Trouble in upper Cusack

I would sometimes have 2-3 pints before a game in Croke Park and then walk down to the Stadium. I can not figure out why someone would want to be tanked going to a GAA game. How can they concentrate? You could understand a few young lads alright but its some of the older ones I do be amazed at.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11689 - 06/08/2013 15:30:04    1454397

Still awaiting substantial evidence for these claims athcliath!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 06/08/2013 15:56:41    1454436

And by the way Bumpernut...."fiat una unum cognoscat"

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 06/08/2013 16:07:39    1454455

@ JimBobDub I cannot really remember how many Cork/Kerry matches I have been at over the last 30+ years, but it has been an awful lot, and I have never once seen a physical altercation between a Cork and Kerry fan. Not once. Now, I'd shout for the devil himself aginst Kerry, I'd even shout for the Dubs (God forgive me) but I cannot fling such an accusation against them, but shur maybe you know more about what happens at games between Cork and Kerry than me. I have noticed the undercurrent of physical menace at games we have had against Dublin and one or two of the Ulster teams though.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 06/08/2013 16:14:26    1454468

Please stick to the topic at hand anything off topic will not be posted.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 06/08/2013 16:18:35    1454474

06/08/2013 13:18:03
Ciarrai Abu
County: Overseas

Unfortunately this seems to have crept into our game over the last number of years and continues to be the same counties "fans" offending!

Worst I ever experienced was our own and Corcaigh fans at 2008 s-f draw. So, unto you Keyzer too, I say glass houses...

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 06/08/2013 17:06:20    1454548

That would have been the day of the infamous Aidan O'Mahony dive. That happened down the Hill 16 end of the Cusack Stand, I was up the other end of Cusack that day so didn't actually see what happened at the time. If I had seen it at the time it would have driven me apoplectic alright, but was there any actual violence up that end or was it all just angry words and shaping up?

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 06/08/2013 17:23:39    1454575

Were these tyrone fans fighting in 705 from derrytresk by any chance? some carry on last year versues dromid pearses ..

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 871 - 06/08/2013 17:42:13    1454599

Ah in fairness no violence, but fans escorted out after 2 visits by the maoir and finally the gardaí. It was nipped in the bud. It consisted of 3 partially hinged blood-and-bandages supporters, but then they were matched by the unadulterated lunatic from Ciarraí. The saving grace was that they were separated in seating by ordinary decent punters from both sides (and 2 Maigh Eo lads who were there for the minors, who sat gobsmacked throughout the whole thing). I have to say there was an element of humour too- after about 5 minutes we were all hoping for wides, because as soon as one was kicked by one county, 30-40 heads would swivel in delicious anticipation to watch the foam-mouthed purple-faced jig of delight from the relevant nutcase.

There was one other incident I saw and though it was a man from your county that was guilty it could've been anyone. On terrace for 2009 Munster s-f. There was a Corcach a few steps in front of us screaming at all the injustices. I'm no Victorian but one must say his language was shocking- liberal use of the word coconut minus a few letters. A Ciarraíoch in front of him had a young fella with him and after 10 minutes asked him (reasonably) if he could perhaps cut out some of the obscenities. Five minutes later Gooch misses a penalty (yet again) in front of us, and yer man bounds down the steps to scream Joe McMahon-style in the father's face. Didn't raise a hand, but let's just say it lacked class!

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 06/08/2013 17:44:21    1454605

Ah shur, that's all par for the course at Cork/Kerry matches. Many's the time I have had Kerrymen screaming bulge-eyed in my face about what Niall Cahalane did to some fella 20 or 25 years earlier or something along the lines of how the suspensions that Galvin, Tomás et al have got are somehow due to a conspiracy concocted by Cork. Shur all you can do is agree with the looper that by virtue of him being born in Kerry that he knows more about football than you do and agree with him that Kerry do indeed have 36 All Irelands.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 06/08/2013 18:15:49    1454636

TheGateKeeper

1454436 Still awaiting substantial evidence for these claims athcliath!

Donegal lad gave about mayo supporters on another page, first 3 posters from mayo said if it happened they were sorry. Dont like to see it in the game.
I know what I and a lot of people seen and posted about it , yet first 3 tyrone supporters on here ,one denied it ever happened,next said b..shi. and next wanted video evidence.
Im not slagging your county ,But im not gonna say nothing in case it offends a few of you lads who like cacs has no problem labelling other counties.. I was gargling with 2 tyrone lads Saturday night and said it to them. Every county has head cases who step over the line. Im not saying you have any more or any less. I had a problem on Saturday because there was more than one or two involved and the truth is the atmosphere was bad. The carry on of both sets of fans in upper cusack was a disgrace. I've told many a Dub to shut up or sit down if they were giving abuse to another county.
And ye know what ye can do with your video evidence.

cusack was a disgrace ,
N

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 06/08/2013 18:38:11    1454658

Look Thegatekeeper it happened in 705 on Saturday night. Two thugs had a go at a couple of kids for kicking the back of their chair the father of the kids took them to task over their behaviour towards his children as any father would. The family got up to leave and the father got punched. Two dubs broke it up and the guards removed the thugs it was a total disgrace. Athcliath has sensationalised the incident to make it something to do between monaghan and tyrone supporters which it was not. In regard to the atmosphere in 705 it seemed ok to me with the exception of the loud mouthed dub in the back row who roared his head of throughout the Dublin game fing and blinding despite the number of children present and the 3 other Dublin supporters who had a go at each other at half time in the Dublin game in the passageway down from the stand.

