Whos position would you rather be in now ?

Also, why does being in a final the previous year make you a better bet? It didnt work for cork, down, kerry, dublin or donegal over the last few years, I dont why that should change now...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/07/2013 15:26:55    1440034

23/07/2013 15:10:37
Real_Slim_Shady

Pointless thread this - a veiled attempt at gloating at Donegal.

Really can't understand the "Donegal are under more pressure than Dublin" arguement. Sure they are All Ireland champions but when you have to come through Ulster there is less expectation than the other 3 provinces because there is actual competition up there.

Dublin are league champions. As you said yourself - only beaten once this year. The carnival started with the Kildare win (not sure most of Dublin still realise they played Westmeath) and has rolled on and on with the hurlers now adding to the expectation. Paul Flynn's "kissing the badge to the hill" moment when he scored a point early in the second half of the Leinster Final is indicative of the pressure they bring on themselves but they remain hot favourites for the All Ireland and now that the royal baby has been born the world media spotlight turns back to them.

Jesus Slim... if there was an All Ireland given out for 'giving out' regrading Dublin GAA you would be up there with theMaster. Kissing the badge now is hardly an offence... seen many a Meath player this year raise his arm in triumph when they have scored... not the same thing? No. As for the Royal baby been born, well theres plenty of them on this site.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 23/07/2013 15:35:27    1440048

Stop your messing master. Fisrt off I told you what bottling meant to me and you told me I was wrong. I am not wrong. Thats what it means to me! If two teams get to a final in any given year you'd expect them to be there on merit and to compete. Like the Dubs against Ciarraí a copuple of years back. Ciarraí were the favourites yet the Dubs played to their potential and won. What Maigh Eo have done over the years is freeze. They would have been better off not showing up and letting whoever they had beaten in the semi final give the other finalists a game. Last year comes to mind as well as the 2005 final (if memory serves me right!). What happened in those two finals was embarassing. The wholwe country tuned in expecting a game adn Maigh Eo riuned it on us.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 23/07/2013 15:46:09    1440064

cork have completly slipped off everyones radar... one bad day at the office doesnt make you a bad team sure look at dublin in 2010 against us, i would expect them to mount a serious challange with the forwards they have if they click they have the firepower to destroy any backline in the country

meathlad98 (Meath) - Posts: 34 - 23/07/2013 15:46:58    1440066

Culann

1440064 Stop your messing master. Fisrt off I told you what bottling meant to me and you told me I was wrong. I am not wrong. Thats what it means to me! If two teams get to a final in any given year you'd expect them to be there on merit and to compete. Like the Dubs against Ciarraí a copuple of years back. Ciarraí were the favourites yet the Dubs played to their potential and won. What Maigh Eo have done over the years is freeze. They would have been better off not showing up and letting whoever they had beaten in the semi final give the other finalists a game. Last year comes to mind as well as the 2005 final (if memory serves me right!). What happened in those two finals was embarassing. The wholwe country tuned in expecting a game adn Maigh Eo riuned it on us.
______

Sadly thats true

Mayo were terrible... awful finals to watch

Turned it off as I rememeber... the biggest game our sports have to offer and it was like...

Ah here... this is brutal.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/07/2013 15:55:54    1440081

Culann
Stop your messing master. Fisrt off I told you what bottling meant to me and you told me I was wrong. I am not wrong. Thats what it means to me!

What it means to you! I prefer the actual meaning myself, not what you have made up in your head... I thought you were supposed to be the great linguist of the board?

I wonder would that work in a court of law? 'No robbery means something different to me your honour, so you cant charge me with it...'

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/07/2013 15:57:38    1440084

I have to agree Cork are still a force and can beat any team if they hit form.

Kerrylocal (Kerry) - Posts: 26 - 23/07/2013 16:03:43    1440101

Sorry Master, I don't play those childish games, Mayo are under far more pressure than Dunlin and you know IM right!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 23/07/2013 16:07:49    1440108

The spotlight is shining heavily on Mayo, could they possibly lose again?????

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 23/07/2013 16:09:43    1440111

I think that the issue of bottling it is going a bit off topic, all teams do it more regularly than they care to mention.

We did not bottle it on Sunday despite being bookies favorites. Bookies can get it wrong, and it must be a nightmare for them to give odds in the ulster championship. Donegal and Tyrone were joint favs going in this year at 3/1 each. Monaghan were out at 16s. They were 7s the day of the match. Ridiculous price. but they were in with a 50/50 at throwin, and quickly narrowed in after the first 10 mins. 2 years prevoiously donegal were 11s to win ulster, which they duly did.

