Prepare yourselves for one of the worst football games in years (unless you happen to enjoy watching two teams bully each other off the ball rather than play football).
Hope the Green and Red put this away, if for no other reason but to teach coaches to pay more attention the sport and less to the BS mind-games.
festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3151 - 01/08/2013 17:46:37
festinog County: Galway Posts: 1562
1450063 Prepare yourselves for one of the worst football games in years (unless you happen to enjoy watching two teams bully each other off the ball rather than play football).
Hope the Green and Red put this away, if for no other reason but to teach coaches to pay more attention the sport and less to the BS mind-games.
Good man festinog. It must be great for you Galway fellas to have the pick of counties to support for the All Ireland, your own county being nowhere near the business end of things.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/08/2013 17:55:37
This is totally sad. I have never heard such rubbish in all my life. Once again... Monaghan were already 4 up before the incident happened and Donegal certainly werent shown any signs of making a comeback. Malachy O Rourke got his tactics 100% right on Donegal and deserves credit for that. Its bad enough that the pundits haver already forgotten that we beat the ulster and all ireland champs fair and square and are already given us no hope against Tyrone.
Is it a crime in the GAA that other managers cant talk among themselves if they have built up a friendship through football?
Seamus banty McEneaney recently revealed that after we lost to Tyrone in 2007 he got a high profile manager (who was at the time from the south of the country) up to talk to the Monaghan team (who were gutted after been defeated in the ulster final after pushing Tyrone so slose) to give them some believe that they could move on from that loss. We went on and should have beaten Kerry that year. If we had beaten Kerry i doubt the kerry manager would have turned around and started this sort of rubbish talk.
I feel sorry for Martin McHugh as he comes across as a gentleman, and i would say it was horrible for him to have to see his son been injured and taking off during the game, but anyone who watched the bbc will know he heaped praise on Monaghan after the game and it would have been very easy for him to get sour grapes and bring up the matter of his son being injured. A true Donegal GAA man he is and fair play to him im sure hes embarrased by the donegal managments comments since the ulster final.
Like i said several times in the past i HAD a lot of respect for ulster teams (Armagh, Tyrone, Donegal) having success in the All Ireland series over the last ten years but as for Donegal you had your success and are showing sour grapes to fellow ulster men who you never could get the better of in the last 30 years and i certainly will never be cheering you on again with the current managment set up.
It obviously ok for Jim to get advice form Neil Lennon at Celtic but not vice versa. Maybe his jobs on the line and the pressures getting to Donegal!
Best of luck to Mayo on sunday!
Muineachain76 (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 01/08/2013 17:58:17
Bit rich from Gallagher criticism of advising Kieran Shannon James Horan what to say when McGuinnees uses Marin McHugh when he writes for The Star,McHugh states all pressure on Horan and nobody expects Donegal to win
Another note do Gallagher and Mslachy O'Rourke have history? Think O'Rourke may have dropped Gallagher when he was Fermanagh manager
Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 01/08/2013 18:05:20
Well said Murfman.
TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 01/08/2013 18:08:12
I have avoided posting anything on this game until now. Tyrone played Donegal very early in the championship and to be honest where well beaten, after the game I posted that the only team i could really see challenging them was Mayo.I believed watching Donegal that day in ballybofey they had begun to expand their game from last year but since then they seem to have gone back to be even more defensive than they were last year. When tyrone won the all ireland in 2003 they developed their game and improved on it over time despite all the knocks they had to deal with. During all this time Mickey Harte and Tony Donnelly had the good grace to remain gracious in both victory and defeat however i dont believe Jimmy McGuiness and Rory Gallagher have done Donegal any favours with their wild statements surely what they should be concentrating on is improving Donegal and making them a better team. The statements about being targeted sound just like sour grapes i believe as manager of All ireland champions then there is an expectancy that you can act as an ambassador for your team i really believe theses rants do nothing for the Donegal team or supporters. I believe McGuinness and gallagher should allow their players to go out and put on performance instead of this nonsense.
rahillyman (Tyrone) - Posts: 314 - 01/08/2013 18:17:20
Murfman, I respect your right to support whosoever you like, but at least get a few things straight.
1 This has nothing to do with Monaghan. It has nothing to do with Mayo either, truth be told, it's all about getting a performance.
2 Gallagher did say that he didn't believe that Gallogly set out to damage McHugh & he also said that O'Rourke didnt send any player out to "do" anyone.
3 Nobody from the Donegal management has had anything but good things to say about Monaghan's win in the Ulster final.
We are now in "all or nothing" territory. McGuinness & Gallagher take the view that they need to make sure that Donegal do not go into this game as flat as they were in the Ulster final. If that means that a few people get annoyed along the way then that is a price they are prepared to pay. I don't like all this interview stuff myself, but I do see it for what it is an attempt at getting a misfiring Donegal team up to steam in the biggest game of the year.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/08/2013 18:30:18
Ok Im just going to say one thing on this thread as It is a joke.
Galllagher is messing here to be honest but its working, everyone is talking about him not putting pressure on the players.
however I 100% think that what McGuinness said is correct. Monaghan people on hear seem to think he put ye down. He said ye deserved to win, he also said he doesnt mind the physical aspect of the game (Donegal play physical) What he had a problem with is that his players are getting badly hurt playing and something has to be done about it.
