TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7879
Exactly right casc. I would fear that this loser mentality that is evident amoung there fans on here might seep through to their squad.
We are going to add to our 23 All Ireland's at leat twice in this decade or at least we expect to. You've lost six all ireland's in the last 25 years. You haven't won one since 51. You are in a great place at the moment. Favourites for SAM in fact. But if you fall flat on your face again it could be very hard to get over - and goin by comments of muintir Mhaigh Eo on this site it seems ye are scared sh#tless of losing again. I hope that doesn't filter through to your team at the last hurdle again. It would be devastating to lose yet another one You wouldn't want to be seen as the loser county.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 25/07/2013 12:57:45
As opposed to the Mayo fans winning mentality themaster?
= Cancelled home coming parades. :)
Yeah that's worked out just great for yiz in the past... Hahaha
We learned the hard way that nothing is won in July… we learn from our lessons…
I guess as usual the Dubs can never win with some…
When we show confidence we're deemed by the culchie clique as being "arrogant"
When we show justified restraint based on the evidence at hand we're deemed "losers"
Dear oh dear…..
We have a great chance of doing very well this year… in fact we already have done
But there's a chance that we could draw Donegal/Cork/Tyrone in a ¼ final
All those teams are absolutely capable of beating this current Dublin setup….
One game at a time…
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/07/2013 13:08:51
You wouldn't want to be seen as the loser county
No AI since 1951... Losing time and time again in AI finals
All the while the Mayo CB run up massive debts chasing victory... so much so they have to go to the banks and the GAA with the beggar bowl extended...
You wouldn't want to be seen as the loser county
That ship has sailed Culann...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/07/2013 13:14:53
We are going to add to our 23 All Ireland's at leat twice in this decade or at least we expect to.
You would need to lad since you are the capital of the country with the biggest population, the best resources available, all games at home and favours within the GAA officaldom prevelant at grassroots level and on the field of play....disappoitining how few All Irelands yee hav got in the last 20 years and you talk of Mayos underachievement lol
cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 25/07/2013 13:42:23
cacsmckilly County: Tyrone Posts: 772
1442077 We are going to add to our 23 All Ireland's at leat twice in this decade or at least we expect to.
You would need to lad since you are the capital of the country with the biggest population, the best resources available, all games at home and favours within the GAA officaldom prevelant at grassroots level and on the field of play....disappoitining how few All Irelands yee hav got in the last 20 years and you talk of Mayos underachievement lol _____
We def havent done very well... no question about it.
Perhaps if the back door was introduced sooner we could have won a lot more through it just like yourselves...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/07/2013 14:07:42
Culann You are in a great place at the moment. Favourites for SAM in fact.
Obviously not
Mayo fans have a winning mentality - hence out ability to over-achieve in getting to so many finals. We are aware of our abilities, and if we were the actual favourites, mayo-folk would have the backbone to stand up and say it, because that is what winners do. They dont shy away for fear of losing to lesser sides. It is becoming clear to me that this loser mentality that is evident in the dublin fans could be the reason that their team blow this guilt edged chance, if they do of course. In that case, the dublin fans would have bottled it as much as the players.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/07/2013 14:10:33
cacsmckilly County: Tyrone Posts: 772
1442077 We are going to add to our 23 All Ireland's at leat twice in this decade or at least we expect to.
You would need to lad since you are the capital of the country with the biggest population, the best resources available, all games at home and favours within the GAA officaldom prevelant at grassroots level and on the field of play....disappoitining how few All Irelands yee hav got in the last 20 years and you talk of Mayos underachievement lol
Not dissappointing at all. 23 All Irelands. One in less than every six years. Not bad. I'm happy with that. How many do Tír Eoghain have? 3? and Maigh Eo? 3? and you call yourselves footballing counties!! I wonder what the population of Ciarraí is compared with Tír Eoghain agus Maigh Eo and they have 36 All Irelands!! Up the Dubs a mhac.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 25/07/2013 14:13:38
Jimbodub
You'd be well aware of your performances against mayo in the championship in the last few years!!!
saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 25/07/2013 14:13:45
We will be supporting Mayo on the Mayo hill, do you not remember 2006 jimbodub!!!
saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 25/07/2013 14:15:58
cacmackilly
I had a bit of time on my hand so I googled the population of Tír Eoghain agus Ciarraí, and what do you know, there are 32,000 more people in Tír Eoghain than are in Ciarraí - and only 3 All Irealnds compared to 3. By your reasoning that is cat!
Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Irish_counties_by_population
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 25/07/2013 14:21:48
saddam County: Mayo Posts: 188
1442111 We will be supporting Mayo on the Mayo hill, do you not remember 2006 jimbodub!!! __________
Of course I do... the year of the cancelled home coming parade...
Listen go beat Kerry in an AI final... we've had our day
It's about time you boys started to prove yourselves... your CB have busted the bank trying to buy an AI...
About time you got there... and made soem value out of the millions spent
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/07/2013 14:22:47
Not dissappointing at all. 23 All Irelands. One in less than every six years. Not bad. I'm happy with that. How many do Tír Eoghain have? 3? and Maigh Eo? 3? and you call yourselves footballing counties!! I wonder what the population of Ciarraí is compared with Tír Eoghain agus Maigh Eo and they have 36 All Irelands!! Up the Dubs a mhac.
but dublin have 10 times the population of mayo, therefore should have 10 times the all irelands. So if we arent footballing counties compared to kerry, then what does that make dublin?
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/07/2013 14:32:06
25/07/2013 14:13:45 saddam County: Mayo Posts: 188
1442106 Jimbodub
You'd be well aware of your performances against mayo in the championship in the last few years!!!
Jaysus... MAyos only claim to fame... and Enda Kenny.
bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 25/07/2013 14:36:18
Mayo fans have a winning mentality - hence out ability to over-achieve in getting to so many finals. We are aware of our abilities, and if we were the actual favourites, mayo-folk would have the backbone to stand up and say it, because that is what winners do. They dont shy away for fear of losing to lesser sides. It is becoming clear to me that this loser mentality that is evident in the dublin fans could be the reason that their team blow this guilt edged chance, if they do of course. In that case, the dublin fans would have bottled it as much as the players. _____________
Go win an AI would you... your desperation is stinking the place up...
Seriously... I know it's not easy being from Mayo and seen as perpetual losers…
Stop trying to disguise your own anguish of losing once again by hyping up other counties and vastly over exaggerating Dublin's chances
The smell of fear off you…
If a Dub was to be so bold in his/her predictions about their county as you have been regarding Dublin's credentials
They would get dog's abuse on here... for being arrogant Jackeen boasters that show no respect to the other counties left in the competition
It's been stated several times by many Dublin posters that we have a great chance in 2013... But so do Mayo...
Mayo without question has a great chance… as good as anyone...
Yet you spend all your time talking about Dublin's prospects... and nothing about Mayo?
Which completely contradicts your tripe up above... stop being so cowardly man...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/07/2013 14:39:24
correction:
3 All Irelands compared to 36 for Ciarraí
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 25/07/2013 14:48:36
County: Mayo Posts: 7884
but dublin have 10 times the population of mayo, therefore should have 10 times the all irelands. So if we arent footballing counties compared to kerry, then what does that make dublin?
We are working on it adn if you are right in your previous posts regarding the Dubs it shouldn't be much longer. We have 8.3 times more All Ireland than you in football and in hurling we have six compared to Maigh Eo's O.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 25/07/2013 14:53:32
Mayo fans have a winning mentality
I guess thats something that gets lost once they become county players huh...?
Theres A LOT of evidence to back that up... :)
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/07/2013 14:54:45
So you have 8.3 times the success, and over 10 times the population... Some day you will be a successful as we are, although not if you dont lose that loser mentality you have developed culann.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/07/2013 15:50:33
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7886
1442268 So you have 8.3 times the success, and over 10 times the population... Some day you will be a successful as we are, although not if you dont lose that loser mentality you have developed c
I'll take that on board. Its a pity we cannot all be as successful at football as Maigh Eo despite 6 demorolising beatings in All Irelands finals in the last 25 years. Congrats in advance of your All Ireland this year.
Maybe some day you will be better than us at hurling too.
In the meantime 23 All Irelands, 23 All Irelands na na na na ho, na na na na ho, (come on sing with me master),23 All Irelands, 23 All Irelands na na na na ho, na na na na ho,
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 25/07/2013 15:57:19
Mayo havent won an Ai since 1951...
I guess if themaster reckons Dublin fans have a loser mentality
Theres no better county to grow up in than Mayo to be able to spot something that is engrained into their own DNA
They'd be the experts alright...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/07/2013 15:59:13