Dublin v Cork

seanie_boy

The game was contested in an openly fair and hard contest. There is no reaction because there were little or no elements of cynical play involved in any part of the game.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 03/08/2013 21:52:25    1451892

Would just like to congratulate Dublin on a well deserved victory. Excellent team and I expect ye to kick on and win it out from here.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 03/08/2013 21:57:12    1451904

what about conor gormley. punched a cork player at half time

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 03/08/2013 21:57:30    1451906

RoyalClass

seanie_boy

The game was contested in an openly fair and hard contest. There is no reaction because there were little or no elements of cynical play involved in any part of the game.
------------------------------------------------------
Are you serious? Other than the Cavanagh pull down there was not much else happened in that game that was over the top.Penrose incident was "handbags" incident that happens all the time and it was at the end of the half.Are you saying that Gouldings drag down is some how a nothing incident compared to Cavanaghs?That Shields illegal pick up is acceptable?That a few late rugby style tackles by Cork near the end are forgivable? I'm not particularly castigating Cork here by the way,again I'm just highlighting the double standard being used to judge our boys.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 04/08/2013 08:43:08    1451930

still dont know what to make of this dublin team, undoubtedly they have some very good players, generally though u need a couple of lads who are different class! that has been the brogans over the last few years, but with alan injured and bernard not at his best it is hard to see where the extra bit of class will come from! dont get me wrong though, there are some very good players like mccaffrey and killkenny in the team, might just be a couple of years too early for them yet and they need a midfield!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 04/08/2013 09:59:37    1451968

But isn't it a great way to come into a semi final all the same. We will go in as underdogs based on our below par performance last night. Lots to work on. Brogan will either come good or he won't. We aren't relying on him as much thank god. Wouldn't it be great of Alan brogan came back in time to face Kerry or Cavan. Bernard might then get his confidence back. He's winning ball just not converting. He still needs to be closely policed tho and that leaves room for the rest of the boys.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/08/2013 10:37:21    1452003

Got to say Dublin are a class outfit, I tipped Cork for Sam how wrong was I, I'm afraid if Kerry get over Cavan, we will get destroyed with Dublin pace, as as Gaa fan I hope who ever from the other side of the draw, try to play football against the dubs. Mccaffrey is a machine of a young fella, dual player of the year!

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 04/08/2013 10:40:16    1452006

as_ky

1451968 still dont know what to make of this dublin team, undoubtedly they have some very good players, generally though u need a couple of lads who are different class! that has been the brogans over the last few years, but with alan injured and bernard not at his best it is hard to see where the extra bit of class will come from! dont get me wrong though, there are some very good players like mccaffrey and killkenny in the team, might just be a couple of years too early for them yet and they need a midfield!

dont worry all your questions will be answered in the semi final(no offence ment to cavan),i think you will find we have a midfield,and most definately have class players.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2847 - 04/08/2013 10:52:44    1452019

Big win for Dublin in their first real test of the year. Mc Caffrey's performance was the best I have seen from anyone this year.
Bernard & Connolly, hard to figure. Not far away, but at the same time with the quality on the bench cann you keep faith with them?
Respect to Counihan on his stepping down. A true GAA man of the old school who did his best, you could see how upset he was.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/08/2013 11:17:16    1452043

Well done to both teams on producing a good game of football, it removed the bad taste from my mouth after the disgusting fare that was served up in the match before it.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2953 - 04/08/2013 12:25:26    1452118

Very happy with the win, Cork are after all a team that not one of the provincial winners wanted in the QF. So you'd have to be pleased. This is a very young attacking team in their first season under a new management. No one claims they are perfect, plenty of room for improvement yet here we are, in an AI semi-final without emptying the tank.

As for Brogan, I'm not worried about him, in fact, I thought he did a lot of good work for Dublin yesterday, as did the 'misfiring' Connolly. Dean Rock he really chomping a the bit and should start against Kerry/Cavan.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 04/08/2013 12:27:54    1452121

Dublin scrape past a poor Cork team, no Sam this year with or without all the advantages.

allSOran (Sligo) - Posts: 690 - 04/08/2013 12:33:29    1452131

allSOran
County: Sligo

1452131 Dublin scrape past a poor Cork team, no Sam this year with or without all the advantages.

Like to explain?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2847 - 04/08/2013 13:09:04    1452163

How come all of a sudden "Cork are a poor team"? Remember they were being tipped earlier in the year to win Sam. Dublin just made them look poor yesterday. If this Dublin team get their goal boots on and all the time firing at the same time they will annihilate the opposition.

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 04/08/2013 13:20:16    1452177

Cork aren't a poor team by any means. However, they have regressed over the past couple of years and were always a few points inferior to Dublin. Dublin spurred a barrel full of goal chances which at any stage of the game would have seriously pulled them away from Cork.

I would be very surprised if Dublin don't get to the All-Ireland final. Kerry do have the forwards to exploit Dublin at the back but I said the same thing about Cork before they played Dublin but it never came to fruition. I'd fear that Kerry's half forward line won't have the legs for McCarthy's and McCaffrey's runs and thats one area Dublin will probably target. Galvin and Donnacha Walsh probably don't have the athleticism to keep at that pace.

I reckon it would be a tight game but ultimately I think Dublin's intensity and sharp attack would be too much for Kerry to contend with. Kerry have been on a downward spiral for the last few years and I think playing Dublin in an All Ireland semi final could be the catalyst for their demise. I hope I'm wrong but Kerry's expiry date from the elite is going to come soon.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 04/08/2013 13:40:33    1452192

royalclass.... Kerry v Cavan????????

allSOran (Sligo) - Posts: 690 - 04/08/2013 13:57:19    1452205

Congratulations to Dublin. The better team won. Nothing more to say on it now.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 645 - 04/08/2013 14:06:03    1452213

allSOran
County: Sligo

To be fair to Cavan, you'd assume Kerry will pull through even if Cavan make a game of it.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 04/08/2013 14:12:45    1452217

Midleton

1452213 Congratulations to Dublin. The better team won. Nothing more to say on it now.

The naivity shown by Cork yeserday was unreal, Man To Man marking....lol Get with the programme Cork boys and you'll reach higher heights.

This route one football shown by Cork would never beat a fast Dublin team, it justs allows Dublin to play with their strengths. A 2 year old could work that out

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 04/08/2013 14:31:15    1452231

great win last night and brilliant night in croker overall.
some achievment from dublin to make it 4 all ireland semi finals in a row the only team in the country to do this.
makes us the most consistent side over last few years.
also stephen cluxton must have set a record of 6 points for a goalkeeper in one match some going.
cork brought their best performance of the year as we all thought but even though we missed seven goal chances we still won by 5 points is great advertisemtn of where dublin football is.
on a night when of our main forwards didnt fire at all we could still afford to miss them chances against a team like cork is a great sign of how mentaly strong as a panel dublin are.
delighted for cian o sullivan and mccauley last night both guys won midfield hands down and alot people saying they were weak coming into that game but for me they do so much of the hard work and were excellent on kick outs.
jack again was like a rocket and i thaught our full back line were excellent realy defended to a tee with tackling,as people were again saying they would not be good enough.
dean rock made a big differance in second half as he will take his point when we need it instead of always trying for goal like others were.
great crowd aswell 70 thousand for a saturday night

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/08/2013 14:50:00    1452247