I dont know what can be done and the mchugh instance is a great example. There was "much" wrong with it in terms of what you see every day up and down the country but it isnt a fair challenge either and was reckless and dangerous. There is a Man and ball mentality when tackling which will cause alot of injuries.
Ok now im off to other threads to hopefully talk about football.
dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 01/08/2013 18:36:07
AfricanGael County: UK Posts: 414
1450031 Lets be honest, Donegal aren't good champions.
I think it's important to distinguish between the management set up and the common donegal supporter. After the Ulster final Donegal were actually quite gracious in defeat, if you look at the Monaghan forum after the game there were nearly as many donegal poster's as monaghan saying congrats on the win! Sure they have a couple of blow-ins that were not as good in defeat but thats because they only followed them through the good times. All in all a great bunch of lads!
The management on the other hand....thats different
white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 01/08/2013 18:38:30
Cool the jets Muckrosshead. It's an All-Ireland competition you know; so expect comments from all of Ireland. And as it happens, I have close family connections with Donegal and normally they and Dublin would be my default teams. But this year the nonsense coming from your managment has garnered no sympathy.
G'wan Mayo!
festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3151 - 01/08/2013 19:10:35
If the Mayo and Monaghan lads wanted a bit of cuddling then who are we to judge?
StephenC (Donegal) - Posts: 20 - 01/08/2013 19:13:15
festinog County: Galway Posts: 1563
1450135 Cool the jets Muckrosshead. It's an All-Ireland competition you know; so expect comments from all of Ireland. And as it happens, I have close family connections with Donegal and normally they and Dublin would be my default teams. But this year the nonsense coming from your managment has garnered no sympathy.
G'wan Mayo!
My "jets" have never been cooler festinog. I love the way you young people talk.
Up Donegal!!!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/08/2013 19:22:05
Jaysus lads will yis give over. I have a lower sideline seat and I won't be able to see a thing with riot police standing in front of me.
It's a GAA match. Leave the psychology to the psychologists FFS.
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 01/08/2013 19:37:16
AfricanGael County: UK Posts: 415
1450062 MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 1798
1450041 AfricanGael County: UK Posts: 414
1450031 Lets be honest, Donegal aren't good champions.
That word "champions", doesn't matter how often I hear it, sends a shiver down my spine & puts a smile on my face. Thanks African
And so it should Muckrosshead but I would rather be a good or great champion than a bad one. With the money Donegal spent it would have been a total farce had they not won it last year regardless of the brand of rugby they played.
How are we bad champions? Jim totally underplayed last year whenever asked and praises the players who just talk about working hard and being lucky. The Donegal players as individuals are absolute gents if you've ever had the pleasure of meeting them.
As for being bad winners, the spite in your post makes you sound like a sore loser wherever you're from. I don't remember any of the African counties doing much in the championship last year!
SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 01/08/2013 19:43:40
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g4-cWSHJdmE Pot calling kettle black.
tommyjohn (Monaghan) - Posts: 66 - 01/08/2013 19:44:56
I've heard members of various county management teams over the years talk some crap but this is just downright ludicrous. I've heard accusations of collusion in Ulster before but usually the use of that word was confined to accusations about the Police, the British or some thick headed paramilitary organisation, I never thought I'd hear an accusation of it in GAA circles there. I don't care if its mind games, psychology, tactics or whatever, to come out with statements like this prove Gallagher is just lacking a bit of cop on
Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 01/08/2013 19:45:54
Fair play, I love that you think I'm young.
Up Mayo!
festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3151 - 01/08/2013 19:49:00
Putting the 2 statements together by the Donegal management in the week before a serious game against Mayo in Croke park is placing a lot of undue pressure on the Donegal players instead of helping to focus the players on the job in hand. To be honest - I was shocked to hear Jimmy McGuinness last Sunday on the Sunday Game . I was shocked at what he said. Now it seems that the Donegal management is paranoid. For a manager who has successfully brought his county to win an All Ireland to then follow this up before they play Mayo by stating that some of his players are being targeted - is not in the best interests of Donegal players or the game in general. If he has serious concerns then the media is not the avenue to take. He has garnered a lot of respect and officials would listen to him if his concerns are expressed through proper channels. I think it borders on the incredulous when you have the sidekick then today adding fuel to the fire by talking about collusion between rival teams! It is my experience that coaches- managers DO ring each other when they are in the business of defeating each other to get a better handle on defeating a rival! So what! It IS PART OF THE GAME! And it has been for years. Donegal had huge support last year but I am afraid that their management team have endangered both their support base and will do nothing to support their players by their poorly judged statements. I do hope that their game with Mayo will be a good open match and without the rancour that such statements can fuel. Lets hope the players from both teams entertain us with good football and may the best team win!
carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1881 - 01/08/2013 19:59:19
Calrowman: good post. Therefore you clearly wrote it with help from Mayo. Please stop cheating. :)
festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3151 - 01/08/2013 20:06:20
festinog County: Galway Posts: 1565
1450173 Fair play, I love that you think I'm young.
Up Mayo!
Sadly festinog, everyone is young compared to me.
Up Donegal!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/08/2013 20:40:18