Joe Brolly's sentiments

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QBhikkHoNcg
--------------------------------------------
The Galway mans tackle on the Sligo player here is worse than Cavanaghs.The other non Ulster team players look fairly good at the oul fouling here too Switec.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 04/08/2013 11:02:43    1452027

I think Tyrone probably get a harder time than any other team for the same indiscretions. I actually thought that Sean Kavanagh was quite honest afterwards in his interview with Newstalk. In that situation the defender has to do everything they can from stopping the other team from scoring a goal. If the GAA want to stop this from happening they need to introduce a last man rule.I cant see this happening any time soon because lets face it its being going on since 1884.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 04/08/2013 11:09:23    1452034

I agree with you arock but would that then lead to more diving in the game?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/08/2013 11:14:55    1452040

Well the ref only gave the yellow card...was Cavanaugh supposed to protest?

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1234 - 04/08/2013 11:51:58    1452070

Can I just make one small, incidental point in terms of the Sean Cavanagh incident v Monaghan

In a twisted way, you'd have to kinda admire it. He was absolutely out on his feet, totally fatigued. And yet he still had the presence of mind to see that McManus hadn't made it to the penalty square before he dragged him down. If he had got it even 3 yards wrong it would have been a penalty and Tyrone more than likely would be out of the c'ship.

So you'd have to admire it really. In fact I think this skill and timing contributed to him rightly getting motm. Plus I hear the IRFU are looking for a new defensive coach and schmidt has been alerted of cavanagh's availability.

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 04/08/2013 11:54:52    1452074

Maroonatic

1452010 The level of cynicism in modern day Gaelic football isn't the issue. Personally I think as a game its dull and boring and unwatchable over the course of 70 minutes. I'd sooner go out to the back garden and feed the birds. What is the issue was Brolly's intemperate attack on Sean Cavanagh and Mickey Harte.

Tend to agree with you there. Only football I watch now are games involving Dublin and knock out games at the end of the championship. Tyrone are an abomination but then the game itself is becoming an abomination. Rare that teams actually play the game in the manner Cork and Dublin did yesterday and Galway and Cork last week.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 04/08/2013 12:15:39    1452094

Brolly was 100% right with regards to what he said.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 04/08/2013 12:16:14    1452095

As a Monaghan man analysing yesterdays game you would have to say we were beaten by a better team. However, analysing the game as it was being played is different, as there were cynical incidents during the course of the match that had a direct bearing on the result: Gormley not being sent off for striking an opponent, Cavanagh for the rugby tackle being the main ones.

Definition of cynical: Showing contempt for accepted standards of honesty or morality by ones actions.

Tyrone for two weeks running have gained an advantage by employing cynical tactics with Sean Cavanagh being the main exponent on both occasions

There is the argument that every team does it and that it has always been part of the game, but that does not it right, and analysts (O Rourke, Spillane etc) are wrong not to condemn cynical play out of hand

The irony here is that the Tyrone "System" of play that was so successful in the last decade was borne out of repeated cynical acts received on them during the nineties, Tyrone folk of that generation know what it felt like then (if it was unpalatable and wrong then it should also be now)

The main thrust of Brolly's argument (although completely OTT) was right. Teams should not gain advantage by cynical play and it must stop and be punished properly immediately.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1069 - 04/08/2013 12:16:46    1452099

Brolly forgot to mention that Mickey Harte left Penrose on to get whatever punishment the ref would dish out. Other managers would have switched him at half time.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1234 - 04/08/2013 12:24:02    1452116

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mc9VY7BKKCw
-------------------------------------------
There ye go hurlingdub.....................ah the good old days.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 04/08/2013 12:29:31    1452125

very unfair the way Tyrone are getting all the blame here, every county and most clubs do the very same thing. while Brollys attack was way over the top and he should apologise for making it personal he is right that it is ruining the game. The black card should help but unless the address the disciplinary system and introduce match bans for accumulating yellow cards it will continue. On another note the way refs are implementing the advantage rule is baffling.

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 04/08/2013 12:59:44    1452153

Far too personal a rant for live TV in my view. But cheating such at this is a blight on our games and i agree with Brolly's main argument. It happens up and down the country but at intercounty level its probably fair to say that Tyrone have taken it to a new level. But lets be very clear. If a player such as Cavanagh or any other player for that matter, decides to rugby tackle on a GAA field there is little that can be done to stop him. The same is persistent in many many other field sports. Its known as a professional foul. But the difference with the GAA is the nature of punishment. In the GAA you receive a yellow card and a high five from your manager, in soccer etc, you receive a straight red card and a three match ban.

If the rules were as they should be, Cavanagh would of been faced with a decision before he cheated. He could either of attempted to tackle fairly and trusted his keeper or he could of taking the Monaghan player out and paying the punishment of missing the rest of the championship. In my view the above is a fair template for what constitutes addressing something that is impossible to prevent and adding a deterrent that sets out the consequences of such an action.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 04/08/2013 13:08:28    1452162

The rules need to be more clear, was it supposed to be a red card for Cavanagh or was it an error on the ref?

