Quarter-Final Draw

We will prob have to beat Cork, then Kerry and Mayo or Donegal. bring it on.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 27/07/2013 21:09:38    1444086

Thats a date.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 27/07/2013 21:10:20    1444089

Tyrone Can't play on a Monday as no bank holiday in Northern Ireland

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1948 - 27/07/2013 21:11:36    1444092

Presume it will be
On the Saturday
Kerry v Cavan 5pm
Cork v Dublin 7pm
On the Sunday
Tyrone v Monaghan 2pm
Donegal v Mayo 4pm
Both sellouts

Should be the way it pans out alright in terms of fixtures. The Saturday quarter-finals are usually played in the afternoon, not sure they'll move away from that.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8984 - 27/07/2013 21:11:48    1444093

An emotional draw for us, people here still talk about 1947!

Playing Kerry in Croke Park is fantastic experience for us and we should give them a good game. But Kerry have had since their Munster final win to train and prepare for this game, we're playing our 4th match for a fourth weekend in a row. Very unfair but such is life.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 27/07/2013 21:14:03    1444102

Monaghan v Tyrone; I do think we (Monaghan) can win it. It is probably the tightest to call in the recent history between the sides. Even in 2007 when we were tipped to beat tyrone it was more clearcut than this. We wont need a reason to be fired up for this and there is no reason we cannot win it, Donegal defeated Tyrone easily with a style of football we outplayed Donegal at. It will be tight but even as Ulster Champions I still think Tyrone will be favourites. I wish we got a team outside Ulster though (Cork)

Podgerz (Monaghan) - Posts: 15 - 27/07/2013 21:14:22    1444104

Curtains for cork an Donegal nxt wkend I'd say-dub mayo final - mayos year!

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 27/07/2013 21:19:50    1444117

Dublin, Kerry, Mayo & Tyrone to win quarters. Dublin & Mayo to win semis and Dublin to win Sam.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 27/07/2013 21:24:53    1444128

Sergeant_Slash, you must remember the following:

The quarter final is always the very best time to catch Kerry out - they won't have played in 4 weeks - they'll be very rusty and will expect they just have to turn up in time in order to win the match. Cavan will have had a handy game today but are still keeping their momentum going. Cavan have a lot more pace and mobility in their team than Kerry which will definitely suit the wide open space of Croke Park. Down beat them at this stage 3 years ago and Monaghan famously almost caught them out at the same stage 5 or 6 years ago.

This game will be no foregone conclusion.

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 27/07/2013 21:26:31    1444134

Cavan have a lot more pace and mobility in their team than Kerry

Please elaborate

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 27/07/2013 21:32:05    1444147

Gonna call it as Cork, Donegal, Tyrone and Kerry.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 27/07/2013 21:32:54    1444150

Gonna call it as Cork, Donegal, Tyrone and Kerry.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 27/07/2013 21:32:54    1444151

Cork, Mayo, Kerry, Tyrone.

Mayo v Cork AI Final.

Mayo AI Champions.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 27/07/2013 21:34:14    1444155

How do Kerry get away with it every year with the handy draw?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/07/2013 21:37:46    1444165

Cannot believe that anyone actually believes Cork will beat Dublin.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2954 - 27/07/2013 21:38:52    1444170

i really hate to give us no chance but we have nothing to loose but my head is saying dublin ,kerry ,monaghan and donegal to be honest the donegal mayo being the hardest to call ,i hope cavan give a good account of themselves , and ya never know ,but i think we really have to up our game ,were younger that has to account for something ,the best of luck and cavan is behind yous whatever the result ,com on the breffni boys !

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 27/07/2013 21:44:32    1444183

Dublin v Cork - Dublin were only tested for half a game against Meath in Leinster, Cork were lucky to get by Galway. Revenge for 2010 could be a factor. Gonna say DUBLIN
Kerry v Cavan - Kerry did well against Cork in the first half but have had a long layoff, Cavan are in bonus territory - will they bring momentum or tiredness to the Quarter final. Gonna say KERRY
Monaghan v Tyrone - surprise Ulster champions against a resurgent Tyrone. How will O'Rourke get his lads back to earth after last weekend? Tyrone have ground out wins against Kildare and Meath and look like they're motoring well - Gonna say TYRONE
Mayo v Donegal - Will Mayo knock the reigning All Ireland Champions out for a third year in a row despite not being tested yet? They beat Donegal by 4 in the league but will Donegal fare better in Croke Park than McHale Park? How good are Mayo? Will Donegal bounce back? Gonna say DONEGAL AET

Long.Dub.Glic (Dublin) - Posts: 190 - 27/07/2013 21:52:06    1444200

Dublin V Cork

Kerry V Cavan

Monaghan V Tyrone

Mayo V Donegal

Apart from Cavan the three All Ireland contenders are on one side of the draw and one of them will win the All Ireland though Mayo have great chance of reaching another AI final.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3705 - 27/07/2013 21:53:44    1444207

How do Kerry get away with it every year with the handy draw?

Cop on CDK. Here's our QF history:

01 v Dubs - hardly handy
02 v Galway - reigning Champs
03 v Roscommon - very decent at the time
04 v Dubs
05 v Mayo - consistent top 4 team
06 v Armagh - raging hot faves for the All-Ireland at the time
07 v Monaghan - could've beaten us
08 v Galway - just pulled away in the end, fantasic game
09 v Dubs - huge underdogs going in and written off
10 v Down - never lost to Kerry
11 v Limerick - handiest draw we got
12 v Donegal - went on to win All-Ireland

Completely disrespectful comments from you towards Cavan, one of the few counties who can match our tradition and love for the game. Should be a good game, young Cavan team v a wiley, old Kerry side.

I can smell the fear from you down here ......

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 27/07/2013 21:54:04    1444208

Would Dublin Cork not be close to selling out Croker on their own?

Without throwing in Cavan V Kerry

Dublin, Kerry, Mayo and Tyrone to progress

Bozo (Cavan) - Posts: 58 - 27/07/2013 21:55:30    1444212