Trouble in upper Cusack

But between Tyrone supporters.

that makes it even worse

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 05/08/2013 10:24:51    1452894

As a Tyrone fan im not denying that the incident happened- these things happen in lots of games all round the Country involving many County's. 1 or 2 supporters get carried away from time to time. Im not condoning it by any means.
However, It seems that any time Tyrone are involved, the incidents are magnified and blown out of proportion, whether this is supporters misbehaving or players cynically fouling, Players and the supporters are branded a disgrace.
This is a common occurrence now and almost every game Tyrone are involved in the media tend to focus on negatives instead of the positives of the game, fans from opposing County's then do the same. Its pathetic really that this is the case, so many people are hypnotised almost by the Southern Media and they latch on to these ideas that Tyrone are the cause of all things evil in the GAA. If they had any cop on and opened their eyes and thought for themselves for once they'd realise this goes on with every County.
Its gotten to the stage I cant listen to the Sunday game anymore. They do nothing for our game. In what other sport would you tune in for half time analysis and all you hear is about how bad the game has become, how unwatchable it is. There were some magnificent scores in the Tyrone game, from both teams, yet because Joe Brolly spat the dummy out there is no talk of them. Its about time them men are dumped and get a few players in who know something about the current game.

sam09 (Tyrone) - Posts: 339 - 05/08/2013 10:33:15    1452905

I also have issues with Tyrone supporters because after the meath game 2 weeks ago, I was trying to have a bit of banter with them after the game and I made reference to 1996 when Meath gave Tyrone a lesson in Hard HONEST FOOTBALL. Well I thought I was going to get a thump from behind from one of these lads they took it so badly. Tyrone supporters in my opinion are the most ungracious supporters in the county and have brought the horrible thing that is hissing booing into the GAA. And also when the final whistle blew on Saturday I saw the two Tyrone selectors jumping up and down in front of the Monoghan dugout and fist pumping to them as well.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 1015 - 05/08/2013 10:35:35    1452910

Drink and football do not mix well. Alcohol should not be served at games. Tea and sambos only.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 319 - 05/08/2013 10:37:45    1452913

Sitting just over from this. Was nothin short of a disgrace. .

themoderngame1 (Down) - Posts: 39 - 05/08/2013 10:39:21    1452917

BigJoe14

I also have issues with Tyrone supporters because after the meath game 2 weeks ago, I was trying to have a bit of banter with them after the game and I made reference to 1996 when Meath gave Tyrone a lesson in Hard HONEST FOOTBALL. Well I thought I was going to get a thump from behind from one of these lads they took it so badly. Tyrone supporters in my opinion are the most ungracious supporters in the county and have brought the horrible thing that is hissing booing into the GAA. And also when the final whistle blew on Saturday I saw the two Tyrone selectors jumping up and down in front of the Monoghan dugout and fist pumping to them as well.

Christ is there anything that's bad about the gaa that isn't Tyrone fault? Most of the booing i heard on Saturday came anytime we won a free kick i'm sure they weren't all dives.

duke_raul (Tyrone) - Posts: 993 - 05/08/2013 10:43:37    1452920

Not nice to hear but I'm afraid it happens in every County, I haven't witnessed anything like this before but I've been beside many obnoxious gobshites in the hill from my own County. Until a stadium full of Tyrone fans are starting fights we shouldn't be putting labels on their fans.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 05/08/2013 10:48:05    1452927

Lads, what the man saw, he saw. No conspiracies or witch hunts. Don't be so thin skined or paranoid.
All counties, especialy when they reach later stages, have gobshites who go to game for a piss up and cause trouble.
Personaly, over 25 years of following Kildare, I have been punched by a drunk Donegal fan, spat at and called a free state bastard by a Derry fan and had to listen to dogs abuse from certain elements following Meath, Dublin etc etc. And at times I have returned it, definitely with the Donegal fool. I have seen drunk Lily fans shame my county or their club.
BUT the vast majority of the fans from all these counties that I have encountered over the years have been true decent Gaels. The Tyrone lads I meet in Newbridge a few weeks age were great craic and real fans. I go to a few Meath games with great Royals and have had some of the best craic with the Dubs.
But their seems to be a certain element becoming more common and it needs to be nipped in the bud, and we all need play our part.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 05/08/2013 10:51:39    1452931

