cacsmckilly, Since you ask it's in the Republic of Ireland. Where are you from yourself? Make all the smart Alec comments you like but Ulster and in particular your own county have brought a level of cynicism previously unseen to Gaelic football. As someone said recently just be thankful Ulster doesn't play hurling. Bet our hurlers would beat yours by more than your footballers would beat ours clever clogs!
Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 30/07/2013 17:40:27
I suggest you check out the Dublin team of the 70's and 80's and the Meath team of the 80's cynical fouling has always been around it never went away you know.
Brian Mullins and Mick Lyons the two most innocent angels to ever grace the game of Gaelic football.
kildarecat22 (Kildare) - Posts: 257 - 30/07/2013 18:01:04
Bosco County: Carlow Id like to see Ulster removed from the All Ireland championship. Play away amongst themselves and let Joe Brolly do all the interrupting he likes. Probably the only man capable of talking over himself! Ulster championship has ruined football to the extent we're having to change the rules.
1. Ulster is the most competitive provience, traditionally less successful counties should be trying to copy the like of what donegal, tyrone and armagh have done over the last 11 years. (and hopefully what monaghan and cavan are going to do). We have not ruined football, but by stopping 3/4 counties winning every year we have done a large part to help the game.
2. Why do we have to change the rules?? Lazy people listen to spillane giving out about the quality of the games and say "oh he is right lets change the rules" F*ck off and dont change the game we love. Gaelic is in a much better place now then it has been in my lifetime (25 years) Watch a game on tg4 and see what the glory day were like, brutal football. We have had 5 winners in 5 years in the football, In the english soccer they haven't had 5 winners since 95! Don't see them changing the rules do ya! 3. You can change the rules all you want its still going to come down to 10% skill and 90% heart, commitment and passion. Same as every other sport. I suggest you stop playing gaa and start up badminton.
Blue and Black County: Monaghan If a player steps out over the sideline or end line with the ball it should be out like the way it is in rugby.
If the player steps out over the line with the ball it is out. I persume (and i may be wrong) that you mean if there feet are out but the ball is not? I just have one question, why change the rule? How will that help the game, I mean its just slightly changing a rule for the sake of it, no benefit that I can see.
white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 30/07/2013 18:06:57
I suggest you realise that individual players such as Mullins or Lyons being dirty or overly robust is not the same as systematic subversion of the rules and strategic fouling and gamesmanship as a principle tactic.
Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 30/07/2013 18:14:18
Bosco County: Carlow
Since you ask it's in the Republic of Ireland. Where are you from yourself?
Well it's pretty clear your not a real GAA man anyway Bosco. Or a real Irish man for that matter
white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 30/07/2013 18:22:43
I suggest you check out the Dublin team of the 70's and 80's and the Meath team of the 80's cynical fouling has always been around it never went away you know.
Brian Mullins and Mick Lyons the two most innocent angels to ever grace the game of Gaelic football.
kildarecat22 (Kildare) - Posts: 257 - 30/07/2013 18:42:20
whitenblue, You'll have to define the criteria you employ to discern 'Irishness' for me so. Yer man from Tyrone attempted to undermine my point by claiming not to know where my county was so I politely informed him. What's wrong with that? Tell me where Tyrone is again so? No talking you boys when it comes to football, you know it all or so you think? The rules have to be changed to address the disease currently afflicting it. Contracted first in Ulster. How did your hurlers get on this year I didn't hear much much tell of them?
Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 30/07/2013 19:49:13
All treatment of players to occur off the pitch, the treating of players injuries on the pitch makes some games very stop start and kills the flow
Kerrylocal (Kerry) - Posts: 26 - 30/07/2013 19:54:54
i think tyrone provide more towards hurling than kilkenny do towards football
toe2hand (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 30/07/2013 20:29:35
Bosco, Im not so sure you were "polite" when informing our Tyrone friend of where Carlow is but I'll let you 2 settle that between ye.
