Mayo V Tyrone

Seanie Boy delusions of Grandeur spring to mind Mayo machine has the best midfield in the Country best at counter attacking and was it 14 players scored yesterday be scared be very scared ............

dylan (Mayo) - Posts: 13 - 05/08/2013 19:13:26    1453673

Random musings on GAA in general aimed at no-one in particular but I'm ging to do it anyway and all without the use of a sinlge full stop comma or exlaimation point because I can so there

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 05/08/2013 19:24:42    1453687

I'd expect mayo to win after that breathtaking performance. But it's Tyrone. In Croke Park. In a semi final. Both teams as cynical as each other. Both midfielders on top of their games (all star
Midfield no doubt). It wound some achievement if Tyrone beat the all Ireland favourites.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 05/08/2013 19:34:03    1453698

05/08/2013 19:13:26
dylan

Seanie Boy delusions of Grandeur spring to mind Mayo machine has the best midfield in the Country best at counter attacking and was it 14 players scored yesterday be scared be very scared ............

Nothing won yet young man, now stop celebrating and throw some cold water on your face.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 05/08/2013 19:35:36    1453701

This is the best Mayo side I've seen, taking in talent, preparation, mentality & attitude, and I'm looking at them for 40 years. They should definitely beat Tyrone, who aren't yet a patch on their great 2003-2008 outfits. It won't be easy to take down the Dubs in a final, but Mayo have a better all around team than Dublin, better defenders especially. It is Mayo's time now.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4407 - 05/08/2013 20:06:40    1453752

There is no doubt that this Mayo team are the favourites for the All-Ireland and rightly so, they have destroyed any team they played this year including the current champions.They had a complete performance yesterday and it is difficult to see any weakness in this side.
Not sure where we start in breaking them down TBH but I have total faith in the Tyrone players and management to take them. One thing that is guaranteed is we will not lie down and we will give 110% right up until the final whistle, defeat is unacceptable.
If we can keep it tight I believe they will be there for the taking in the last quarter.

Tir Eoghain Abu!

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 05/08/2013 20:19:25    1453769

Tyrone have won their last 4 matches by 2 points, all over weaker teams than Mayo so I expect that Mayo should win by 7 or 8 points. In truth they were awesome against Donegal and I think they have a lot more in the tank having had some very soft matches so far.

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 05/08/2013 20:29:05    1453781

OntheWhiteSide

Tyrone have won their last 4 matches by 2 points, all over weaker teams than Mayo so I expect that Mayo should win by 7 or 8 points. In truth they were awesome against Donegal and I think they have a lot more in the tank having had some very soft matches so far.

Because of he style of football that Tyrone play they are never going to blow teams away and by inference they will never lose by much. Tyrone will be a far sterner challenge for Mayo than Donegal were - Donegal were running on empty yesterday and the lack of depth in their squad came home to roost.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 05/08/2013 20:43:18    1453793

OntheWhiteSide

I do t think mayo will play as or should I be let may as well as they did against Donegal. Donegal where on life support mayo where simply the doctor that pulled the plug. They deserve to be favourites and rightly so but I'd fancy dublins chances against them if we can negotiate the kingdom. Not saying we will beat them but I'd say we could give them a good lash. But we have to beat Kerry and they have to beat Tyrone, with respect both big tasks.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 05/08/2013 20:53:05    1453807

Donegal obviously are not the force they were last year so you could reasonably expect Mayo to have won by four or five points given the defensive style of the all Ireland champions. But Donegal were not only beaten out the door they were beaten well up Drumcondra Rd as well. It is quite apparent to even neutrals I spoke to in Croker yesterday that Mayo have moved on to an entirely new level. Dublin is the only team left in the competition who stand a chance of giving them a game at this stage.

murser (Mayo) - Posts: 46 - 05/08/2013 20:53:18    1453808

for me personally I think its a mayo were the team wanting it more the fitter faster and looked for the better options when I came to playing Donegal they lacked heart and conviction and failed to turn that's not mayo's fault Donegal were bad and fair play to mayo they took full advantage of that which is what you do know tyrone will be a tougher test for sure I doubt they will get as much room to play or even more to the point it wont be as free flowing as yesterday,its a tough one to call if im honest like Donegal last year and Dublin the year before there is a hunger in the mayo side and that's hard to break down in any team.!!!!

