Joe Brolly's sentiments

Extraman you have obviously only started following GAA since Jim mcguinness took over the Donegal team because if you weren't you would know that Paul Galvin had been slatted by every pundit on the Sunday game, he was man of the match in the replay against cork in 2010 and Kevin mcstay said he was hands down man of the match but because of his tangle with Eoin cadogan it wouldn't be given to him and rightly so in my opinion.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/08/2013 11:55:26    1453028

In the minor game yesterday the Kerry keeper rugby tackled a Tyrone forward to the ground just as he shot on goal. The referee blew for a penalty even though the ball went into the net anyway. The Kerry keeper wasn't sent off, and got up and saved the penalty. It's hard to imagine a more cynical series of events than that where it pays to foul. I really don't know how Mickey Ned has the brass neck to criticise Tyrone, but I guess its the in vogue thing to blame them for everything at the minute.
By the way this isn't a criticism of the Kerry keeper or team. I'm just pointing out the hysterical campaign being pushed at the minute to pin Tyrone as the root of all evil in the GAA. Teams up and down the country are guilty of taking advantage of the rules to give them the edge, not just Tyrone. Change the rule book if you want change instead of going on a witch hunt against Harte, Cavanagh and Tyrone. I'm sure most Tyrone fans would be as happy to see them changed as anyone else.

johnboy7 (Tyrone) - Posts: 79 - 05/08/2013 12:15:45    1453062

Unfortunatly i have had many bad days at club at county football all my life. Your right galvin has been slated but i never heard his manhood come into question, indeed its a first, and by the way there is usually club football on when the sunday game is on on sundays. Maybe if you went to these games you might not be such a expert on what pundits have said every sunday

THE EXTRAMAN (Donegal) - Posts: 554 - 05/08/2013 12:17:35    1453065

Michael shields picked the ball of the ground against Dublin to stop a goal going in and was doing anything in his powers to stop his team from losing. knew what he was doing.
Sean Cavanagh was making sure a goal was not going to be scored and was doing it for the team, if Rory o Carroll done the same for us and it stopped a goal( afterwards I would be glad)
I agree with Brolly , that its not what you want to see being coached to kids, Sean Cavanagh is such a brilliant player that you wouldn't like kids to be trying to emulate him, but same could be said of Declan o Sullivan yesterday, I think Cavanagh spoke very honestly about it and hopefully next year black card will help.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/08/2013 12:25:30    1453083

No one seems to be questioning the referee for the sean cavanagh incident, barry kelly and james mc graths dismissals of players were questioned in the hurling championships recently for what they believed were angerous / cynical fouls. A professiona foul in soccer merits a red card surely it should apply to the Gaa too

CRedmond95 (Dublin) - Posts: 9 - 05/08/2013 12:43:50    1453117

Not Brolly fan at all he is Wrong about Cavanagh of course he was right to take Mc Manaus down and get a yellow card ...if i was Mickey Harte and Canavgh he let mc manaus through for goal i would say Why did you pull him down? ...the ref can only give a yellow in that situation there should red card for this type of foul end of ... that said Brolly is generally right about tyrone is sicking to look at what the did to meath and Mogahan ,,,,and are getting a way with i have been a fan of GAA all my life and if the GAA think i am going to pay money in to croke park to watch that so called football they are sadly mistaking ....fair play brolly for highlighting what is going on

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1274 - 05/08/2013 12:44:07    1453118

legend----- wait for it----dary stuff from joe. it was the best thing ive seen in a while

pig.ignorant (Derry) - Posts: 655 - 05/08/2013 13:13:47    1453172

For the record Brolly's personal attack on Sean was shocking and his response was top class.

