Donegal v Laois

1442346 Lockjaw, I would say he is right. Now there are bound to be nerves after producing such a non-event of a performance, and if they had drawn the likes of meath donegal might have more reason to worry. Laois will not be good enough to take advantage though

maybe we wont but we bet meath pullin up last year son

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 25/07/2013 17:49:07    1442488

I Think People are Underestimating Laois. They Have a Very strong Team .I hope that are Neighbours win on Saturday as a lot of Meath People like the way Laois Play.[ Good Attractive Football ] Laois to win by 5

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 25/07/2013 18:27:06    1442521

tiobraid
County: Tipperary

1442466 Frank McGlynn and Neil Gallagher were 2 excellent performers the last day.

Did you really think McGlynn was excellent the last day? I thought he was turned a few times and looked very slow. Was good going forward but not his usual defensively by any means

I did think McGlynn was one of the few decent performers. He gave away less ball, and looked more comfortable in possession than some others. He was one of the few who made smarter choices when in possession, although I say this in the context of an overall very poor showing from Donegal. Frank McGlynn himself is not long back from a niggling hamstring Injury, so I wasn't really looking for a 5 star performance. But considering, he made a decent contribution.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 25/07/2013 18:40:44    1442534

Have stoped going to Laois matches because we so poor this last cuple of years but not going to mis this one. Any one kno best road to take form Portlaoise too Carick on Shanon?

Dee (Laois) - Posts: 312 - 25/07/2013 18:59:56    1442552

bluedubstar

1442087 25/07/2013 13:06:34
GaryMc82
County: Derry

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Maybe, so but everyone and anyone in the Media has them down to beat Laois, nobody is giving Laois a chance. And the very fact that you have pointed out that Donegal have serious injury issues is exactly why I think Laois have every chance to take DOnegal in a close game. McHugh is a massive loss to them, nearly worth two players also it must of been one hell of a virus to sideline Christy Toye like that, speedy recovery to him.

Regardless, I can't wait for the weekend. Tony Boyle said in the Indo that Mayo, Dublin and Kerry would fear getting Donegal. If they come through I'd love to get Donegal. Dublin won't be fearing them and thats no disrespect to Doneagl or Tony Boyle. If you are going to try and win teh AI you have to beat the best regardless of what stage it is.

Heres to a great weekend of Football and good luck to all.

No I wasn't making an excuse on their behalf for the upcoming Laois game, I meant more since the turn of the year Donegal haven't had a full strength fully fit team on the pitch once. An experienced hand like Toye coming on can make a huge Impact, in terms of calming a game down and seeing it out. But despite missing some serious talent, there were some folks who made jibes at their league struggles and so on and refused to acknowledge their handicap.

I feel if we were take 3-6 top players from any top football side, that team would struggle. Even Dublin with all their depthbench, would still likely struggle of the likes of Paul Flynn, MacCauley, Cluxton, Mannion, Kilkenny off their team through long term Injury. They would struggle against the other top sides. Now in saying that, they would still beat most other sides outside of the top 5 or 6.

As for Laois, they know Donegal probably better than most and recent history would see this as being a very tight game regardless of Injuries.

I seen Tony Boyle's comments online, I thought he meant Donegal's potential opponents in the QF draw ( Dublin, Mayo and Kerry ) would probably prefer to get some other side in the draw. As weakened/underperforming or not, Donegal are still capable of a massive performance and beating any other team. And out of all the qualifier teams, Donegal look the strongest next to Cork and Tyrone. I don't think any of the top 5 or 6 teams fear each other really, well apart from Mayo and their Kerry thing.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 25/07/2013 19:15:37    1442569

Dee

Go through Longford my friend.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2952 - 25/07/2013 20:07:37    1442622

Tanks sponger. Not sur which road to take too Longford tho?