I think that this is a reflection of ulster football more than a reflection of form of teams, there are now 7 teams who can win ulster in any given year.

So the idea that any team in ulster bottles it on a big day shows a serious misunderstanding of the intensity of the ulster championship. Any game can be won or lost right up until the end, (most anyway). It is a mistake of fate that down were not in the ulster final, instead they are at home, totally out of the championship, they certainly didnt bottle their game v donegal.

Bit of a rant there, ps, I still think that dublin are sitting pretty compared to what donegal have come thru and what they face this week.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 23/07/2013 16:17:38    1440116

realdub
Sorry Master, I don't play those childish games, Mayo are under far more pressure than Dunlin and you know IM right!

No in fact I know you are wrong. Do you believe the dublin team are bottlers? They do have a history of such in fairness but I never thought it would affect these lads...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/07/2013 16:26:13    1440128

23/07/2013 16:26:13

realdub

No in fact I know you are wrong. Do you believe the dublin team are bottlers? They do have a history of such in fairness but I never thought it would affect these lads...

I have just touched cloth laughing so hard at this statement. One all Ireland appearance for the Dubs in 16 years and we win. favourites or not. 4 times the resources or not. We won (one expects to hear about our in house ref any minute now). mayo on the other hand.... If Mayo played Mayo in an All Ireland final you would still bottle it. I'm actually starting to like you. You come out with some funny stuff!

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 23/07/2013 16:40:24    1440159

The Master knows that everyone else's opinions are wrong lads. His opinions are 100% right in his mind! He thinks Dublin have a history of bottling it on the big day but strangely he believes Mayo don't.

For what it is worth I don't believe either team have a history of bottling it. The games both teams have lost is beacuse neither were good enough to win. If they had of been they would've done it.

Childish nonsense.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 23/07/2013 16:47:26    1440168

This place is turning into themaster show...

Predictable, generic, boring, clumsy and without humour.....

I've barely posted here for the last month and I see I havent missed very much..

Same old crap...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/07/2013 17:00:51    1440192

Simply because we are rarely the favourites MesAmis. Off the top of my head we have turned over cork, tyrone and dublin twice in recent times, all against the odds. It was bonus territory for us after that, we had already achieved above ourselves - that cant be bottling. Dublin have regularly been favourites down the years and come up short. Past players have bottled it, but I didnt think these lads would follow suit...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/07/2013 17:02:20    1440194

23/07/2013 13:20:50

We've already won the league and Leinster in 2013... We are the only team in a position for the Treble

Monaghan can do a treble! :)

play2win (Monaghan) - Posts: 23 - 23/07/2013 17:05:22    1440201

Now now lads, there is no need to be getting narky and upset. Dublin just have to live with the favourites tag, and all that comes with it. Most counties would love if that was their only issue. Failure will mean they blew it, there is no denying this - that is just the opposite side of the coin...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/07/2013 17:46:38    1440256

The Master

In what year should Dublin have won the All-Ireland and bottled it as you say?

I can't think of a single year where Dublin were anywhere near the level capable of winning an All-Ireland except for 2011.

You're only putting all this out there now because you know full well that Dublin probably won't win Sam and if you hype them up it'll make it better stocking the boot in later on in the summer. There's another thread on here about Mayo that's pretty much doing the same thing.

It's very sad, childish nonsense.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 23/07/2013 18:21:30    1440299

How can that be the case mesamis when they are the bookies favourites? How could I know that they wont win, when the general consensus is that they are best positioned to do so? This constant poor-mouthing by the same old dublin posters is what is childish. Every county in the country would kill to be in dublin's position. Our 4 best forwards are crocked yet we are supposed to have it in the bag... Im sorry if you dont want the favourites tag, but frankly, tough, dublin are the clear favourites, they have been since the AI series started and will continue to be, and all the poor-mouthing in the world cant change that fact.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/07/2013 18:32:12    1440318

Dublin are always the favourites or at least up there and I have no problem with that. We are well able to compete with the best of the best and that includes Mayo as was shown in the league! No amount of whining about your forwards will change that either themaster. It seems the weight of expectation this year is rattling you. Have a bit more faith in your team will ya!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/07/2013 18:55:21    1440353