Kerry are the purists of the game

seanie_boy

mlcollins

Talking about hypocrisy how many players did tyrone end up at the end of normal time,denial and tunnel vision is a great antedote
----------------------------------
The 2 incidents are not even near comparable.Penrose got involved in some jostling and hand bags type stuff with a fella who was facing him and getting involved also.Kennelly attacked Murphy who wasn't prepared.

Changing the subject now is it? Hes not even talking about Penrose. Also unreal how you try to justify Penrose. No Kerry person has ever done the same with Kennelly have they? Had it been a non Kerry player no one would say anything about it

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 07/08/2013 09:44:58    1455007

Have to laugh at all this Anti -Tyrone stuff going around at the minute, its pure jealousy..

We are a top class act, well organised, intelligent team. Cork allowed Dublin the run of Croke Park, they sat back from them and went man to man. How did that work out for them? They're dumped out and manager has quit. Oh but it was lovely open football

I can understand people from the South in a way. These northern boyos coming down with their own brand and interpretation of football challenging their top teams for honours and being very successful at it. But that is the way things have went, Ulster use to be a province that just threw a few teams together, each county not too serious about things. But Tyrone started to get their act together, started to be more professional about the game and take it more seriously. Once cannon fodder for superior Southern sides, Ulster sides are now very competitive and hard hitting teams.

Buts thats the way its going to be from now on and in the future. There is so much good work going on in every county in Ulster including my own with a centre of Excellance and strong focus on underage teams. We are only going to get better and better. This is just the beginning. Should we not be admired rather than hated? Success breeds contempt and jealousy so we might have to live with that.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 07/08/2013 09:48:05    1455008

The topic is Kerry are the purists of the game is it correct or not? well the game has been played for over 125 years now and they are the team that sits at the top over the years they have had some brilliant players spillane gooch fitzgerald jacko Kennelly moran and on and on played some free flowing football, don't get me wrong I am a passionate cork man but in any sport class is forever yes some of there players have walked a thin line in the past, name me a county who is not guilty of this charge? Kerry are the purists lads as I said this may not be a vintage Kerry, but it is about history pedigree and they have it in spades sorry lads but they stand at the top case closed

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 353 - 07/08/2013 09:49:44    1455011

monkstown it's not about history it's about the current side. Yes they have some fantastic players and some of the most skilfull players in the country at the minute. Players such as O'sullivan and the Gooch ooze class but at the end of the day their is a cynical side to their game which a lot of the media seems to overlook.

Are lads like moomoo and kingdomboy wumming or do they genuinley not watch Kerry play football

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 07/08/2013 10:42:14    1455083

Well this forum is quite amusing. I know straight away from being a Kerryman I'm already in the limelight for abuse with this one, but I'll have my say anyway.

Firstly, anyone who says their county, club, team, favourite player is not cynical is in absolute denial. Every single team, club, player, even referee is cynical. It happens in every county and even country, I now play my football in Canada and it is just as cynical, I played underage football my whole life and not just against Kerry teams and yes there was cynicism in every place and code (bar very young teams). At 13 or 14 I knew well when to pull a player to the ground or not. It's been there for years (Look at the Kerry Dublin final of 1975 [The "Golden" years of football] when Mickey Ned was hit by 4 or 5 dubs before he woke up in hospital after the game) and it's not going anywhere in my opinion. Look at soccer - last man back makes a cynical tackle - red card - does this stop cynical fouling? No of course it doesn't if a players team is up with less than 15minutes to go are they not going to drag someone to the ground?? Anyone would, whether it's the Gooch, Bernard Brogan, Maurice Fitz, Stephen O'Neill, Daniel Goulding, you name them.

In regards to Kerry's performance on Sunday: to be quite honest I don't think we can judge Kerry on that performance - and trust me non Kerry fans there is no one more critical of Kerry than a Kerry fan. What I saw was a Kerry team terrified of their shit that an upset would occur so they played the defensive / cynical style that they learned all too well off of Ulster teams mainly but also other counties. All of ye Ulster lads giving out about Kerry adapting a defensive style that we learned from ye are kidding yourselves that Kerry's defensive and cynical style is not a result of Ulster teams defensive styles in the past. Kerry learned the hard way in '02, '03, '05, '11 and '12 that we can't be naïve when it comes to defensive football. Armagh, Tyrone (in the early years), Dublin (albeit they weren't very defensive but built from a defensive style) and Donegal all made a show of a naïve Kerry. Of course Kerry weren't always going to stick to "pure" football 100% of the time.

