It was in relation to this comment that you made Master:
'What is the thing that links all these concussions? Is it donegal that are being reckless?'
Now I'm off to enjoy the sunshine for a few hours before the Sunday game starts
petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 28/07/2013 18:44:02
Player welfare should be paramount and dangerous play should result in a red card.
tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 28/07/2013 18:48:04
This is alarmist stuff from McGuinness and I really wonder what motivated him to say it. I mean how long as he been involved with Gaelic Football? It's not like he's just come across the game and realised hey we have quite bulky guys running into each other here. There's a Down player quoted in the Sunday Times who privately told a journalist that they could see Donegal were out on their feet in the last 10 minutes of the Ulster semi-final. It would seem to me Jim is worried about his team being grinded down and the strength and depth (or lack thereof) in his panel rather than having just had an epiphany about the dangers of contact sport.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 28/07/2013 18:55:30
Lets not forget 2011 Tyrone v Donegal when Tyrone were well in control with Joe McMahon who after recovering from a broken jaw is lording it at full back.
Enter substitute Leo McLoone. Whose first act is to punch Joe McMahon in the jaw from behind.
Joe leaves the field concussed followed my McLoone subbed again about 5mins later - to a big slap on the back from McGuinness
Result: 2 Donegal goals and the result for Donegal
Not since Meath in 96 have I seen a more blatant attempt to win a game by taking a player out of it
omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 28/07/2013 19:27:53
omagh joe........Not since Meath in 96 have I seen a more blatant attempt to win a game by taking a player out of it........ We remember it well, cost us the all-Ireland, Thanks for that Pat!
beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 28/07/2013 19:51:58
The only thing Jim is fearful of is loosing his all Ireland crown which will hopefully be next weekend!! Getting sick of listening to his whinging and moaning.
juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 28/07/2013 19:54:54
Look lads I TOTALLY agree with McGuinness on this one! There is a very big difference in physical and dangerous! Last year we win by playing great defensive / attacking and some physical football. This year in my opinion we are been targeted and I do think mchugh was takin out of it on the basis of the 2 tackles before the 3rd one in which he was hurt! You think mc Guinness is moaning for god sake listen to yourselves you won't be happy to Donegal are out, if ye only knew half as much as him Ud all be ok , me included! He is the only manager that speaks his mind so fair play jim keep it up ! If I wanted to be petty I wud rant on about Lacey been taken out of it by Dublin in 2011 , water under the bridge. Just counting the minutes to I get a petty reply with you moaning again... The man was pointing out something not moaning..
letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 28/07/2013 20:02:42
LetterkennyGuy
McHugh was never targeted. If he was was then why do it with your smallest player? Every Monaghan player goes in hard on every opposing player thats their way always has been. You might have more of a case with Lacey v Dublin which was a bad foul but I don't believe it was a deliberate targetting of a player
Unlike the targeting of McMahon in 2011, which was completely deliberate and unfortunately effective as Donegal won as a direct result of his leaving the field.
omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 28/07/2013 20:41:28
Yes and as was already said Johnny Doyle was clearly targeted in the 2011 QF. But now he's stricken with concern...
The only manager that speaks his mind... yeah right. Is that before or after he's kicked the journalist who wrote a first hand account of his setup out of the press conference?
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 28/07/2013 21:02:24
omaghjoe County: Tyrone Posts: 1116
1445251 Lets not forget 2011 Tyrone v Donegal when Tyrone were well in control with Joe McMahon who after recovering from a broken jaw is lording it at full back.
Enter substitute Leo McLoone. Whose first act is to punch Joe McMahon in the jaw from behind.
Joe leaves the field concussed followed my McLoone subbed again about 5mins later - to a big slap on the back from McGuinness
Result: 2 Donegal goals and the result for Donegal
Not since Meath in 96 have I seen a more blatant attempt to win a game by taking a player out of it
+1
TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 28/07/2013 21:05:11
I suppose the response from some posters on here shouldn't surprise me but I find it hard to figure out what problem some of you have with McGuinness. A few facts.
1 This is about safety. I f some of the tackles that are flying about now happened in a rugby game the player concerned would be straight off, the same in soccer. Intent has nothing to do with it. He is looking at a situation where one of his players spent two nights in hospital. Not for one moment is anyone suggesting that Gallogly meant to put McHugh in hospital, in fact he did a lot of damage to himself in the process but it was a dangerous tackle & some people on here who are making light of it are the same people who get all fired up about much smaller issues such as players not being 14 metres back etc etc.
2. What is all this about moaning? I have never heard JMcG moan about anything. What he did was say out what everyone else was saying out of the corner of their mouths about the league, namely that it is a secondary competition. Big deal. He also stood up & set the record straight about the "bitegate" incident. He was right to do so & nobody contradicted a word he said.
3. Some people don't like that he is active on the sideline but I watched Brian Cody giving the officials all sorts of grief today after a decision didn't go his way. It's called caring.
No the crux of the matter here is the same as with Joe Brolly. There are people who just don't like G.A.A. folk from the north of the country getting too big for their boots. If you are northern, young, successful, bright & articulate then be ready for the flak. It's not something I like saying but given the evidence it's hard to come to any other conclusion.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/07/2013 21:21:39
Fair enuf lads we will agree to disagree seeing that Tyrone and McMahon are all SAINT'S I'm not even going there with a Kildare supporter could have should have would have! Stop dragging up the past lads he pointed out something so leave it at that.
