51longago, unlikely. With all respect, if ye ever did win one ye wouldn't have a clue how to handle yourselves. If its anything like the cringeworthy buildup to the 2004 and 2006 final (to a lesser extent 2012, ye are learning) then it will be an insufferable few months. Not that I would begrudge ye one though. ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1711 - 01/08/2013 13:16:18 1449739 Link 0 |
Ger Loughnane did something similar with the Clare hurlers in the nineties with the 'world against us mentality'. One could argue that it worked to a point in that Clare won 2 all-irelands. Many feel though that Clare team actually underacheived. Still i feel it is all psychology and no better guy than McGuinness to orchestrate all this. Obviously it does not endear Donegal to the general footballing public but sure they won't care about that if they win the all-ireland this year. McGuinness knows Mayo are mentally very strong under Horan so this is orchestrated with the sole intention of unstabling the Mayo camp. kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1988 - 01/08/2013 13:20:44 1449748 Link 0 |
Jimmy, where did it all go wrong? beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 01/08/2013 13:26:30 1449760 Link 0 |
I hope that it will be a good game despite whats been thought about the game, nt so sure it will be. Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3852 - 01/08/2013 13:41:21 1449776 Link 0 |
It strikes me as bizarre that the Donegal management still seem so preoccupied, publicly as well, with the Ulster Final defeat. Surely a team that lost their provincial final should be trying to look forward all the time and get the loss out of their system? Tyrone, for example, would have been entitled to feel hard done by after losing the 2005 Ulster Final to Armagh in contentious circumstances, but they looked ahead, regrouped and were positive about the challenges ahead. Donegal still seem extremely bitter about the defeat to Monaghan but I am baffled by their constant willingness to talk about it in public: it implies a sense of hysteria, and that their minds are still stuck in Clones two weeks ago, rather than focused on Croke Park on Sunday. When the draw was made, I was confident enough that Donegal would be able to eke out a win, but the bizarre utterances of their management indicate in my opinion that their heads are not right for the game, and Mayo should win. Gabriel. (Down) - Posts: 412 - 01/08/2013 13:44:18 1449781 Link 0 |
51longago NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 01/08/2013 13:50:39 1449790 Link 0 |
God almighty. Did I miss something? Did James Horan go on some sort of scathing, slanderous rant about Donegal that I didn't read? What did he actually say that can be in any way perceived as offensive? The mind boggles. This is truly cringe. Donegal losing a lot of admirers this year. MayoMark (Mayo) - Posts: 332 - 01/08/2013 13:54:30 1449796 Link 0 |
Apparently the Donegal management team are being TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 01/08/2013 14:02:21 1449808 Link 0 |
01/08/2013 12:22:22 bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 01/08/2013 14:03:47 1449810 Link 0 |
Surely these comments ,aside from the comical element of them, will do more to fire up mayo than anything James Horan can say. It would seem to me that Mc Guiness and Gallagher have over rated opinions of their own ability at gamesmanship. derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 01/08/2013 14:13:12 1449820 Link 0 |
Surely these comments ,aside from the comical element of them, will do more to fire up mayo than anything James Horan can say. It would seem to me that Mc Guiness and Gallagher have over rated opinions of their own ability at gamesmanship. derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 01/08/2013 14:13:33 1449823 Link 0 |
Delighted this game is also on Sunday. Who knows how the mind games will work, but I expect to see a feisty encounter with a red card or two. fxhvg (Cavan) - Posts: 38 - 01/08/2013 14:14:55 1449825 Link 0 |
Brings back memories of 2011 all this craic. Lot of back slapping going on from the "Anti McGuinness" brigade. Yet again Jim has managed to deflect all the attention off his players and directly onto himself. Call it what you want but if that is his intention, it's clearly working. wile_man_sir (Donegal) - Posts: 150 - 01/08/2013 14:17:16 1449831 Link 0 |
"I hope if we ever did manage to win an all Ireland that we would have the class not to carry ourselves in such a distasteful manner." Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9825 - 01/08/2013 14:19:09 1449834 Link 0 |
For coming out with that alone I hope Mayo hammer them thats just embarrasing for Donegal! lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 01/08/2013 14:22:03 1449838 Link 0 |
MayoMark Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 01/08/2013 14:33:46 1449855 Link 0 |
Rory Gallagher that Mayo offered advice to Monaghan on how to beat the All-Ireland champions when the counties met in a challenge match before the Ulster final. And this has led Gallagher to believe that the heavy challenge by Monaghan's Stephen Gollogly that forced Mark McHugh's early withdrawal, and which left the Kilcar man with concussion, a burst ear drum and a quad muscle injury, was pre-meditated. marvinberry (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 01/08/2013 14:39:28 1449859 Link 0 |
This is a bizarre one alright, could well have backfired whatever the intention. brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 01/08/2013 14:41:45 1449861 Link 0 |
This is getting silly now, soap-opera stuff, West-enders! ;) TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 01/08/2013 14:55:49 1449875 Link 0 |
Lads, would you ever go out for a run or something. Ye are all way to pumped up..still 3 days away. richw (Donegal) - Posts: 15 - 01/08/2013 14:57:54 1449882 Link 0 |