Master, Dublin are only ahead in the betting because the turf accountants know ye are likely to bottle it : ) they're basing their odds on 62 years of bottling!! :D
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 23/07/2013 19:36:45
TheMaster, to use another sport as an example, would you say Barcelona bottled not winning the Champions League last year? They were favourites after the group stage but went on to be beaten 7-0 on aggregate by Bayern Munich. I wouldn't say they bottled it, just that they were beaten by a better team.
If Dublin don't win Sam even though they are the bookies favourites, it doesn't mean they will have bottled it.
benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1435 - 23/07/2013 19:37:37
The Master
Answer the question.
No one is poor mouthing. We've all acknowledged what a strong position we're in. Along with another few counties.
You seem to think we are dead certs for the All-Ireland but I disagree for the very valid reasons I and others have put forward. You've put forward some valid arguments as to why we could win but have somehow misconstrued that into a belief that the only way we can be beaten is that we take our eye off the ball in some way. Which is fairly ridiculous when you consider the calibre of teams we'll be up against.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 23/07/2013 19:39:16
We've already won the league and Leinster in 2013... We are the only team in a position for the Treble
Monaghan can do a treble! :)
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 23/07/2013 19:46:12
realdub, if you want real bottling, have a look at the dub teams from the late 90s, nobody done it better. Are you familiar with them?
Well benjy, for that particular example my opinion would be that bayern were a better side than barca anyway. But using a different example, had man utd beaten madrid this year, and they should have, I would have said that madrid would have bottled it. It isnt just that they are the bookies favourites, as I have already gone into.
Sorry, what question is that mesamis? Yes you have acknowledged your strong position and that of others, however, crucially, you have fallen short of acknowledging that you are in a stronger position than the others, thus making you the favourites, injury free, form team and strongest squad - that is a hell of a position to be in considering your rivals are struggling with form and injuries. You choose not to join the dots and come to the obvious conclusion, simply because you dont want to.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/07/2013 20:35:02
The Master
My question to you was what Dublin teams did you think were so far ahead of the rest of the country that them not winning an All-Ireland was considered to have been bottling it.
I see you actually answered it in a reply to realdub and incredibly think that the Dublin team of the late 90s was good enough to win the All-Ireland.
Oh dear oh dear Master. You really don't no what you're talking about do you? A team that was nowhere near winning a Leinster title was actually the best team in the country but bottling it in your opinion.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 24/07/2013 09:43:45
I never said they were good enough to win all irelands. You dont have to be good enough to win things to bottle it - they bottled it against poorer teams than themselves. The point about the dubs this year is they happen to be the best team in the country, so anything less than an all ireland win would be seen as bottling it, as they are better than all teams.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/07/2013 11:03:30
And that is just your opinion themaster! I know you don't grasp the concept of opinions as you've told me that my opinon is wrong on one occassion but in short, it's where people don't share the same view as you. Hard to believe but really its quite common!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/07/2013 11:09:43
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7854
1440792 I never said they were good enough to win all irelands. You dont have to be good enough to win things to bottle it - they bottled it against poorer teams than themselves. The point about the dubs this year is they happen to be the best team in the country, so anything less than an all ireland win would be seen as bottling it, as they are better than all teams.
Seriously, the Dublin team of the later 90s? Seriously lad you haven't a bounce what you're on about.
That team was well beaten by much better teams, teams that went on to win All-Ireland's or reach All-Ireland finals, yet those teams were actually way inferior to the Dublin team they beat and only won the All-Ireland beacuse Dublin bottled it! Not a clue man.
You say that the Dubs this year are the best team in the country. It's July lad. No way you can know who the best team in the country is yet. (Obviously YOU can know but the rest of us mere mortals cannot). This Dublin team may have proved to you that they are the best in the country but the rest of us don't think so yet.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 24/07/2013 11:10:23
Lads I really do not know why you engage in proper discussion with him. There is no chance he is going to take anything you have to say to him on board and is therefore pointless.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 24/07/2013 11:17:47
23/07/2013 19:46:12 waynoI County: Dublin Posts: 7179
We (Dublin) are the only team realistically in a position for the treble :)
No offence, But Monaghan have as much chance of winning Sam this year as Leitrim.. It just wont happen.
