Donegal v Mayo

Master, go for it.... That would just be great, the only thing he cleaned was the ball when it slipped through his fingers after it hit the post for the second goal

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 30/07/2013 16:34:35    1447843

No problem ben - he wasnt marking mcfadden at that stage, he was still on murphy... In fairness to the lad he showed great courage in the performance he put on after that occured. He will also be back in the mayo team in the future. It is a bit much to poking fun at a young lad that arguably cost his team the AI final... In sincerely hope he comes back to haunt you.

DLlegends
I dont think so. I would say we will look to slow donegal down out the field and get bodies in and around your ff line, like we did in the league. Mayo are a flowing team in possession, playing 2 permanent sweepers would hinder us a lot going forward. We will probably be mindful not to give away turnovers and look to hit the odd diagonal ball to freeman, who is very good in the air.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 30/07/2013 16:56:52    1447870

an tseabhac

1447413 29/07/2013 15:31:03
Culann

peile
Some Donegal people and others would have us believe that the team won pulling up and cruising to victory in second gear once they had their lead. It is this I have an issue with as should any Donegal player.

Thats the way it seemed to me as a neutral

Ach ní fear neodrach thú a Chuileann. Tá an méid sin admháilaithe agat cheana féin. Tá spota dall mór agat 'stú claonaithe go trom i gcoinne Maigh Eo i ngach uile snáth. Ní thuigim do shearbhas, 'sní oireann sé thú

Is fíor a rá a sheabhaic go bhfuil me lánchlaonta i gcoinne Mhaigh Eo. Ní haon rún é sin. Déanaim an-soileir é ach seasann mo phointe. Bhí McGuinness ar buille leo anuraidh de bharr nach raibh díocas agus uaillmhian cheart le feiceáil ina gcuid imeartha. Dúirt sé é sin cúpla mí tar éis SAM a bhuachaint. Bhí sé soiléir. Bhí siad ag súil le cluiche deacair ach nuair a chuaigh siad 7 bpointe chun tosaigh d'athraigh an plean agus ní raibh siad ach iarraidh fanacht chun tosaigh ina dhiaidh sin. Is ionann seacht bpointe agus 20 pointe le Dún na nGall. Bhí siad compordach don chuid eile den chluiche théis an chéad 10 nóiméad.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 30/07/2013 17:06:55    1447892

Samsforthehills

1447432 Mayo took the black arts to a level I had never witnessed before and to be honest my attitude to them has changed since that day.

I echo this, I was shocked by their behavior in the final. Yet theyre angels according to some on here.

You should have seen them in the semifinal against us. Unbelieveable stuff. They rugby tackled our runners and finished the game with 8 players who didn't start. Blood substitutions without there actually been any blood. You couldn't make it up.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 30/07/2013 17:08:56    1447894

JayP

1447567 Horan accusing Jim of pot....kettle.....black......

Horan trying to influence refs again....

We have seen this before haven't we?
30/07/2013 13:44:11

Ye training games and all that!

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 30/07/2013 17:10:16    1447902

@ the master the reason no blood sub was used for murphy was it happend with the last kick of the game. There is one thing pullin a player down but punching him in the face when never attempting to get the ball is different. Mayo aren't cynical in fairness they are just thugs on the pitch.

red1980 (Donegal) - Posts: 106 - 30/07/2013 19:09:37    1448043

Mayo are rightly favourites and should they get through Donegal an all ireland final appearance should follow.
However come all ireland day that's when the mayo men usually need a change of underwear especially if it's kerry in opposition

GreenGael (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 30/07/2013 19:19:13    1448055

I was going to bring up the point about the dirtiest act (and there were a few) from Mayo in the final being Vaughan's assault on Murphy just before the final whistle, thankfully someone brought it up for me. So here is the video evidence for Master and any of the Mayo doubters. Not looking at the ball, punch straight into the face.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gG3vt8QhPDY

tirchonaill92 (Donegal) - Posts: 156 - 30/07/2013 19:24:17    1448063

By golly he got up fairly handy.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 30/07/2013 19:35:02    1448077

Looking forward to the game 51longago :-)

09/04/2013 11:38:46
51longago

Here's an education for you .....All Irelands were won long before 92, where were the men from the hills for the hundred odd years previous? Ffs Donegal have only won a fistful of provincial titles the first been in the bllomin seventies, hardly pedigree stuff now is it. Ye can't blame it on occupation eitheir like your cousins before ye.

