Mayo V Tyrone

As I went outta Cross and swung right down Foxfield road on the 290 to gawk at a lock of bollocks I found myself humming the Green and Red of Mayo. What a second half display of Samba football. The Ref wasn't a terror now. He was so eager to give Mayo a free that he cost them a goal. But he gave them handy frees and a penalty so they done OK out of him. Mayo looked like the had an extra gear on Tie-roan/Throne/Tearown. Throne were lacking up front in the forward department from what I could see. Mayo just need to brush up on the 14 metre freetaking and Sam will be heading for Castlebar. Enda Kenny had a great tie on as well, what a guy. Why do I always read Mayo posts on Hoganstand back to myself in his accent? Could be to give them more authenticity I think.

Dessie_Cross (Armagh) - Posts: 145 - 26/08/2013 15:49:45    1468593

Ok so Deegan was poor and Tyrone did probably come out the worst for it but the penalty decision was a difficult one in real time and one we probably would have all given on the spot. The "soft" frees were an issue in the first half in particular but it's the double-hop of the ball that refs are consistently not spotting in every game now it appears.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 26/08/2013 15:58:47    1468605

Skillful_Bill "I have now doubt that Mayo yesterday got the benefit from a terrible display from Deegan" Sean Cavanagh benefitted from poor refereeing decisions at one stage he pulled a similar rugby style tackle on a Mayo player yesterday to that of the Monaghan incident in front of Deegan, he pulled the players right arm and left hip back, and got no card. At that point it popped up on screen that he had committed 4 fouls. If a player commits 4 fouls and one of them is in that manner does he deserve to be on the field for 70+ mins? I think blaming the ref is rubbish, Mayo came out and powered through Tyrone in the 2nd half, dodgey penalty aside Mayo still would have won simple as.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 824 - 26/08/2013 16:02:23    1468610

Ok so Deegan was poor and Tyrone did probably come out the worst for it but the penalty decision was a difficult one in real time and one we probably would have all given on the spot. The "soft" frees were an issue in the first half in particular but it's the double-hop of the ball that refs are consistently not spotting in every game now it appears.

And these guys are the best the GAA can offer. Twice yesterday Deegan failed to spot it. If an under 12's referee missed as much he would end up in the car boot. The GAA can not continue to put their heads in the sand.

Skillful_Bill (Tyrone) - Posts: 102 - 26/08/2013 16:05:24    1468613

I was sitting near the pich in 336 and had a clear view of this in the first half. Had no drink at all but maybe imagined this ?!!!

A Tyrone player carried the ball in pitch, nearly went down under no pressure, looked like a dive. Deegan seemed to see it but signalled play on, probably looking for a Mayo advantage but the ball landed in the hands of an another Tyrone player who pointed. When the diving player made his way back towards the Canal End it looked like he spoke to Deegan and Deegan noted something in his book. I thought he noted the dive, as he didn't talk to any Mayo player, but if he did then why allow the point?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8112 - 26/08/2013 16:09:35    1468621

Poor refereeing is ruining the game I love but the GAA continue to sit on their hands and refuse to address the problem.
I have being saying this for years on HS.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 26/08/2013 16:14:54    1468627

Dessie_Cross
County: Armagh

As I went outta Cross and swung right down Foxfield road on the 290 to gawk at a lock of bollocks I found myself humming the Green and Red of Mayo. What a second half display of Samba football. The Ref wasn't a terror now. He was so eager to give Mayo a free that he cost them a goal. But he gave them handy frees and a penalty so they done OK out of him. Mayo looked like the had an extra gear on Tie-roan/Throne/Tearown. Throne were lacking up front in the forward department from what I could see. Mayo just need to brush up on the 14 metre freetaking and Sam will be heading for Castlebar. Enda Kenny had a great tie on as well, what a guy. Why do I always read Mayo posts on Hoganstand back to myself in his accent? Could be to give them more authenticity I think.

It's tirone not throne....

JosefnDongo (UK) - Posts: 66 - 26/08/2013 16:16:21    1468629

Skillful_Bill "I have now doubt that Mayo yesterday got the benefit from a terrible display from Deegan" Sean Cavanagh benefitted from poor refereeing decisions at one stage he pulled a similar rugby style tackle on a Mayo player yesterday to that of the Monaghan incident in front of Deegan, he pulled the players right arm and left hip back, and got no card. At that point it popped up on screen that he had committed 4 fouls. If a player commits 4 fouls and one of them is in that manner does he deserve to be on the field for 70+ mins? I think blaming the ref is rubbish, Mayo came out and powered through Tyrone in the 2nd half, dodgey penalty aside Mayo still would have won simple as.

Chops, I think you need to read over my previous posts I am not for one min suggesting that had the game been properly refereed that the final outcome would be any different. I am saying that the standard of refereeing has become conter productive and totally unacceptable. The above example of Cavanagh no card is an example. Vaughan on McGinely through on goal is another example of Deegans inconsistency. I am not trying to tit for tat or anyway undermind Mayo's win yesterday. Deegan effected the flow of the game yesterday and he is not the first referee to have had an impact on the games and it is time we rid the game of poor officials and methods. We had a team of high ranking people who examined the rules of the game to get rid of cynical play i.e. black cards etc. why do we see no major advances in the methods used to officiate the games.

Skillful_Bill (Tyrone) - Posts: 102 - 26/08/2013 16:20:11    1468634

GreenandRed

I was sitting near the pich in 336 and had a clear view of this in the first half. Had no drink at all but maybe imagined this ?!!!

A Tyrone player carried the ball in pitch, nearly went down under no pressure, looked like a dive. Deegan seemed to see it but signalled play on, probably looking for a Mayo advantage but the ball landed in the hands of an another Tyrone player who pointed. When the diving player made his way back towards the Canal End it looked like he spoke to Deegan and Deegan noted something in his book. I thought he noted the dive, as he didn't talk to any Mayo player, but if he did then why allow the point?

