Donegal v Mayo

MAYO TEAM NAMED:

Mayo (SF v Donegal): R Hennelly; T Cunniffe, G Cafferkey, K Higgins; L Keegan, D Vaughan, C Boyle; A O'Shea, S O'Shea; K McLoughlin, R Feeney, A Dillon; C O'Connor, A Freeman, A Moran.

Vaughan and O'Connor come in for Barrett and Coen.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11634 - 01/08/2013 16:15:33    1449960

yew_tree

If Monaghan lose on Saturday then ye can have a loan of the 2 hughes and dessie Mone if you wish. After all it's the least we could do after you practically won the Ulster title for us. :)

white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 01/08/2013 16:26:47    1449971

51longago

This game has hit boiling point and it's only thursday, there has been a lot of media attention and passions are being stirred. I myself have found myself build up a bit of anger towards Donegal and really that should not happen, there has to be a line, as thats the GAA way. We have a responsibility to always behave in a certain manner and not help create an atmosphere thats more at home on the teracces of the UK soccer grounds, the general goodwill banter that is commonplace in our games should always be maintained for now and future generations as that is part of what makes it special, no segragation was ever needed and never should be.

Mayo and Donegal are slowly but surely building an intense rivalry , there is no harm to that but as i have said i just think we should all do well to remember on how far to take it. We are very similar counties in some many ways, from our sad emigration culture dating back hundreds of years to the mainly good natured charcter of our people, from picking potatoes 100 yers ago in the west of scotland to the digging of the chanel tunel in England , Donegal and Mayo folk always had a good rapour and that should remain also.

Up Mayo.

Brilliant post 51. Fair play to you.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/08/2013 16:27:26    1449973

01/08/2013 16:15:33
yew_tree

MAYO TEAM NAMED:

Mayo (SF v Donegal): R Hennelly; T Cunniffe, G Cafferkey, K Higgins; L Keegan, D Vaughan, C Boyle; A O'Shea, S O'Shea; K McLoughlin, R Feeney, A Dillon; C O'Connor, A Freeman, A Moran.

Vaughan and O'Connor come in for Barrett and Coen.

Strong team. Should win if they don't crap themselves in the first five minutes.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 01/08/2013 16:27:34    1449974

This is Mayo's game for the taking, the Donegal management
team have shown complete lack of class in the buildup to
this game! Never before in the history of the GAA has an
AI winning management team shown such a lack of class!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 01/08/2013 16:27:35    1449975

Mayo and Donegal are slowly but surely building an intense rivalry , there is no harm to that but as i have said i just think we should all do well to remember on how far to take it. We are very similar counties in some many ways, from our sad emigration culture dating back hundreds of years to the mainly good natured charcter of our people, from picking potatoes 100 yers ago in the west of scotland to the digging of the chanel tunel in England , Donegal and Mayo folk always had a good rapour and that should remain also.

Jaysus lads, ease off the melodrama here, just a game of football!!

switec (Kildare) - Posts: 525 - 01/08/2013 16:43:35    1449995

white.n.blue - Maybe ye should be giving us that Anglo Celt Cup so. Then we can always say we won an Ulster title since everybody says winning Connacht means nothing :)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11634 - 01/08/2013 16:44:26    1449997

01/08/2013 11:22:41
sugar.daddy

They understand they are under severe threat of losing their All-Ireland title its natural they are looking to use any edge they can, as far as Mayo go they wouldn't lose this game in a million years, its hard to see a Donegal side that can still have the exact same drive and level of determination to win Sam, take into account Mayo still haven't won it for 62 years and literally went at it again straight away last year after the final whistle of the All-Ireland Final, not buying into the whole 'better team for 60 minutes', one thing that seems to give them an edge also would be freshening things up with Cian Buckley who is one of the best coaches in Ireland, Donegal haven't brought anyone new in whatsoever, to the best of my knowledge that is, these normally turn out to be the small things that define winners and losers.

When looking at the Mayo team selected you could say the same about them. For example 12 of that starting 15 were starters in 2011.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 01/08/2013 16:50:05    1450006

Enjoy the game, safe journey and may the west team win........

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 01/08/2013 16:52:47    1450011

Mayo and Donegal are slowly but surely building an intense rivalry , there is no harm to that but as i have said i just think we should all do well to remember on how far to take it.
True....its all fun and games until someone loses an eye..........

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 01/08/2013 17:01:29    1450020

Going to be a cracking game, Mayo by 2

kildareman_dave (Kildare) - Posts: 111 - 01/08/2013 17:43:04    1450059

I think it will be low scoring bruising encounter and one goal could make all the difference

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 01/08/2013 18:36:55    1450107

What do ye think about match ups.

What will Mayo do to ensure the same start as last year. Murphy, McFaddan and McBrearty havent realy ticked this year but if they do....
Midfield Battle will be great. Kavanagh on SOS and Big Neil on AOS.
Will Mayo play with lee Keegan as an attacking Option given that he Ryan McHugh will be in the backline
Lacey v Dillon - 2 of the best players - Both Injured
Moran and COC in the one line- What shape are they really in?
Coen can he handle the pressure if brought into action (he looks promising) - What age is he btw?

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 01/08/2013 18:49:46    1450119

First 10 - 15 minutes will be huge with neither team wanting to be behind. I expect a lot of commitment, robust tackling & a scatter of yellow cards during this period. I don't expect silky skills, free flowing football & easy scores.
If both teams play to full capacity there won't be much in it & it will be something out of the blue that will turn the game, either a mistake, injury, sending off or a moment of inspiration.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/08/2013 18:54:25    1450126

Mayo by 4

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 01/08/2013 19:10:49    1450136

I've great respect for Donegals achievements last year.

I do believe when your champions you should conduct yourselfs in the right manner.

The Donegal comments regarding Mayo & Monaghan are outrageous.

I will be roaring on the red & green on Sunday as I suspect most naturals will.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 01/08/2013 19:24:09    1450148

Jim McGuinness is a mixer and knows how to divert the opposition's mind away to other things. Donegal know this is a hardier more determined, experienced Mayo side from last year and they will be in a battle.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 01/08/2013 19:32:54    1450153

Ulsterman,
I'd like some specific dates regarding first settlements in Connacht prior to pledging allegiance for the weekend please??
Only kidding I'm definitely up for Mayo!

Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 01/08/2013 19:38:08    1450159

westkerry

I've great respect for Donegals achievements last year.

I do believe when your champions you should conduct yourselfs in the right manner.

The Donegal comments regarding Mayo & Monaghan are outrageous.

I will be roaring on the red & green on Sunday as I suspect most naturals will.

Hardy bucks those "naturals"!!!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/08/2013 19:44:01    1450163

Well Bosco many historians believe that the Celts or those who inhabitated early Irish settlements had a Galician origin through North Africa. The people in the West of Ireland have a dark complexion and from Mayo to Galway and on into Clare many have black, thick tight hair which would indeed suggest a Meditteranean or African origin. Yes I think Mayo could well win this one but Donegal are not finished yet.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 01/08/2013 19:53:03    1450175