Dee (Laois) - Posts: 312 - 25/07/2013 20:27:13    1442645

Dee
County: Laois

1442645 Tanks sponger. Not sur which road to take too Longford tho?

Take the N80 from PortLaoise up to via Tullamore onto the M6 motorway.
To be honest, your best then to head for Dublin on the M6 until you reach the M4, and then head north on the N4/M4 road to Sligo.

Straight road up by Kinnegad, Mullingar and Longford ( All bypassed ) then to Carrick on Shannon.

The next alternative route is Tullamore to Clara to Athlone, and then use the N55 to Edgeworthstown which is on the N4 to Sligo, but thats not the best route by any means.

Note: My missus is from Carlow, and we often detour to our friends in Galway via Portlaoise/Athlone. That's why a North western fella is offering directions to that part of the country.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 25/07/2013 20:57:40    1442684

donegal didnt care about ulster.they still win sam.starting by beating laois by at least 6 points

drunkensailor (Longford) - Posts: 83 - 25/07/2013 21:06:47    1442693

drunkensailor
County: Longford

1442693 donegal didnt care about ulster.they still win sam.starting by beating laois by at least 6 points

Oh Donegal cared alright, you can bet that hurt them deep down. Ulster titles are extremely sought after, as they are not easily won. I reckon they may have figured they could win it in 2nd gear, but it backfired.

I think the Laois game will be very close, and could go either way if the same Donegal as last Sunday turn up.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 25/07/2013 21:18:15    1442703

Dee

Tanks sponger. Not sur which road to take too Longford tho?

U could go cross country to Mullingar or to Kinnegad, it doesnt matter either are on the same road.
The only place you need to watch directions is the roundabout at Longford, stay northwest bound on the road to sligo, and carrick is only about 25 minutes beyond it.

As for the longford poster who suggests that we didnt care about ulster, wrong my friend. There were 20000 tickets sold out of the 32000 who were at the game to donegal supporters, it was supposed to be a precious 3 in a row. Ulster is no joke, every game is a desperately close affair, and to win 3 would have been amazing.

Which leads me to my 3rd point. There are only an allocation of 6000 tickets to donegal for the game, which is a disgrace considering the numbers that we bring to the table. If the game were in roscommon or breffni the gaa would most certainly have gotten another 8000 sales. at 20 euro a pop, that would amount to a serious lift for them in these recessionary days. But as usual the gaa know better and we have to accept a decision made for whatever reason they pulled out of the hat.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3852 - 25/07/2013 21:55:08    1442735

Donegalman

1442735 Dee

Which leads me to my 3rd point. There are only an allocation of 6000 tickets to donegal for the game, which is a disgrace considering the numbers that we bring to the table. If the game were in roscommon or breffni the gaa would most certainly have gotten another 8000 sales. at 20 euro a pop, that would amount to a serious lift for them in these recessionary days. But as usual the gaa know better and we have to accept a decision made for whatever reason they pulled out of the hat.

In fairness I can see the GAA's point to a certain degree. The 4th round qualifiers are normally played in a neutral Ground/Province, unless the game is selected for Croke Park, which itself is deemed neutral.
With Croke Park fully booked this weekend, They needed to find a Connaught ground that lay close to half way between Donegal and Laois.

I would normally agree that All Ireland champions should be on the Croke Park billing, but I can see why the GAA want London & Cavan to get a run out at HQ. Both counties have had a stunning summer so far, and deserve a day at Croker.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 26/07/2013 11:04:56    1442881

Donegalman

There are only an allocation of 6000 tickets to donegal for the game, [/I]

in fairness now how big of a draw would laois be for the less hardcore Donegal fans?

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 26/07/2013 11:14:12    1442894

Tanks GaryMc and Donegalman - Mullingar sownds like the best bet. Cant wayt for this match now. Shud be a cracker. Save traveling to evryone and may the best team win

Dee (Laois) - Posts: 312 - 26/07/2013 11:30:20    1442918

GaryMc82
County: Derry

Donegalman

1442735 Dee

In fairness I can see the GAA's point to a certain degree. The 4th round qualifiers are normally played in a neutral Ground/Province, unless the game is selected for Croke Park, which itself is deemed neutral.
With Croke Park fully booked this weekend, They needed to find a Connaught ground that lay close to half way between Donegal and Laois.

