Donegal v Laois

There is a further difference between lack of hunger and being dead on your feet. We were possibly both on sunday, but if you are dead on your feet, hunger doesnt even come into it.

I think that someone mentioned the fact that we get a second chance to turn this around, I hope you are right, but Im not sure that we can improve the amount we need to to be competitive.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3852 - 23/07/2013 10:28:18    1439559

Muckross

Believe me I'm not taking anything from monaghans win totally deserved it and were better team on the day.
However I don't see them as all Ireland contenders just simply because they beat Donegal.
You say dibegal flat out of sorts but that's burying your head in the sand talk.I said to you all year what would happen when a team comes out of the blocks against Donegal and gets a lead of 4 or 5 points that donegals gameplan is not going to work as they are designed to hold and defend a lead and not designed to have to chase and outscore a team.
It was evident with 3 points only scored and 5 points behind with 20 odd minutes to go that they had to try something different to have a chance if winning and they didn't .
The dangerous thing for the rest of the teams now is that unless mcguinnes is crazy or too stubborn to acknowledge that fact they will surely be planning in training and working in a plan b for if the same thing happens again

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/07/2013 10:35:33    1439563

Just shows that overtraining isn't sustainable, football will always come out in top, Donegal looked a pale shadow of the 2012 team,

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 23/07/2013 10:36:34    1439566

Nelson

Says in today's star newspaper the game will be a triple header and capacity will be at 9331 all ticket and expected to sell out

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/07/2013 10:38:40    1439568

Gaa_lover
County: USA

Donegal may get over Laois however they are on borrowed time now. They are in the same shape and mindset as Dublin were last year they won't win quarter final tie and even Mayo will beat them Kerry,Dublin will win pulling up against them.

You are an awful ass. You are also pulling your hair out, slowly realising ,Mayo are so much better than your analysis.

Donegal are not the side the masses think , they have been built up as this machine where in actual fact we should of beaten them last year only for some ridiculous early errors.

They will be very hard pressed to get the win in Carrick and they'll not win another all Ireland for the forseeable future.

2013 , is Mayos sam.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 23/07/2013 10:52:14    1439577

Why is this game in Carrick? Have we not enough on with 2 rounds of the Club Championship in Pairc Sean? Now we'll hardly be able to get in or out of the place with traffic for my game. All to facilitate the unwatchable All-Ireland Robot Handpassing Championship.

Grey_Wolf (Leitrim) - Posts: 236 - 23/07/2013 10:55:38    1439581

So Marty Duffy is reffing the game! Not happy with this at all!

wile_man_sir (Donegal) - Posts: 150 - 23/07/2013 11:17:01    1439603

waynoI

I suppose your right RE the likes of KK being vastly more skilful, But I don't agree that they don't need to be as Hungry.. Watch them from here on in. Wait until you see lads with 6 7 8 or even 9 All Irelands fight for everything.. Wait until you see them put their bodies on the line, And if they lose, Wait until you see how heartbroken they will be leaving the field. If they win the all Ireland wait til you see the jubilation then come back and tell me they aren't as hungry..

Rumour has it WaynoI you were spotted walking around Meath wearing a Kilkenny jersey.
(ye seem to love talking about them,PS the DUBS have a hurling team too, having a good year also}

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/07/2013 11:31:49    1439622

Laois have only being beating fellow minnows enroute to this game!.....They will be hammered!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/07/2013 11:37:29    1439636

All to facilitate the unwatchable All-Ireland Robot Handpassing Championship.

Is that on this weekend aswell?

You dont feel the year passing...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/07/2013 11:38:10    1439640

@Grey_Wolf....The club championship matches have been switched to Shane McGettigan Park in Drumshanbo

DJBunnitt (Leitrim) - Posts: 29 - 23/07/2013 11:41:00    1439646

Rumour has it WaynoI you were spotted walking around Meath wearing a Kilkenny jersey.
(ye seem to love talking about them,PS the DUBS have a hurling team too, having a good year also}

Kilkenny are the greatest team of All time. They are being used here as an example of a team that win all Irelands after all Irelands and who are still as hungry as ever. Therefore backing up my point that if managed correctly hunger can be maintained from one year to the next.

