Land of Hope and Dreams

great to see more GAA and boss fans!! Missed cork but been to all the others and looking forward to kilkenny. No boss gig is the same...my motto is, if you went to an all ireland final and it ended in a draw, would you go to the replay?? same teams, different game. same band, different concert!!

Jobless (Cavan) - Posts: 10 - 25/07/2013 15:10:06    1442201

OLLIE
County: Louth

Yew_tree if your from Westport its one of my favourite spots in Ireland after Carlingford which is heaven on earth.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 25/07/2013 15:11:14    1442202

roundball
County: Tipperary

1442196 Was at the Belfast gig. The guy is incredible. Where has this Mayo for Sam nonsense come from? There's been Mayo 4 Sam signs everywhere... except Mayo, where there's hardly a stitch of Green and Red and the football people are cautiously hopeful but fearful they're being set up for another fall and suspicious at how easy winning Connacht has become.

Some Maigh Eo supporters on here would have you believe that its hard to win Connacht!

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 25/07/2013 15:13:26    1442210

Brend it was brilliant. If we got that weather the whole time we would not bother going abroad. Carlingford is Louths gem and its the Kinsale of the north east.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 25/07/2013 15:16:29    1442213

well done to belfast some set up i think it took us 11 minutes to get out till we steaming down moterway with no traffic cork was nightmare the roads / streets not able for it and the fools are rebuilding it in same spot

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2967 - 25/07/2013 15:27:20    1442229

Wouldn't be his biggest fan, but good post Yew.

Carlingford is definitely Louth's hidden gem; that county has some cracking medieval architecture/archaeology. I think Drogheda is one of this country's greatest travesties; the town has som much going for it, it could be the Galway of the east coast, but poor town planning and unimaginative town councillors just don't see it.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3148 - 25/07/2013 15:30:12    1442234

Lads, does anyone know what the capacity of nolan park is ? And how much is it holding for the concert ?

arctic_monkeys (Meath) - Posts: 14 - 25/07/2013 15:35:59    1442242

OLLIE

Yew_tree if your from Westport its one of my favourite spots in Ireland after Carlingford which is heaven on earth.

Not from Westport - great town, have never been to Carlingford but must pay a visit sometime - have heard its a hidden Gem - pity like west Mayo / Connmara in scenery

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11553 - 25/07/2013 15:52:54    1442272

50000 k tickets sold i hear

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2967 - 25/07/2013 15:53:05    1442274

each day

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2967 - 25/07/2013 16:10:42    1442311

festinog

Wouldn't be his biggest fan, but good post Yew.

Carlingford is definitely Louth's hidden gem; that county has some cracking medieval architecture/archaeology. I think Drogheda is one of this country's greatest travesties; the town has som much going for it, it could be the Galway of the east coast, but poor town planning and unimaginative town councillors just don't see it.

You hit the nail on the head with Drogheda. There is so much history about the town and surrounding areas and they dont promate it.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 25/07/2013 16:36:01    1442366

yew_tree

OLLIE

Not from Westport - great town, have never been to Carlingford but must pay a visit sometime - have heard its a hidden Gem - pity like west Mayo / Connmara in scenery

Yep you will get a great Wee county welcome in Carlingford. There is an oyster festival there every year. Its coming up in a couple weeks time: 8th-12th August.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 25/07/2013 16:39:08    1442370

I like a lot of Bruce Springsteens stuff but I seen him last year and I have to say his concerts drag on a bit. Prefer Quality over Quantity.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12311 - 25/07/2013 16:40:48    1442374

Are you for real Breff? I've seen him twice and I have never saw better quality shows. I've seen U2, Foo Fighters, The Who, Killers, Greenday....the list goes on and for quality Bruce can't be beaten. They call him The Boss for a reason.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 25/07/2013 16:48:30    1442385

Arctic_monkeys
I know for a match its about 23,000. I'm not sure what it is for concerts though.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 25/07/2013 16:55:52    1442399

There is something missing in this thread, once Themaster starts telling everyone we are wrong for liking the boss and Omhant explains to us how his concert should be re-structured it will feel more normal! I also expect Ormand to come in and tell us that rugby is a better pastime than music very soon!

white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 25/07/2013 20:05:59    1442620

white.n.blue
County: Monaghan

1442620 There is something missing in this thread, once Themaster starts telling everyone we are wrong for liking the boss and Omhant explains to us how his concert should be re-structured it will feel more normal! I also expect Ormand to come in and tell us that rugby is a better pastime than music very soon!

Its ok the MASTER is very busy , scouring through other threads to give out about Dublin, I tell ya if mayo footballers had his dedication the way he has to every thing Dublin, they would have won a few allirelands. in the last fifty years.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 25/07/2013 21:55:14    1442736

It is a sad state of affairs when Im not even on this thread, yet nearly get as many mentions as the boss...
In many ways you are like my fan Ath Cliath - following me around from place to place, waiting for my latest set. Letting on you arent really that gone on them, but every time there you are, front row and centre. Just dont start throwing your jocks up at me...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/07/2013 09:09:23    1442762

Can't believe all this blowing about a outsider performer when as good staunch Gaelic
supporters ye should be supporting one of our own all time greats....Big Tom & The Mainliners!!!
I'v an equal boast, went to see him in The Diamond, Monaghan Town on 20th Jul, goin to Carlow tonite
the Dolmen Hotel and 02nd Aug to the Farney Music Festival in Carrickmacross.....wow lads, the on stage
energy, no head or wrist bands and his own hair intact! And all for Eur20, pay at the door!
Whats more, he sings all the good ol' Songs From Your County....
Will be wearing my new CHILL county jersey as if Tom see's it he might sing The Langer Song or The Banks!

Come on lads, get out there and support one of our own, wear your county colours.....and you can buy
the box set of LP's at the gig for Eur14.99 (dig out the 'ol record player, sounds great in MONO)

I can just hear the strains now of "Born in haggard of..." Ye cant bate it:) lol

eaglehaslanded (Cork) - Posts: 135 - 26/07/2013 10:02:07    1442800

Culann

Some Maigh Eo supporters on here would have you believe that its hard to win Connacht!

To be fair they only won the last two finals by two points and struggled in London in 2011. There was a lot of head scratching after they got out of Salthill so handy this year.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 26/07/2013 15:53:35    1443273