Donegal v Mayo

Mayo to win a very low scoring game.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/08/2013 16:35:12    1450930

I expect Mayo to win a game where very little football will be played, a rugby league type encounter is in store.

Get out the popcorn and toast the marshmallows, and sit back and enjoy the chaos !

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2931 - 02/08/2013 17:42:18    1450993

savage...What sort of crowd are they expecting on Sunday?? 60,000??
I'd say 50k , there will be nobody from Kerry there, although they're also in the minor at 12...........

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 02/08/2013 21:02:51    1451142

MuckrossHead

The one draw I didn't want. Mayo are my tip this year for Sam & their hunger will only be sharpened by the prospect of a crack at Donegal along the way. There will be no need for motivational speeches in Castlebar this week!!

The other reason I would have preferred to avoid Mayo is that they are the most defensive of the teams we could have met. Neither Dublin nor Kerry have a defensive bone in their bodies & would have played an open game wheras Mayo will, I think, adopt the tactics that have caused us such problems. The fact that Mayo are better than Down, Monaghan & Laois would make me fearful.

Our walking wounded list is still long but a ray of sunshine was the performance of young Ryan McHugh who was stellar yesterday in his brother's role as link man.

Mayo by a few.

Zoink ...
I assume you're just taking the mick here. You're fearful of teams that are better than Down & Laois???
Donegal's walking wounded? who is that? McHugh maybe, and that's it.

Am really looking forward to this game, a few aspects I most interested
How will Mayo attack against Donegal blanket defence - and that includes moving the ball quickly before Donegal get a chance to foul when they loose possession
Mayo defend hard from the full forward line - I assume they will continue this model, something Donegal haven't played against this year
Will Mayo deploy dedicated man-marker on Murphy with one job - don't let him touch the ball - damn the game going on around you?

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 216 - 03/08/2013 11:13:46    1451290

pdempsey

Much ado about nothing here lads. There was plenty of "cynical" fouling in the Mayo - Donegal final last year but there were no serious or dangerous hits. (I'd call them proper manly hits but that wouldn't be politically correct in the environment we live in today). The reality is that many players (on all teams) go down easy and make tackles look worse than they are. Managers also exagerate the seriousness of these tackles to take away from their teams weaknesses. I think it's a bigger problem for our sport than the powers that be appreciate. It puts people off watching the game and makes the game less genuine in every respect. Lets hope that both teams stand up to each other in a manly fashion and that some of the ridiculous antics that have become prevelent in recent times are kept to a minimum. These antics include: diving; feigning injury; mouthing; blocking free kicks from being taken; kicking the ball away; tapping lads on the head; "maor uisces" spending more time running around the pitch than some of the actual players; stupid celebrations (fist pumping etc) when playeers score a run of the mill point or win a free; etc etc etc. All teams do it and Mayo and Donegal are 2 of the leading culprits.

Agree with alot of your post there. The fact is though wiht the level of preparations that go into the games these days there's so much at stake so any and every trick that can be tried will be tried, like in professional sports, it's about whatever you can do to gain an edge. That's just the way it will be.

Donegalman - "Kerry are the only county left with that combination of tradition and modern team"???! Are you for real? I think you've been talking to Kerry people too much and reading the articles written by the very many Kerry pundits and journalists who contribute to media, media which is heavily influenced in its running by...................you guessed it.

Capitalist (Dublin) - Posts: 47 - 03/08/2013 12:03:23    1451320

Isn't it a coincidence that Gallagher released his comments through the same newspaper up north that employ a certain Joe Brolly as a columnist? Donegal obviously taking a more direct approach this year with their rubbish rather than having Brolly do the damage for them.

That said, fully expect Brolly to get his tuppence worth in tonight as a "last word" type of thing.

jason (Mayo) - Posts: 139 - 03/08/2013 12:15:47    1451329

sam on errigal,why you putting Cavan down, we in Donegal and Cavan always get along, and look in 100 odd years of Ulster football senior finals Cavan appeared in about 60, winning 39, be fore any1 in Ulster done anything Cavan had done it, good God we only got off the mark in 1972, a lot of Ulster county people give Cavan a hard time, is that because they kicked the shit out of all of us at 1 time, live with it, thats the way it is, there will always be winners, and losers, we are able to win now Thank God, but its nice to see the ELVIS of Ulster football back, good luck to Cavan, us and the Ulster teams over the weekend.

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 03/08/2013 12:34:56    1451335

Jason,

Two words...grow up!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 03/08/2013 12:36:09    1451337

Mchugh11

I didn't see any reference of Sam on Errigal putting Cavan down....all he said was that they employed a blanket defence...

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 03/08/2013 12:39:13    1451338

Some of the diatribe on here from certain Mayo posters. Have lost total respect for you as a football county. Ye haven't stopped moaning since last years All Ireland final where ye were beaten fair and square by a Donegal team that never had to get out of second gear. As a county ye have brought cynicism to a new level as per your behaviour in last years final and semi final against Dublin. The comments from your manager are nothing short of disgraceful. I really hope our boys give it to ye good and proper tomorrow.....I have grown so old listening to your whingeing since last years final....It gets a bit much after a while....of we ever needed anything to motivate us tomorrow it's the sight of the green and red jersey with moan moan moan written all over it!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 03/08/2013 12:44:24    1451342

The more I think about this game, I see Mayo pulling away when the "battle" is finished and the scores start to flow. Mayo should have too much intensity for Donegal, and I think also mentally they are in the zone and the All-I champions are not. Mayo will start sluggishly due to the lack of any real contests so far and the long lay-off, and in this period it may well appear that Donegal can win, but as the game goes on Mayo will gain control and win by 5 or 6 pulling up.

