Kerry are the purists of the game

THE EXTRAMAN

Watching kerry yesterday was like watching paint dry. At least when the ulster sides do it its with intensity. You are fooling no one with this purist crap. Your as bad or should i say good as the rest at it

ya you get lot more fouling, more off the ball stuff and thats what the gaa is all about?

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 05/08/2013 12:29:07    1453092

THE EXTRAMAN

Watching kerry yesterday was like watching paint dry. At least when the ulster sides do it its with intensity. You are fooling no one with this purist crap. Your as bad or should i say good as the rest at it

and watch cavin players trying to rise galvin, thats what the gaa is all about??

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 05/08/2013 12:31:07    1453095

I've seen blanket defences in the past, but never seen 15 players behind the ball as Kerry did yesterday numerous times. Purists? Man for man? Attacking football? Don't make me laugh, Kerry are every bit as negative and defensive as anyone in the country.

Tip of the hat to them though they deserved their win yesterday hands down. But they play negative football. This myth about them being the last bastions of free flowing football was laid bare for all to see yesterday.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 05/08/2013 12:32:47    1453100

It has been a long time since Kerry played free flowing football. In fact if you ever watch old games you will see Spillane is chief culprit of popping up on his own 21...a bit far away from where a half forward should be playing according to him.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 05/08/2013 12:45:53    1453125

Sergeant_Slash

I've seen blanket defences in the past, but never seen 15 players behind the ball as Kerry did yesterday numerous times. Purists? Man for man? Attacking football? Don't make me laugh, Kerry are every bit as negative and defensive as anyone in the country.

Tip of the hat to them though they deserved their win yesterday hands down. But they play negative football. This myth about them being the last bastions of free flowing football was laid bare for all to see yesterday.

Kerry played ye at ye're own game and ye had no answer, simple as. Take your beating and move on.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 05/08/2013 12:56:18    1453141

During the noughties, many a game Kerry played was free flowing, what about Galway in 08, the 2 Monaghon games, hard hitting but free flowing from both sides for that matter, Dublin 09 too. yes not every game is free flowing due tot he way teams line out these days, teams including kerry must adjust accordingly but when a team goes all out on the rampage to outscore their opponents, no better opponents than kerry to try and outdo them milkman

LiosTuathail (Kerry) - Posts: 216 - 05/08/2013 12:59:27    1453151

I'd love to know where Ulster teams hope to go playing this brand of football? It certainly won't deliver Sam and it is not sustainable with the rule changes coming. Yes all teams in the modern game play with 12/13 players behind the ball. But there is a Grand Canyon of difference between the way Tyrone play and Mayo play. Only three teams left with any hope of winning the AI.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 05/08/2013 13:56:39    1453228

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

Sergeant_Slash

Kerry played ye at ye're own game and ye had no answer, simple as. Take your beating and move on.

While i accept Kerry were deserved victors and wish them all the best in the semi final, i think that comment needs to be explained. When at any stage did cavan have all 15 men in their own half of the field?

The game Kerry have given out about for years was taken to a new level yesterday - BY KERRY!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5245 - 05/08/2013 14:16:54    1453255

The kerry minors yesterday were as negative and cynical as any team - i hate this term the purist - T. Kennelly trying to break the Cork man's jaw in th 09 final - purist!!!!

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 05/08/2013 14:34:46    1453269

The Kerry senior forwards are experts at fouling the opposition in the middle third and in the opposing team's defence. Declan And Darren O'Sullivan both did two of these fouls yesterday. The media rarely pick up on it. Watch out for this "tactic" v Dublin, stopping the quick counter-attack for long enough to get the blanket in place.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 05/08/2013 14:55:42    1453301

11 years people are waiting to get that picture...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/08/2013 15:12:02    1453327

Ye are gone wumming mad now lads, ye can say what ye want ye are intitled to ye'r opinions but ye are as wrong as ye'r arses, we are a brilliant team that have been dragged down to northern levels with the exception of co down who play good football. ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/08/2013 15:30:24    1453351

Really poor yesterday, very disappointed in the way we played second half.

I think treads like this are just childish and it gives the same auld lads with
a certain agenda the chance to vent there dislike of Kerry.

If we lose on Sept 1st then we will be hearing the same lads celebrating.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 05/08/2013 15:43:31    1453370

THE EXTRAMAN

Kings of loving yourseslfs id say. Lisenting to kerry supporters behind be yesterday was painfull. On the reality side what i saw yesterday when the final few old heads retire kerry have a very bleak future ahead. Nothing coming through

Id love to know what people base the ''Kerrt have nothing coming through'' Dublin and Ulster posters are very fond of it, do ye go to every Kerry underage game? If you dont then whats it based on?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 05/08/2013 16:04:25    1453392

I fancy Dublin to beat Kerry but let me say this loud and clear when it comes to football Kerry are the kings and they are the purists for sure,this may not be a vintage Kerry team but they will take a hell of a lot of shifting mark my words

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 353 - 05/08/2013 16:14:07    1453409

YouTube is a great source for cynical football examples.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=M3g1bep2Txo

IsMise (Tyrone) - Posts: 119 - 05/08/2013 16:23:12    1453416

Sound man monkstown rebel1, and moomoo is spot on, nobody knows what we got coming through at Underage.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/08/2013 16:44:32    1453448

Ah yes Ismise, the beautiful traditionalists of Galway and Cork. You wouldn't catch them at that auld Northern Rugby tackle nonsense.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 05/08/2013 16:47:42    1453452

cannot agree kerry are the purists not anymore.
yesterday they played 15 men in their own half alot of the time even the sunday game highlighted this for once.
starnge to see kerry adopting defencsive gameplan maybe were practicising for trying to stop dublin like donegal did in 2011

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/08/2013 16:59:08    1453472

Are my eyes decieving me? Sides other than Northern sides commiting cynical fouls? It's clearly a video edit or something

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 05/08/2013 17:01:38    1453477