As for the Dublin hurlers. They have nothing to do with this thread. I'm aware of what they are doing though don't worry.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 23/07/2013 11:42:05    1439647

hill16no1man
Believe me I'm not taking anything from monaghans win totally deserved it and were better team on the day.
However I don't see them as all Ireland contenders just simply because they beat Donegal.

Exactly right. Monaghan's system is reliant on a limited number of opposition forwards being able to take points. Donegal are set up to feed their inside forward line for scores. What happens when monaghan come up against the dubs, kerry or mayo, where all 6 forwards can and do score? Im not knocking them, just pointing out that what they do might not be as useful against all teams as it was against donegal. I think they would struggle with the dubs kick passing game, and would probably ship a beating from them, because no matter how many men you are bringing back, nobody can run faster than the ball, and man for man dublin would have too much for them.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/07/2013 11:47:52    1439666

hill16no1man The capacity was reduced to 9331 after the report was commission, but they have since carried out a lot of work on the ground which has reinstated the previous capacity. In recent times a few of the Leitrim v Ros games have easily held 13K, and in the past the Donegal fans will remember the 1982 under 21 all-Ireland final which was estimated at 22K (Donegal supporters literally drank Carrick dry the following days after that match). There are two ladies qualifier games on starting at 1.30 and 3.15, Donegal ladies are playing in the second match.

Nelson (Leitrim) - Posts: 142 - 23/07/2013 12:10:08    1439703

Mayo
Exactly right. Monaghan's system is reliant on a limited number of opposition forwards being able to take points. Donegal are set up to feed their inside forward line for scores. What happens when monaghan come up against the dubs, kerry or mayo, where all 6 forwards can and do score? Im not knocking them, just pointing out that what they do might not be as useful against all teams as it was against donegal. I think they would struggle with the dubs kick passing game, and would probably ship a beating from them, because no matter how many men you are bringing back, nobody can run faster than the ball, and man for man dublin would have too much for them.

After the way Mayo's 6 forwards could and did score
against mighty London in the Connaght final, Monaghan
wouldn't stand a chance! Themaster you're always good
for a laugh lad! LOL

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 23/07/2013 12:21:16    1439712

It could be a good enough game, but Donegal
should come through this one, the way to beat
the Donegal is to get in front of them as
Monaghan highlighted on Sunday, Donegal will
not allow Laois to get in front of them!
Donegal by 3 points.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 23/07/2013 12:23:37    1439715

I find it strange that the All-Ireland Champions are playing in a knock-out game and it's not being televised.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 23/07/2013 12:25:31    1439717

These Mayo boys truly believe Sam is their's after watching the outcome of an Ulster Final you couldn't make it up !!!

Think Donegal will win but they will get a fright for 50mins, Donegal need goals just as much if not more than Dublin do Laois will need to swarm their central column to protect their onion bag.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 23/07/2013 12:30:53    1439728

waynoI

1439647 Rumour has it WaynoI you were spotted walking around Meath wearing a Kilkenny jersey.

Kilkenny are the greatest team of All time. They are being used here as an example of a team that win all Irelands after all Irelands and who are still as hungry as ever. Therefore backing up my point that if managed correctly hunger can be maintained from one year to the next.

As for the Dublin hurlers. They have nothing to do with this thread. I'm aware of what they are doing though don't worry.

Only winding ye up WaynoI.
(Still think ye support Kilkenny in the hurling though :-)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/07/2013 14:19:50    1439897

It pleased me to see Donegal lose to Monaghan. Whilst delighted for the long suffering gaels of Monaghan, it now means that Donegal will (imo)progress to the Q.Fs as a fourth round qualifier. That means there is a decent chance of them meeting Kerry. It means simply that Kerry will come up against, either Tyrone, Cork, Donegal or Cavan. Hopefully it will be either Tyrone or Donegal. Just makes things that wee bit trickier for the Kingdom, and God knows they need somebody to put it up to them, what with their serene, unchallenged progress to date.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 23/07/2013 14:26:06    1439910