Gallagher's comments were misjudged and smack of desperation. Horan is smart and his response to Jimmy's comments are part of Donegal becoming more desperate, they know they cannot get to Mayo in that way. The only worry for Mayo is how they handle being favourites against a high quality team, but as I cannot see Donegal producing a high-quality performance over 70 minutes then it will be more a case of the favourites being able to win without being pushed all the way

Capitalist (Dublin) - Posts: 47 - 03/08/2013 12:44:58    1451343

jason, Mayo are favorites, fresh team met no1 , no disrespect to the west, played Cavan in friendly, got beat ,first half, full strength cavan team, second half mayo beat cavan b team, monaghan beat mayo in friendly, then yous are alleged to have told monaghan how to beat donegal,????????????????????, anyway, forget about last year Donegal beat yous, live with it, its now, tomorrow, mayo can beat us,lads believe in yourselves, if mayo win, and it looks like that, i want mayo to go the whole way, what about a mayo, cavan final,

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 03/08/2013 12:49:13    1451347

i expect Cavan, Donegal to have the most support come sunday, Ulster people always support their teams, and good luck to all the teams, sathurday, sunday, may the best teams win, let the game begin, SAW WANT TO PLAY A GAME,

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 03/08/2013 12:56:54    1451350

Donegal were deserving winners last year. Mayo are better this year. This has all the elements for a great contest. May the best team win!

bringbackmc (Mayo) - Posts: 30 - 03/08/2013 13:35:37    1451371

Lifford Gael

1451342 Some of the diatribe on here from certain Mayo posters. Have lost total respect for you as a football county. Ye haven't stopped moaning since last years All Ireland final where ye were beaten fair and square by a Donegal team that never had to get out of second gear. As a county ye have brought cynicism to a new level as per your behaviour in last years final and semi final against Dublin. The comments from your manager are nothing short of disgraceful. I really hope our boys give it to ye good and proper tomorrow.....I have grown so old listening to your whingeing since last years final....It gets a bit much after a while....of we ever needed anything to motivate us tomorrow it's the sight of the green and red jersey with moan moan moan written all over it!

My God, you opened your post with "Some of the diatribe on here from certain Mayo posters" and proceed to follow it with some utter nonsense.

"Ye haven't stopped moaning since last years All Ireland final where ye were beaten fair and square by a Donegal team that never had to get out of second gear." Let's start with this. I don't know of any Mayo fan who moaned after last year's final. It was a fine Donegal team who thoroughly deserved their victory over the course of the season. Mayo fans took a lot of positives out of it, and so they should. It was a battling performance and we kicked some great scores after a disastrous start. As for the second part about never getting out of second gear, that's a horribly arrogant viewpoint. You're telling me that scoring 2-01 in 10 minutes can be done in an All-Ireland Final in second gear? Utter, utter dung.

"As a county ye have brought cynicism to a new level as per your behaviour in last years final and semi final against Dublin." Oh, for God's sake. Give us a break. Nobody is denying the cynical nature of the last 10-15 minutes of the game from a Mayo perspective, but to claim that we took it to new levels is not just a ridiculous exaggeration, it's blatantly untrue. Dublin were far from 'pure' on the day too, as we were kicked, dragged and punched well before went 10 points ahead. PS, not trying to start a fight here either Dublin fans, I have no problem with your team and thoroughly enjoy watching you play.

"The comments from your manager are nothing short of disgraceful. I really hope our boys give it to ye good and proper tomorrow." More bullplop, not to mention blinkered. James Horan has been composed and well spoken in the media since he took the job. I assume you took offense to his latest interview on Donegal, where he was asked a question and gave an honest assessment, seen here http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=197733

As far as I can see, everything he says here is true, but not only that, it's complimentary. "They've brought physicality in GAA to a new level, and fair play to them."

"I really hope our boys give it to ye good and proper tomorrow.....I have grown so old listening to your whingeing since last years final....It gets a bit much after a while....of we ever needed anything to motivate us tomorrow it's the sight of the green and red jersey with moan moan moan written all over it!" As for your final bit of bullplop, Donegal fans have been leaders in moaning since 2011, and the absolute nonsense posted on social media moaning about lack of tickets for the All-Ireland Final (for the 84,000 super fans) and lately about Carrick-on-Shannon's insufficient capacity is mind-numbing at this stage (it didn't even sell out). But I am capable of understanding that this is not representative of Donegal as a whole, and as such has not made me lose "total respect for you as a football county."

The entirety of your post oozes of black pots and kettles.

Safe journey tomorrow.

MayoMark (Mayo) - Posts: 332 - 03/08/2013 17:06:49    1451467

donegal by 4 or 5

merlin (Clare) - Posts: 61 - 04/08/2013 09:05:29    1451940

Ah lovely job done now I can sit back and enjoy this massive game today.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/08/2013 09:42:21    1451963

Good luck to our lads today, I think we can do it, 50/50 if both gives it all.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3849 - 04/08/2013 10:39:31    1452005

rumour has it lacey will not start plus murphy has been getting injections for pain.cannot see mayo not winning if thats the case

openfootball (Mayo) - Posts: 6 - 04/08/2013 11:14:45    1452038

Mayo and Kerry to complete the las four. Really looking forward to Donegal Mayo should be a real cracker.

07_LK_1973 (Limerick) - Posts: 115 - 04/08/2013 11:56:51    1452076