Trouble in upper Cusack

I am going to croke park and other gaa grounds all over Ireland to watch both hurling and football A long time now
have in A few heated discussions but never any thing more than that any Tyrone or other supporters that have been
in rows at games that I have seen always tent to be soccer men/women or band waggon yes men/women that don't even
pay membership to any gaa club.
The ticket master/soccer band waggon supporters.

TYRONE_MICK (Tyrone) - Posts: 332 - 05/08/2013 17:00:50    1453476

I am going to croke park and other gaa grounds all over Ireland to watch both hurling and football A long time now
have been in A few heated discussions but never any thing more than that any Tyrone or other supporters that have been
in rows at games that I have seen always tent to be soccer men/women or band waggon yes men/women that don't even
pay membership to any gaa club.
The ticket master/soccer band waggon supporters.

TYRONE_MICK (Tyrone) - Posts: 332 - 05/08/2013 17:03:13    1453482

you can take the top 1 down

TYRONE_MICK (Tyrone) - Posts: 332 - 05/08/2013 17:14:51    1453507

As I have mentioned before. All ireland final in 2011, Gooch got the goal , I jumped up to celebrate and before I had even landed back down there was a Dub throwing a punch at me (full to the gills with porter and a look on his face like he was staring in a scene from Braveheart)

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 05/08/2013 19:40:35    1453711

Rosineri1
County: UK
whats the offical GAA line with letting people who appear intoxicated into a game?

They make them umpires.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 05/08/2013 20:02:07    1453742

woops

As I have mentioned before. All ireland final in 2011, Gooch got the goal , I jumped up to celebrate and before I had even landed back down there was a Dub throwing a punch at me (full to the gills with porter and a look on his face like he was staring in a scene from Braveheart)
------
Did this happen on Hill16?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 05/08/2013 20:30:55    1453783

@Marlon_JD class lol

60000 people you are bound to get a few idiots. Its horrible to see especially with families there. I've been to a lot of games and never seen anything other than a bit of banter. I've always felt safe bringing my two daughters to Croker.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 05/08/2013 20:53:53    1453809

Been saying it for years but thats Tyrone for ya! Never witnesses anything but abuse when they play.

dgl2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 26 - 06/08/2013 10:01:13    1453984

I have just seen this thread. Disgraceful behaviour. I am sure genuine supporters in Muineachán agus Tír Eoghain would agree with me when I say these people should do us all a favour and stay at home in future.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 06/08/2013 10:15:16    1454001

Marlon that is priceless

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 06/08/2013 12:09:33    1454116

We've had a few meetings with Tyrone over the past 3 years and I've never found their fans to be anything other than spot on. Good craic, knowledgeable fans and gracious. Their bandwagoners probably wouldn't be rushing down the road to get to a tie against Roscommon, so that probably helps but I can't fault any of them I've ever come across.

decky (Roscommon) - Posts: 384 - 06/08/2013 12:23:13    1454133

In lower Hogan I was unfortunate enough to be sitting a few rows ahead of a group of male Tyrone supporters in their 20s and 30s who seemed to be undergoing some sort of immersive anger management therapy. When Martin Penrose was sent off a Monaghan supporter in front of me rose to his feet to cheer and one of these - obviously also short-sighted - supporters proceeded to send forth a torrent of foul-mouthed abuse down on me - sitting beside my elderly parents. The same group of "fans" continued haranguing supporters even during the Dublin match until they were warned by a steward who himself was verbally abused.
There were also a lot of mostly very young drunken Monaghan fans around and a group of Tyrone fans calling a Garda a "Free State" f*cker under the Hogan between the two matches.

Mike Patton (Monaghan) - Posts: 82 - 06/08/2013 12:34:12    1454154

Tyrone have that element in their support. They've always had it as long as I've been going.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 06/08/2013 13:08:49    1454213

Unfortunately this seems to have crept into our game over the last number of years and continues to be the same counties "fans" offending!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 06/08/2013 13:18:03    1454228

It does happen... sure the Cork and Kerry lads were baiting the head off each other a few years back

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 06/08/2013 13:36:31    1454243

Was at the North American championships over here a few years back and took unreal abuse from a bunch of paraletic drunk Tyrone/McAnespies supporters just because I was wearing an Ireland soccer Jersey. The RACIST (freestate Bast**d, West Brit, etc. etc.) abuse I put up with which the American members of our club couldn't understand as they thought we were all from the same country.....Maybe its better we are not?

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 06/08/2013 13:46:32    1454249

As I said before a lot of it - most of it probably - is down to drink. You get the odd lone lunatic but most trouble comes from groups of young and not so young fellas who have sometimes been drinking for 6/7 hours before games.

Curiously Dublin actually suffers less from this as the sort of gangs of young fellas who cause hassle almost invariably have no interest in GAA or indeed any other sport, so the sort of trouble that used to attach itself to the Hill and LOI games has more or less disappeared. Don't get me wrong, we still have our proportionate share of idiots but gangs of drunk young fellas are not as much a feature of the Hill as they are on big days involving other counties when people have sometimes been drinking on trains and buses since early in the morning.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 06/08/2013 13:56:24    1454268

Have to say I have always found the Tyrone supporters among the most genuine in the game.

Sure there was a lot (an awful lot) of whinging done about the defeats to Dublin & Meath in 95 & 96 but I think most of that came from the management and squad but when we played them in 07 and beat them several fans made an effort to come across and shake hands after the match in a defeat that couldn't have been easy.

Similarly last week it was a case of "Tough game better team one" between most sets of fans. For me what I like about them is they know what it takes to succeed and I would have to say they're better behaved at games (before and after) than supporters of the counties to my immediate north east and south east.

Real_Slim_Shady (Meath) - Posts: 153 - 06/08/2013 13:58:26    1454272

As I said in a previous post the problem is more to do with the level of alcohol consumed before and during matches in croke park. The GAA is partly to blame by putting commercial interests in front of safety concerns. The old croke park had no public bar facilities so why does the new croke park have such bar facilities and beer vendors. Lads head down get tanked up before hand and the GAA top's them up while they are in the stadium. Stand out side any nightclub the length and breath of the country and you will see the results. We are asking for trouble and we are going to adventualy get it. This issue is no way peculiar to Tyrone support and is the same for every successful county. I have seen it with monaghan cavan armagh dublin cork kerry donegal down donegal the lot.

Skillful_Bill (Tyrone) - Posts: 102 - 06/08/2013 13:59:01    1454275

Dubfan Abroad,

In vino veritas...!!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 06/08/2013 15:04:56    1454359