I think Jimmy is realising that when the cupboard is bare Donegal are vunerable. They cannot afford any more injuries as they do not have the depth.
unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1223 - 29/07/2013 09:51:18
Unclegerry
Don't fret too much about the Donegal cupboard.... Sam Maguire is still there! Thanks for your concern anyway!
Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 29/07/2013 10:04:45
Not that I imagine it will make one whit of difference as the facts never tend to get in the way of bias & prejudice, but here is a full transcript of the interview concerned. The thing to remember here is that McGuinness was specifically asked if he was concerned about the way opponents were marking some of his key players.
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/jim-mcguinness-fears-for-players-health-and-safety-1.1477876
Now if you can read that & see anything other than genuine concern for the wellbeing of his players then you are a better man than me.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/07/2013 10:11:03
Okay fair enough so what is he suggesting should have happened to better protect McHugh? Because in effect it sounds like he has just accused the Monaghan player of assault.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 29/07/2013 10:17:31
The Master
Having a shoulder put out is very different to concussion . i dont think they should be put in the same braket at all but maybe u dont think so in mayo? Having shoulders done is common think about it...
letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 29/07/2013 10:33:37
Jim McGuinness has a point.
3 Donegal players suffered concussion in their final 2 Ulster games, that is shocking in fairness. However i would say it more of an issue within Ulster football. When Karl Lacey entered the Tyrone game in Ballybofey, 3 Tyrone players appeared to target a specific hip of his. Now I don't know which hip he had surgery on, but they seemed to have a fair Idea. This happened in the first 30 seconds to a minute of him coming on.
You may not like Jim McGuinness's legend or Donegal's style of football, but that doesn't make it ok for opposing players to assault the All Ireland champions. It is one thing to rough them up a little, which I believe is acceptable in the game. But to do serious harm, which could have long lasting effect's outside of the game is not acceptable.
Not just to Donegal players, but to any player in the GAA. Physicality is one thing, but a young player spending 3 nights in hospital is another.
GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 29/07/2013 10:48:58
I agree with Big Jim on this one and the Gaa need to be alive to the situation and not be reactive. How Bernard Brogan still has a head on his shoulders after his playing career is a minor miracle he gets assaulted by two/three opposition players every game.
Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 29/07/2013 10:49:05
We see clashes of heads in every other game letterkennyman. I would say there are more concussions than we actually hear about. We are only hearing about them now because it is serving the agenda mcguinness is trying to push. Think about it, why mention 3rd man tackles in the argument about concussions? As ciaran whelan pointed out, it was a calculated move. I dont see why donegal lads cant admit that, it is obvious that it was and most people are saying so anyway, it wont put you up or down by just accepting it.
I hope the refs do clamp down on third man tackles - because donegal do it more than mayo do anyway.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/07/2013 10:53:38
letterkennyGuy County: Donegal Posts: 11
Having a shoulder put out is very different to concussion . i dont think they should be put in the same braket at all but maybe u dont think so in mayo? Having shoulders done is common think about it...
Of course they should be in the same bracket as they occur from exactly the same tackle. 2 grown MEN in peak condition running as fast as they can to get the ball with full committment for the jersey and the cause. If the timing of the shoulder is a milisecond out or a milimeter of in its executuion it can be the difference between a concussion and a dislocated shoulder or even the 2 MEN bouncing off the ground getting up and going again. I thought McGuinness had schooled this great Donegal team in being tough in the tackle and giving everything for the jersey. Now that another team is doing it and there a few coincidental injuries have occurred it has to be investigated.Ye got a lucky injury-free year last year which went some way to helping the cause, now that ye have a few through sheer bad luck the moaning and crying starts and its backed up by the supporters on here. Unfortunately now my estimation of McGuinness, a great manager has dropped and he now brings this belief to the Donegal dressing room which in turn makes giants of men last September look a little less heroic. If you can give it, take it, get on with it. Roll on the weekend and hopefully we still are allowed throw a shoulder.
peile (Mayo) - Posts: 180 - 29/07/2013 11:00:54
I think some people need to read what was actually said. Physicality is fine, it's a physical game and we all know that. It's when it goes after that Jim has a problem with and rightly so.
Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 29/07/2013 11:02:10
GaryMc82 has summed it up 2 a tee. Nobody cud put it better. So whelan says it and he is always right? Was a good but very physical player himself I agree mcguiness cud have an agenda on the murphy tacke but not on mchughs etc Anyway lets get on with it now and best team win the man made a fair point and whelan etc wont look very well after one of these injuries happen somewhere in the country...
letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 29/07/2013 11:06:05
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7947
I dont see why donegal lads cant admit that, it is obvious that it was and most people are saying so anyway, it wont put you up or down by just accepting it.