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 07/08/2013 13:18:38    1455372

Which brings me on to my final point: the term "pure" football, in my opinion has very little to do with cynical play (as I've already pointed out that cynical play has always been around). I believe pure football is to do with skill. Look at the Kerry team and tell me one player who hasn't got an abundance of skill (and please don't catch me out by saying Donaghy that's just not fair). Look at the O'Se brothers, Fionn Fitzgerald, any of the back line can go up the field with controlled possession and score a wonderful point, you don't see that with every county. Skill also comes in the form of a good tackle like we have seen marc o'se do so often in the past and even the Gooch in the Munster final this year. I see where people are coming from that the cynical fouling / diving takes away from the pure style of football as well as tactics to stop the other team, but lads it's the reality of the game of any game in fact. Look at Donegal, now they have some skilful players, but nothing in comparison to the likes of other counties (like Mayo, Dublin, Cork, Galway, Tyrone [I know I'll get abuse for that but massive respect for Tyrone how they built on a defensive style and became a very good attacking team]). Last year Jim McGuinness did what he could to win them an All Ireland and it worked. He stopped other teams with physicality, fitness and yes cynical fouling. But guess what they won an All Ireland, possibly one of the best All Irelands in recent memory beating Tyrone, Kerry, Cork and Mayo in the one season. Can you really blame a team for using their resources to find a suitable way to win that fits their team? Personally I hate the way Donegal played last year and any other team past or present that played similar styles but you just have to go with it. Already the tactics are changing and the fast paced attacking style that Dublin and Mayo have employed this year is breaking through these blanket defences, just like the high ball to Donaghy and Walsh did a few years back. Embrace football for what it is, the game is constantly changing and evolving why not admire that!!

Ye should all just relax and enjoy the game for what it is. Sure a few rules need to be changed and refereeing needs to improve, but all this negative talk takes away from the beauty of the game. You all sound like the crap I've heard on the Sunday game in recent years, how negative can ya be? There is not half enough praise for the skill and determination that these AMATEUR players produce on a weekly basis!

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 07/08/2013 13:18:55    1455373

The MODS can censor me all they want but it still doesn't hide the fact that many people in Ulster effectively believe we have two separate Associations now with two different sets of rules and standards in operation. There is a great degree of anger within the province and I have even heard talk now of some club members wanting to pull their teams out of matches/friendlies/tournaments against certain counties in the South; that is how deep this has gone. Northern Gaels have had their fill of the hypocrisy, double standards and abuse directed at them by elements who have, as other posters have stated, agendas which are obviously outside football.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9817 - 07/08/2013 13:34:11    1455389

To summarise JMK
- It's all a conspiracy against Kerry
- Kerry are entitled to do any kind of skullduggery they want because of what happened to Mickey Ned nearly 40 years ago
- Kerry don't put 15 behind the ball, only Ulster teams do that
- Kerry have don't do cynical because they have the best footballers

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 07/08/2013 13:38:12    1455400

It's amusing the amount of posts on here from North of the border ............ Guilty conscience lads?

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 07/08/2013 13:52:28    1455419

07/08/2013 13:38:12
KeyserSoze

To summarise JMK
- It's all a conspiracy against Kerry
- Kerry are entitled to do any kind of skullduggery they want because of what happened to Mickey Ned nearly 40 years ago
- Kerry don't put 15 behind the ball, only Ulster teams do that
- Kerry have don't do cynical because they have the best footballers

@KeyserSoze
For your sake I hope your just trying to **** me off and your comment isn't just a lack of intelligence
- Where did I say anything about a conspircacy? I said everyone was cynical, which ya includes Kerry
- I used the Mickey Ned example as it's one of the famous past cynical incidents, again just emphasising that everyone is cynical
- I didn't say Kerry don't play 15 men behind the ball, I said Kerry have been naive in the past and have learned to do it against certain teams
- And I've already pointed out that everyone is cynical including Kerry. In fact it's mentioned a lot in the above post, you must have missed it!