Brolly was the biggest Tyrone cheerleader for years when the like of Spillane often spoke unfairly about them.
When he called Gooch a choker the likes of Ulsterman sang his praises 'because he comes to games with his analytical barrister head on' and stated 'He is the best, most informed and accurate commentator that RTE have and it's time that some ignorant, ill informed people with other agendas gave him his place and the respect he is long overdue'.
This weekend he had the audacity to criticise one of his own and now he's part of the southern media with an 'agenda'.
Spillane didn't agree with him and said he didn't see much different to any other game you'd see. Last night on the Sunday game the 3 analysts agreed Sean did the right thing even. In another thread it was said that there is alot of anti tyrone stuff coming out of rte yet Michael Lyster said he didn't agree, Pat said he saw nothing different to any other game you'd see, all 3 analysts agreed Sean's tackle was the right thing to do.
Seems to me like the 'southern media' is only allowed to express opinion as long as it doesn't dare criticise Ulster football.
Then again it's hardly surprising as some here have an anti southern agenda regardless of the issue

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 05/08/2013 13:13:50    1453173

Superglue
For the record: Brolly only stood up for Tyrone in the past to get noticed and appear controversial. Even his comments in 2003 that Tyrone were 10 years ahead of all other counties were rubbish. My objection to Brolly is that this time he used personal attacks on individuals in order to pursue his TV career.

On the issue of Southern media I do not take their bias personally they only print what they think will sell papers. They are like sheep: one learned correspondent picks a topic and the others follow. This week they have found a new topic that supports their uneducated opinion of Tyrone.

IsMise (Tyrone) - Posts: 119 - 05/08/2013 14:07:07    1453245

sMise

Superglue
For the record: Brolly only stood up for Tyrone in the past to get noticed and appear controversial. Even his comments in 2003 that Tyrone were 10 years ahead of all other counties were rubbish. My objection to Brolly is that this time he used personal attacks on individuals in order to pursue his TV career.

On the issue of Southern media I do not take their bias personally they only print what they think will sell papers. They are like sheep: one learned correspondent picks a topic and the others follow. This week they have found a new topic that supports their uneducated opinion of Tyrone.

So we're all uneducated down here, are we? It's not just the papers who have questioned the Tyrone approach. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to work out the Tyrone game plan, you know - use any means possible staying marginally within the rules to stop the opposition and while it is within the rules it brings cynicism to new levels. If that's the way you want to play your football, fine (and hopefully the black card will help eradicate it) but personally I prefer the Mayo/Dublin template.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 05/08/2013 14:20:37    1453257

If I was from Ulster I would be reacting the exact same as the posters on here. They are being unfairly singled out here. And Brolly who used to know that has instead of being part of the solution become immersed himself so far into the black card debate that he has become part of the problem. A few individuals got so uptight about a few upstart teams from Ulster 10 years ago that they have started a trend where lazy analysis automatically points the finger at them. Southern teams are absolved for their sins as one-offs. Northern teams practice the dark arts. Really?

All teams will happily concede a foul outside the scoring zone if possible. All teams will drag down an opponent for a free rather than concede a goal. And I mean every club in the land. More than that it doesn't just happen in GAA. Tactical fouling is part of the rules of basketball. They introduced the professional foul into soccer but players will still trip a player on the break before it develops into a clear goalscoring opportunity if they can. Rugby because of the nature of the game with men behind the ball is more clearcut but still referees are reluctant to award penalty tries and yellows when by the letter of the law would say they are deserved. Once again due to regional infighting the GAA has talked itself into a right mess as if the game is in crisis. It isn't.

Young analysts who participated in the modern game are articulate and streetwise enough to get on with it and accurately describe what's in front of them. They will talk about the contest with no agenda. That is what we all want to hear. The fact that so many people post on here and other forums for the most part fairly insightfully is proof of that. We want to learn about the game and here what their experience can tell us. But what do we get on our national broadcaster? The flippin Punch and Judy show. They are so far disconnected from reality it's not funny.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 05/08/2013 14:41:24    1453277

I'M sorry but Michael Lester's comment ' ye all do that up north, not down here' was areal throw away comment....

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 05/08/2013 14:46:29    1453280

I thought by far the lowest and most cowardly act of the weekend was stamp on Enda Varley. Jimmy McGunniess goes on about his players being targeted and of the duty of care being owned and then one of his players does that! The stamping incident was way worse and far more dangerous than anything Sean Cavanagh did!

PS: I hope Eamon McGee receives long ban.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 05/08/2013 14:54:55    1453298

Stop beating around the bush.....Cavanaghs tackle is "within the rules"

Throwing a headbutt at another player is within the rules if he doesn't get caught by officials or the camera. Yet its disgraceful and shouldn't be done.

