Joe Brolly's sentiments

I'm only home from today encounters and in all 3 games I witnessed what could be called 'professional/unsporting/synical fouls but the end justifies the means but it is up to the rule maker to change not the player or management:

1. In the first match Kerry were leading by a point in normal time when the comitted 4/5 synical fouls to close out the game, but Tyrone came back and equalisied, in extra -time the Tyrone full forward rounded the Kerry keeper only to be hauled down. Tyrone got a penalty and duly missed, so fouling in this case was correct thing to do ( which i would except my club full-back or keeper to do) - it didn't look good - so what would Brolly say?
2. In the Mayo game Aidan O'Shea who is a great footballer consistently fouled and could have been sent off in the first half

Brolly had his go at Tyrone------ if Cavanagh had a Dublin/Donegal/Mayo etc would he have come out with such an attack

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 04/08/2013 20:52:10    1452726

It was indeed joesoap and I tryed to post another post to apoligize for my mistake however once again the MOD decided it was not worthy.. However I have to challenge your response again, Mcgee's was tactical as it had an intended outcome which was to put the player out of the game giving the donegal team an advantage in doing so which is what cavanage did in a different less controversial way imo. I see you and others talking about teams going out with instructions to win using certain tactics, where is your proof of this? If you cant supply your sweeping statement with solid proof then i'm afriad that its pointless and false. My proof to counteract what you say about tyrone and others going out with these "instructions" is enda mcginleys comments on the bbc championship today in which he stated that from underage right through they are encouraged to play football and nothing else with mickey harte being the biggest advocate of this. In saying that however what manager does not give their players instructions to win at all costs? Somehow I cannot see managers saying to their players win but only if you play in this way or that way..

fermanagh4sam (Fermanagh) - Posts: 48 - 04/08/2013 21:25:33    1452767

Mr Brolly please view this http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=M3g1bep2Txo

IsMise (Tyrone) - Posts: 119 - 04/08/2013 21:42:37    1452788

Ulsterman this is a gaa forum and not a political conduit for your bile, you still have that chip on the shoulder about poor old michael, get over it,the resentment will eat you up and regarding the players that you mentioned a fair spattering were cynical individuals

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 04/08/2013 21:48:35    1452793

uchulainn35
County: Armagh

I'm only home from today encounters and in all 3 games I witnessed what could be called 'professional/unsporting/synical fouls but the end justifies the means but it is up to the rule maker to change not the player or management:

1. In the first match Kerry were leading by a point in normal time when the comitted 4/5 synical fouls to close out the game, but Tyrone came back and equalisied, in extra -time the Tyrone full forward rounded the Kerry keeper only to be hauled down. Tyrone got a penalty and duly missed, so fouling in this case was correct thing to do ( which i would except my club full-back or keeper to do) - it didn't look good - so what would Brolly say?
2. In the Mayo game Aidan O'Shea who is a great footballer consistently fouled and could have been sent off in the first ha

Don't believe you Cuchullain. Kerry engage in cynicism no way, only the purist of pure football played by these boys ya know!!

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 04/08/2013 21:52:18    1452800

Joe's rant was the funniest TV I have witnessed in a long time straight out of Father Ted. His point is of course absolutely correct however his attempt to demonise all things Tyrone and Sean Cavanagh in particular seems to stem from a personnel grudge or perhaps it is result of to many blows to the head from Tyrone v Derry encounters of the early 90's. His statement that Fay Devlin would never have done anything like that because he was a 'hard man' is probably correct to some extent.

Cynical fouls on the forward through on goal have always been a part of the game. It is not pretty but is a fact of life. It is the reason that we have a rule in GAA which states that a foul committed inside the square results in a penalty. 70% of penalties are a direct result of cynical fouls i.e. deliberate fouls committed to prevent goal scoring opportunities. The black card is not going to stop cynical fouls of this nature as they will become another tactical weapon for closing out the game. The GAA should have taken the bull by the horn and changed the punishment for these fouls from Yellow to Red. I would also suggest they should have looked at increasing the size of the penalty area.

Skillful_Bill (Tyrone) - Posts: 102 - 05/08/2013 09:29:19    1452841

Now now admin your censorship of my last post makes it look like i agree with Brollys statement about Fay thats not fair. There is no way Fay wouldn't have fouled in that position

Skillful_Bill (Tyrone) - Posts: 102 - 05/08/2013 10:04:57    1452866

Agree with him 100%...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 05/08/2013 10:13:33    1452874

Tyrone were there for the taking yesterday but we just didn't show up on the day. We made a good start but tyrone were too cute for us and got back into the game before we had a chance to pull away. As for the referee he was a disaster just like the last time we played our old enemies tyrone. He seemed to be trying to even things out from the start...

As for gormley hitting out at Dessie twice with a closed fist at half time was disgraceful he should have been sent off and banned also...
As for cavanagh, the less said about him the better, it should have been a straight red card, i no everyone says that anyone would do the same thing in his position but a so called legend of gaelic games and a previous player of the year should have the skill to dispocesset the ball of Conor McManus and not have to resort to rugby tackling, obviously he knew he couldn't stop Conor McManus and if he had to have got through, the ball was going in the back of the net i have no doubt about that and cavanagh knew that...

