Mc Guinness fearful

Omaghjoe I know we all wear our county-coloured blinkers at times but come on.... going by your name your obviously a fan of the man and possibly a friend/clubmate so naturally you feel passionate about what happened, but you are allowing this to completely control your point of view. I agree it was a poor challenge and certainly merited a yellow if not red card. And big Joe was a loss to Tyrone that day but you can't say for certain it was the reason Tyrone got beat. Anyway I'd like to add a few points to the argument as to why I don't believe the played was targeted...

1)Like someone on here mentioned in the Gallogly case if Monaghan were attempting to take McHugh out of the game surely they would have got one of their big men like Lennon or Clerkin to do it properly. Apply this thought to big Joe's case, McLoone certainly isn't the biggest Donegal player and is not considered a dirty player either so why bring him in as the player to take out big Joe
2)Why sacrifice two substitutions to bring on a player to "do" him and then take him off when any other player on the field of play could have done it
3)McLoone was only returning from a serious leg break earlier that year and was not up to the pace, a possible reason for his poor challenge and subsequent substitution
4)If you watch the footage after the game the player is in tears because he was naturally disappointed with being substituted and also, being the fella he is, probably for injuring big Joe. McGuinness can be seen consoling him so surely if their plan was to bring him in to take out big Joe they would be laughing their heads off at a mission accomplished

tirchonaill92 (Donegal) - Posts: 156 - 29/07/2013 15:10:59    1446379

Lads I am currently abroad so have only seen the McHugh incident this morning as I had no access to the RTE player. Taking that incident on its own, I have no idea what the big fuss is. In my opinion there was no malice from either player and Mark came off worse. I watched it over and over and have the same conclusion each time.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 29/07/2013 15:23:20    1446406

Whats your opinion on the tackle on McHugh, Muckross?

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 29/07/2013 15:23:20    1446407

dstuction

But guys its an amatuer sport.
How is it OK that players are getting concussed and put in hospital/missing work.

Thats not on and I dont understand how alot of ye think it is.

Is this a joke ? On saturday We took a team of 13 year olds to Tipp for a challenge game , one of ours ended up in hospital smack on the elbow , now in a cast , his parents fine as they are GAA people and know these things happen .
Ive played in and watched many a game from senior to intermediate to junior Div 10 it happens , and no its not nice if someone ends up in hospital or misses work , but guy,s who are not looked after half as well as county players it appens to them up and down the country every week , again was the posted comment a joke as it shows a completely lack of understanding of game .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 29/07/2013 15:24:25    1446413

51longago

Why wasn't anyone outraged last week?

I can only speak for myself here. If I'd have made an issue of this tackle last week in light of Monaghans very impressive and well deserved win, then I'm sure I would have been made out to be a sore loser. I think most Donegal fans had a bit of decorum and decided to congratulate our new Ulster Champions instead.

wile_man_sir (Donegal) - Posts: 150 - 29/07/2013 15:28:57    1446426

wile_man_sir

51longago

Why wasn't anyone outraged last week?

I can only speak for myself here. If I'd have made an issue of this tackle last week in light of Monaghans very impressive and well deserved win, then I'm sure I would have been made out to be a sore loser. I think most Donegal fans had a bit of decorum and decided to congratulate our new Ulster Champions instead.

I would like to reiterate this. Nobody should be under the illusion that this is sour grapes. Monaghan were sharper than us all over the pitch both before and after the injury and ran out more than deserving winners

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1435 - 29/07/2013 15:42:03    1446460

Listen up lads I am only repeating what I seen with my own two eyes that day.

I have never heard a punch in the head considered a clumsy challenge Don't know big Joe personally just like fair play.

Donegal sent on McLoone to target big Joe and took him off when he done his job.

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 29/07/2013 16:36:29    1446587

Re McHugh v Gillogly: he was there to be hit; these boys train hard and are in peak physical condition: it is unfortunate that McHugh's injury turned out as it was but Gillogly did not intend to hospitalise him: wonder what Jimmy would make of the Boul Micky Ned v Dublin
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mc9VY7BKKCw

KevHill (Antrim) - Posts: 271 - 29/07/2013 17:04:56    1446658

The donegal backroom team really seem to be getting a bit carried away - you have gallagher on the sideline getting involved in confrontations while Jim is going around giving soundbites on the dangers of contact sport - would be more in their interest to put the heads down and plan for Mayo - they're defo rattled and seem to be struggling with the extra pressures that come with being the AI champs.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 29/07/2013 17:06:52    1446668

Jimmy might not have to worry too much about his players getting injured after Sunday.
The Gollogly tackle was slightly mis-timed but in no way deliberate and Jinksy came off pretty badly too. As for people suggesting it changed the game, Monaghan were already 0-4 to 0-0 ahead at the time.

Mike Patton (Monaghan) - Posts: 82 - 29/07/2013 17:15:26    1446686

TheFlaker

1446406 Lads I am currently abroad so have only seen the McHugh incident this morning as I had no access to the RTE player. Taking that incident on its own, I have no idea what the big fuss is. In my opinion there was no malice from either player and Mark came off worse. I watched it over and over and have the same conclusion each time.

