Please stop having singers sing the anthem

This has to go. It is absolutely pathetic.. A band should play the anthem before the game .. Havin Singers sing it is embarrassing.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 21/07/2013 16:03:10    1437322

Bring back the recording like we have at Parnell Park sometimes :-)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 21/07/2013 16:11:21    1437335

Agree 100%

campbelltommy (Mayo) - Posts: 103 - 21/07/2013 16:13:37    1437341

Whats Parnell park ;) ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 21/07/2013 16:14:20    1437342

Agree 100%. The version at the Tipp Limerick game was the worst I ever heard. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DSyFshH9goA

Bring back the band, belting it out. Or where a recording must be used, at least have a decent one. And not one that moves quicker than a snail. Quick enough beat, help the crowd sing along.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 24/07/2013 11:24:15    1440828

Agree and Disagree with this.

The singer at the ulster final was a girl from belcoo, co fermanagh. She was really top class.
But when a singer is not good, i agree 100%. It makes the occasion like an episode of Father Ted.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3851 - 24/07/2013 11:32:00    1440842

Agree with Donegalman. When sang right its nice, but too often the singers are terrible and it turns out to be a bit cringeworthy.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 24/07/2013 11:35:26    1440845

'OPERA' style singing does not for a good anthem rendition make!!......Anthems with a martial air are to be sung with vigour and gusto!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 24/07/2013 11:38:31    1440853

I am sick of 15 year old girls singing the anthem. It's just awful. Let the band play it and that'll be that

MayoMark (Mayo) - Posts: 332 - 24/07/2013 11:54:01    1440881

It's more to do with the acoustics of the Stadia as well, even a good singer will suffer from reverberation which can't be helped. The sound systems at games aren't professionally set up for the likes of that. I agree that a band or recording of the national anthem is best.

Had English cousins over once and took them to MacCumhail Park, it was their first time to see a match and everyone was in high spirits. Then the Anthem starts before the game and it was Cringing!!! The echoes all around the ground made it sound like there was a few singers all singing out of sync. Didn't sound at all like it should. One of the cousins turns and asks why did yous change your Anthem to that? :-/

wile_man_sir (Donegal) - Posts: 150 - 24/07/2013 12:01:32    1440896

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FuqmRK_7QfI

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 24/07/2013 12:26:33    1440939

Nothing beats a bit of Retro in Páirc Uí hÉilí Omagh a little Red Cortina with fog horn speaker attached to an 8 track belting out Amhrán na bhFiann

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 24/07/2013 12:38:06    1440949

At intercounty games I prefer the band to play. What is worse to me is when you come flying out of the changing room to play championship for your club, fired up and ready to die for the team - then, you have to stop and stand through a weak rendition of Amhran na Bhfiann and it just sucks the life out of ye. It only happened like that once and I appreciate giving some wee lass her big moment and all but, it really brought me down. Am I the only one who has thought this?

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 24/07/2013 12:40:56    1440952

The individual singer goes against the whole ethos of CLG being about the community. Nothing got me as excited as a youngster before games in Páirc an Chrócaigh as the sound of thousands in unison singing. Unfortunately the more open planning of the new stadium lost that tremendous acoustic effect to a degree (but it's better in virtually every other way)

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 24/07/2013 12:45:04    1440959

Get rid of it altogether. Singing national anthems at intercounty fixtures has no place in today's society and should be dropped for several reasons:

1. There are no competing nations involved - whatever reasons there are for playing it at international events there are none at national events.
2. 80% (or higher) of those present don't know the words. Everyone will profess to but in reality most of those in attendance could not belt it out from start to finish and end up muttering the words once they get beyond the opening lines.
3. In an increasingly multi cultural society more non nationals are attending and playing games. This maybe relatively low but why should some lad who is playing for a county despite not being Irish be subjected to this nationalistic ritual?
4. Its not respected by fans. "Come on Meath/Dublin/Da Lillies" etc gets roared earlier and earlier before the end of the thing making a mockery of the entire affair.

I can sense the tsunami of objections I am going to get on this one but I have always believed this is one of the more embarrassing parts of a day out at a GAA match.

Let the attacks begin!

Real_Slim_Shady (Meath) - Posts: 153 - 24/07/2013 13:06:38    1440999

fortyfive,
They used to play a type of calypso version of it over the speakers at Wexford park for years at league game wherever they got it from.I loved it.

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 24/07/2013 13:16:26    1441017

yeah the second game in portlaoise between dublin and kilkenny it was the slowest version i have ever heard it reminded me of a country and western song

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/07/2013 13:20:33    1441024

Real Slim Shaddy.

You expect a reaction because you know your only stirring it with that post.

The national athem is played and rightfully so as it's our national game.

Why would someone from another country/culture be offended by our national athem? Completely ridiculous point.

The only issue I have is people not respecting it when it's played.
I respect anymore who has the courage to sing in front of a stadium full of people.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 24/07/2013 13:20:35    1441025

To make it more relevant in a multi cultural Ireland why don't we have maybe a Samba Band play it or A Gospel Choir sing it or even a DJ liven it up a bit. But overall agree with the Meath man, has no place in county v county battle, and as for the stupid parade where lads march behind the band. Can't think of a more pointless exercise, think we stole that idea from the Orange men.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - Posts: 878 - 24/07/2013 13:25:52    1441029

westkerry

1441025 Real Slim Shaddy.

You expect a reaction because you know your only stirring it with that post.

Nope not stirring it - I actually believe this but no most on here wonuldn't countenance it in a fit.

The national athem is played and rightfully so as it's our national game.

If this is the case then why is it played at other sporting events too?

Why would someone from another country/culture be offended by our national athem? Completely ridiculous point.

Who said anything about being offended - just making the point that we live in a multi cultural society now.

The only issue I have is people not respecting it when it's played.
Agree

I respect anymore who has the courage to sing in front of a stadium full of people.

Real_Slim_Shady (Meath) - Posts: 153 - 24/07/2013 13:28:50    1441037