Fair play to joe brolly for sticking up for us and as usual spillane had to disagree with him. spillane is obviously trying to get back into the tyrone peoples good books after all the giving out he done about them in the past...

It was great to hear the Dublin and Cork fans supporting Monaghan, obviously everyone sick of Tyrones dominance over the last ten years!

It was a disappointing result but we are still Ulster Champions and we gained promotion this year and I'm sure the next time we meet tyrone Malachy will have more time to put a plan in place to finally get the tyrone monkey off our backs there certainly not the team they were in the past and hopefully they will be well beaten in the semis by Donegal or Tyrone as they certainly don't deserve to be where they are...

The future is looking bright for Monaghan football so roll on 2014. We can certainly be proud of this team as they have given us some great days out this year and also over the last few years!!!

Muineachain76 (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 05/08/2013 10:16:57    1452879

Murfman Brolly was not sticking up for Monaghan, he was just giving out about Tyrone, he did state that in the past he had defended Tyrones tactics with the blanket defence, but he felt that tackle wa stoo much.

Also can someone please point out the rule that states Cavanagh should have been sent off????

As for cyncism, look at the Tyrone player that got hit at half time,ok he got hit in the the shoulder/jaw yet went down clutching his upper head eye!!!

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 05/08/2013 10:22:59    1452890

Wow, i see Mickey Ned O'Sullivan come out and slate Tyrone also - definitely a case of Pot Kettle Black there!

The Sunday Game last night highlighted Kerry's blanket defence and their constant fouling on Cavan forwards.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5271 - 05/08/2013 10:45:20    1452923

there is no rule that said he should have been sent off,

There is no such thing asa professional foul in the GAA

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 05/08/2013 10:55:23    1452936

No one seems to mention the most disturbing fact of all. Sean cavanagh is an amature player who gets paid nothing for going out and entertaining us all summer. He gives up his social life and family life to train and play for nothing for are entertainment. The same as all gaa players. NOW...Joe brolly is sitting in a tv studio getting a nice wad of cash from RTE to make a personal attack on the type of men these guys are. If i was one of these players id demand a public apology from both RTE and Joe Brolly. It makes me sick that these guys get away with this cowardly act. Eamon Ohara done the same earlier. Big men sitting in a studio getting paid!!!

THE EXTRAMAN (Donegal) - Posts: 554 - 05/08/2013 11:02:20    1452945

Well Cavanman ye got frees for any fouls we committed against ye, if ye'r players aren't good enough to put the ball over the bar then maybe ye should work on ye'r kicking. We were missing 4 top players yesterday and we played brutal and ye couldn't get within 6 points of us.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/08/2013 11:10:37    1452958

So extraman you can do what you want on the pitch and no1 can say anything about you ( so much for free speech) brolly was spot on. And nobody is forcing cavanagh to play inter county football and give up his social life, he made that decision for him self. And I'm sure he gets well taken care of like all inter county footballers.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/08/2013 11:19:31    1452963

KingdomBoy1

I accept the fact that ye beat us - and beat us well. Ye deserved the victory and I hope you beat Dublin.

I have no problem with cynical fouling. This won't be popular with most on here but I admire the approach Tyrone (AND OTHERS) take to win games. It is the rules that need adjusting to eradicate this. Until then, teams are better off taking full advantage of the leeway given to them.

But for Mickey Ned to criticize, when his own team are at the exact same antics, is the highest level of hypocrisy.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5271 - 05/08/2013 11:26:44    1452974

Nailed to the dressing room wall, keep feeding us boys cos its gonna come back to haunt ye! Change all the rules ye want tyrone will be there for years to come!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 05/08/2013 11:31:34    1452979

You cant attack a persons personality and what sort of man he is on Live tv which is broadcast around the world. These type of fouls have been happening all through gaa for years and years. http://imgur.com/ckwwtfY shall we call into question the above players personality and say he is no man. If you said these things in a pub you would get a letter in the post and it would not be a wedding invitation. And by the way read the main heading and comments before you post kerryman. Of course what cavanagh done is not right and no one is saying it is but it is a gaa rule problem and certainly not how cavanagh abilty as man that is the problem. If brolly kept his comments to the rules and spirt of the game fir enough. But a man who is getting paid has no right to question players who slug for nothing manhood into question.

THE EXTRAMAN (Donegal) - Posts: 554 - 05/08/2013 11:36:40    1452990

Lads what's with rte shoving microphones at losing managers asking are you going to quit 'connor couilihan has been a great gaa man and deserved better than that ,every game its the same now .geordie dave. Dublin.

Geordie1 (Dublin) - Posts: 3 - 05/08/2013 11:42:42    1453002

I agree with you Cavanman , I'm not a fan of mickey ned, and thanks for the good wishes against Dublin, in fairness ye'r team took a while to get going yesterday and when ye did ye gave us a lot of problems, and I guess every team has a bit of cynicality , you have to have that.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/08/2013 11:42:57    1453004