I would normally agree that All Ireland champions should be on the Croke Park billing, but I can see why the GAA want London & Cavan to get a run out at HQ. Both counties have had a stunning summer so far, and deserve a day at Croker.

I agree that both cavan and london deserve a run in croke park, it would be great for all players and for the cavan fans particularly. I am not suggesting that we go to croke park, but to go to a ground that would facilitate the potential crowd.

Hyde Park, Breffni, are both roughly half way between the counties. They both have very large capacities. No difficulty going to either as carrick is just as far either way.

I may eat my words on sat afternoon re donegal support, there will be many who will not travel as they cant get tickets. Supervalu was sold out very quickly in ballybofey and donegal town. Anyway, hopefully we are in for a great game. I know laois are traveling to win, good luck to them there is nothing like a game like this to kill or cure a season!!

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3852 - 26/07/2013 11:42:28    1442942

Donegalman

My cousin in Donegal rang about an hour ago, and said Supervalue in Ballybofey put up on facebook that they have more tickets available.
He reckons there are plenty of tickets still floating around the place.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 26/07/2013 11:46:37    1442950

I see they have made a few "tweaks" to raise the capacity to almost 12000 (I've heard it's closer to 11000) but surely you would have to question health and safety if a few changes are made over a few days and suddenly the capacity goes up. Donegal brought over 17000 to Clones last Sunday, now I know there's a big difference between an Ulster Final and 4th round qualifier and people may not afford two weekends in a row but you would still expect at least 10000 Donegal fans would be looking to attend the match. The GAA are losing out big time. I know geographically it makes sense and it will be a great boost for the town but I think a bigger venue should have been considered. That said I've heard Laois have returned a lot of tickets which is a positive for Donegal fans short on tickets. On another note I think it's a bit disrespectful to the All Ireland champions to bring them to a small venue and put them on after two matches (nothing against ladies football) but if the rain keeps up how what state will the pitch be in come 5pm Saturday. I'm not saying we have an automatic right to be in Croke Park but I don't think you'd see the same happening to Dublin or Kerry in the past.

tirchonaill92 (Donegal) - Posts: 156 - 26/07/2013 12:01:17    1442969

tirchonaill92

1442969 On another note I think it's a bit disrespectful to the All Ireland champions to bring them to a small venue [/I]

good god the arrogance is losing all control altogether now!!!!
wind your neck in n have a bit of cop on. ye wouldn be goin to carrick if ye were good enough to bate monaghan.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 26/07/2013 12:55:28    1443046

good god the arrogance is losing all control altogether now!!!!
wind your neck in n have a bit of cop on. ye wouldn be goin to carrick if ye were good enough to bate monaghan[/I].

Too right Horse. The arrogance from Donegal ones on this thread is staggering! Every post I've read so far is How Donegal's going to ANNIHILATE Laois, Why even bother turning up? Who are Laois anyway? WE'RE THE MIGHTY DONEGAL!!!!!

Michael Murphy's words about 'Rolling into Carrick'!! The audacity of the man! I'm surprised the whole of Laois isn't baying for his blood after coming out with that horrendous statement of intent!

wile_man_sir (Donegal) - Posts: 150 - 26/07/2013 13:47:16    1443101

tirchonaill92

It's not that long ago that ye brought Tyrone to Ballybofey when ye knew ye could have doubled the amount of ticket sales, so what's the difference in this instance, if you have ticket concerns and from what i'm hearing there are still a large number floating around. Are you even going yourself or are you waiting for the quarter final the way your talking!!! FYI There were no tweaks of late the work was done in June, it was just signed off.

Nelson (Leitrim) - Posts: 142 - 26/07/2013 14:08:27    1443130