? Once again consciously or unconsciuosly it's what many outside Ulster believe when actuality is very different. When the stats about fouling in the 4 quarter finals were produced it showed that Tyrone committed less than the other sides BUT once again many buried their heads and believed what they wanted....AND people wonder why Ulster/Northern people get so annoyed and defensive?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 26/08/2013 21:18:13    1468910

Mayo are in the final,but in the first half, it was mayo as they have been the last 20 odd years, wides, wides, misses, panicking,full of nerves, and boy had Tyrone them rattled,and i believe they will have to improve big time if they are to land SAM, for the first time since 1951,lads yous got to get belief, that yous can do it, come on MAYO, 1 hour, 1 hour, yous have beaten Kerry, Dublin, before, if Dublin get by Kerry, then they will seek revenge for last year, and no disrespect to Kerry, Dublin i believe will be there, Mayo play like yous did in the first half, and Dublin will tear yous to shreds, even Kerry would too, Mayo believe, yes yous can do it, yes yous beat us off the field, but we had that belief last year, lads there are only so many finals yous can get to, lose this one, GAME OVER, come on MAYO........................

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 26/08/2013 21:26:35    1468922

This is my last post on this but I would like to ask a question. Had Deegan decided to give Mayo another soft free thinking that the attack had just been stopped and blew his whistle not realising that Freeman had made room to score the goal. Realising that he had already blown he could not go back on it. In his attempt to reward Mayo with another soft free he actually done them a dis-service. Having looked at it a couple of times now I can think of no other reason for it. I would seriously question how Deegan handled those first three scores for Mayo plus the goal incident and why he consistantly felt the need to keep Mayo in touch. The refereeing in this particular game looks to be more than just poor decision making and needs to be seriously questioned.

Skillful_Bill (Tyrone) - Posts: 102 - 26/08/2013 21:29:50    1468929

Whilst disappointed with the result yesterday have no complaints about the overall result. Mayo were the better team and deserved to win. Tyrone played excellently in the first half and were value for more than a one point lead at half time. Just after watching the game back and a few points which I suppose have been covered already.

Mayo's first 3 points were as a result of 3 incredibly dubious frees and in fact only for them they would have had no score after 31 minutes. Tyrone suffered badly as a result of the injuries to Harte and O'Neill at times when they were beginning to have a bigger influence on the game. With regard to the penalty I was in a direct line with Deegan and there is no way that he could have seen the tackle for the penalty properly. There were a number of players in his road and he was at least 30-40m behind the play. He didn't even consult with his umpires. Overall it was a brutally poor performance yet again from one of the supposed top refs in the country following on from the Tyrone/Meath game and the Derry/Cavan game.The footblock decision was also a terrible decision when he was in a good position to see it, but there you go.

Overall however this was just a step too far for a young and inexperienced Tyrone team who overall had a good year. As for Mayo, they showed enough in their second half performance to suggest that they will be difficult to beat by either Kerry or Dublin. By the way, Mayo's minors also look like a very tasty outfit

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 26/08/2013 21:44:35    1468950

mchugh11

In fairness I think Tyrone started at such an Incredible tempo, that Mayo simply didn't get a chance to settle.
Only when watching the highlights again last night did I really take in how quick and up for it Tyrone were.

Tyrone made bad choices before half time, which let Mayo back into it. Mayo's good start to the 2nd half followed by a penalty, was a proper kick in the balls for Tyrone and took the wind out of their sail.

I agree for Mayo to start like that against either Kerry or Dublin could be fatal. But I suppose it is easy to forget that Tyrone are decent side who were completely wrote off before the game and felt they had a point to prove.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 26/08/2013 21:46:50    1468953

I have to agree with Muckross on this ref bashing. The pressure on refs at the moment is huge. I was at the game on Sunday and while I did think that there were some iffy calls, I don't think it had a huge bearing on the game. I think Mayo would have won with or with out soft frees.
Tyrone can hold their heads up high. They had a great year and carry a lot of positives into next season.As for Mayo, I think they will take some stopping now.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 416 - 27/08/2013 09:48:07    1469034

Let it go lads!.....this mere sideshow is over now!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 27/08/2013 09:53:57    1469037

What goes around comes around. Tyrone got a bit unlucky with frees on sunday alright, but in games earlier they got lucky, I can understand their annoyance but that's the way it goes. Luck caught up with them. Mayo were always guna win that game and fair play to them, the pressure was on after the first half were Tyrone were far better. Should be a crackin final with either the dubs or kerry

Tara_Kings (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 27/08/2013 09:59:14    1469040

There is a lot of nonsense being pushed on this thread as regards the ref favouring mayo. People are forgetting that A) mayo had a goal disallowed because of a terrible call and B) tyrone got a few dodgey frees themselves, but kicked them wide.

The truth about this game is tyrone started well and mayo started with the wrong tactics and were nevous along with it. However, even during tyrone's dominant period, if mayo had taken even half of the easy chances they missed they would have gone in ahead at halftime. Mayo changed their setup, got their act together and it was all one way traffic after that. The ref was bad all round.