Skillful_Bill (Tyrone) - Posts: 102 - 06/08/2013 19:09:44    1454697

Skillful_Bill

1454697 Look Thegatekeeper it happened in 705 on Saturday night. Two thugs had a go at a couple of kids for kicking the back of their chair the father of the kids took them to task over their behaviour towards his children as any father would. The family got up to leave and the father got punched. Two dubs broke it up and the guards removed the thugs it was a total disgrace. Athcliath has sensationalised the incident to make it something to do between monaghan and tyrone supporters which it was not. In regard to the atmosphere in 705 it seemed ok to me with the exception of the loud mouthed dub in the back row who roared his head of throughout the Dublin game fing and blinding despite the number of children present and the 3 other Dublin supporters who had a go at each other at half time in the Dublin game in the passageway down from the stand.

Get a grip man, two sets hopping abuse at each other and all you could hear was a loud mouthed Dub in a back row. There was a mouthy Dub alright near the entrance and he is the thick who caused people to stop on the steps and of which I was embarresed as a Dub to see.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 06/08/2013 20:55:41    1454831

Fair enough skillful_Bill, I accept you're version of events.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 06/08/2013 21:00:16    1454842

Athclaith you started this thread making claims of physical confrontation between monaghan and tyrone fans a claim which I know to be wrong. I can only assume you seen an incident which looked like it would fit your bias towards monaghan and tyrone fans. Your thread has resulted in 6 pages of tyrone bashing and you now tell me that tyrone and monaghan people where hopping pf each other. Any banter that went on in 705 between supporters was no more or more less than you expect in a closely fought game. Especially when one of the teams involved are on a run that their supporters haven't experienced in such a long time. I can tell you that when the dust settles monaghan supporter's will be behind tyrone just as if monaghan had won I would behind them as the only ulster team left in the competition. You have presented no evidence to justify this thread and by your own admission some of the dublin supporters behaviour was anything but good.

Skillful_Bill (Tyrone) - Posts: 102 - 06/08/2013 21:52:58    1454944

Yeah Dubfan and my da is bigger than your da, catch yourself on will you. You're the one who was insinuating that all those who reside the other side of the border that exists in your mind all think like a bunch of drunken eejits.

Nothing like sterotyping eh!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 07/08/2013 11:35:25    1455181

the exception of the loud mouthed dub in the back row who roared his head of throughout the Dublin game fing and blinding despite the number of children present and the 3 other Dublin supporters who had a go at each other at half time in the Dublin game in the passageway down from the stand.

Complete lies... your're a liar

Where's your video evidence...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 07/08/2013 11:43:58    1455207

Yeah Dubfan and my da is bigger than your da, catch yourself on will you. You're the one who was insinuating that all those who reside the other side of the border that exists in your mind all think like a bunch of drunken eejits.

Nothing like sterotyping eh!

I posted about an experience I had with some drunken louts that seem to think they had a lock on Irish Patriotism and only they could consider themselves true Irishmen based on the part of our Island that they grew up in and their experiences. They know nothing about me or my family or how "Irish" or "Patriotic" we are or are not. You just proved my point and the point of many posters on this forum that many of the Northern Posters defend all actions by your fellow 6 county residents no matter how bad just because you feel we can't imagine the struggles you have had to deal with and that gives you a free pass. Where was your condemnation of them? I can guarantee you that you would be one of the first to condemn any loutish actions by Dublin fans. The diatribe they shouted in my direction was hateful, sickening and showed them for who they really are.

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 07/08/2013 16:01:19    1455598

Yesterday in lower Cusack I witnessed something I've never seen before. I was in s.305 and there were a few Cork lads 4 or 5 rows in front of me who celebrated when O'Dwyer was (rightly) sent off. Now these lads were no more than 14 or 15 years old. Water bottles, threats and abuse rained down on them from a middle aged man in a Dublin tracksuit top. The abuse included - I am not making this up- "loyalist pigs" and "orange ********" along with threats that he would get them at the final whistle. The brave patriot kept up these threats and abuse intermittently for the rest of the match at which point the young lads scuttled away quickly looking back to see if the brave patriot was coming after them, though he only did with his eyes and potty mouth. Never saw Cork fans at the end of abuse like that before. Remarkable.

However ugly that was, something else in s.305 was hilarious. An angry fat fool in a Kilkenny jersey rained abuse down on the ref for about two full minutes after the conclusion of the match - the Cork/Dublin match. I enjoyed seeing that. Icing on the cake

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 12/08/2013 15:17:00    1459673

KeyserSoze

Yesterday in lower Cusack I witnessed something I've never seen before. I was in s.305 and there were a few Cork lads 4 or 5 rows in front of me who celebrated when O'Dwyer was (rightly) sent off. Now these lads were no more than 14 or 15 years old. Water bottles, threats and abuse rained down on them from a middle aged man in a Dublin tracksuit top. The abuse included - I am not making this up- "loyalist pigs" and "orange ********" along with threats that he would get them at the final whistle. The brave patriot kept up these threats and abuse intermittently for the rest of the match
at which point the young lads scuttled away quickly looking back to see if the brave patriot was coming after them, though he only did with his eyes and potty mouth. Never saw Cork fans at the end of abuse like that before. Remarkable.

However ugly that was, something else in s.305 was hilarious. An angry fat fool in a Kilkenny jersey rained abuse down on the ref for about two full minutes after the conclusion of the match - the Cork/Dublin match. I enjoyed seeing that. Icing on the cake

how could anybody believe that story haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/08/2013 15:20:50    1459676