Thats seems very strange but yet amusing a statement like that coming fron you.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 29/07/2013 11:06:51
And you quoting it - the guy who says dublin are not favourites for sam, even though every bookies has them as favourites, is even worse. Its about time you grew up a bit, you are posting off topic on every thread over what seems to be some infatuation with me, simply because I said dublin should win sam and if they dont they will have blown it. Well Im sorry, but the truth hurts sometimes, the real measure of a man is how he can handle it.
If you are going to continue to chase me around then I will say - post on the topic at least. It makes you seem half as petulent and sore if you dont refer to me all the time.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/07/2013 11:16:43
Guys I recently got Concussed in a club match and it isnt nice at all and takes weeks to fully recover. I love the physical aspect of the game but this whole take the man and the ball attitude is not at all good. It gets mentioned every day at training up and down the country.
The reason jim brings this up is because he feels that his players are coming in for rough treatment. I dont care if his only aim is to make it safer for his own players. Thats part of his job. When a player spends 3 days in hospital something has to be looked at in my opinion.
I know injuries will always happen but its becoming more and more common and maybe what the GAA need is more vocal managers like jim.
He was honest and said Monaghan deserved to win the game. All jim cared about is making public the fact that 4 of his players were concussed. Thats 4 out of 30 players in a space on a month. Something aint right from them figures.
How some of ye who apparently play the game cant see jim as being a guy who would do anything for this game and just wants to protect his players. Dont get me wrong he is a smart and cunning man but in this instance he is 100% correct.
dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 29/07/2013 11:31:11
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7950
1445848 And you quoting it - the guy who says dublin are not favourites for sam, even though every bookies has them as favourites, is even worse. Its about time you grew up a bit, you are posting off topic on every thread over what seems to be some infatuation with me, simply because I said dublin should win sam and if they dont they will have blown it. Well Im sorry, but the truth hurts sometimes, the real measure of a man is how he can handle it.
If you are going to continue to chase me around then I will say - post on the topic at least. It makes you seem half as petulent and sore if you dont refer to me all the time.
That has nothing to do with this topic. The measure of a man is someone who can analyse an incident without blind prejudice on the topic and not just make a judgement based on who it involves, it is something unfortunetly you have no interest in trying to master. That is your choice , but you have turned a lot of posters off reading topics purely because all you are doing is trying to use the pages like a courtroom and bore people to death.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 29/07/2013 11:37:43
Can someone from Donegal please come back down from the moral high ground and spare us the mock outrage and please explain to me what Stephen Gollogly did wrong? I don't understand why he's being vilified for playing the ball. I mean was it even a foul? I mean Willie McSorley tragically clashed with Paul McGirr in 1997 but thankfully everyone had the sense to realise it was only an accident. Thankfully the outcome this time around wasn't near as tragic but men running around in a high contact sport are going to bump into each other. So what's different this time?
And this is Donegal who have a player who has genuinely assaulted this year and they didn't even follow up the disciplinary procedure to ensure the offending player was punished. Does that sound like a panel or manager who are stricken with worry about health and safety?
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 29/07/2013 11:38:54
I was at the game in Clones and when I saw the 'tackle' on McHugh and the referee standing around until Gollogly got up I was sure it was going to be a card, probably red. Not sure if the ref showed some sympathy when he saw Gollogly was injured but from what I saw Gollogly had no intention of going for the ball. The ball bobbled around in front of McHugh and as he was reaching for it Gollogly hit him as hard as he could. I watched out for it on TV that night but the Sunday Game didn't even show it - maybe McGuinness was frustrated by this.
opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 536 - 29/07/2013 11:40:19
That should say they have a player who 'was' assaulted not, who 'has' assaulted.
Sorry, big difference.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 29/07/2013 11:46:41
doublehop County: Kildare Posts: 3484
1445900 Can someone from Donegal please come back down from the moral high ground and spare us the mock outrage and please explain to me what Stephen Gollogly did wrong? I don't understand why he's being vilified for playing the ball
That is just it doublehop he didnt play the ball, in fact I dont even think he tried to play the play. Im all for hard hitting and of course there will be a few accidents that will happen, but its when its not an accident that I have an issue with!
DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 29/07/2013 11:46:49
doublehop County: Kildare Posts: 3484
1445714 Okay fair enough so what is he suggesting should have happened to better protect McHugh? Because in effect it sounds like he has just accused the Monaghan player of assault.
What I think needs to happen is that the concept of the "hit" as a means of tackling has to be taken out of the game. To my mind if a player lines up another player & slams into him without the other player being in a position to defend himself then that should be an automatic red card. I would even include so called "shoulder to shoulder" tackles, which are often anything but. Intent doesn't come into it, it's all about player welfare some of these tackles nowadays would get you a straight red in rugby!! American football is the only place you see them & they are well protected & well paid.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/07/2013 11:48:55