Hard luck to tyrone. They probably done themselves a bit more justice in that game, but there can be no question that the better team won.

Also, the amount of chances that were kicked wide on the davin stand end, by both teams, was striking. You would wonder if there is something to it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/08/2013 10:16:21    1469061

After all the booing and northern scum we got from the Mayo fans in the Davin stand there's no way I can even wish Mayo luck in the final . I'm very disappointed & surprised by this and can't help wondering it it a media joe Brolly thing or what? I thought the dubs were bad but not a patch on this crowd.

CoTyrone (Tyrone) - Posts: 261 - 27/08/2013 10:34:41    1469071

CoTyrone

1469071 After all the booing and northern scum we got from the Mayo fans in the Davin stand there's no way I can even wish Mayo luck in the final . I'm very disappointed & surprised by this and can't help wondering it it a media joe Brolly thing or what? I thought the dubs were bad but not a patch on this crowd.

You have some cheek m8,all counties have a few bad eggs,tyrone have them too.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2847 - 27/08/2013 10:56:14    1469086

Have to agree with Tyrone poster about behaviour of some so called Mayo fans in croke park on Sunday. Booing free takers and cheering wides is disgraceful behaviour. Sets terrible example for future generations who were at match. Was in lower Hogan and didn't witness any bad behaviour from either mayo or Tyrone fans around . Could hear plenty of it coming from Davin end though

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 27/08/2013 11:04:52    1469097

I wasn't in the Davin but the Mayo crowd in the Cusack were a credit to their county I was however a little disappointed to hear some booing from both sets of supporters on a number of free kicks.But all in all I felt the Mayo people were very gracious in victory never heard any cheerio cheerio chanting unlike some of our northernly and South easternly friends from the past. Tyrone people will always appreciate Mayo considering the support they gave us shortly after the tragic events surrounding Cormac's death. I really hope their pain ends this year and Sam ends in castlebar no county deserves it more.

Skillful_Bill (Tyrone) - Posts: 102 - 27/08/2013 11:05:55    1469101

CoTyrone

After all the booing and northern scum we got from the Mayo fans in the Davin stand there's no way I can even wish Mayo luck in the final . I'm very disappointed & surprised by this and can't help wondering it it a media joe Brolly thing or what? I thought the dubs were bad but not a patch on this crowd.

I got a bit of abuse too on the hill from a couple of young guys liquor up to the eyes and their weren't on their own either a few wans in Tyrone colours also giving out some utter clap trap thankfully there were more Good genuine GAA people on the hill last sunday from both counties and not just a few idiots that were missing from their villages I have no problem wishing Mayo people all the best come final many! many! good folk down there .

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 27/08/2013 11:18:54    1469111

Skillful_Bill - Well said. Tyrone fans were also very gracious in defeat. CoTyrone - Sorry you had a bad experience but there will always be a minority. I also heard some booing at the start but I think it largely dyed out. One incident that got me annoyed was the first 2 or 3 touched Sean Cavanagh got, he was booed.....I had to turn around to too young Mayo lads and tell them to show some f*&$£"$ respect. They had no clue as to who some players were......its the business end of the championship lads - the bandwagon support is out in full force.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11656 - 27/08/2013 11:22:45    1469114

I was disappointed to hear it also. In fairness, I think the circumstances in the game pushed it down that route as opposed to any one set of fans being hell-bent on it. O'Connor going off and a new free taker brought a bit of attention and I think some mayo fans responded in kind. Also, the situation with the goal down the davin end probably got a few riled up down there, especially with mcloughlin getting a bit of sledging afterwards. Similarly the penalty down the other end probably had a similar effect. There was also a lot of bad shooting from both teams. On the face of it, I dont think it was terribly bad, although some probably had worse experiences than others. By in large, both sets of fans were ok from where I was.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/08/2013 11:43:21    1469124

Was a decent game, the ref was poor think Mr O'Shea can count himself very lucky that his All Ireland isn't over. Tyrone played as they did against Dublin in the league final in the first half Mayo just couldn't live with them. As the game wore on you got the feeling Tyrone could not sustain the level of intensity they were employing thought Lee Keegan was immense.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 27/08/2013 11:44:40    1469129

Alcohol seems to be the common denominator in any discussion about crowd behaviour, the devils buttermilk indeed!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 27/08/2013 12:05:10    1469152

pdempsey

Have to agree with Tyrone poster about behaviour of some so called Mayo fans in croke park on Sunday. Booing free takers and cheering wides is disgraceful behaviour. Sets terrible example for future generations who were at match. Was in lower Hogan and didn't witness any bad behaviour from either mayo or Tyrone fans around . Could hear plenty of it coming from Davin end though

Every county has them, Donegal included. The highlighting of incidents with individuals whether Cavanagh, McGuinness, Brolly etc etc doesn't help but booing, drink & bandwagon supporters have been arounfd for years & will no doubt be a curse upon us for many years to come.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/08/2013 12:12:49    1469158

Peter Canavan summed up the game perfectly last night on Matt Cooper, people should have a listen.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8456 - 27/08/2013 12:19:18    1469165