Gallagher accuses Mayo of "colluding" with Monaghan

Jaysus I must be getting old Bosco!

Marvin Hagler v Lenoox Lewis. Google it!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/08/2013 11:42:38    1450513

Lewis was a heavyweight in the '90s and early 2000's.
Hagler was a middleweight in the '80s dude famous for fights with Hearns and Leonard in particular.
You're getting older than you think!!

Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 02/08/2013 11:47:52    1450518

Indeed, the old Alzheimers :-( It is I who ought to be googling!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/08/2013 11:54:23    1450528

That would be some match up all the same Bosco, people would pay good money to see that!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 02/08/2013 11:58:57    1450537

Hagler v Hearns is probably the one you are looking for lol

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 02/08/2013 11:59:36    1450539

02/08/2013 11:59:36
benjyyy

Hagler v Hearns is probably the one you are looking for lol

Ah give me roberto any day. All heart and knew how to punch below the line! Though Hagler was a fearsome specimen. People talk about he 70's Heavyweight division as the Golden era of Boxing. I'd take the 80's middle and super weights division any day.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 02/08/2013 12:05:45    1450546

I should have picked fighters closer to my own era: Ali/Frazier, or Liston and Patterson :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/08/2013 12:12:45    1450558

Hurlingdub,

Are you expecting a "Rumble in the Jungle" type of thing, Ali v Foreman?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 02/08/2013 12:20:45    1450568

I hope so..With the much fancied favourite's out thought by the old weary legged underdogs. Taking all that is thrown at them until the favs just cant put them away and they become tired and the old warhorse's go in for the Kill..!!

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 02/08/2013 12:39:22    1450593

This is all starting to grate on me. I don't know whether it's part of the latest Donegal masterplan or not, but whether it works or not, we're going down a bad road. Tyrone had their detractors in the 00's, but Mickey Harte was never anything but a proper gentleman. These statements are leaving a bitter taste. I was never a fan of their football, but respected how disciplined and effective they were, but I am turning against Donegal because of their management.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 02/08/2013 13:11:38    1450635

richw

Ahh, the life of Brian...love it Donegalman.

Penny for an ex-leper..

He is not the Messiah, he is a very naughty boy!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 02/08/2013 13:16:51    1450637

Theyre a difficult management team to like alright, but James Horan is well able to stir things up as well so lets not put all the blame on Donegal.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 02/08/2013 13:19:37    1450642

Dublinlass

TBH MuckrossHead I was shouting for Donegal last year but all this stuff is very childhish. I'm sure all the other teams involved have the passion and desire to win the All Ireland Final this year without all this crazy carry on and if Donegal need this kind of thing to fire them up to retain Sam Magauire then I don't think they deserve to be All Ireland Campions again....

Dublinlass, welcome to HS!!!

As to Donegal "deserving" to be AI Champions, that's not how it works. The AI Champions are those who reach out & take it, deserving or not.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 02/08/2013 13:20:16    1450643

Well it is all very Don King isn't it Cavan Slasher! It does remind me of the silly stuff that boxers and their managers and promoters get up to in order to either psyche one another out or to boost ticket sales. I'd say McGuinness has contributed to the second alright! Its harmless enough if it heightens the profile of the game but it does have the potential to introduce a nasty edge that really shouldn't be there given the history between the two.

I thought same earlier in the year regarding some of the stuff about Dublin. Trying to create some sort of grudge where none exists!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/08/2013 13:26:01    1450649

I think Horan is an excellent manager, and I would be hopeful that he is keeping the lads completely focused on the task at hand, rather than any of the rubbish that is going on.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 02/08/2013 13:27:14    1450654

Reminds me of Troy!

My brothers of the sword! I would rather fight beside you than any army of thousands! Let no man forget how menacing we are, we are lions! Do you know what's waiting beyond that beach? Immortality! Take it! It's yours!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9825 - 02/08/2013 13:29:31    1450659

Whoever wins the AI is deserving of the title and Donegal were fantastic last year. I'd be a big fan of Mayo football and hope they can win at the weekend but there's more to winning than playing pretty football. Donegal displayed all the criteria required last season and good luck to them. If they can get over Mayo I wouldn't rule them out repeating the trick this year.

07_LK_1973 (Limerick) - Posts: 115 - 02/08/2013 13:38:40    1450670

Agree hurlingdub but the upshot is that it might attract a few more to go to the match itself.
Silly and childish though from Gallagher in particular. We are an amateur sport after all.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 02/08/2013 13:43:57    1450678

Ok so this week Donegal are the whipping boys, not so long ago it was the Dubs (bite gate), before that it was Kildare & the Seanie issue. Hopefully next Monday all we will be talking about is the fantastic 4 games we saw and the race for Sam going forward!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/08/2013 13:48:57    1450683

MuckrossHead

1450643 Dublinlass

TBH MuckrossHead I was shouting for Donegal last year but all this stuff is very childhish. I'm sure all the other teams involved have the passion and desire to win the All Ireland Final this year without all this crazy carry on and if Donegal need this kind of thing to fire them up to retain Sam Magauire then I don't think they deserve to be All Ireland Campions again....

Dublinlass, welcome to HS!!!

As to Donegal "deserving" to be AI Champions, that's not how it works. The AI Champions are those who reach out & take it, deserving or not.
02/08/2013 13:26:01

Thanks Muckross Head. Maybe I chose the wrong word. I have to agree with you that any team who wins the All Ireland deserves to be AI Champions and I by no means mean any disrespect to any players on any teams but I feel that their management team are doing them no favours with these comments and creating more pressure by putting the spotlight on them.. I also think that these lads will come out fighting for their place in the semi finals and don't need all this negative publicity that Jim and Rory are creating and its unfair to suggest that they need to be fired up as some posters suggest. BTW Hope you all have a safe journey down..

Dublinlass (Dublin) - Posts: 11 - 02/08/2013 14:02:42    1450709