This is the kind of prediction that can come back to bite you hard!
Monaghan are an exceptionally well drilled team. Their tackling and work rate, shooting and fitness levels as well as discipline will go a long, long way. I would not fancy drawing them in a quarter final, ( i know Dublin cant), but just to straighten the difference out between leitrim and monaghan in terms of football.
Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 24/07/2013 11:27:47
Meh it's a slow day in work Culann!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/07/2013 11:27:59
Jackeen, I understand opinions perfectly. However, if two people have differing opinions on the same issue, both of them cannot be correct, you understand that dont you? If you say the world is round and I say it is flat, we cant both be right, regardless of it being your opinion or not.
MesAmis, how can we not know who the best team is in this moment in time? Dont be ridiculous. The form team, boasting the strongest squad and least injuries, with the most silverware of the year - that is pretty conclusive. They are in an overwhelmingly strong position - far stronger than their closest rivals, who are all stuttering. These things are true, you know it and I know it. So the logical conclusion is clear, if dublin perform they will win sam, and if they manage to throw it away, they will have bottled it. It is very straightforward. You dont want to agree because you fear the bottler tag, but it comes with the territory im afraid. Overwhelming favourites can only beat themselves.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/07/2013 11:46:24
If Dublin get beaten by an inferior id say it will be because of complacency more than anything.
joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 24/07/2013 11:52:00
Culann County: Dublin Posts: 1947
1440814 Lads I really do not know why you engage in proper discussion with him. There is no chance he is going to take anything you have to say to him on board and is therefore pointless.
It's funny watching someone try to be all knowing and in the same breath reveal their ignorance.
Like the one above about the Dublin team of the late 90s. Shows that the Master doesn't really have a clue but will try to brazen it out with even more ridiculousness!
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 24/07/2013 11:52:07
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7857
1440866 Jackeen, I understand opinions perfectly. However, if two people have differing opinions on the same issue, both of them cannot be correct, you understand that dont you? If you say the world is round and I say it is flat, we cant both be right, regardless of it being your opinion or not.
Good at least we have established that!! So, using the earth shape as an example is not comparable to this situation as its not based on fact! Ye get where I'm coming from?
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/07/2013 11:55:57
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7857
.MesAmis, how can we not know who the best team is in this moment in time? Dont be ridiculous. The form team, boasting the strongest squad and least injuries, with the most silverware of the year - that is pretty conclusive. They are in an overwhelmingly strong position - far stronger than their closest rivals, who are all stuttering. These things are true, you know it and I know it. So the logical conclusion is clear, if dublin perform they will win sam, and if they manage to throw it away, they will have bottled it. It is very straightforward. You dont want to agree because you fear the bottler tag, but it comes with the territory im afraid. Overwhelming favourites can only beat themselves.
The most silverware this year.....injury free......yes they are and that puts us in a strong position. But it is plainly ridiculous to say that those factors mean that the only team that can beat Dublin is Dublin. That all the other teams are of such inferior quality that they couldn't hope to hold a candle to Dublin. Nonsense lad.
Form team? Did you watch the Leinster Final? Two handy wins before that against one team that was eliminated by Fermanagh.
Strongest squad - your opinion does not equal fact Master (however much you think it does). they're a very young squad with everything to prove.
I agree that Dublin are a good team with a decent chance of success, maybe even the best chance as it stands. However your ludicrous notion that Dublin can only beat themselves is pure and utter foolishness and you know it lad. You're just getting ready for your big moment come August/Sept and the inevitable. Sad.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 24/07/2013 12:00:32
MesAmis County: Dublin Posts: 6162
It's funny watching someone try to be all knowing and in the same breath reveal their ignorance.
Like the one above about the Dublin team of the late 90s. Shows that the Master doesn't really have a clue but will try to brazen it out with even more ridiculousness!
He's a fascinating poster all right! I think you have to be in mood for him. Some days he puts you right off this site and other days you don't mind him.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 24/07/2013 12:02:25
Jackeen County: Dublin Posts: 2347
It's a good thing the Master was here to tell you the shape of the earth.
From now on just presume everything you think is wrong until the Master can tell you!
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 24/07/2013 12:07:05
Well in fairness, he IS the Master :D
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 24/07/2013 13:16:13