Agree, hadn't seen it til the Sunday game last night and was expecting it to be much worse. Pure bad luck and not an issue at all

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12441 - 29/07/2013 17:25:51    1446709

Agree with TheFlaker here

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 29/07/2013 17:28:12    1446720

51longago

Whats your opinion on the tackle on McHugh, Muckross?

Since you ask 51 , I don't think there was any malice involved & I don't think there was any "plan" to take McHugh out going through Gallogly's head.
I do however think that the tackle was dangerous & that the answer to avoiding these situations is to make "high impact" style tackles including shoulder to shoulder illegal & in reckless cases a red card offence.
Players give so much effort & entertainment to us, that they deserve every protection we can give them against serious injury & that applies to Mayo, Dublin & London players as well.
All this oul guff about it being a "man's game" is all very well until someone ends up in a wheelchair.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/07/2013 17:28:35    1446721

omaghjoe

1446587 Listen up lads I am only repeating what I seen with my own two eyes that day.

I have never heard a punch in the head considered a clumsy challenge Don't know big Joe personally just like fair play.

Donegal sent on McLoone to target big Joe and took him off when he done his job.

Omaghjoe, It may have been Jim McGuinness who spouted it at the weekend, but it is an issue that is beyond Donegal players. I'm not doubting Big Joe McMahon got punched, but im also know for a fact that at least 3 Tyrone players thumped Karl Lacey hip within seconds of him entering the Ballybofey game. That was the man's first game back from hip surgery

Other players like Colm Cooper, Bernard Brogan, Peter Canavan etc have constantly taken major hits and abuse down the years. They and anybody else with exceptional ability are always singled out for rough treatment.
Now I'm not against the game being physical, we've always had that and thats part of the game. But if a player is singled to be taken out of the game, then tough action needs to be taken.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 29/07/2013 17:28:52    1446725

I've said it before and I'll say it again, what mcguinness is doing is very unfair on Gollogly

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/07/2013 17:29:21    1446726

I think Jim's right to highlight this kind of thing but he shouldn't have used what happened McHugh as an example. I think what happened there is just an unfortunate result of the physical condition these players are in these days and a slightly mistimed accident. But it shows the fine lines and how close a really serious injury is, especially when a lad gets targeted.

Every county is guilty of targeting a player they think pulls the strings for the opposition but it always used to be through hard but fair shoulder and the like. I'm sure everyone on these forums could give an example of one of their men on the end of a shocking bad high tackle or something early on in the game. It's not on and anything that constitutes dangerous play should result in a red card from now on for me. I'm not talking from a Donegal point of view but from the point of view of someone who plays and someone who loves the sport.

We're not taking this seriously enough, and the only reason I can see for people not taking it seriously is because it's McGuinness that's highlighting it.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 29/07/2013 17:31:01    1446727

Tirchonaill92 I wouldn't worry too much about these Tyrone lads, their anti Donegal agenda and bitterness is easily the most identifiable trend on the whole of Hoganstand. They gripe about McGuiness, McLoone, venues, referees, you name it. All in a not-so-well disguised attempt to cover their dislike of Donegal after them being brought down to earth in 2011, 2012 and also 2013 by Donegal. Their position as the big team of the north has been eradicated year after year now by Donegal under Jim McGuiness and many of them take any little chance to try and belittle Donegal. It's a far cry from the great support I remember many, many Donegal fans giving Tyrone when they did so well in years gone by under Mickey Harte. I won't be making that mistake again and know many others who feel the same. Northern solidarity and Ulster unity is a unique thing in our games. Tyrone fans are happy to engage in it when they're the recipients of it and they are doing well, but when another team is doing well it's proven to be a very different story.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1478 - 29/07/2013 17:48:27    1446754

Why doesnt Jim start with Donegal players cutting out the cynical and off the ball stuff.

Murph (Kerry) - Posts: 45 - 29/07/2013 17:53:37    1446760

1446726 I've said it before and I'll say it again, what mcguinness is doing is very unfair on Gollogly

I don't actually think Jim McGuinness wanted to single out Gollogly at all. I think he rightly felt that with 4 of his players getting concussion in 2 x Ulster Championship matches, that he should highlight the matter.

The Gollogly/McHugh collision looked genuinely mis-timed, and that on it's own hardly pushed Jim McGuinness to make such a strong statement. I feel it was that combined with other Incidents that pushed him to act.
Would James Horan not do the same?

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 29/07/2013 17:55:26    1446761

Nothing wrong with Gollogly's tackle in fact its great to see a man get clattered in a 50/50 (ish!) rather than the usual pulling and dragging these days. Its pure bad luck that McHugh got injured, Gollogly could have easily injured himself or McHugh could have got up and ran it off but its just they way he caught him. That type of body slam lifts the whole team and is good as a point.

McGuinness is just being cute planting a seed in the ref's head that we are being targetted, while maybe motivating his own players by creating an 'us against them' mentality that we had going into 2012 as the destroyers of the lovely flowing football the other 31 counties played!

Just soundbites to wind things up, anyone who thinks he is worried for the physical safety of that group stepping on the pitch against Mayo should go watch these lads train - scary stuff!

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 29/07/2013 18:14:34    1446783