Donegal v Mayo

Haha muckrosshead - the auld smartphone is to smart for me...

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 01/08/2013 20:01:05    1450180

Mayo team isn't as good as I was hoping for with injuries and has a few weaknesses in it; Cunnife at 2 wouldn't fill me with confidence , Ger Caff is suspect at full back Vaughan is great going forward but wouldn't be a good man marker Feeney is an average forward and Freeman can be poor also Andy Moran class act but nowhere near match fit. Varley and Conroy make Mayo a much better pacier team so hopefully it's not to late for Mayo when they come on.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/08/2013 20:20:26    1450204

01/08/2013 20:01:05
westkerry

Haha muckrosshead - the auld smartphone is to smart for me...

Take some advice from an old man westkerry, stick to the phoneboxes!!!!!

How are things in Kerry, not a peep out of ye cute hoors.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/08/2013 20:37:40    1450220

Muckrosshead - haha,

Well I'm nervous actually I do think we should win but we have
been caught on the hop before on the bankholiday.

My big fear if I'm honest is the weather, personally we don't do great on a dirty
day , 2012,2011 & 2010 all bad days when you can't move the ball quick
because it's like a bar of soap in there.

Nerves every year .. won't sleep great now until Sunday.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 01/08/2013 20:54:14    1450234

westkerry

Muckrosshead - haha,

My big fear if I'm honest is the weather, personally we don't do great on a dirty

Ye couldn't blame the weather for 2012, it was a grand day.
Nerves are only 1/4 the story here. Last year we were feeling the love from everyone, this year we are in Anglo Irish country. Ye lads seem to have been able to win AIs for years & still keep people sweet. Now up here we know it isn't that ye are better looking or smarter. so what's the secret?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/08/2013 21:45:55    1450284

westkerry

Muckrosshead - haha,

Nerves are only 1/4 the story here. Last year we were feeling the love from everyone, this year we are in Anglo Irish country. Ye lads seem to have been able to win AIs for years & still keep people sweet. Now up here we know it isn't that ye are better looking or smarter. so what's the secret?

Lots of Kerry folk in the media. They look after their own.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 01/08/2013 21:49:26    1450289

MuckrossHead

1450284 westkerry

Muckrosshead - haha,

They didn't try to create an us against them scenario, which unfortunetly it looks like your two lads on the line are trying, I don't think comments today were needed for or really help anyone, if anything I fell slightly embarrassed for you lads ,who have to get the grief over it.

Either way I hope it lives up to the hype and is remembered for football, not managers soundbites.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 01/08/2013 21:59:15    1450299

Shocking stuff from Rory Gallagher in all honesty, serious insult to Monaghan. And even if O'Rourke and Horan did exchange ideas on our team and how to beat us, what's wrong with that? "Colluding", I mean honest to god, this isn't a world war.

Very disappointed in Rory's comments, I'll be honest.

We're at a low ebb this year, nobody has looked up for it really, I'm not looking forward to Sunday as I believe all this media talk is simply going to rile Mayo. I think it will be a dour game but I fear that Mayo have a much bigger quality in front of goal than either Down or Monaghan and more that that they have a belief that they are just as good if not better than us which I think even Monaghan doubted at times or the score would have been much wider.

I fear for us on Sunday, but the boys have given us a huge amount of effort since Jim became manager so I'm hoping for another push and a great game of football.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 01/08/2013 22:00:12    1450302

Bluedubstar - yes we have the media on our side... That's a good one..

Muckrosshead - Don't think we are popular nobody likes to see the same team winning so you will see Mayo,Donegal fans all cheering
Cavan on Sunday.
I do think however fans regardless of county enjoy skillful players like Gooch.

Ps
2012, was a wet day I got soaked ! However I'm not blaming that we just don't have much luck in the rain.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 01/08/2013 22:02:56    1450303

As the weekend fast approaches I'm beginning to let my heart rule my head. Donegal to keep Mayo at arm's length like in the Tyrone match earlier in the summer, counter attack at speed and sucker punch them with 2 goals, 1 from McBrearty and 1 from McFadden!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9793 - 02/08/2013 08:53:56    1450315

I hope the Mayo win

EastWallWayne (Dublin) - Posts: 26 - 02/08/2013 08:58:24    1450318

Good article from Barry Moran in today's Independent. An example to all of us of how you improve & succeed

1 Face the facts.

2 Identify what needs to change.

3 Implement the changes.

I'm sticking with my forecast from earlier in the year Mayo to win Sam this year & to win it because they have earned

it.http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/moran-believes-mayos-return-to-basics-can-reap-rewards-29467006.html

