Donegal v Mayo

Marvin Berry

All will be revealed on Sunday!!!!!

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 31/07/2013 15:56:52    1448906

It mightn't be a great open running game of football, but as an occasion it will leave all the other QFs in the shade.
Midfield & the sideline will be decisive.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 31/07/2013 16:01:13    1448910

Alright MuckrossHead, some of us might be gullible granted, but that story about the unicorn sperms' true, right?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 31/07/2013 16:05:06    1448915

MaigheoAbu, we can afford to lose this game. Now ok, it will mean we wont win sam this year, but it isnt the total disaster for this mayo team that people are saying it is. They would be back next year is my point. We are being led to believe that it is now or never for them, most likely in an attempt to build pressure on mayo. Of course it isnt now or never, most of them are in their early 20s for gods sake.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 31/07/2013 16:07:19    1448920

You could say there is pressure on Mayo yeah...I mean if we loose where does that leave us? It would be a setback but that is not say we could not come back next year and win it. It does appear to be getting harder and harder though and with the effort this Mayo team have been putting in over the past 2/3 years I just wonder if they can keep it going - we really need to be winning sam this year or next.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11676 - 31/07/2013 16:10:08    1448930

marvinberry

I think their is huge pressure on this Mayo team to not only beat a struggling Donegal team but to go the whole way this year. They have the players; now its a question of temperament. They wont gift donegal a 7 point start as they did in last years AI final.

Midfield is where this game is be win or lost. Any thoughts?

Certainly there is pressure on the Mayo team to win this one. Donegal are one of the top teams in the country and even though we have beaten the rest of Connacht we have not beaten anyone near at the calibre of Donegal.
As to how the game will be won - hard to call. I suppose we can't afford to let ye get ahead of us. We have to at least be in touch all the way through. If ye do build up a head of steam and a couple of points ye're very hard to claw back against. Ditto the other way. I think ye will defend very well (as usual) but if we are 2/3 points up going into the final 10 mins it forces yere hand and ye will have to adopt a different approach. I don't think there will be much in it either way and a goal could be a major factor for either side.

MaigheoAbu (Mayo) - Posts: 343 - 31/07/2013 16:11:01    1448933

marvinberry

I think their is huge pressure on this Mayo team to not only beat a struggling Donegal team but to go the whole way this year. They have the players; now its a question of temperament. They wont gift donegal a 7 point start as they did in last years AI final.

No pressure on the team, most Mayo supporters think it will be a really tough task esp with so many not match fit, two keepers are out too. Just keep it respectable is the cry.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 31/07/2013 16:15:05    1448937

MaigheoAbu, we can afford to lose this game. Now ok, it will mean we wont win sam this year, but it isnt the total disaster for this mayo team that people are saying it is. They would be back next year is my point. We are being led to believe that it is now or never for them, most likely in an attempt to build pressure on mayo. Of course it isnt now or never, most of them are in their early 20s for gods sake.

No - I would disagree with you there. We have been steadily moving up the pecking order of things nationally for the past 3 years under James Horan. To my knowledge this year by all accounts the team are at their peak. I think if we don't win at least one championship battle against a top team then it will be a significant failure. Of course there are other factors to consider e.g. luck on the day, injuries, referee decision etc but notwithstanding these we should still be good enough this year.

I'm not saying we will go on to win the All Ireland even were we to get past Donegal. In my mind things are tighter than ever at the top of the pile. A lot will be judged on how Dublin v Cork goes.

MaigheoAbu (Mayo) - Posts: 343 - 31/07/2013 16:24:58    1448950

It's Mayo's to lose unless McFadden, McBrearty and McFadden can all click on Sunday. I can't recall a game where they were all on their game at the one time. It would be fantastic to see it on Sunday though.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9863 - 31/07/2013 16:26:35    1448954

Lads if you think Mayo can afford to lose this game then forget about winning an All-Ireland anytime soon. Its there for the taking with Donegal struggling, Dublin far from convincing thus far, Kerry up and down all year, Cork lucky to get over Galway, Tyrone getting through by the skin of their teeth in the last 3 outings, etc.

For what its worth I don't think Mayo will get past Donegal. We are struggling and miles of last year but I just don't rate a lot of the Mayo players individually. Sided with big open pitch in Croker our inside 3 should fire us over the line unless we get completely cleaned out around the middle which I doubt will happen.

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 31/07/2013 16:38:25    1448974

SeanieSense
Yes Seanie, we will just give up for the rest of our lives if we lose to the all Ireland champions in 2013.

Not a hope of this Mayo team giving up if we lose Sunday, it will probably see the end of the road for Andy and Alan Dillon but after that you're looking at several 27/28 year olds, 21 s like Cillian, Darren Coen, 23 yr old AoSe etc, load of quality under age coming through likes of Adam Gallagher from last year and at least three forwards from this year look awesome, Irwin and Conroy and Pearse Hanleys brother Cian, that young Doran lad at the back looks solid. This is just the tip of the ice berg from Mayos academy comin through, we are going nowhere sonny and the big prize will come some day and sure if it doesn't haven't we had a whale of a time up and down to croker year in year out, some counties wwill never see such occasions. Tal

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 31/07/2013 16:50:31    1448988

Lockjaw

It's Mayo's to lose unless McFadden, McBrearty and McFadden can all click on Sunday. I can't recall a game where they were all on their game at the one time. It would be fantastic to see it on Sunday though.

Two McFaddens? Is one of them right footed though!!?

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 31/07/2013 16:57:59    1448997

Mayos record against the defending all Ireland champions in recent years is outstanding. However will they be caught out by the lack of a real test to date? Or are we underestimating there performances in those games?