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 07/08/2013 16:35:28    1455643

Yerra, yerra, yeraa. JMK, and no need for personal insults either, please. You just gave another typical long-winded Kerry apologia for the most cynical team in Ireland, same as the old guff that the likes of the 70's legends give when they are wheeled out to go into bat to deflect from whatever controversy that Kerry are embroiled in. It was the same old 'pure football' and 'we're no wo more cynical than X or Y' hokum that is the party line that Liston, Sheehy et al come out with or you could hear Weeshie Fogarty give.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 07/08/2013 18:12:22    1455789

Keyzer theres no point in even arguing with ya. You're clearly just biased against Kerry, which always p**ses me off when some Cork people are so hateful towards Kerry football. In 2010 I was delighted to see Cork win an All Ireland (albeit a soft All Ireland), and I would have been delighted to see ye win more, but that kind of attitude rarely seems to be mutual. I'm sure it's just a minority of Cork people but the rest seem to stay quite while you loud mouths just criticise anything to do with Kerry football!! Pathetic really!

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 07/08/2013 18:35:33    1455821

One thing Kerry knew Cavan were not going to come and play football.
They went through the motions against a vastly inferior team who played 13 men behind the ball.Game was won at half time and couldnt raise their game in the 2nd half(rightly or wrongly)

We will see a very different Kerry attitude and more exciting play against Dublin. If that will be enough is another mattrer.

Kerry dont play the swashbuckling carefree football that they did 10 years ago but football moves on. but given the opposition Kerry will ultimately try and play a more open exciting game of football.

PPl may cut their performance against Cavan...but no disrespect to Cavan, San Mariona and Liechestein made more of an effort attacking wise than Cavan did in that 1st half.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 07/08/2013 18:48:28    1455835

"Hateful" "biased" "soft All Ireland" "loud mouths"

Sure, you're a fierce magnanimous fella alright, JMK. Yerra.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 07/08/2013 18:56:48    1455845

Do you always just highlight certain phrases out of context for the sake of an argument?

And are you really that disillusioned that you don't think you are being biased? Good man!

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 07/08/2013 19:06:04    1455853

Traditionally, yes, they are the purists of the game. We can argue until the cows come home, but in my years watching football, they have played the best, most attractive stuff, and comfortably at that. An honourable mention to Dublin also.

Right now, they are far from puritst. They were cynical against Cavan, and played some downright boring football.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 07/08/2013 19:21:31    1455868

One of the greatest lines of guff we ever hear from Kerry is that enjoy seeing Cork win All Irelands ( the real feelings are given away through things like"soft All Ireland" though).Well I couldn't care less if you say you want Cork to win All Irelands, I know it eats Kerry people up to see us win anything. It is done to be used as an excuse why we should not criticise their sneaky strokes, thier dirty play, their diving, their blanket defence (which they say they never do, of course) their intimidation of match officalss, their constant whinging , their criticism of the media who they in turn exploit to the hilt to conduct their variousand frequent media campaigns. We've seen through your bulls**t a long time ago, I'm just gald that the rest of the country is waking up to it.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 07/08/2013 19:37:06    1455885

KeyserSoze

One of the greatest lines of guff we ever hear from Kerry is that enjoy seeing Cork win All Irelands ( the real feelings are given away through things like"soft All Ireland" though).Well I couldn't care less if you say you want Cork to win All Irelands, I know it eats Kerry people up to see us win anything. It is done to be used as an excuse why we should not criticise their sneaky strokes, thier dirty play, their diving, their blanket defence (which they say they never do, of course) their intimidation of match officalss, their constant whinging , their criticism of the media who they in turn exploit to the hilt to conduct their variousand frequent media campaigns. We've seen through your bulls**t a long time ago, I'm just gald that the rest of the country is waking up to it.

Two nasty chips on your shoulder there buddy

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 07/08/2013 19:48:24    1455895

Where have Kerry person, media etc ever said they were the purists of the game? Even look at this thread where are most of the people who make the claim from?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 07/08/2013 19:55:16    1455904

JMK-Kerry, I was with you until you showed your bias(just like Keyshore) and said Cork won a soft All-Ireland; nobody wins a soft All-Ireland; Cork beat every team put in front of them (including the teams that beat Kerry, Tyrone ect.). You spent all that time to write a sensible, well thought out post and then let an obvious wind-up artist expose you.

mps17 (USA) - Posts: 13 - 07/08/2013 19:56:07    1455905