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 02/08/2013 09:31:56    1450339

Joe Soap how can you seriously say we are at a low ebb this year! Our memories can't be that short! low ebb = Crossmaglen 2010

supporter (Donegal) - Posts: 205 - 02/08/2013 09:32:54    1450340

Lots of Dubs hoping for a Mayo win, is there an ulterior motive in this I wonder, i.e.deep down they fear meeting Donegal later on? Not sure why mind as they should be more fearful of facing their arch nemesis, Mayo.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 02/08/2013 09:39:43    1450348

MuckrossHead

Good article from Barry Moran in today's Independent. An example to all of us of how you improve & succeed

1 Face the facts.

2 Identify what needs to change.

3 Implement the changes.

I'm sticking with my forecast from earlier in the year Mayo to win Sam this year & to win it because they have earned it.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/moran-believes-mayos-return-to-basics-can-reap-rewards-29467006.html

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 02/08/2013 09:43:09    1450353

brendtheredhand - Dubs have to beat Cork first and then a semi final. No game this weekend is a forgone conclusion. There usually is a shock in at least one game quarter final weekend.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11634 - 02/08/2013 09:43:40    1450354

Posted this on the Mayo forum and this is my last post on the matter!

Lads I'm sure I'm not the only one fed up with the sniping and bitching that has gone on in the press all week. Thank God the weekend is almost upon us and we can all get down to brass tacks and concentrate on what's really important: the actual bloody match!

It should be a tight affair. Earlier in the week my head was telling me that we weren't at the races this year at all. That Mayo were in supreme form, swatting away the opposition in Connacht like flies. Granted, that opposition wasn't great but you still dealt with it impressively. As the old saying goes, you can only beat what's in fron of you. There are injury concerns on both sides and I think that on balance they probably cancel themselves out for both teams.

But I hope and I pray that Donegal have 1 last kick in them, and if they do, Mayo should be worried. We're still the AI Champions and have the players to hurt any team when we get going. If we can release the shackles and play with the kind of verve we did last year against Kerry and Cork at this stage then we'll be hard stopped. But turning on that intensity at the drop of a hat isn't easy. We'll see!

So, no more excuses from me. May the best team win, we'll have a drink before, during and after the game and good luck to whichever team emerges for the rest of the AI series.

HON DONEGAL!!!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9793 - 02/08/2013 09:52:46    1450368

Am I right in thinking that our state broadcaster is not covering this game live

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 02/08/2013 10:43:42    1450428

s goldrick

Am I right in thinking that our state broadcaster is not covering this game live

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 02/08/2013 10:49:00    1450439

westkerry

Muckrosshead - Don't think we are popular nobody likes to see the same team winning so you will see Mayo,Donegal fans all cheering
Cavan on Sunday.
I do think however fans regardless of county enjoy skillful players like Gooch.

Colm Cooper is a legend. No matter how tightly he is marked, he will always manage to create space and get his shot in.
Tomas O Se for me is one of the best defenders that has graced our game. I watched him so many times, and he is just a rock in defence.
Kerry have a host of other current players who are superb to watch, and overall Kerry have maybe got less attention this season that some of the other movers & shakers. Peter Canavan has predicted a Kerry v Monaghan All Ireland final, be interesting to see if he his prediction is right. He could have a point.

Mayo v Donegal is a weird one this year. Mayo are entering the game as favourites, after a trail blazing run through Connaught. Donegal started well against Tyrone, but then dropped against Down, dropped further against Monaghan before stepping back up against Laois.
This game should see them step it up from the Laois game, a game where they finally showed glimpses of the last years flowing football. Mayo like Tyrone have had a keen eye on the All Ireland champions since last September, and will be keen to avenge that defeat.

If I am honest, I think the underdogs tag has played into Donegal's hands. Most expect Mayo to win this game now, But Donegal are exceptionally dangerous to write off. They still have the talent to match Mayo, and they have the talent to hurt Mayo.
Their starting team is very strong for Sunday, with only Mark McHugh missing. I watched his younger brother against Laois and I don't think Donegal will struggle without Mark as much as some have made out. Both Declan and David Walsh are excellent, as is McElhinney.

Donegal's weakness was the half forward line, which is strong enough talent wise, but had been underperforming up until now. McGuinness made changes, and has seemingly sorted that issue. Quarter final's are normally dour and tense battles, I expect this to be a war of attrition. So it should suit Donegal better.

Verdict: Donegal to win by 2 points.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 02/08/2013 11:10:03    1450461