Kerry are the purists of the game

You might have something there hill16man. It just might work.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/08/2013 17:09:27    1453499

LiosTuathail

No need to be bitter? says the guy starting a thread clearly having a dig at Kerry, Mickey Ned says this and then show the image, im sure if Galvin 'rugby tackled' the cavan player, god knows it would have been highlighted often on tv, esp BBC2, could BBC2 be any more bias if they tried! Well its there to be seen the constant fouling etc from Tyrone in particular over the past two matches, hence the shocking outburst from Brolly! Lets face it if once the rules are in place to allow free flowing games with lesser frees the more skilled teams will flourish!
-----------------------
We will benefit nicely from any such changes.We have had many skillful players stymied by this crap ourselves over the years.Canavan,O'Neill,Mc Guigan,Jordan,Dooher and the list is endless really.Constantly targeted to be stopped so please stop your hypocrisy.If Donaghy had got a penalty yesterday not one of yez would be complaining.Yez would all be saying "howl now! howl now! thats up to referee". So just shut up............Nobody better at cynical tackling than Seamus Moynihan,Tom O'Sullivan,Liam Haslett,Galvin and the list is endless really.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 05/08/2013 17:16:23    1453510

KingdomBoy1

You might have something there hill16man. It just might work.

doubt it would go down to well with the kerry public,showing a sign of weekeness and fear by adopting them tactics against us

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/08/2013 17:18:05    1453515

I know what you mean hill man , I for 1 wouldn't like us to use those tactics and I honestly don't think Eamon would stoop to those levels, hopefully we'll have a shoot out and may the best team win.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/08/2013 17:31:20    1453537

Kerry have been playing 15 men behind the ball or a blanket defence for ages. But it's not blanket defence with them, you see, it's "clever defending"

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 05/08/2013 20:28:34    1453778

I found it hard to understand what the game plan was against Cavan. They played in 2nd gear for first 20min and rest of the game seemed to just sit back and wait for Cavan to come onto them when they were 7 or 8 points up. Surely this isn't their plan for the Dubs. This could see the end of Kerry for another 11 years come the end of sept. 1st

Another famine awaits Kerry thank god

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 05/08/2013 21:48:57    1453893

Embarrassing stuff. Poor aul Mickey he has the best of intentions but mouth works more quickly than brain. Please remember we don't all blindly follow this delusion down here. What about O Mahony getting Donncha O Connor sent off with a dive in 2008 semi. We've been cynical at least since Aontroim came to Páirc an Chrócaigh all wide eyed in 1946 and we'll be at it again.

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 05/08/2013 21:56:50    1453913

Yes ismise and gaelantrim Sligo got a penalty and scored in the isolated Finian Hanley incident. The Meath corner forward and Monaghan's McManus got basically nothing from Cavanagh who committed rugby tackles two weeks running when a player was in on goal. Difference is this is isolated from the likes of Cork and Galway where it is part of Tyrone's DNA. It is well known among the general footballing populace that in terms of the North only Down traditionally play good football. No coincidence that Down have failed to win Ulster for years. They are an exception to the rule up there.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 05/08/2013 21:57:24    1453917

There's a comment on this thread calling Kerry people pathetic...they may take a lot of flack, but their gesture to Mickey Harte was one of the most moving things I've ever seen, and it confirms what I've always thought of Kerry...as fine a group of people you will meet anywhere.There's a comment on this thread calling Kerry people pathetic...they may take a lot of flack, but their gesture to Mickey Harte was one of the most moving things I've ever seen, and it confirms what I've always thought of Kerry...as fine a group of people you will meet anywhere.There's a comment on this thread calling Kerry people pathetic...they may take a lot of flack, but their gesture to Mickey Harte was one of the most moving things I've ever seen, and it confirms what I've always thought of Kerry...as fine a group of people you will meet anywhere. And for the record, Kerry were as dull as dishwater yesterday.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 05/08/2013 21:57:25    1453918

Whatever about cynical fouling Kerry are no better or worse than most others but where they leave the rest well behind is in "going to ground" easily or in most cases going to ground for no reason whatsoever. In some sports this is called diving, no wonder their training sessions are behind closed doors.

daradasi (Wicklow) - Posts: 120 - 05/08/2013 21:58:17    1453919

How long has it been now down star 20 years? Lol

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/08/2013 21:59:45    1453923

Kerry, unfortunately, were the most cynical team over the weekend. They just did all their fouling well out the pitch. Tyrone were cynical too. But consistently cynical over the 70 mins, Kerry were the worst.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2573 - 06/08/2013 08:05:55    1453927

If Kerry play a blanket defence that's their own business. I don't see any problem with it as any team would be foolish not to defend in the most effective way possible when not in possession. Just as important is how a team attacks when in possession and is the secret to success. Judging from what we've seen so far this year Mayo have been by far the most impressive. They defend in great numbers when not in possession, but also storm up the field in great numbers when in possession to produce the most scintillating displays of attacking football one could wish to see. I'm sorry but I can't see anything negative about about this style of football.

kerryhound (Kerry) - Posts: 37 - 06/08/2013 09:33:14    1453965

I don't agree icedishonesty

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/08/2013 10:08:58    1453990

Kerryhound I agree with you 100%. I don't think there is a greater sight on a Sunday afternoon than watching a team break at speed and numbers with runners off the shoulders.

It's this holier than thou attitude that annoys me. Kerry would like to think they play football with 6 forwards constantly in the opposition half and never commit a cynical foul. It's the hypocrisy which bugs me here.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 06/08/2013 12:28:07    1454144

Goalkeeper 6 backs 2midfielders and 6forwards that the way we play, ye should try it up north some time , ye might actually like it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/08/2013 12:41:01    1454166

KingdomBoy1

Goalkeeper 6 backs 2midfielders and 6forwards that the way we play, ye should try it up north some time , ye might actually like it.
-----------------------------------------
When goalkeeper 6 is backing the 2 mid fielders do the other 5 goal keepers just stay on the goal line to protect it.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 06/08/2013 12:53:02    1454192

KingdomBoy Here is how the game went. Cavan used a man out the pitch for most of the game, leaving two in their full forward line. Kerry pushed up, going man on man up the field, particularly on kickouts. If the kickout was won by a Kerryman, grand, they had numbers up and attacked at speed. If Cavan won the ball, Kerry fouled as quickly as possible in order to get a screen back in front of their full back line. Kerry never needed to commit fould inside their 45, asthey always had big numbers back by the time Cavan got the ball that far- on occasions the entire Kerry team being in their own half and Crowley playing directly in front of his full back. To systematically foul when Cavan won possession cannot be interpreted any way other than as cynical. Kerry just had it down to an art and did it far out the pitch. Galvin and Declan O'Sullivan must have given away 5 fouls each, and Darren O'Sullivan got a belt for rugby tackling a Cavan player in the first half. A less tolerant ref and a better team and Kerry will be tested severely.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2573 - 06/08/2013 12:53:33    1454193

I wonder why should any team play in a 6-2-6 formation. Surely the formation a team play in should reflect the type of players available to them. After-all a manager cant buy a player on the transfer market to fit the system he wants. If a team has the players to play 6-2-6 well and good but I don't think it necessarily suits everyone. A 5-4-5, 6-4-4, 8-4-2 or 5-5-4 system can be just as effective if it suits the players available. Even Kerry who supposedly play a 6-2-6 system need to be flexible in their approach, hence defenders often bomb forward in support of the attack and likewise forwards come back to bolster their defence.

kerryhound (Kerry) - Posts: 37 - 06/08/2013 13:34:34    1454240

Haters gonna hate...

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 06/08/2013 13:52:02    1454258