Donegal v Mayo

That 5cm tear in McHughs quad seems to be healing in miracle time.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 31/07/2013 13:58:52    1448755

After listening to former Mayo player John Casey talk on the out in front podcast and its really reinforced my belief that Mayo will win this game and I think they may win it with 5-6 points to spare.

He spoke about how the players are just eating breathing sleeping football and are all in unbelievable shape. He also said that there are 25 fellas fighting for 15 places on the team and the competition for places is phenomenal. Not only do Mayo have all the hunger, revenge motivation but that is an extra advantage. Donegal players are pretty much guaranteed their places and the competition is lacking. If you add that to the lack of hunger shown against Monaghan, I think that Mayo hold a huge advantage. To win this game we are going to need everything to go our way and probably a couple of goals (either good ones or lucky ones) but I honestly think we will be 2nd best this year

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1429 - 31/07/2013 14:06:45    1448769

DLlegends, I would agree with most of what you said. S O'Shea is a better option than moran, although in fairness to moran he put on a serious show against donegal in the league, my vote would still go to o'shea.
I disagree that a loss would be a disaster though, simply because we are not at 100%. If we were going really well and came up short then lads might lose faith alright, but no matter what happens this weekend, barring a total and utter collapse of course, we know we can improve on the performance, in the same way donegal believe the same. Also, sometimes you can just have a bad day at the office. We are too quick to write teams off after a bad game in the gaa. Kerry should have been beaten by sligo a few years back, in the qualifiers no less, and they went on to win sam. One bad game isnt the end, and that goes for both sides in this game.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 31/07/2013 14:09:51    1448780

Duty of care killer, mcguinness cant possibly play him...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 31/07/2013 14:10:53    1448782

benjyyy - To win this game we are going to need everything to go our way and probably a couple of goals

Mayo fans will be holding their breath in the first 10mins.....we don't want a repeat of what happened last year.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11634 - 31/07/2013 14:45:34    1448800

killer_88_

Dried dulse seaweed killer, tis great for the auld muscle tears,
and there is plenty of it up around Killybegs way! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 31/07/2013 14:59:44    1448812

Kerry should have been beaten by sligo a few years back, in the qualifiers no less, and they went on to win sam.

Only problem in your argument is this point. Fact is that they weren't beaten by Sligo.

MaigheoAbu (Mayo) - Posts: 343 - 31/07/2013 15:05:45    1448821

if this weather keeps up i'd say the team with the best footwear will win....or maybe not..probably suit mayo better as it definitely rains more down there!

not a tap of work done for the last 3 days btw..

richw (Donegal) - Posts: 15 - 31/07/2013 15:08:30    1448825

TheGateKeeper

killer_88_

--------------------------------------------------------

Haha. Don't suppose they'd send some our way for David Clarke's hamstring?? ;)

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 31/07/2013 15:08:56    1448827

I disagree that a loss would be a disaster though, simply because we are not at 100%. If we were going really well and came up short then lads might lose faith alright, but no matter what happens this weekend, barring a total and utter collapse of course, we know we can improve on the performance, in the same way donegal believe the same.

How come Mayo are not at 100%? I am curious to know when conditions are right to have Mayo at 100%. They have done nothing wrong to date in the campaign, I know that they have not been properly tested, but you can only play whats put out in front of you, right?

Clean bill of health, huge bench, well rested and starved for success, as well as being very very good footballers to boot. What more do you want?

On the point that Donegal can improve, in theory we can, but I am not seeing the reality of this happening, based on the past few performances, in fact all our performances of 2013 have been very weary indeed.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3849 - 31/07/2013 15:17:14    1448846

killer_88_

Haha. Don't suppose they'd send some our way for David Clarke's hamstring?? ;)

Its hard stuff to come by, apparently the injured party has to absail down the face of Slieve League
and harvest it from the foot of the cliff face when the tide is out, that's were the special stuff is!
And it only works if the injured party harvests it himself... so I'm told anyhow. ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 31/07/2013 15:23:47    1448856

Jim McGuinness can't possibly be thinking about playing Mark McHugh in this match can he? I mean we're talking about player welfare here?
Surely the well being of players supersedes all else? The messiah himself said so?
You don't think he'd say one thing in public and actually privately think another do you?

Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 31/07/2013 15:26:28    1448859

Donegalman, mayo have several injury concerns to key players. B Moran hasnt kicked a ball, C Barrett, C O'Connor and A Moran arent match fit, Dillon isnt 100% either and Conroy picked up another injury coming back from a dislocated shoulder. That is our 4 best forwards for gods sake. We are also missing our 1st and 2nd choice goalkeepers. Who are donegal missing? A half fit mchugh and lacey - 2 players! Give me a break.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 31/07/2013 15:35:20    1448866

MaigheoAbu, the point is they played poorly in a game, poor enough to lose to a lot of teams, yet went on to win sam. Therefore, writing teams off after one performance is daft. Simple really...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 31/07/2013 15:37:28    1448870

What's the story with Jason Doherty at the moment?

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 216 - 31/07/2013 15:42:11    1448880

TheGateKeeper

killer_88_

Dried unicorn sperm is playing it's part as well. McGuinness has a source over near Fintown.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 31/07/2013 15:47:49    1448888

Bosco
County: Carlow

Jim McGuinness can't possibly be thinking about playing Mark McHugh in this match can he? I mean we're talking about player welfare here?
Surely the well being of players supersedes all else? The messiah himself said so?
You don't think he'd say one thing in public and actually privately think another do you?

Jaysus lads, some of ye are very gullible. Some prat puts a sentence in a newspaper that he knows every fool in Ireland will be all over like a rash and sure enough in ye all pile.
McGuinness has not said a word about McHugh playing this weekend & yet...........

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 31/07/2013 15:51:18    1448892

MaigheoAbu, the point is they played poorly in a game, poor enough to lose to a lot of teams, yet went on to win sam. Therefore, writing teams off after one performance is daft. Simple really...

True - but the other point is that we can't afford to lose this match. Same as Kerry (and albeit they played poorly - they still didn't lose that match!). And no option B for us either. If we do lose on Sunday it will put enormous pressure on this team and management both locally and nationally. Especially considering all the training and preparation that has been reported going into this campaign.

MaigheoAbu (Mayo) - Posts: 343 - 31/07/2013 15:51:33    1448893

Is Varley not getting a look in at all this year?

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 31/07/2013 15:52:58    1448897

I think their is huge pressure on this Mayo team to not only beat a struggling Donegal team but to go the whole way this year. They have the players; now its a question of temperament. They wont gift donegal a 7 point start as they did in last years AI final.

Midfield is where this game is be win or lost. Any thoughts?

marvinberry (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 31/07/2013 15:54:39    1448900