Now forgive me but are you talking about football or hurling. At first I persumed you were talking about football due to your ramblings about the disease that is Ulster. But why do you keep mentioning our hurlers at the end of each comment. Might as well ask how our rounders or handball teams are doing too! After all they are as relevant to Monaghan football as our hurlers.
white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 30/07/2013 21:25:20
Whitenblue, if you're going to let myself and yer man from Tyrone sort it it out between us what were you interjecting in the first place for at all so? Of course I'm talking about football sure ye don't hurl do you? Fair enough, more power to you but don't come on then playing the everything we're doing for the GAA card will you please. The win at all costs mentality that has gained traction since the breakthrough of Armagh in 2002 followed by Tyrone and taken to new depths by Donegal has damaged Gaelic football dramatically. I can't pluck a percentage out of the sky like yourself but it has caused significant damage. Ulster is competitive right enough, so are piranha fish but I've no interest in watching them. My man from Tyrone tried to imply that because I'm from Carlow sure what would I know? You questioned my nationality aswell. There's no ambiguity over where I'm from. Leave Ulster off to play amongst themselves and you can enjoy your who can bend the rules most effectively championships to yourselves with your 10% skill quotient. Have your own Ulster refs as Brian McEniff called for a few years back also. Maybe then we'd get a few games with a little less focus on cheating.
Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 30/07/2013 21:50:26
I'd bring in a rule that NO rules are to be changed JUST because an Ulster team wins SAM AND that Kerry, Mayo and Meath are NOT allowed to whinge and make up excuses when they get beaten by Ulster teams.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9837 - 30/07/2013 21:55:58
Bosco County: Carlow Id like to see Ulster removed from the All Ireland championship. Play away amongst themselves and let Joe Brolly do all the interrupting he likes. Probably the only man capable of talking over himself! Ulster championship has ruined football to the extent we're having to change the rules.
Knock knock open wide see whats on the other side! Not much happening in Carlow by the looks of things, you're welcome to join us up here anytime Bosco! ;)
TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 30/07/2013 21:59:51
Good God Ulster Man your anti republic bile rivaled only by Dr Paisley
theshamen (Mayo) - Posts: 129 - 30/07/2013 22:00:14
Great post Ulsterman. Very insightful.
I honestly don't care what team does it, the fact that it happens should be enough for a change to be required. Whether thats a change in application of the current rules or changes to some bizarre ones, something needs to be done. Armagh are an Ulster team - Jamie Clarke spends most of his time getting up off the ground after a series of unpunished third man tackles. Its a joke.
Why not treat players on the pitch but allow the game continue? Why waste the time taking them off as this can still take minutes off the clock.
kingdom_come (Kerry) - Posts: 83 - 31/07/2013 09:54:23
The game is football. . Id like to see frees to be taken off the ground for a score. An indirect free can be from the hands.
The reason.. a) the game is called FOOTBALL b) it is a beautiful skill to watch c) 45s are from the ground so why should a free 21m out be taken from hands d) it would eradicate the whole inaccuracy of getting a free in one spot and then jogging into a better angle to make an easier kick.
I would like to see the buzzer clock. Whenever the ball goes dead. Time is killed
As for the cynical fouling. The black card wont work... a sin bin tactic wont work as players would just take it for the team
A defined tackle
And the card carry system.
Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 806 - 31/07/2013 19:51:12
Gaa has to do something about amount of players allowed in their own half ,this parkin d bus infront of goal its sickining to watch and no 2 man tackles this crack of swarming around d man with d ball and not letting him move and then its a free against him makes no sence,attack attack attack and good defending one player trying to beat another thats d best thing about our game come on gaa do something fast
matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 31/07/2013 20:28:43
Sport evolves and so to does Gaelic football, if anyone looked at gaa gold on TG 4 for matches in the 70/80 it looks slow compared to today's football. Now the men of the 60's, 70's and 80's were athletes and deserved their success, but the footballers today, even junior B club footballers but in serious effort and preparations.
My main concern is the level of injuries and the range of injuries are vast compared to the 60/70s and 80/90's. footballers are now stronger and fitter and hit harder with bigger consequences and serious injuries
cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 31/07/2013 21:13:40
Did some one just say mick lyons shame on you wash your mouth out ,never take d lyons name in vain ,did u know in 91 no one he was marking scored off him , and before someone says he broke their legs all charges against him were dropped dew to lack off witnesses fear d lyons roar
matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 31/07/2013 21:32:20
There is skill in a quick hand pass or a one two. I agree with calls to limit the number if successive handpasses. Ref's have to watch out for four steps. Would they be capable of watching out for 3 handpasses? A fourth consecutive handpass resulting in turnover ball but not a scoreable free as in an indirect free where a score can't result directly from it.
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9094 - 31/07/2013 21:36:00