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1749 - 04/08/2013 13:09:07    1452164

The basis of Brolly's rant is understandable but he completely lost the run of himself and ended up looking like a drama queen. You'd swear Derry had just lost that game, he seemed to take it so personally. But great TV nevertheless!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8782 - 04/08/2013 13:18:51    1452176

Brolly was 100% right in what he said.....

Its about time someone branded Tyrone and Mickey Harte with their proper title....Cheaters!

Its appalling people are coming on here....justifying it. Cavanagh should have seen the line for that tackle. Terrible refereeing altogether. Thought Tyrone were the better team throughout but that moment should have been Tyrone down to 13 without arguably their best player. If he hadn't fouled most likely Monaghan would have scored a goal.

How is rewarding the cheat acceptable? Monaghan get a point instead of a goal.....Cavanagh saves the day.....turns 3 points into 1 point and stays on the pitch.

Brolly hit the nail on the head lads....I said it after last weeks game. Horrible, disgusting brand of football.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 04/08/2013 13:24:17    1452179

Brolly comments over the top , but sentiments that I agree with , there are cynical fouls and then theres That !
Moving away from Cavanagh and Tyrone and bringing it to a more open context where is the line ? Win at all costs ? Cheat ? Inflict whatever it takes ? What has to happen to a player before chiefs take notice ?
And make no bones about it your kids and my kids will resort to what they see on TV eventually , time for the GAA family to ask itself serious questions , not point blame or seek retribution , the game we all hope/ feel/ agree is the best field sport is on a precipice , what does it stand for ? What are its values ? The one oneupmanship tribal distain inability to see beyond ones counties results is strangling what used to be our beautiful game .
Point made by I think it was O Rourke how many players look like their actually enjoying themselves , don't know if thats due to pressure or the way their trained ? But christ almighty its an amateur sport , results are a serious business , playing shouldn't be .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/08/2013 13:27:07    1452183

Well done Sean, you just got your team through to the next round with your points and very clever decision making when bringing mc manus down!
This is gaa and you give you do all you can to win and this is what he did! Ask yourself this would you rather not bring mc manus down and lose or vice versa?

As for Shields grabbing the ball straight of the ground I see this as worse as he blatantly denied a goal whereas mc manus still had a keeper to beat and as dublin displayed yesterday this can quite difficult! Tyrone winners , monaghan losers! move on from what is imo an attack an unnecessary attack!

sumleftboot (Armagh) - Posts: 24 - 04/08/2013 13:37:24    1452189

The tackle by Cavanagh was ugly. No skill was involved. Anybody could bulldoze a man with the ball, wrap arms around him and bury him in the pitch.

mikeyjoe (USA) - Posts: 415 - 04/08/2013 13:41:06    1452193

JayP

Brolly was 100% right in what he said.....

Its about time someone branded Tyrone and Mickey Harte with their proper title....Cheaters!

Its appalling people are coming on here....justifying it. Cavanagh should have seen the line for that tackle. Terrible refereeing altogether. Thought Tyrone were the better team throughout but that moment should have been Tyrone down to 13 without arguably their best player. If he hadn't fouled most likely Monaghan would have scored a goal.

How is rewarding the cheat acceptable? Monaghan get a point instead of a goal.....Cavanagh saves the day.....turns 3 points into 1 point and stays on the pitch.

Brolly hit the nail on the head lads....I said it after last weeks game. Horrible, disgusting brand of football.

While i agree with your argument i don't agree with the negative association. Cheating is part and parcel of life and in sport its rife. If a team decides to cheat then so be it. They are welcome to cheat in my view. Its totally justified as if thats how you decide you want to conduct your business then so be it. The onus here is not on Tyrone or any other side it is on the GAA rulemakers. They are the ones with archaic rules, they are the ones who have left it so late to introduce changes, they are the one's that have an absolute shambles of a decision making process, they are the ones who have provided a platform where cheating is acceptable in our games and something that can be abused as a tactic. The issue of sporting ethics doesn't stand up for me as you can't expect all your peers to be as fair as you. Make the rules, then if you decide to cheat then make sure your aware of the consequences.

I don't expect the above to be universally supported, some feel the onus is on Tyrone etc etc, but i don't. The onus is on the GAA to make and enforce proper rules.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 04/08/2013 13:47:06    1452199

Folks please don't blame the players, blame the rules!! Cavanagh fouled the man and got a deserved yellow card. There is no professional foul in GAA. Is everyone honestly saying that lads like the Mc Gee brothers, Ger Brennan, Karl Lacey etc etc etc etc... wouldn't have done the same???

croker16 (Louth) - Posts: 349 - 04/08/2013 13:58:33    1452208