Rules changes you'd like to see in GAA

With the advent of hawkeye and the furore about Sean Cavanagh, are there any rules from other sports you'd like to see trialled in the GAA?

A few favorites of mine:

1. Bring in a team foul count from basketball. Once a team hits 15 fouls combined every free kick is from the 21. Personal fouls can continue to be red and yellow cards.

2. Manager's Challenge from the NFL. Each manager has 2 challenges to use in a match. If there's a penalty of other contentious decision, they can choose to have it reviewed by the TV umpire. This might not be practical for every game, but certainly could be applied where possible - like hawkeye in Croke Park.

3. Yellow cards carry and if you get 2 you get a 1 match ban.

4. A red card is a red card - also a 1 match ban no matter how it is earned - but only for the competition it is earned in.

But whatever rules you'd like to see included, I think we should definitely GET RID OF THE CURRENT CARD SYSTEM!!! Red card and yellow card only please. Forget black cards and noting a name. Rubbish idea.

kingdom_come (Kerry) - Posts: 83 - 29/07/2013 14:47:55    1446327

Not too keen on point 1 but I completely agree with everything else

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1446 - 29/07/2013 14:51:04    1446332

A maximum of two handpasses to be used per phase of play.
Black card fouls to result in a free from the 21, dead straight in front of the posts.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 29/07/2013 14:51:44    1446333

I've been saying this for years but a yellow card for any player waving for a wide ball

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12483 - 29/07/2013 14:53:53    1446335

Still far too many people on the sideline and we nearly had a row yesterday.
They should have a box like the soccer crowd have. Keep them in their box.
Also there should be extra tome added on for slow freekicks. Some lads taking up to 2 minutes with goalkeepers coming way up the field to take them and very little time added on at the end.
Bring in the clock and let neutral timekeeper run it.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 29/07/2013 14:54:15    1446337

Yeah Cynical Fouls to be punished with 21 yard free on front of goal. Would cut it out better than the black card rule which will just waste time in my opinion

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 29/07/2013 14:56:40    1446345

I would agree with the technical foul count idea. Works great in NBA and adds a new level of tactics.

As regards getting rid of the tick and proposed black cad Im not so sure. Like basketball and unlike say rugby, there are fouls in GAA that do not warrant a booking. They are "soft" frees or "professional" fouls and they are prevalent in NBA when it suits tactically. It has been going on in football for years and nothing will get rid of it. The stakes are too high!

TBH the only way to solve this, again taking a leaf from the NBA, is to have excellently trained refs. Refs that can spot the niggly fouls, the cute fouls. Only then will we get a consistent system

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 273 - 29/07/2013 14:56:47    1446346

Treaty_Exile

A maximum of two handpasses to be used per phase of play.
Black card fouls to result in a free from the 21, dead straight in front of the posts.

Ah here. Get a grip like

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 273 - 29/07/2013 15:05:05    1446358

Ue of a buzzer system for Time keeping.. it needs to be taken off the referee and the clock stopped like in rugby for major delays in play.. In croke park the clock could be showed on the big screen so people are aware of whats left.. At smaller venues an official timekeeper could do it from the stand and indicate to the ref when there are 10 or 5 mins left in a half

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1223 - 29/07/2013 15:07:40    1446367

Breff

Half the goalies in the country would be sent off every game!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13837 - 29/07/2013 15:08:23    1446369

I would love to see the run down clock being brought into mens football/hurling aswell. Where if play stops, the clock stops. Especially now as many teams have adapted to the goalkeeper coming up to take 45's and free,the clock would if stopped from the time the play stops til the player eventually kicks the ball. It would also stop teams and managers giving out about how much additional time is added on.

meath_ (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 29/07/2013 15:09:30    1446375

Draws to take place on Live telly for all to see in real time.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 29/07/2013 15:10:59    1446380

MesAmis

1446369 Breff

Half the goalies in the country would be sent off every game!

Yeah, my stance is really out of empathy for reserve keepers.

Ah no, they wouldn't be long learning not to do it, actually with goalkeepers, maybe not?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12483 - 29/07/2013 15:15:51    1446390

For me in football I'd ban handpassed points.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13837 - 29/07/2013 15:16:21    1446394

MesAmis

For me in football I'd ban handpassed points.

What is wrong with a hand passed point? I would rather get rid of fisted goals. They are pure shite. See Cork's against Galway

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 273 - 29/07/2013 15:21:16    1446400

Timekeeping change would be a good one alright. Ref's have enough to be doing and they can be absolved of some hassle if it's on the screen or scoreboard.

Good point about the "niggly stuff" that wouldn't warrant a yellow card, but adding it to a team team foul count could be enough of a deterrent to stamp a lot of it out. I think we need to try and simplify some of the rules. The ref spends so much time writing in his notebook that he barely has time to watch the game.

kingdom_come (Kerry) - Posts: 83 - 29/07/2013 15:26:16    1446420

I already opened a thread on this but no one took a blind bit of notice! So I'll slip my observations in here.

1. Make a difference in the rule between deliberate striking and accidental striking with the hurley. Note, though, that accidental striking with the hurley must be emphasised, since reckless use of the hurley or "dangerous play" is also a sending-off offence.

2. Remove the advantage rule. It has become impossible to implement fairly and leads too often to the referee being accused of bias. ("He gave them a free in front of the goals when we fouled their player but when they fouled our player, he waved play on and out player lost the ball because of illegal tackles.") It also leads to rugby-like mauls in both hurling and football and slows down the game. The advantage usually ends up being to the advantage of the team committing the fouls, which wasn't what was intended.

3. Get rid of the red and yellow cards. Two many players are being sent off for innocuous offences under the present system. Before the cards were introduced, the system was that the referee give a free. If a foul was fairly serious, (it caused injury to the opposing player) the referee took the player's name, and it went into his report on the match. If a player fouled persistently (five times), then he was warned on the fourth occasion and sent off on the fifth. Other than that, a player was only sent off for causing deliberately injury to another player (not deliberately fouling him; that was covered under "persistent fouling"). In those days it was very rare for a player to be sent off.

4. Take the timing of a game out of the referee's hands by using a stadium clock. Most stadium scoreboards now have a countdown clock. A hooter only needs to be attached. There could be communication between the referee and the clock operator as to when the clock needed to be stopped. Amazingly, some referees don't want this. I can't understand why. There are frequent complaints at the moment about lost time not being played under the present system. Surely it would be to the benefit of everyone if the referee simply had to concentrate on making sure the game is played according to the rules and leave the timekeeping to others?

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 646 - 29/07/2013 15:34:22    1446441

I don't think its feasible to bring in rules to limit the number of handpasses. The handpass has always been an important part of the game and in itself is not destroying any match.

Handpassing has come into the game more as tactics have evolved so I don't have a problem. A good quick handpassing move is great to watch too but it is ruined by the checking of runs.

I actually enjoy watching the games now. Its about time we moved away from the 6-2-6 and started trying to change things. Conor Gormley being made run up the pitch to start at centre forward was a strange sight.

kingdom_come (Kerry) - Posts: 83 - 29/07/2013 15:35:44    1446444

I agree offside, but sure how would they fix the draw then. Im being sarcastic with my last point.

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 29/07/2013 15:46:14    1446471

Eamonnmc

Not that skillful and too easy an option for players. They banned handpassed goals before for the same reason.

Don't mind punched goals. A lot more skill involved to beat the keeper with a little flick as opposed to the handpassed point which is way too easy imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13837 - 29/07/2013 15:50:00    1446477