I'm confused! Is falling to the ground an automatic free to the opposition?

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1433 - 26/08/2013 17:57:28    1468737

Job done for now! We weren't at our best and still powered home as fully expected. It has to be said from the outset, this was a great test of character and Mayo passed with flying colours. They say the sign of a really good side is one that can still win without playing to their optimum level - another telling sign one can now attribute to mayo. Really looking forward to the final now against Dublin and it will be Dublin and I've been saying it all year.

Mayo for SAM!!

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 26/08/2013 18:05:45    1468743

No it isn't Benjy. I definitely imagined it so. It looked, to me, that Deegan was gonna blow for a free out as he thought the Tyrone man was diving. I thought Deegan was shocking throughout. We got some handy frees in the second half when lads hit the deck after minimal impact. An auld fella from Mayo beside me believed that Deegan was very bad but that 'he meant well'!!!!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8112 - 26/08/2013 18:13:54    1468749

I don't think the ref was biased to each team just bad and ruined my enjoyment of the spectacle as a neutral hoping to see a good match.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 26/08/2013 18:25:57    1468756

Cavan_Slasher

Poor refereeing is ruining the game I love but the GAA continue to sit on their hands and refuse to address the problem.

couldnt agree more i have been saying this for years all the talk of the introduction of the black card to stop cynicism there were cynical tackles yesterday which didnt even earn a yellow card. The black card will cause uproar next year mark my words as the inconsistant application of the rules is the biggest problem we have and that wont change with the introduction of another card.

On the ganme itself Tyrone are a long way off challenging for an All ireland and the 6 point margin of defeat was flattering we need a change of direction and soon

rahillyman (Tyrone) - Posts: 314 - 26/08/2013 18:29:18    1468758

First off well done mayo hard luck tyrone but it could have easily went the other way,tyrone had plenty of chances to finish tyrone but let them back into the game id say if mayo play like that again it could be a very sad final again they took too long to get started and only for a lazy and lost looking tyrone side things could have been different,a bad start but fair play to them for turning it around and dominated it in the 2nd...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 26/08/2013 19:20:22    1468801

rahillyman

Cavan_Slasher

couldnt agree more i have been saying this for years all the talk of the introduction of the black card to stop cynicism there were cynical tackles yesterday which didnt even earn a yellow card. The black card will cause uproar next year mark my words as the inconsistant application of the rules is the biggest problem we have and that wont change with the introduction of another card.

On the ganme itself Tyrone are a long way off challenging for an All ireland and the 6 point margin of defeat was flattering we need a change of direction and soon.
-------------------------------------
Its always hard to be objective about a referees display when you feel you have been disadvantaged by his display on the field.Since yesterday its clear that many posters felt that a poor display by Deegan kept Mayo in touch at crucial times.I feel that with more consistently fair officiating and had we not lost Peter Harte, and Stevie so early we could have come out on top.We won Mc Kenna cup got to league final and all Ireland semi-final,thats a decent years football for a team in the making.I think the lack of scoring forwards is improving with the younger lads starting to come on a bit this year and the experiences will have done them great.I think we are going in the right direction.On Peter Harte and Colm Cavanagh,I and some others had been questioning their continued inclusion on the team at every outing this year and I suppose I want to say that at the end of this year I think they did indeed prove themselves,I thought Colm had a good game yesterday.I hope it continues for them both next year but I really would like Mickey to give some more game time to the other squad members during Mc Kenna cup and league games as I believe it helps strengthen the team as a whole.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 26/08/2013 20:19:26    1468842

Jesus lads will ye give it a rest about referees!!! This thread is supposed to be about the game but all I'm reading is fellas giving Deegan dog's abuse.
How many of ye have ever refereed a game would be interesting as it is a very difficult job to do. Fair enough, mistakes get made but players & managers make them as well, why should refs be exempt?
At the end of the day we are all human & being human mistakes will be made, it's part of the human condition.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/08/2013 20:30:16    1468849

Were Deegan's many incorrect decisions against Tyrone genuine mistakes or was he influenced consciously or subconsciously by the black, negative GAA and media campaign against Tyrone? People are only human and will react to what they perceive to be correct and right and not the actuality of events before them. There were many occasions when Deegan perceived Tyrone had committed fouls when they hadn't. So i appears that Tyrone are now being refereed on a reputation and label given to them by elements with another agenda outside football. Consequently the GAA loses ALL credibility in such a scenario.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 26/08/2013 20:43:58    1468863

What makes yesterday's refereeing different is that there was only one team that was ever going to benefit from the refereeing. Following RTE comments it was highly likely that the refereeing was going to be harsh on Tyrone and so it turned out.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 26/08/2013 20:52:15    1468878

Ulster man was deegans (same ref) many mistakes in themeath game just bad calls? Or something more? And why did you not highlight his mistakes at that time? Tyrone would not have won that day if those mistakes had not been made. Did you post on those?
Administration this is a total relevent post please allow

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/08/2013 20:59:09    1468884

I have to agree with the above comments by ulsterman something I rarely do. Mayo benefited time after time from the refs decisions. Luck was definitely on mayos side yeasterday. Everything went against tyrone. The goal that never was is a non event as the whistle had very clearly blown. Aiden O'Sê's throat throttle to the letter of the law should have been red. Felt very sorry for tyrone losing three of their four best players. I mean what county can cope with that type of loss. Mayo did what any good team would do when they smell blood and drove on. It's a pity cillian o'connor looks set to miss the final having contributed so much to getting there. I think he's a massive loss to mayo in the final. Might he make it though?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/08/2013 21:07:05    1468896