More football in me big toe than their is in your whole county, the natural footballer ye do have is really a Mayo man by right. Way and let off some yeehows round the hills ye nutters not footballers.

Hope by some miracle ye do make semi final stage this year. I know we'll be there for sure.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/07/2013 19:39:14    1448088

Mayo are an unknown they have yet to have a competitive game this year.

Kerrylocal (Kerry) - Posts: 26 - 30/07/2013 19:44:12    1448101

The sort of reply I was expecting alright, adrenaline is an amazing hormone you know. Bottom line was it was a cowardly, thuggish act from a man who knew the game was up. If he is playing Sunday he just might be on the end of one of these tackles from Murphy that Horan has alluded to (probably the funniest point he made, talking is if he has played against Murphy and been tackled by him). Who's pressuring referees now?

tirchonaill92 (Donegal) - Posts: 156 - 30/07/2013 19:48:38    1448111

Kerrylocal

1448101 Mayo are an unknown they have yet to have a competitive game this year.

They completely destroyed Galway , who nearly beat Cork. They for me are favs .
because this is not a final I fancy Mayo.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 30/07/2013 19:51:56    1448116

Jaysus lads would you's chill out and enjoy these big days out cause you never know how long they will last so enjoy it instead of getting angry with each other for jaysus sake.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/07/2013 19:54:12    1448120

Htaem
Hand on heart mo chara, i can't even think straight, i'm pacing up and down everywhere i go. I'm nervous excited, angry, every emotion i'm goin through and its only tuesday.Can't think of anything else, i was supposed to do a small job over on Cork street (dub) yesterday morning and ended up on the train to mallow. I'm losin the plot completely.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 30/07/2013 19:54:40    1448122

Where mc guiness was making a general thing about players getting injured. Mr Horan has to get personal.

red1980 (Donegal) - Posts: 106 - 30/07/2013 19:56:12    1448124

Galway were starting the campaign and were poor when they faced Mayo, they also struggled to beat a shocking poor Waterford team. To compare the Galway team that played Mayo to the team that played Cork would be unfair.

Mayo have a mental weakness and they are insecure when push comes to shove the old demons will return and they will collapse.

Kerrylocal (Kerry) - Posts: 26 - 30/07/2013 19:59:52    1448136

51longago

Hand on heart mo chara, i can't even think straight, i'm pacing up and down everywhere i go. I'm nervous excited, angry, every emotion i'm goin through and its only tuesday.Can't think of anything else, i was supposed to do a small job over on Cork street (dub) yesterday morning and ended up on the train to mallow. I'm losin the plot completely.

Haha I tell you what it's a great post 51longago, it makes the game even more interesting for a neutral!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/07/2013 20:01:57    1448140

Guys it's time to forget about what happened last year because all the whataboutery in the world has no relevance to this game on Sunday.
For me the first 15 minutes will tell a lot about how the rest of the game will go. If either team can get a significant early advantage they will be hard to beat. Lacey's & O'Connors match fitness will also be a big factor
The other big decider will be midfield. A big performance there from either team will also go a long way toward victoty.
The last thing is the "unknown unknowns", those things that come out of the blue, that no one can account for & yet can swing a game. The ball coming back of the post, being dropped by Keane & landing in McFaddens lap was last year's example. From that point on I for one never thought Donegal would lose.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/07/2013 20:03:56    1448144

51longago

Htaem

51 my old sparring partner, we don't agree on much but I am with you 100% on this. Stupid bloody game!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/07/2013 20:08:52    1448149