This "within the rules" argument is quite annoying.

Cheating is wrong, whether its within the rules or not, its still wrong. It sets a bad precedent for coaching and for the games we all love in this country. Blatant cheating shouldn't be allowed whether its "within the rules" or not. I find it annoying that Tyrone management and fans just say that sending off Cavanagh for dragging a guy down isn't in the rulebook, and have the cheek to blame the reaction on the southern media.

I was in Croke Park for the Meath game last week and when Tyrone were at their punching guys and dragging down runners the entire game, I was livid. It was nothing to do with the media. Its disgraceful and not within the spirit of the game.

Ironic the way Harte has always talked about the dangers of the International Series yet sets his players out with a gameplan that is kinda like Aussie Rules and is overphysical, cynical, violent and unsavoury.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/08/2013 14:59:50    1453310

Look, it isnt nice to see, but all teams do it, maybe not as professional as tyrone do it, but it is there.

The issue here with brolly is the fact that back when he was lauding tyrone as the best thing since sliced bread, they were doing this stuff every bit as much, so the guy cant be taken seriously. I think these personal attacks are not on, and in my opinion, he is bringing the game into disrepute with this behaviour, and it should be allowed to go on. Otherwise where does it end?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/08/2013 15:08:30    1453324

Brolly's reaction was of course completely over the top. There are few players who would not have hauled a forward down like that when in on goal. The problem of course is with the rules. It's quite simple, a straight red should be issued where an opponent who is professionally fouled once straight in on goal.

On Cavanagh, firstly I am a huge fan of his as a footballer and he always comes across as a nice guy when interviewed but, and this is not more Tyrone bashing just an observation, an element of his game that I don't like is the ease that he goes down with once a player puts a hand on him, or in the highlighted case on Sat, when he clamped an opponents arm to drag him down and get him booked. I remember being disgusted with O'Neill doing this against Dublin in 2011 when he clamped a Dublin defenders arm dragged him down and then ran shouting to the referee. To me this falls more into Brolly's "cheating" category than Cavanagh's tackle. Funnily though Brolly bizarrely calls this a "more acceptable form of cynicism". I couldn't disagree more!

Anyway, not taking anything away from him as a player, it was great to see three brilliant midfield performances from Cavanagh, McCauley and O'Shea at the weekend, but great players don't need to resort to these tactics.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4746 - 05/08/2013 15:33:16    1453354

Extraman I sky plus the Sunday game and watch it when I'm not at club games and working and drinking and hoganstand.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/08/2013 15:41:43    1453368

Jmski

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=M3g1bep2Txo

Nuf said

IsMise (Tyrone) - Posts: 119 - 05/08/2013 16:26:11    1453423

IsMise....

Interesting...but that only highlights Sean Cavanagh....what about that type of tackling of halfbacks trying to go forward....digging players in the back of the head.....elbowing guys in the face off the ball....

That tough northern stuff ye always harp on about.

Disgraceful.....stop trying to justify it.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/08/2013 16:33:34    1453431

Of course Tyrone aren't the only team to foul cynically - last year in the Down/Mayo game, for example, Ambrose Rogers could hardly take two steps with the ball before he was hauled to the ground. I think Tyrone are the current subject of criticism because they have been the most prominent culprits recently in terms of eking out narrow victories by cynical means. The problem is obviously that the rules lighten and incentivise cynical fouling, and I'm not sure the black card will solve that. I'm sure an outsider looking in would have been astonished that Cavanagh, after deliberately dragging a player down by the waist to prevent a goal opportunity, got the same punishment as some of the players who were booked in the opening stages of the game. It's not within the rules at all, the rules just aren't tough enough on those who break it.

Also, whether or not Tyrone are being unfairly singled out for criticism, I still find it hard to defend them after Saturday night. I find it a shame that a team with such good players has to resort to the kind of carry on that Gormley and Penrose were getting involved in at half-time, not to mention Cavanagh and Stephen O'Neill last week.

Gabriel. (Down) - Posts: 412 - 05/08/2013 16:56:53    1453464