P.s
Still would have beat Tyrone and Kildare in both the days where As Monaghan still would have beat us last wk.
Nite nite boys
letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 28/07/2013 21:24:28
Omaghjoe
I know you are a Tyrone fan but it doesn't stop you giving a bit more of an unbiased recollection of events.
Firstly, well in control? It was 6-4 at the time. It was a reckless tackle but that's all it was. McLoone was subbed again because he was on a yellow and his head was not right after injuring a player as he had. He was also not congratulated by Jim when he came off and it is indeed libellous to suggest he was.
I notice you didn't mention Kevin Hughes red card as being the real turning point in the game. And indeed when it was level in the last minute it was a mistake by Martin Swift, who started the game, that led to the winning goal.
But I suppose in your head your version of the story sounds better.
benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1435 - 28/07/2013 21:34:33
No the crux of the matter here is the same as with Joe Brolly. There are people who just don't like G.A.A. folk from the north of the country getting too big for their boots. If you are northern, young, successful, bright & articulate then be ready for the flak. It's not something I like saying but given the evidence it's hard to come to any other conclusion.
Right yeah that's it, that's why I was posting last week that why I want to keep McGeeney as manager. Because I hate smart, articulate Ulstermen. To me McGuinness' comments can be neatly filed with Alex Ferguson's quote last year that Van Persie could've died when an opponent kicked a ball at him, alarmist and over the top and looking for protection for his own players. He has an agenda in what he's saying and is being deliberately disingenuous. A bit like your comment above actually.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 28/07/2013 21:36:19
Muckross, I have to be honest, I always look out for you and Gary Mc (from Derry) posts as yous are two of very few guys on here who post with diplomacy and take the blinkers off, in relation to your most recent post, you ave nailed it on the head, there is a few posters being very vocal would just Die to have Jim at their helm
ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 28/07/2013 21:47:20
Right yeah that's it, that's why I was posting last week that why I want to keep McGeeney as manager. Because I hate smart, articulate Ulstermen. To me McGuinness' comments can be neatly filed with Alex Ferguson's quote last year that Van Persie could've died when an opponent kicked a ball at him, alarmist and over the top and looking for protection for his own players. He has an agenda in what he's saying and is being deliberately disingenuous. A bit like your comment above actually.
Small difference doublehop, when I spoke about McGuinness & Brolly I also said "successful". That doesn't apply to McGeeney. Are you trying to tell me that a tackle that put a man in hospital for two nights can be equated to what happened to Van Persie. We are in Master territory now. It is really sad when fellas, who profess to be GAA men, seem to have no problem with players being concussed & hospitalised, but should a manager speak out about it, lands on top of him like a ton of bricks. I fear you are just one of those who is bitter at how things GAA have worked out for them & is focussing their disappointment on someone whose GAA life is a success As for having an agenda, be a man and name it and if not wanting to see players injured & in hospital brands JMcG & me as "disingeneous" then that is a badge I will wear with pride
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/07/2013 21:53:57
In fairness double he did say smart and articulate don't think Mc Geeney woyld be guilty of either.
DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 28/07/2013 21:54:36
I don't recall any 'big slap on the back' from McGuinness when mcloone came off that day. I think the Tyrone man is making that bit up. I also think they need to build a bridge and move on from 3 defeats in 3 years to us.
Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1478 - 29/07/2013 09:06:36
If McGuinness is trying to protect his players against the cynisism that will more than likely be on show from Maigh Eo at the weekend I say fair play dhó. There is no place for this crap in our games. If teams want to rugby tackle well then go off and play rugby.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 29/07/2013 09:32:44
MuckrossHead Small difference doublehop, when I spoke about McGuinness & Brolly I also said "successful". That doesn't apply to McGeeney. Are you trying to tell me that a tackle that put a man in hospital for two nights can be equated to what happened to Van Persie. We are in Master territory now.
Are you actually trying to insinuate that the mchugh incident was anything other than an accident? You are entering jimmy mcguinness territory now... Also, how was mrphy getting blocked off going to result in a spinal injury? He would be more likely to injure his spine with one of those big dives, like the one he took against tyrone when he was half tripped. The thing was calculated.
It is really sad when fellas, who profess to be GAA men, seem to have no problem with players being concussed & hospitalised, but should a manager speak out about it, lands on top of him like a ton of bricks. I fear you are just one of those who is bitter at how things GAA have worked out for them & is focussing their disappointment on someone whose GAA life is a success
Well the thing is muckross, accidents happen. Nobody wants people injured, but you cant blame someone for an accident. Mayo had 2 dislocated shoulders in 2 weeks, they were in hospital also. But nobody in the mayo camp is asking for the rules to be changed because of it. You see, we are not bitter about accidents, nor do we try to blame innocent parties when accidents occur. That is disingenuous behavior.
As for having an agenda, be a man and name it and if not wanting to see players injured & in hospital brands JMcG & me as "disingeneous" then that is a badge I will wear with pride
But it is disingenuous, because it was an accident. It is like trying to blame somebody for falling out of bed, it wasnt anyones fault. Now if jimmy was really so concerned about bad treatment of players, be might mention the london lads targetting cillian o'connor when he came off the bench. Considering the guy had an injury recently, that would be what I consider purposely dangerous play. I wonder will any donegal lads be mindful of his shoulder like mcguinness wants people to be mindful of mchugh's small stature? Or will we see the McGees crash into it after 10 minutes? Hmm, I wonder...
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/07/2013 09:48:40