Intriguing tie in prospect. Fancy Mayo by 3

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 31/07/2013 17:27:05    1449028

31/07/2013 16:38:25
SeanieSense

Lads if you think Mayo can afford to lose this game then forget about winning an All-Ireland anytime soon. Its there for the taking with Donegal struggling, Dublin far from convincing thus far, Kerry up and down all year, Cork lucky to get over Galway, Tyrone getting through by the skin of their teeth in the last 3 outings, etc.

For what its worth I don't think Mayo will get past Donegal. We are struggling and miles of last year but I just don't rate a lot of the Mayo players individually. Sided with big open pitch in Croker our inside 3 should fire us over the line unless we get completely cleaned out around the middle which I doubt will happen.

Some fair points. From what i see Donegal have exceeded expectations by winning two Ulster titles and All Ireland, they are underdogs on Sunday so little pressure on them now. The current Mayo panel is backed by successful U-21 teams 2006 to 2009 they won four in row Connacht titles and All Ireland the last four years Mayo have failed to win U-21 Connacht title so clearly the talent coming through isn't what it was. All the pressure is very much on Mayo now its a real win or bust game for them on Sunday and i think they win as in Donegal's case you can't turn form on like a tap.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 31/07/2013 17:35:00    1449037

Dried unicorn sperm is playing it's part as well. McGuinness has a source over near Fintown.
muckross

Tis a potent mix the auld dried unicorn
sperm mixed combined with Slieve league Dulse,
a potent mix indeed! Its fully potent in leap
years only though! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 31/07/2013 17:46:17    1449052

Mr_Pundit
County: UK
You're not alone when you say ''it's win or bust'' for Mayo, i just fail to see why? We should be here again next year, we will have Galway at home if we draw them and the rest don't look like improving either, so your money would be on Mayo been involved in Aug weekend 2014. Why is it bust for Mayo?

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 31/07/2013 17:56:11    1449065

31/07/2013 15:35:20

Donegalman, mayo have several injury concerns to key players. B Moran hasnt kicked a ball, C Barrett, C O'Connor and A Moran arent match fit, Dillon isnt 100% either and Conroy picked up another injury coming back from a dislocated shoulder. That is our 4 best forwards for gods sake. We are also missing our 1st and 2nd choice goalkeepers. Who are donegal missing? A half fit mchugh and lacey - 2 players! Give me a break.
------------------------

Barry Moran is now fit but we won't get into the team because Horan sees the O'Sheas as Mayos strongest midfield. If Dillion,Andy Moran,O'Connor weren't 100% then they won't start v Donegal but trust me they will all start.

Conroy wasn't even part of the Mayo panel for years he isn't a big scorer and with Freeman in good form he would be kept out of the side anyway. Finally replacement goalkeeper is Mayos first choice from 2011.

Lacey,McHugh would be two huge losses for Donegal it's like no Higgins,McLoughlin for Mayo so for gods sake stop making excuses if you lose it's bescause you aren't as good as you thought you were for what it's worth i think Mayo will win on Sunday am i caught up in the hype? probably...

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3693 - 31/07/2013 17:57:37    1449066

God I cant wait till this one is over, not sure how this game is ever going to finish with one team camped in their own half playing handball and the other team in their own half chasing shadows. Thankfully there is a real game of Gaelic football the day before between Dublin and Cork that will really showcase what Gaelic "Football" is all about. The winner of that one will put paid to which ever eventual winner after probably 3 or 4 no score replays emerges.

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 31/07/2013 18:05:18    1449075

Gaa_lover
County: USA

31/07/2013 15:35:20

Donegalman, mayo have several injury concerns to key players. B Moran hasnt kicked a ball, C Barrett, C O'Connor and A Moran arent match fit, Dillon isnt 100% either and Conroy picked up another injury coming back from a dislocated shoulder. That is our 4 best forwards for gods sake. We are also missing our 1st and 2nd choice goalkeepers. Who are donegal missing? A half fit mchugh and lacey - 2 players! Give me a break.
------------------------

Barry Moran is now fit but we won't get into the team because Horan sees the O'Sheas as Mayos strongest midfield. If Dillion,Andy Moran,O'Connor weren't 100% then they won't start v Donegal but trust me they will all start.

Conroy wasn't even part of the Mayo panel for years he isn't a big scorer and with Freeman in good form he would be kept out of the side anyway. Finally replacement goalkeeper is Mayos first choice from 2011.

Lacey,McHugh would be two huge losses for Donegal it's like no Higgins,McLoughlin for Mayo so for gods sake stop making excuses if you lose it's bescause you aren't as good as you thought you were for what it's worth i think Mayo will win on Sunday am i caught up in the hype? probably...

Wow, you know who's fit, you know who starts, you know who is 100% and you know all this from a neutral point of view living in the US , yet there are lads on here that play club football with some you mention above and they don't know the whole story, you're incredible.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 31/07/2013 18:21:03    1449083

Dubfan, wind your neck in! The All-Ireland Tsemi of two years ago was hardly a classic, and the likes of Ger Brennan hardly go round giving out sweets, either.

There's an awful amount of bigging up the opposition going on between the Mayo and Donegal posters here. For what it's worth, I think Mayo will find it difficult to deal with Donegal's defensive system, given the lack of a challenge in Connacht. They can win, but a decent start is imperative this time, and I forsee a dog fight, with two or three points separating the sides at the end.

Have tickets and am looking forward to it ;)

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 31/07/2013 18:23:38    1449088