Brolly has now apologised to Sean and Swatragh CLG. We await his apology to Mickey and the matter will be closed.
IsMise (Tyrone) - Posts: 119 - 08/08/2013 17:27:22
I like your last sentence slayer, hopefully it will resonate with a few posters on here.
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 08/08/2013 17:36:23
Tyrone have a style of football not to everyone's liking. Beyond the myths, essentially their game is based open possession and in particular mobility giving and receiving and trying to break lines of defence. This is contrast to "Traditional" teams who are proponents of kicking long. Sean Cavanagh is with Matthew Donnelly Peter Harte and Mark Donnelly our main thrusts through oppositions defences. It stands to reason in the days of well coached teams that if you curtail their progress you hinder Tyrone's main weapon. This is in fact the case and the result is Tyrone would be the most checked, obstructed, blocked, pushed team in the country. When curtailed even with light between attacker a stray foot or drag and a tumble gets characterised as a dive. The stats suggest of the 8 teams in action last weekend Tyrone fouled the least. Yet Tyrone and Cavanagh have been vilified again.
Every pundit and most players (Including McManus) has said they would do the same. It's not a spectacle to see but all teams who want to advance do it. I'd be delighted to see such things punished not least because I think Tyrone will be the biggest benefactors. Funny Brolly led a similar charge at Mayo's door last year..........
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 08/08/2013 17:39:33
Tyronetim County: Tyrone Posts: 1125
1456870 Tyrone have a style of football not to everyone's liking. Beyond the myths, essentially their game is based open possession and in particular mobility giving and receiving and trying to break lines of defence. This is contrast to "Traditional" teams who are proponents of kicking long. Sean Cavanagh is with Matthew Donnelly Peter Harte and Mark Donnelly our main thrusts through oppositions defences. It stands to reason in the days of well coached teams that if you curtail their progress you hinder Tyrone's main weapon. This is in fact the case and the result is Tyrone would be the most checked, obstructed, blocked, pushed team in the country. When curtailed even with light between attacker a stray foot or drag and a tumble gets characterised as a dive. The stats suggest of the 8 teams in action last weekend Tyrone fouled the least. Yet Tyrone and Cavanagh have been vilified again.
Every pundit and most players (Including McManus) has said they would do the same. It's not a spectacle to see but all teams who want to advance do it. I'd be delighted to see such things punished not least because I think Tyrone will be the biggest benefactors. Funny Brolly led a similar charge at Mayo's door last year..........
------- I'm in the Sean Cavanagh camp myself on this I have to say but maybe you are over simplifying things. A lot of the bad feeling towards Tyrone is not just as a result of the Cavanagh incident but when you bear in mind that he did something similar the previous week, when you have two punches thrown, which should have resulted in two dismissals, and when you have O'Neill also sent off the previous week then you can see how the minuses are adding up and outweighing the pluses. My own memory of the game against Dublin in the group stages of the league is of a series of rugby tackles from Tyrone players in the last 10 - 15 mins when Dublin were chasing the game. I also remember Gormley sledging a Dublin player at the end of that game. Again these things all add up and that's how teams get reputations. Not meaning to jump on the Tyrone bashing bandwagon but sometimes teams have to reap what they sow.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4746 - 08/08/2013 18:26:30
All these players or former county players that say "they would do the same" are being asked a loaded question. The fact of the matter is that they haven't done it before, probably have never seen it done in their respective counties and I'm sure it certainly doesn't form part of their training sessions or pre match discussions. The only footballer who consistently does it also happens to be one of the best of his generation which is a great pity as this is what he will be remember for.
drumlinbelt (Monaghan) - Posts: 179 - 08/08/2013 19:25:30
Tyronetim County: Tyrone Posts: 1125
1456570 Conor McManus in today's paper says Brolly went to far and he like most pundits at the weekend said they would have done exactly the same.
Greengrass I'll discuss further later.
Tim, Joe Brolly did go too far. He has apologised for that. The manner in which he said what he said was highly and overly emotional. He had "lost it". The substance of what he said in relation to Sean Cavanagh's actions stands. Sean Cavanagh has committed the same cynical foul three weeks running in different areas of the field. He has been booked for the foul three weeks running. He has also shall we say gone down easily in each of the last three games. Have any of the players who have said they would do the same got that kind of record this year ? This type of behaviour is completely unacceptable and has to stop and stop now. I admire Sean Cavanagh as a footballer. I admire what he has achieved. I roared in support of Tyrone in '05 and '08 (apologies but I wanted Armagh to win in '03). I find his behaviour increasingly sickening as he does not need to do this.
Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 08/08/2013 19:53:59
Greengrass
Can you tell me the times when Cavanagh dived? I have only seen the incident against Meath which was CLEARLY not a dive. He had his heel clipped. Come back to me when you are able to run at full speed, have your heel clipped and stay on your feet.
Also, to the Monaghan person who says that players wouldn't have seen it in their own counties you must be having a laugh. You see it in nearly every game! Maybe not as obvious as Cavanagh but so many times do player make no attempt to play the ball when there is a goal chance on. It even happened in the Dublin v Cork game where a Cork man had a goal chance and had a Dublin player hanging off him. He managed to get a shot in but was off balance.
And if you think things like taking a man down if there is a goal chance is not spoken about in training or in team talks then I'm sorry but you are just naive.
Tyrone didnt invent this. The saying "a good free to concede" or a "good yellow card" or "he took that yellow card for the sake of the team" have been around a long long time.
benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 08/08/2013 20:48:12
The main thing I've gotten from this whole fiasco is the amount of eejits that don't take the time to spell Cavanagh's surname correctly. It's not rocket science lads
JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 08/08/2013 20:58:45
It is obvious you have an agenda Greengrass.How you can be so willing to publicly vilify an amateur football player is disturbing.All the more so since you think others who have committed similar indiscretions be given a pass.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/08/2013 21:35:02
This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.
Skillful_Bill Posts: 61 Tyrone 09/08/2013 11:18
Brolly's rant who benefits.......
Now that the dust has begun to settle on Brolly gate the question has to be asked who are the winners and losers and what are the motivations behind it. Does Gaelic Games benefit from the attention created after all there is no such thing as bad publicity Does Tyrone benefit as I am sure Mickey Harte will use the whole thing as a them against us motivation tool or will referees be unduly influenced against Tyrone. Does RTE benefit from a ratings boost as a result of the creation of a mini soap. Does Joe Brolly benefit from increased airtime and publicity. Was Joe's attack premeditated. Did he set it up the previous week by his criticisms of Tyrone v Meath and when Cavanagh made the foul was it manna from heaven for Brolly. Did the rant appear pre-scripted. Was the U16 story true or a prepared fabrication to support his theories. Was Brolly protecting his Job at RTE considering the growing array of younger annalists (Wheelan Earley etc.) and finally what really happened in Dallas that day was it a lone gunman.
Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 09/08/2013 11:33:46
Is there any credence to the criticism of our style of play - the so called cynicism?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Nah, just pure sour grapes
41%
Maybe just a little bit
41%
Empty vessels and all that
16%
Interesting stats from the Tyrone page re their style of play
Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 09/08/2013 11:35:49
seanie_boy County: Tyrone Posts: 2673
1457116 It is obvious you have an agenda Greengrass.How you can be so willing to publicly vilify an amateur football player is disturbing.All the more so since you think others who have committed similar indiscretions be given a pass. Sanctimony by the bucketful.. When you have nothing left to say accuse someone of having an agenda.
I have criticised Sean Cavanagh on the basis of what he has said and done. He has rugby tackled his opponents in three successive matches. He has said himself that he does this because the rules allow him to. You state that i have given other players who have committed similar indiscretions a pass. Do you know of any other player who has been booked in three successive matches for similar indiscretions such as rugby tackling over the course of the championship this year ? I have stated that I admire Sean Cavanagh's ability on the field of play. I also stated that I admire his achievements on the field of play. Answer me directly , is Sean Cavanagh's behaviour acceptable? Is it acceptable to be booked in three successive matches for rugby tackling opponents? Has any other Tyrone player done this? Has any other player in the championship done this? It is time you put your loyalties to one side and looked at what Sean Cavanagh has done objectively. It is plain wrong.Just because Sean Cavanagh is an amateur player does not render him above questioning of his actions
Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 09/08/2013 13:47:54
Greengrass County: Louth Posts: 2721
1457453 seanie_boy County: Tyrone Posts: 2673
1457116 It is obvious you have an agenda Greengrass.How you can be so willing to publicly vilify an amateur football player is disturbing.All the more so since you think others who have committed similar indiscretions be given a pass.
Sanctimony by the bucketful.. When you have nothing left to say accuse someone of having an agenda.