BigJoe by the tone of your post - Hard HONEST FOOTBALL - it sounds as if most counties' supporters might have taken exception to your comments.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 05/08/2013 10:54:09    1452934

I'm no Tyrone fan - but i don't think we can blame Tyrone for the introduction of booing and hissing - this was around in the 70's and 80's and i think a group of supporters on the Hill used to do back then...... and as regards yesterday's games it was Kerry who were the most vocal with their booing - good considering they had the smallest support of the counties there yesterday....

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 05/08/2013 11:02:23    1452946

Commander - thank god for an honest impartial post.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 409 - 05/08/2013 12:21:11    1453073

One of problems on Saturday was the relatively late starting time which gave people hours to get tanked up. Was on Hill with daughter and her mate and it was pleasant enough. A lot of it is luck and avoiding standing beside fools!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 05/08/2013 12:58:58    1453149

cuchulainn35
County: Armagh

I'm no Tyrone fan - but i don't think we can blame Tyrone for the introduction of booing and hissing - this was around in the 70's and 80's and i think a group of supporters on the Hill used to do back then...... and as regards yesterday's games it was Kerry who were the most vocal with their booing - good considering they had the smallest support of the counties there yesterday....

You should've enjoyed it so .....

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 05/08/2013 13:11:38    1453170

I can't comment on the incident last Saturday , but I have been going to games for 30 years and in the 10 years the verbal abuse and some times nasty thuggish behaviour of some minority supporters from my own county leaves my feeling the sick to the pit of my stomach even worse is a couple of lads that sometimes jump aboard our happy bandwagon tanked up ready to rumble one of whom should no better and if after the game their not content with abusing the opposition they turn on themselves I used to take my kids on big occasions but I wouldn't subject them to seeing and hearing the filth that these grown men come out with I also tend now a days to sit well away from this group as I know if winning or losing these guys have no interest in the game just the goading ......

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 05/08/2013 13:45:24    1453212

I seen a Tyrone man jump onto a Monaghan man knocking him to the ground too. Monaghan man done absolutely nothing as he was just going about his business at the time. Couldn't believe it when the Tyrone man got man of the match shortly after!! :)

white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 05/08/2013 14:02:12    1453238

Disgusting putting a label on fans, I have been at a few tyrone games been up in omagh in McGeeney's first league game, The quarter final in 2009, The two league matches in 2012 and the league and championship this year...Was at a few matches when they played before us and other than a one pleb they were all dead sound.

LillyLad (Kildare) - Posts: 65 - 05/08/2013 14:29:42    1453265

whats the offical GAA line with letting people who appear intoxicated into a game?

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 05/08/2013 14:40:48    1453276

There's no one county that doesn't have this problem to some degree. And to say "they're not [insert county] supporters", or "they're not GAA fans" is burying your head in the sand.

I think people like that need to not only be ejected, but charged with somesort of public order offense. I don't mind taking the mick, swearing, chanting and banter, but violence or inciting violence or intimdating innocent fans needs to be dealt with.
Also, I think if whichever county's fans is acting up like this, their other fans need to have a word with them - let them know that they're giving your county a bad name and that's not what you're about.

Texas (Donegal) - Posts: 163 - 05/08/2013 14:48:25    1453284

ged
County: Louth

Drink and football do not mix well. Alcohol should not be served at games. Tea and sambos only.

Just brink your flask of tae and cornbeef sambos with you.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 05/08/2013 16:13:07    1453407

I am going to croke park and other gaa grounds all over Ireland to watch both hurling and football A long time now
have in A few heated discussions but never any thing more than that any Tyrone or other supporters that have been
in rows at games that I have seen always tent to be soccer men/women or band waggon yes men/women that don't even
pay membership to any gaa club.
The ticket master/soccer band waggon supporters.

TYRONE_MICK (Tyrone) - Posts: 332 - 05/08/2013 17:00:42    1453475