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 05/08/2013 21:01:10    1453814

The clearest thing about yesterdays game was that Donegal were not up for it.If anybody is honest they can admit that.Mayo beat London by a lesser gulf in scores 5-11 to 0-10.Taking into account that we can probably do better than London then we have nothing to fear.They will not be getting goals like that against us.They will not lording it all over the field,especially mid field and they will be facing an altogether tougher test against the "Rocwellers" :)

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 05/08/2013 21:22:24    1453843

I wouldn't rule out a Tyrone v Kerry final just yet.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 05/08/2013 21:33:46    1453869

AfricanGael
County: UK

I wouldn't rule out a Tyrone v Kerry final just yet.
-------------------------------
That would be nice :)

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 05/08/2013 21:52:27    1453901

You have to smile when you see the tyrone lads stating how tired donegal were this year, and how it is going to be so much tougher for mayo, that we havent we been tested, etc etc. Didnt donegal put tyrone into the qualifiers lads? Weren't so tired then! This thing about mayo not being tested, roscommon were supposed to give us a test, they certainly gave tyrone a test, didnt they? Let's keep it real here at the very least. If mayo havent been tested and tyrone have, then it is down to the fact that the teams who tested (and beat) tyrone were not good enough to test mayo. Dress it up whoever you like, but that is the fact behind it.

Tyrone will be a tough game for mayo, nobody is thinking that they wont. We should win the game, simply because we are a superior outfit, but things can go for you in a game. I fully expect tyrone to target not only o'shea, but vaughan, dillon and particularly kevin mcloughlin. This is what they now have to resort to, which isnt nice to see but they can choose to do so. We will be ready for it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/08/2013 21:53:16    1453904

05/08/2013 20:53:18
murser

Donegal obviously are not the force they were last year so you could reasonably expect Mayo to have won by four or five points given the defensive style of the all Ireland champions. But Donegal were not only beaten out the door they were beaten well up Drumcondra Rd as well. It is quite apparent to even neutrals I spoke to in Croker yesterday that Mayo have moved on to an entirely new level. Dublin is the only team left in the competition who stand a chance of giving them a game at this stage.

Oh good god, I see the Mayo summer time fans are queuing up to join Hoganstand. So Kerry and Tyrone might as well not turn up for the semi's, in fact, feck it, lets just give Sam to Mayo now. Whats the point?

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 05/08/2013 21:53:42    1453907

Tyrone to shock greatest Mayo team of all time :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13656 - 05/08/2013 21:55:46    1453910

Come on Mayo. Rd is back and in top form.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/08/2013 21:58:45    1453921

You have to smile when you see the tyrone lads stating how tired donegal were this year, and how it is going to be so much tougher for mayo, that we havent we been tested, etc etc. Didnt donegal put tyrone into the qualifiers lads? Weren't so tired then! This thing about mayo not being tested, roscommon were supposed to give us a test, they certainly gave tyrone a test, didnt they? Let's keep it real here at the very least. If mayo havent been tested and tyrone have, then it is down to the fact that the teams who tested (and beat) tyrone were not good enough to test mayo. Dress it up whoever you like, but that is the fact behind it.

Tyrone will be a tough game for mayo, nobody is thinking that they wont. We should win the game, simply because we are a superior outfit, but things can go for you in a game. I fully expect tyrone to target not only o'shea, but vaughan, dillon and particularly kevin mcloughlin. This is what they now have to resort to, which isnt nice to see but they can choose to do so. We will be ready for it.

Did u not know at this stage that equating results that are some months old does not add up in terms of getting an angle of form. FFS Galway were thumped in the first round and then were unlucky not to reach the quarter finals going out to Cork. I think that form in football is now akin to a racing field. You can narrow it down, but its all about the weeks of preparation going into a game rather than what happened way back in may.

Tyrone will be entirely within theo win their rights to do what it takes to win, as will mayo

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3854 - 05/08/2013 22:01:18    1453924

waynoI

Tyrone to shock greatest Mayo team of all time :)

It is not the greatest Mayo team of all time yet. If we win the All Ireland it will. Tyrone will pose our toughest test yet and it wont be a runaway as our games this year so far have been. Tyrone wont lie down for anybody and the game will be a dogfight.

By the way wayno - please keep predicting Mayo losses - you have been proved wrong so far this year ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11768 - 06/08/2013 09:02:53    1453944