I have criticised Sean Cavanagh on the basis of what he has said and done. He has rugby tackled his opponents in three successive matches. He has said himself that he does this because the rules allow him to. You state that i have given other players who have committed similar indiscretions a pass. Do you know of any other player who has been booked in three successive matches for similar indiscretions such as rugby tackling over the course of the championship this year ? I have stated that I admire Sean Cavanagh's ability on the field of play. I also stated that I admire his achievements on the field of play. Answer me directly , is Sean Cavanagh's behaviour acceptable? Is it acceptable to be booked in three successive matches for rugby tackling opponents? Has any other Tyrone player done this? Has any other player in the championship done this? It is time you put your loyalties to one side and looked at what Sean Cavanagh has done objectively. It is plain wrong.Just because Sean Cavanagh is an amateur player does not render him above questioning of his actions ================================================== So now the problem is the amount of times he done it?The same weekend Goulding for Cork did it and there is a picture on here of Galvin doing it against Cavan.Do you fellas not care equally about those incidents?
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/08/2013 14:19:00
And don't forget Declan O'Sullivan's rugby-tacking of the Cavan corner back last Sunday. No media attention on that either - tactical fouling at it's most cynical
football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 09/08/2013 14:23:38
seanie_boy County: Tyrone Posts: 2686
1457498 Greengrass County: Louth Posts: 2721
1457453 seanie_boy County: Tyrone Posts: 2673
1457116 It is obvious you have an agenda Greengrass.How you can be so willing to publicly vilify an amateur football player is disturbing.All the more so since you think others who have committed similar indiscretions be given a pass.
Sanctimony by the bucketful.. When you have nothing left to say accuse someone of having an agenda.
I have criticised Sean Cavanagh on the basis of what he has said and done. He has rugby tackled his opponents in three successive matches. He has said himself that he does this because the rules allow him to. You state that i have given other players who have committed similar indiscretions a pass. Do you know of any other player who has been booked in three successive matches for similar indiscretions such as rugby tackling over the course of the championship this year ? I have stated that I admire Sean Cavanagh's ability on the field of play. I also stated that I admire his achievements on the field of play. Answer me directly , is Sean Cavanagh's behaviour acceptable? Is it acceptable to be booked in three successive matches for rugby tackling opponents? Has any other Tyrone player done this? Has any other player in the championship done this? It is time you put your loyalties to one side and looked at what Sean Cavanagh has done objectively. It is plain wrong.Just because Sean Cavanagh is an amateur player does not render him above questioning of his actions ================================================= So now the problem is the amount of times he done it?The same weekend Goulding for Cork did it and there is a picture on here of Galvin doing it against Cavan.Do you fellas not care equally about those incidents
And is the amount of times he has done it in successive games not a problem. Is the fact that he says he does it because the rules allow it not a problem ? Is the fact that he has been booked for the same offence in three successive games not a problem ? Any rugby tackle from any player is wrong. Not criticising it is wrong. Those people who say they would have done the same thing themselves need to have a long hard look at themselves. Those hurling analysts who completely ignored a Kilkenny hurler being hauled to the ground by the neck by a Cork hurler in the recent q-final need to take a long hard look at themselves. I agree that others have done it and I condemn them unreservedly. It is wrong that the furore has been almost entirely focused on Sean Cavanagh. But Sean Cavanagh has been the worst offender.It has to stop and Sean has to stop.
Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 09/08/2013 14:52:36
Fair play to you Greengrass. 100% correct.
Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 09/08/2013 15:08:05
What about Declan O'Sullivan last year in (I think the third round qualifier against Tyrone) when he feigned injury, got an opponent booked and then grinned slyly at his team mate, suggesting it was his intention to deceive the referee. In my book that is a thousand times worse than Cavanagh's tackle. There was no deception in it, just a inelegant challenge.
gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 09/08/2013 15:09:20
Fair enough Greengrass you are on the backfoot a little now which is only fair to Sean.I will admit he has B+ and could do better.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/08/2013 15:18:10
100% incorrect. What does it matter the number of teams he has done it? Because you dont like it? Tough, deal with it.
If a player gets sent off for 2 yellows 3 games in a row, so what? Those are the rules. No suspensions, life goes on. Do I like the that rule? No. Will I blame the player for doing it? No.
benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 09/08/2013 15:21:44
seanie_boy County: Tyrone Posts: 2690
1457601 Fair enough Greengrass you are on the backfoot a little now which is only fair to Sean.I will admit he has B+ and could do better
Time to move on to the next one. How's about getting Gaelic life and discussing Joe Brolly's column ?????? Eh I don't think so.
Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 09/08/2013 15:53:32